yes, therapy helps!
Juan Huarte de San Juan: biography of this precursor of Psychology

Juan Huarte de San Juan: biography of this precursor of Psychology

November 27, 2021

Juan Huarte de San Juan (1529-1588) was one of the physicians and philosophers who laid the foundations of modern psychology in Spain, a question that challenged in an important way the religious canons of the time. Among other things, he proposed that it was possible to analyze experimentally the psychological differences between human beings.

We will see in this article a biography of Juan Huarte de San Juan , as well as some of its main contributions for the development of psychology in Spain.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories

Juan Huarte de San Juan: biography of the "patron" of Spanish psychology

Historical studies show that Juan Huarte He was born in the Basque town of San Juan de Pie de Puerto around 1529 . His family emigrated to Andalusia, so in 1540, Juan Huarte was already in the province of Baeza.


Later he studied medicine northeast of Madrid, in Alcalá, and then exercised the same profession in La Mancha. He later returned to Baeza, where the first edition of his great work was published Examination of wits for the sciences, in 1575.

The impact was such that his work spread rapidly through different Spanish provinces. From Bilbao to Valencia and later in the neighboring towns, since it was translated into French and Italian. By 1581 it fell into the hands of the kingdoms of Portugal, where was included in the books forbidden by the Inquisition . The same happened in the kingdoms of Spain three years later.

Juan Huarte de San Juan died around 1558. Years later, in 1594, his work was reissued with important modifications that Huarte himself had made to avoid the prohibition of the Inquisition. However, in Spain, this edition was printed and disseminated until 1846 because it was once again abolished.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Wilhelm Wundt: biography of the father of scientific psychology"

Examination of wits for the sciences

Juan Huarte de San Juan lived more than a century ago, which is why it has been difficult to recover his complete biography. In fact, little is known about the Huarte life of San Juan; he is mostly known for his work and for the impact it had on the development of modern psychology and science.

What Huarte de San Juan proposed in this work broke with the Christian idea of ​​the immortal and immaterial soul that lived in the body . In the framework of the organicist conception of the human being, Saint John argued that reason, judgment and understanding (what was understood as a soul), were not of a spiritual nature, but had a physiological and biological basis that could be studied and manipulated. And therefore, it was not properly immortal, but could get sick and perish.


But not only suggested that. His thesis also implied that the understanding was product of a particular evolutionary development, as well as education , with which, it was completely natural (not mystical or religious) to find important differences between the ingenuity of each other.

Huarte himself inscribed his research in a "natural philosophy" (which over time would become the basis of modern psychology), and positioned it in an important contrast with metaphysicians or "vulgar philosophers", just as he did. he called, referring to the medieval philosophers.

Intellect and brain relationship

Huarte de San Juan was one of the first to argue that there was a direct relationship between the intellect and the brain . Unlike his predecessors, this philosopher argued that, for the intellect to develop and manifest, it was necessary for the body to make it possible.

The sensorial and corporal experience was what gave rise to the understanding, likewise it was what allowed us to differentiate the individual way of manifesting, which later would be fixed not only in the body but in a single organ (the brain).

In other words, according to Huarte, it is thanks to these differences in the particular functioning of the organs that human beings develop different forms of intellect. Thus, some organs "more" or "better" developed than others, determine the development or corresponding intellectual functioning .

In addition, the differences in ingenuity, for Huarte, could be manifested by three specific foundations, which he explained in the same work:

  • On the one hand, nature, referring to the physiological foundations of the human being and the faculties of each .
  • On the other hand, art, which refers to the differences of ingenuities and sciences according to their political needs.
  • Finally, the harmony of the two previous ones, represented by the king for being the highest scale of ingenuity in its terms.

Finally, in Juan Huarte de San Juan we find something similar to the distinction between fluid and crystallized intelligence that would be realized centuries later of his death, given that differentiated between mental agility and the fruit of the application of previously acquired knowledge .

In short, for Huarte de San Juan, the intellect or understanding is the motor of the body, and nature is the beginning of everything. His work represented one of the first ways to understand understanding from organic activity, which significantly impacted the beginnings of modern psychology.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bellido Mainar, JR., Sanz Valer, P., Berrueta Maeztu, LM. (2012). Juan de Huarte de San Juan: a precursor of the analysis of the activity and of the occupational orientation. TOG (A Coruña) [Online]. Retrieved October 18, 2018. Available at //www.revistatog.com/num15/pdfs/historia1.pdf.
  • Gondra, J.M. (1994). Juan Huarte de San Juan and intelligence differences. Psychology Yearbook. University of Barcelona, ​​60: 13-34.
  • Velarde, J. (1993). Huarte de San Juan, patron of psychology. Psicothema, 5 (2): 451-458.

Huarte de San Juan, generación del 58, octubre de 2009 (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Juan Huarte de San Juan: biographie de ce précurseur de la psychologie

Juan Huarte de San Juan: biographie de ce précurseur de la psychologie

Octobre 25, 2021

Juan Huarte de San Juan (1529-1588) fut l’un des médecins et philosophes à avoir jeté les bases de la psychologie moderne en Espagne, une question qui a fortement mis au défi les canons religieux de l’époque. Entre autres choses, il a suggéré qu'il était possible d'analyser expérimentalement les différences psychologiques entre les êtres humains.

Nous verrons dans cet article une biographie de Juan Huarte de San Juan , ainsi que certaines de ses principales contributions au développement de la psychologie en Espagne.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales

Juan Huarte de San Juan: biographie du "patron" de la psychologie espagnole

Des études historiques montrent que Juan Huarte Il est né à San Juan de Pie de Puerto, ville basque, vers 1529. . Sa famille a émigré en Andalousie, donc en 1540, Juan Huarte était déjà dans la province de Baeza.


Plus tard, il étudia la médecine au nord-est de Madrid, à Alcalá, puis exerça le même métier à La Mancha. Il revint ensuite à Baeza, où fut publiée la première édition de son grand ouvrage. Examen de sciences pour les sciences, en 1575.

L’impact est tel que son travail se propage rapidement dans différentes provinces espagnoles. De Bilbao à Valence et plus tard dans les villes voisines, car il a été traduit en français et en italien. En 1581, il tomba entre les mains des royaumes du Portugal, où a été inclus dans les livres interdits par l'Inquisition . La même chose s'est produite dans les royaumes d'Espagne trois ans plus tard.

Juan Huarte de San Juan décède vers 1558. Des années plus tard, en 1594, son travail est réédité avec d'importantes modifications apportées par Huarte lui-même afin d'éviter l'interdiction de l'Inquisition. Cependant, en Espagne, cette édition a été imprimée et diffusée jusqu'en 1846 car elle a de nouveau été supprimée.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Wilhelm Wundt: biographie du père de la psychologie scientifique"

Examen de sciences pour les sciences

Juan Huarte de San Juan a vécu il y a plus d'un siècle, raison pour laquelle il a été difficile de retrouver sa biographie complète. En fait, on sait peu de choses sur la vie Huarte de San Juan; Il est surtout connu pour son travail et son impact sur le développement de la psychologie et des sciences modernes.

Ce que Huarte de San Juan a proposé dans cet ouvrage rompu avec l'idée chrétienne de l'âme immortelle et immatérielle qui vivait dans le corps . Dans le cadre de la conception organiciste de l'être humain, Saint John a fait valoir que la raison, le jugement et la compréhension (ce qui était compris comme une âme) n'étaient pas de nature spirituelle, mais reposaient sur une base physiologique et biologique. étudié et manipulé. Et par conséquent, ce n'était pas correctement immortel, mais pouvait tomber malade et périr.


Mais pas seulement suggéré cela. Sa thèse impliquait également que la compréhension était produit d'un développement évolutif particulier, ainsi que de l'éducation avec lequel il était tout à fait naturel (ni mystique ni religieux) de trouver des différences importantes entre l’ingéniosité de chacun.

Huarte lui-même a inscrit sa recherche dans une "philosophie naturelle" (qui deviendra avec le temps la base de la psychologie moderne) et l'a positionnée dans un contraste important avec les métaphysiciens ou "philosophes vulgaires", tout comme il l'a fait. il a appelé, se référant aux philosophes médiévaux.

Relation entre l'intellect et le cerveau

Huarte de San Juan fut l’un des premiers à faire valoir qu’il y avait une relation directe entre l'intellect et le cerveau . Contrairement à ses prédécesseurs, ce philosophe a soutenu que, pour que l'intellect se développe et se manifeste, il était nécessaire que le corps le rende possible.

L'expérience sensorielle et corporelle a été à l'origine de la compréhension, de même que celle qui nous a permis de différencier le mode de manifestation individuel, qui serait ensuite fixé non seulement dans le corps mais dans un seul organe (le cerveau).

En d’autres termes, selon Huarte, c’est grâce à ces différences de fonctionnement particulier des organes que l’être humain développe différentes formes d’intellect. Ainsi, certains organes "plus" ou "meilleurs" développés que d'autres, déterminer le développement ou le fonctionnement intellectuel correspondant .

De plus, les différences d'ingéniosité, pour Huarte, pourraient se manifester par trois fondements spécifiques, qu'il a expliqués dans le même ouvrage:

  • D'une part, la nature, en référence à les fondements physiologiques de l'être humain et les facultés de chacun .
  • D'autre part, l'art, qui fait référence aux différences d'ingénuité et de sciences en fonction de leurs besoins politiques.
  • Enfin, l'harmonie des deux précédentes, représentée par le roi comme étant la plus haute qualité d'ingéniosité selon ses termes.

Enfin, chez Juan Huarte de San Juan, nous trouvons quelque chose de similaire à la distinction entre intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée qui se concrétiserait des siècles plus tard différenciée entre l'agilité mentale et le fruit de l'application de connaissances acquises antérieurement .

En bref, pour Huarte de San Juan, l'intellect ou la compréhension est le moteur du corps et la nature est le début de tout. Son travail a représenté l'un des premiers moyens de comprendre la compréhension de l'activité organique, ce qui a eu un impact significatif sur les débuts de la psychologie moderne.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bellido Mainar, JR, P. Sanz Valer, Berrueta Maeztu, LM. (2012). Juan de Huarte de San Juan: précurseur de l'analyse de l'activité et de l'orientation professionnelle. TOG (La Corogne) [En ligne]. Récupéré le 18 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.revistatog.com/num15/pdfs/historia1.pdf.
  • Gondra, J.M. (1994). Juan Huarte de San Juan et les différences d'intelligence. Annuaire de psychologie. Université de Barcelone, 60: 13-34.
  • Velarde, J. (1993). Huarte de San Juan, patron de la psychologie. Psicothema, 5 (2): 451-458.

Juan Huarte (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes