yes, therapy helps!
Ketamine: effects and risks of this drug

Ketamine: effects and risks of this drug

July 18, 2024

Throughout history there have been many substances that have been used in medicine as an anesthetic and analgesic. Many of these substances have subsequently been extracted from the medical field to be used recreationally.

One of these substances is ketamine, or "special K", element used in medicine and veterinary that is known for its ability to generate dissociated states of consciousness.

  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

Ketamine as a psychoactive element

Ketamine is a psychoactive substance initially used in medicine and veterinary (currently its main legal use is given in veterinary practice) as a general anesthetic. It is a drug or drug derived from phencyclidine, which has characteristics that make it belong to the group of psychodysleptic substances. As such, it generates an alteration in the functioning of the nervous system that tends to cause perceptual alterations such as hallucinations.


This drug acts on the nervous system as a substance of depressant characteristics, generating sedation and analgesia effectively reducing brain activity in the brain.

Also known as Kit-kat drug , it is also consumed recreationally due to its powerful hallucinogenic effects, which are characterized by causing dissociative pictures in which individuals perceive that their mind is separated from their body and even that they are able to observe their body from the outside, such and as it happens with some near-death experiences.

On the other hand, ketamine usually applied intravenously at a medical and veterinary level, although recreationally it is usually made in the form of powder to inhale or of tablet or tablet to be consumed orally. This substance causes some level of amnesia after consumption and in general has no smell or taste.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Morphine: characteristics and effects in the short and long term"

Effects of ketamine

Ketamine has a wide variety of effects , which you can see below.

1. Physical relaxation

With relatively low doses, the effects of this substance are relaxing and anesthetic. Numbness is often noticed in different parts of the body , as the extremities, as well as sensations of placidity.

2. Amplification of sensory perception

Although it is a depressant substance, in its recreational use it has been seen that ketamine generates an amplified sensory perception . Colors and sounds look brighter and louder. This effect is especially noticeable in the first moments after administration.

3. Alterations of conscience

Ketamine generates alterations of consciousness that usually cause the subject is confused, disoriented and with loss of the notion of time.


4. Hallucinations and K-Hole

It is understood as K-hole the dissociative experience generated by the consumption of ketamine in which the user perceives floating sensation and get out of the body. This hallucinatory experience can be experienced as positive and spiritual or as aversive and terrifying to the feeling that the body is being abandoned (the "bad trip"). Apart from this experience, it can also generate other hallucinations.

5. Amnesia

Ketamine causes a powerful amnesia of what happened after its administration, which is why it is used in medical practice as a general anesthetic. However, this characteristic, together with its sedative action, makes the use of ketamine has been linked to several cases of rape .

  • Related article: "The different types of amnesia (and its characteristics)"

6. Analgesia

The administration of ketamine causes a powerful analgesic effect, something used at the medicinal and veterinary level in the different processes in which it is used. However, in its recreational use there is a risk of committing risky acts with consequences that can be serious due to the absence of perceived pain, such as throwing oneself down the stairs, starting fights or making certain types of jumps.

7. Disinhibition

This substance usually causes a disinhibitory effect on the user, which can lead to the performance of acts that generally would not perform or fail to take precautions with respect to specific behaviors.

8. Incoordination and reduction of movement capacity

Ketamine generates in the individual a state of poor coordination capacity in what refers to the movement, which is reduced.

9. Physiological effects

The use of ketamine causes different alterations at the physiological level. Generates bronchodilation and increases blood pressure to and the heart rate. It also usually causes an increase in the level of salivation.It can cause respiratory depression.

Mechanism of action

The mechanism of action through which ketamine affects our nervous system is not yet entirely clear, although it is based on its performance as NMDA receptor antagonist , blocking the action of glutamate as excitatory agent of the nervous system. It also influences from its interaction with endogenous opioid receptors.

The dissociative effects seem to be due to the alteration of the functioning of the limbic system while the depression of the thalamic-neocortical connection is generated. As well causes depression of the somatosensory cortex , which partly explains the sensations of analgesia.

Risks and associated side effects

The consumption of ketamine It has serious health risks if done in an uncontrolled manner , as when used recreationally. Some of the risks are the following.

1. Dependence

Ketamine is a highly addictive substance, which makes it relatively easy generate tolerance and dependence (especially psychic) ​​towards her.

2. Intoxication

It is not complicated to generate intoxication due to the abuse of this substance. The most common symptoms are the presence of anxiety, hallucinatory experiences such as those mentioned above, Aggressiveness, seizures and gastrointestinal disorders in the form of nausea and vomiting.

3. Cognitive impairment and memory alterations

As we have said, the consumption of ketamine produces amnesia after consumption. However, this effect seems to be enhanced and stay in the body long-term if consumption is frequent , since with the passage of time the destruction of a high number of neurons is caused.

It is especially visible short-term memory loss . Cognitive performance is greatly diminished.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

4. Depression

Although in low doses has antidepressant effects, used continuously over time and in high doses this substance can generate depression in the person who consumes it.

5. Anxiety

The long-term consumption of ketamine causes an anxiogenic effect, especially when withdrawal syndrome occurs .

6. Cardiorespiratory alterations

Another effect of ketamine is the alteration it causes in the cardiorespiratory system. The increase in blood pressure it causes can lead to severe cardiovascular disorders, arrhythmias and tachycardia. On the other hand, ketamine depresses the respiratory system, which can generate a stop in high doses . It can also lead to cardiorespiratory failure.

7. Destruction of genitourinary epithelium

Numerous cases of individuals suffering from pain in the genitourinary system derived from the consumption of ketamine have been found. This pain comes from the action of ketamine in the urine, which generates a destruction of the internal epithelial cells of the bladder .

New indications

Although it has been used mainly as an anesthetic, several investigations have shown that ketamine seems to have a positive effect in cases of depression, with a rapid action to combat its symptoms. Apparently, this is because that this substance helps regenerate neuronal connections that depression alters.

It is necessary to carry out a much more exhaustive investigation in this regard since the side effects of this substance can be very serious, but this fact could contribute in the near future to generate new antidepressant drugs of more rapid action than the current ones.

Bibliographic references:

  • Dickenson, A.H. (1997). NMDA receptor antagonists: interactions with opioids. Scandinávica Anaesthesiologica Act. 41: 112-115.
  • Morgan, C.J.A .; Muetzelfeldt, L; Curran, H. V. (2009). Consequences of chronic ketamine self-administration upon neurocognitive function and psychological wellbeing: a 1-year longitudinal study. Addiction105 (1): 121.
  • Autry, A.E .; Adachi, M .; Nosyreva, E .; Na, E.S .; Los, M.F .; Chengm P.F .; Kavalali, E.T .; Monteggia L.M. (2010). NMDA receptor blockade at rest triggers rapid behavioral antidepressant responses. Nature, 475. 91-95.

Ketamine: What You Need To Know (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Kétamine: effets et risques de ce médicament

Kétamine: effets et risques de ce médicament

Février 26, 2024

Au cours de l'histoire, de nombreuses substances ont été utilisées en médecine comme anesthésiques et analgésiques. Un grand nombre de ces substances ont ensuite été extraites du domaine médical pour être utilisées à des fins récréatives.

Une de ces substances est la kétamine, ou "spécial K", élément utilisé en médecine et vétérinaire connu pour sa capacité à générer des états de conscience dissociés.

  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

La kétamine en tant qu'élément psychoactif

La kétamine est une substance psychoactive initialement utilisé en médecine et en médecine vétérinaire (actuellement, sa principale utilisation légale est donnée en pratique vétérinaire) en tant qu’anesthésique général. C'est un médicament ou un médicament dérivé de la phencyclidine, qui possède des caractéristiques qui le font appartenir au groupe des substances psychodysleptiques. En tant que tel, il génère une altération du fonctionnement du système nerveux qui tend à provoquer des altérations de la perception telles que des hallucinations.


Ce médicament agit sur le système nerveux en tant que substance de caractéristiques dépressives, générant une sédation et une analgésie réduire efficacement l'activité cérébrale dans le cerveau.

Aussi connu sous le nom de drogue Kit-kat , il est également consommé à des fins récréatives en raison de ses puissants effets hallucinogènes, qui se caractérisent par la création d’images dissociatives dans lesquelles les individus perçoivent que leur esprit est séparé de leur corps et même qu’ils sont capables d’observer leur corps de l’extérieur. et comme cela arrive avec certaines expériences de mort imminente.

Par contre, la kétamine généralement appliqué par voie intraveineuse aux niveaux médical et vétérinaire, bien que récréatif, il est généralement sous forme de poudre à inhaler ou de comprimé ou de comprimé à consommer par voie orale. Cette substance provoque une certaine amnésie après la consommation et n'a généralement aucune odeur ni goût.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Morphine: caractéristiques et effets à court et à long terme"

Effets de la kétamine

La kétamine a une grande variété d'effets , que vous pouvez voir ci-dessous.

1. relaxation physique

À des doses relativement faibles, les effets de cette substance sont relaxants et anesthésiques. Un engourdissement est souvent observé dans différentes parties du corps , comme les extrémités, ainsi que des sensations de placidité.

2. Amplification de la perception sensorielle

Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une substance dépressive, son utilisation à des fins récréatives a montré que la kétamine génère une perception sensorielle amplifiée . Les couleurs et les sons semblent plus brillants et plus forts. Cet effet est particulièrement visible dans les premiers instants après l'administration.

3. Altérations de conscience

La kétamine génère des altérations de la conscience qui entraînent généralement le sujet est confus, désorienté et avec perte de la notion de temps.


4. Hallucinations et K-Hole

Il est compris comme K-trou l'expérience dissociative générée par la consommation de kétamine dans lequel l'utilisateur perçoit une sensation de flottement et sort du corps. Cette expérience hallucinatoire peut être vécue de manière positive et spirituelle ou comme aversive et terrifiante au sentiment que le corps est abandonné (le «mauvais voyage»). En dehors de cette expérience, il peut également générer d'autres hallucinations.

5. Amnesia

La kétamine provoque une amnésie puissante de ce qui s'est passé après son administration, raison pour laquelle elle est utilisée dans la pratique médicale comme anesthésique général. Cependant, cette caractéristique, associée à son action sédative, rend l'utilisation de la kétamine a été liée à plusieurs cas de viol .

  • Article connexe: "Les différents types d'amnésie (et ses caractéristiques)"

6. Analgésie

L'administration de kétamine provoque un puissant effet analgésique, utilisé aux niveaux médicinal et vétérinaire dans les différents processus dans lesquels elle est utilisée. Cependant, lors de son utilisation à des fins récréatives, il existe un risque de commettre des actes à risque avec des conséquences qui peuvent être graves en raison de l'absence de douleur perçue, telles que se jeter dans les escaliers, se lancer dans des combats ou faire certains types de sauts.

7. Désinhibition

Cette substance provoque généralement un effet désinhibiteur sur l'utilisateur, ce qui peut conduire à la réalisation d'actes qui ne se produiraient généralement pas ou ne prendraient pas de précautions face à des comportements spécifiques.

8. Incoordination et réduction de la capacité de mouvement

La kétamine génère chez l'individu un état de faible capacité de coordination en quoi se réfère au mouvement, qui est réduit.

9. Effets physiologiques

L'utilisation de la kétamine provoque différentes altérations au niveau physiologique. Génère une bronchodilatation et augmente la pression artérielle un et le rythme cardiaque. Cela provoque aussi généralement une augmentation du niveau de salivation.Cela peut causer une dépression respiratoire.

Mécanisme d'action

Le mécanisme d’action par lequel la kétamine affecte notre système nerveux n’est pas encore tout à fait clair, bien qu’il soit basé sur ses performances. Antagoniste du récepteur NMDA , bloquant l'action du glutamate en tant qu'agent excitateur du système nerveux. Il influence également son interaction avec les récepteurs opioïdes endogènes.

Les effets dissociatifs semblent être dus à l'altération du fonctionnement du système limbique, tandis que la dépression de la connexion thalamo-néocorticale est générée. Aussi provoque une dépression du cortex somatosensoriel , ce qui explique en partie les sensations de l'analgésie.

Risques et effets secondaires associés

La consommation de kétamine Il comporte de graves risques pour la santé s'il est effectué de manière incontrôlée , comme lorsque utilisé à des fins récréatives. Certains des risques sont les suivants.

1. dépendance

La kétamine est une substance hautement addictive, ce qui le rend relativement facile générer de la tolérance et de la dépendance (surtout psychique) envers elle.

2. Intoxication

Il n'est pas compliqué de générer une intoxication en raison de l'abus de cette substance. Les symptômes les plus courants sont la présence d’anxiété, d’expériences hallucinatoires telles que celles mentionnées ci-dessus, Agressivité, convulsions et troubles gastro-intestinaux sous forme de nausées et de vomissements.

3. Déficience cognitive et altérations de la mémoire

Comme nous l'avons dit, la consommation de kétamine produit une amnésie après consommation. Cependant, cet effet semble être renforcé et rester dans le corps à long terme si la consommation est fréquente , car avec le temps la destruction d’un grand nombre de neurones est causée.

C'est particulièrement visible perte de mémoire à court terme . La performance cognitive est grandement diminuée.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

4. dépression

Bien que, à faibles doses, elle ait des effets antidépresseurs, elle est utilisée de manière continue au fil du temps et à des doses élevées, ce qui peut générer une dépression chez la personne qui en consomme.

5. anxiété

La consommation à long terme de kétamine provoque un effet anxiogène, surtout quand le syndrome de sevrage survient .

6. Altérations cardiorespiratoires

Un autre effet de la kétamine est l'altération qu'elle provoque dans le système cardiorespiratoire. L’augmentation de la pression artérielle qu’elle provoque peut entraîner de graves troubles cardiovasculaires, des arythmies et une tachycardie. Par contre, la kétamine déprime le système respiratoire, ce qui peut générer un arrêt à fortes doses . Cela peut également conduire à une défaillance cardiorespiratoire.

7. Destruction de l'épithélium génito-urinaire

De nombreux cas d'individus souffrant de douleurs dans le système génito-urinaire provenant de la consommation de kétamine ont été découverts. Cette douleur provient de l'action de la kétamine dans les urines, qui génère une destruction des cellules épithéliales internes de la vessie .

Nouvelles indications

Bien qu’elle ait été utilisée principalement comme anesthésique, plusieurs enquêtes ont montré que la kétamine semble avoir un effet positif dans les cas de dépression, avec une action rapide pour lutter contre ses symptômes. Apparemment, c'est parce que cette substance aide à régénérer les connexions neuronales cette dépression change.

Il est nécessaire de mener une enquête beaucoup plus exhaustive à cet égard car les effets secondaires de cette substance peuvent être très graves, mais cela pourrait contribuer dans un proche avenir à générer de nouveaux médicaments antidépresseurs plus rapides que les médicaments actuels.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Dickenson, A.H. (1997). Antagonistes des récepteurs NMDA: interactions avec les opioïdes. Loi sur la Scandinávica Anaesthesiologica. 41: 112-115.
  • Morgan, C.J.A .; Muetzelfeldt, L; Curran, H. V. (2009). Conséquences de l'auto-administration chronique de kétamine sur la fonction neurocognitive et le bien-être psychologique: étude longitudinale d'un an. Dépendance105 (1): 121.
  • Autry, A.E .; Adachi, M .; Nosyreva, E .; Na, E.S .; Los, M.F .; Chengm P.F .; Kavalali, E.T .; Monteggia L.M. (2010). Le blocage des récepteurs NMDA au repos déclenche des réponses antidépressives comportementales rapides. Nature, 475. 91-95.

Drogue : les dangers de la kétamine - Le Magazine de la santé (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes