yes, therapy helps!
Key body language to avoid being a victim of crime

Key body language to avoid being a victim of crime

November 29, 2021

Try to remember an acquaintance who has been assaulted on more than one occasion. Now, try to remember another but that has never been stripped of their belongings on the street. Remember how they look when they walk, how do they differ? Who looks more confident in their walk? Who looks more powerful and who weaker?

Robberies, aggressions ... and how to prevent them with an imposing body language

It is not unknown to us at present the importance of our body language when communicating , because day by day, various theories about this are increasingly widely accepted by the scientific community. Like the fact that approximately 80% of our communication is carried out through our gestures and expressions.


It is also through the latter that we can more easily empathize and manifest our emotions and feelings to others. But just as we can convey a positive state of mind, we can also project: insecurity, fear, vulnerability and helplessness through our body language . Today we will explain how this powerfully influences the process of victimization and victimodynamics (that is, how we become victims of a crime or a sinister), especially if the last four characteristics mentioned above are projected. In addition to giving you some tips to improve our body language.

The modern interest in the victim and the experiment

From the early work of Benjamin Mendelsson in the process of how to become a victim of a sinister, attack or crime in the sixties, victimology (discipline responsible for the study of victims) quickly became a motive for science social as criminology, law and of course psychology.


This interest in how people go from being simple passers-by to those wronged by a crime led to researchers Betty Grayson and Morris Stein, in the eighties, putting forward a simple experiment that produced a series of very specific results. The dynamic that Grayson and Stein made was the following: in a prison, a group of inmates (among whom were people who had been robbed, raped and even killed) were shown, individually, a series of videos whose content It was simply that of some passers-by walking normally down a New York street.

The only thing the defendants had to indicate to the investigators was to communicate to which people among all those who passed on the street would choose as possible victims . The researchers estimated that the time they decided on the possible victim was only seven seconds. When indicating their selections, the results were a little disconcerting since the choice that each inmate took was consistent, that is, although each volunteer had seen the video separately, the inmates repeatedly chose the same victims.


Prisoners choose their victims for their (bad) body language

Another curious fact turned out to be that the selection of each did not depend on race, age, size or physical constitution, as some women whose constitution seemed fragile, went unnoticed in contrast to some tall and relatively strong men who were chosen.

When the convicts were asked why such an election was due, they replied that they did not know exactly why, they simply said that they looked like easy targets . And since none of the previous criteria was the reason why choosing a person, what was it that determined whether a person became aggrieved or not? The researchers conducted a much more exhaustive analysis reaching the following results.

Our body language indicates whether we are vulnerable or strong

It seems that much of the predator / prey selection process is unconscious and this is due to the fact that the inmates were more oriented in what the body language of the possible victims expressed.

Characteristics of vulnerable body language

The researchers found that the group of "victims" chosen in the video shared a series of characteristics with respect to their body language highlighting the following points.

1. Step and rhythm

The "strides" that each victim made were somewhat exaggerated, being able to be abnormally long or extremely short. Sign of insecurity or anguish. On the other hand, those who were not selected recorded normal "strides" on their walk. With regard to the fluidity in walking, natural selection taught predators always look at the slowest of the herd . As a rule, a slow pace in walking, lacking intentionality or purpose projects insecurity, fear and helplessness.

2. Discontent and indecision

Turning to see everywhere as if he were lost, hesitant glances and returning by the same path through which he already traveled were common characteristics among some of the selected victims. An insecure person in his walk is, for criminals, easier to submit . In the same way, if you stop to talk to strangers to ask for directions, the criminals will think you are a tourist or you are in a neighborhood unknown to you, which will make you much more vulnerable.

3. Luxury items

Criminologists say that criminals live under a distorted scheme of values ​​in which society is seen as an unjust system in which only few can enjoy privileges and luxuries, experiencing, in addition, anger against this society. So that publicly demonstrate your assets (for example, expensive watches, rings, gold pulses, expensive cell phones, etc.) rekindles in many occasions such rage . Many people who showed different assets in the video were frequently chosen as victims.

4. Torso and look

Another thing that the people chosen in the video had in common by the inmates consisted of the position of the torso and the direction of the look. Frequently, people who walked with their heads down, with their shoulders hunched and inward, hunched over and with their eyes directed towards the floor, distracted or lost, were chosen. The gestures previously indicated they are unmistakable signs of helplessness . They project strong weakness.

5. Totality

Last but not least, it stood out among the chosen victims who his gestures lacked symmetry and fullness in his movements . His limbs moved as if they were separate or independent of the rest of his body. On the other hand, "non-victims" enjoyed balance in relation to their movements.

How does this theory apply to the prevention of crimes?

As we emphasized earlier, a large part of the victim selection process is performed unconsciously by criminals. Perhaps it is a characteristic inherited through millions of years of evolution to find at a glance the weakest of the herd. Like a wild animal, the human predator wants to make the least effort when hunting, does not want a difficult and dangerous job , look for someone who looks weaker, submissive and who probably does not battle.

Several practical tricks to improve body language

Our body language is largely unconscious, so modifying it is extremely difficult, but not impossible. Some signs and attitudes can help us to emit a more powerful and positive body language, which will make us less vulnerable to crime . Below we make the following recommendations.

  • Develop your awareness skills There are different ways to be more aware of your environment, from familiarizing yourself with the routes you take daily on the way home, the peak hours in which people move the most, and those who walk frequently through your neighborhood, to practice yoga, meditate or practice some martial art (we will talk about this later).
  • Exercise: Keeping fit not only impacts your ability to physically repel an aggression but also causes your body to release dopamine and endorphins that make you feel better about yourself, which will make you develop more confidence in yourself and increase your self-esteem what will affect your body language positively.
  • stay informed : it is scientifically proven that knowledge and information reduce our fear and increase our confidence, remember that this is a quality that is expressed in the body language of those who were not victims. Read articles on how to avoid being victims, personal defense and newspapers about what happens in your city can help you stay informed.
  • Practice self defense : not to exercise it when an attacker asks for your belongings, since in this case, it will always be prudent to avoid any confrontation, but because it is demonstrated that taking a course of personal defense powerfully affects our confidence in a dangerous situation, this confidence It has a very positive effect on our body language and increases your awareness of the environment. Therefore, it reduces the likelihood of looking like a potential victim.

More tricks to improve body language

As you increase your confidence and feel better about yourself, the less likely you are to be a victim of a crime, since your body language will express well-being, power and confidence. As you change your body language little by little, you can choose to add the following gestures that can prevent you from becoming a victim:

  • Always walk with your chin up , parallel to the horizon, keeping a fixed and sure look, when someone sees you keep your eyes, but do not be challenging (many times this tactic discourages criminals from messing with you).
  • Lift the shoulders and keep them straight , take a little out of the chest, this is a sign of power.
  • Walk at firm and normal steps . Neither very fast nor very slow. Not very long, not too short. Try to be harmonious and not "robotized".
  • Keep a harmony in relation to your steps , your arms and your gestures.
  • If you do not remember any street or doubts of your way , enter a café or store to ask for directions. Avoid asking for help from strangers and talking to them.
  • Move your arms in a natural and balanced way Regarding your steps.
  • Do not walk down the street with ostentatious jewelry . Avoid talking on your mobile phone, listening to music and looking distracted.

Bibliographic references:

  • Grayson, B. and Stein, M. I. (1981), Attracting Assault: Victims'Nonverbal Cues. Journal of Communication, 31: 68-75. doi: 10.1111 / j.1460-2466.1981.tb01206.

TOP BODY LANGUAGE TIPS: How to Avoid BULLYING & VIOLENCE (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le langage du corps clé pour éviter d'être victime d'un crime

Le langage du corps clé pour éviter d'être victime d'un crime

Mai 22, 2019

Essayez de vous souvenir d'une connaissance qui a été agressée à plusieurs reprises. Maintenant, essayez de vous rappeler un autre, mais cela n’a jamais été dépouillé de ses biens dans la rue. Rappelez-vous à quoi ils ressemblent quand ils marchent, en quoi diffèrent-ils? Qui a l'air plus confiant dans leur promenade? Qui a l'air plus puissant et qui est plus faible?

Les vols, les agressions ... et comment les prévenir avec un langage corporel imposant

Cela ne nous est pas inconnu à présent l'importance de notre langage corporel lors de la communication , parce que jour après jour, la communauté scientifique accepte de plus en plus diverses théories à ce sujet. Comme le fait qu'environ 80% de notre communication se fait à travers nos gestes et nos expressions.


C’est aussi à travers ces derniers que nous pouvons plus facilement faire preuve d’empathie et manifester nos émotions et nos sentiments aux autres. Mais tout comme nous pouvons transmettre un état d’esprit positif, nous pouvons également projeter: l'insécurité, la peur, la vulnérabilité et l'impuissance à travers notre langage corporel . Aujourd'hui, nous expliquerons en quoi cela influence puissamment le processus de victimisation et la dynamique de la victime (c'est-à-dire, comment nous devenons victimes d'un crime ou d'un sinistre), en particulier si les quatre dernières caractéristiques mentionnées ci-dessus sont projetées. En plus de vous donner quelques conseils pour améliorer notre langage corporel.

L'intérêt moderne pour la victime et l'expérience

Depuis les débuts de Benjamin Mendelsson dans le processus de devenir victime d'un sinistre, d'une attaque ou d'un crime dans les années soixante, la victimologie (discipline responsable de l'étude des victimes) est rapidement devenue un motif pour la science. sociale comme la criminologie, le droit et bien sûr la psychologie.


Cet intérêt pour la manière dont les gens passent de simples passants à ceux qui se sont fait léser par un crime a conduit les chercheurs Betty Grayson et Morris Stein, dans les années quatre-vingt, à proposer une expérience simple produisant une série de résultats très spécifiques. La dynamique mise en place par Grayson et Stein a été la suivante: dans une prison, un groupe de détenus (parmi lesquels des personnes qui avaient été volées, violées et même tuées) a été projeté individuellement une série de vidéos dont le contenu Il s'agissait simplement de quelques passants marchant normalement dans une rue de New York.

Les accusés n’avaient qu’à indiquer aux enquêteurs que communiquer à qui des gens parmi tous ceux qui passaient dans la rue choisiraient comme victimes possibles . Les chercheurs ont estimé que le moment où ils ont choisi la victime potentielle n’était que de sept secondes. En indiquant leurs sélections, les résultats étaient un peu déconcertants puisque le choix de chaque détenu était cohérent, c'est-à-dire que même si chaque volontaire avait vu la vidéo séparément, les détenus avaient à plusieurs reprises choisi les mêmes victimes.


Les prisonniers choisissent leurs victimes pour leur (mauvais) langage corporel

Un autre fait curieux s'est avéré que le choix de chacune d'elles ne dépendait pas de la race, de l'âge, de la taille ni de la constitution physique, car certaines femmes dont la constitution semblait fragile étaient passées inaperçues par rapport à des hommes de grande taille et relativement forts. choisi.

Quand on a demandé aux condamnés pourquoi une telle élection était due, ils ont répondu qu'ils ne savaient pas exactement pourquoi, ils ont simplement dit qu'ils ressemblaient à des cibles faciles . Et comme aucun des critères précédents ne justifiait le choix d'une personne, qu'est-ce qui a permis de déterminer si une personne était lésée ou non? Les chercheurs ont mené une analyse beaucoup plus exhaustive aboutissant aux résultats suivants.

Notre langage corporel indique si nous sommes vulnérables ou forts

Il semble que une grande partie du processus de sélection prédateur / proie est inconsciente et cela est dû au fait que les détenus étaient plus orientés sur ce que le langage corporel des victimes potentielles exprimait.

Caractéristiques du langage corporel vulnérable

Les chercheurs ont découvert que le groupe de "victimes" choisi dans la vidéo partageait une série de caractéristiques relatives au langage corporel mettant en évidence les points suivants.

1. Pas et rythme

Les "pas" réalisés par chaque victime étaient quelque peu exagérés, pouvant être anormalement longs ou extrêmement courts. Signe d'insécurité ou d'angoisse. Par contre, ceux qui n'ont pas été sélectionnés ont enregistré des "foulées" normales lors de leur promenade. En ce qui concerne la fluidité de la marche, la sélection naturelle a enseigné aux prédateurs toujours regarder le plus lent du troupeau . En règle générale, un pas lent dans la marche, une absence d'intentionnalité ou d'objectif font apparaître l'insécurité, la peur et l'impuissance.

2. Le mécontentement et l'indécision

Tourner pour voir partout comme s'il était perdu, des regards hésitants et revenir par le même chemin qu'il avait déjà emprunté étaient des caractéristiques communes chez certaines des victimes sélectionnées. Une personne peu sûre dans sa promenade est, pour les criminels, plus facile à soumettre . De la même manière, si vous vous arrêtez pour parler à des inconnus et leur demander votre chemin, les criminels penseront que vous êtes un touriste ou que vous vous trouvez dans un quartier que vous ne connaissez pas, ce qui vous rendra beaucoup plus vulnérable.

3. Articles de luxe

Les criminologues disent que les criminels vivent sous un système de valeurs déformé dans lequel la société est perçue comme un système injuste dans lequel peu de personnes peuvent jouir de privilèges et de luxe, mais qui sont également en colère contre la société. Pour ce que démontrez publiquement vos atouts (montres, bagues, bagues en or, téléphones portables coûteux, etc.), ravivent à plusieurs reprises une telle colère . De nombreuses personnes ayant montré différents actifs dans la vidéo ont souvent été choisies comme victimes.

4. Torse et regard

Une autre chose que les détenus choisis dans la vidéo avaient en commun avec les détenus consistait en la position du torse et la direction du regard. Fréquemment, on choisissait des personnes qui marchaient la tête baissée, les épaules penchées en avant et repliées sur elles-mêmes, les yeux tournés vers le sol, distraits ou perdus. Les gestes précédemment indiqués ils sont des signes indéniables d'impuissance . Ils projettent une forte faiblesse.

5. Totalité

Enfin, il s’est démarqué parmi les victimes choisies qui ont ses gestes manquaient de symétrie et de plénitude dans ses mouvements . Ses membres bougèrent comme s'ils étaient séparés ou indépendants du reste de son corps. En revanche, les "non-victimes" jouissaient d'un équilibre dans leurs mouvements.

Comment cette théorie s'applique-t-elle à la prévention des crimes?

Comme nous l’avons souligné précédemment, une grande partie du processus de sélection de la victime est effectuée inconsciemment par des criminels. C’est peut-être une caractéristique héritée de millions d’années d’évolution que de trouver en un coup d’œil le plus faible des troupeaux. Comme un animal sauvage, le prédateur humain veut faire le moindre effort lorsqu'il chasse, ne veut pas d'un travail difficile et dangereux , cherche quelqu'un qui a l’air plus faible, soumis et qui ne combat probablement pas.

Plusieurs astuces pour améliorer le langage corporel

Notre langage corporel est en grande partie inconscient, il est donc extrêmement difficile, mais non impossible, de le modifier. Certains signes et attitudes peuvent nous aider à émettre un langage corporel plus puissant et positif, qui nous rendra moins vulnérables au crime . Ci-dessous, nous faisons les recommandations suivantes.

  • Développer vos compétences de sensibilisation Il existe différentes manières de mieux prendre conscience de votre environnement, en vous familiarisant avec les itinéraires que vous empruntez quotidiennement sur le chemin du retour, les heures de pointe où les gens se déplacent le plus, et ceux qui se promènent fréquemment dans votre quartier, pour pratiquer le yoga, méditer ou pratiquer un art martial (nous en reparlerons plus tard).
  • Exercice: Garder la forme affecte non seulement votre capacité à repousser physiquement une agression, mais provoque également la libération de dopamine et d'endorphines par votre corps, ce qui vous permet de vous sentir mieux, ce qui vous permettra de développer plus de confiance en vous et d'augmenter votre estime de soi. Qu'est-ce qui va affecter positivement votre langage corporel?
  • Restez informé : il est scientifiquement prouvé que les connaissances et les informations réduisent notre peur et augmentent notre confiance en vous. Rappelez-vous qu'il s'agit d'une qualité exprimée dans le langage corporel de ceux qui n'étaient pas victimes. Lire des articles sur la façon d'éviter d'être victimes, la défense personnelle et les journaux sur ce qui se passe dans votre ville peuvent vous aider à rester informés.
  • Pratique de la légitime défense : ne pas l'exercer quand un attaquant demande vos biens, car dans ce cas, il sera toujours prudent d'éviter toute confrontation, mais parce qu'il est démontré que prendre une défense personnelle affecte puissamment notre confiance en une situation dangereuse, Cela a un effet très positif sur notre langage corporel et augmente votre conscience de l'environnement. Par conséquent, cela réduit la probabilité de ressembler à une victime potentielle.

Plus d'astuces pour améliorer le langage corporel

Plus vous augmentez votre confiance en vous et en vous sentant mieux sur vous-même, moins vous serez victime d'un crime, car votre langage corporel exprimera bien-être, pouvoir et confiance. Au fur et à mesure que vous changez votre langage corporel, vous pouvez choisir d'ajouter les gestes suivants qui peuvent vous empêcher de devenir une victime:

  • Toujours marcher avec le menton , parallèlement à l’horizon, gardez un regard fixe et sûr, quand on vous voit garder les yeux, mais ne soyez pas provocant (souvent, cette tactique décourage les criminels de jouer avec vous).
  • Soulevez les épaules et maintenez-les droites , prenez un peu hors de la poitrine, c'est un signe de pouvoir.
  • Marchez à pas ferme et normal . Ni très vite ni très lent. Pas très long, pas trop court. Essayez d'être harmonieux et non "robotisé".
  • Gardez une harmonie par rapport à vos pas , tes bras et tes gestes.
  • Si vous ne vous souvenez pas de la rue ou des doutes de votre chemin , entrez dans un café ou un magasin pour demander votre chemin. Évitez de demander de l'aide à des étrangers et de leur parler.
  • Bougez vos bras de manière naturelle et équilibrée Concernant tes pas.
  • Ne marchez pas dans la rue avec des bijoux ostentatoires . Évitez de parler sur votre téléphone portable, d'écouter de la musique et d'avoir l'air distrait.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Grayson, B. et Stein, M. I. (1981), Attirer des assauts: Indices non verbaux des victimes. Journal of Communication, 31: 68-75. doi: 10.1111 / j.1460-2466.1981.tb01206.

Les secrets des interrogatoires et des auditions de police - Fabio Benoit & Olivier Guéniat (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes