yes, therapy helps!
Kleptomania (impulsive theft): 6 myths about this disorder

Kleptomania (impulsive theft): 6 myths about this disorder

May 6, 2021

What is kleptomania? Because often the wrong information, the clichés of television and film and the stigmatization of those who ignore the seriousness of this disorder; lPatients with kleptomania have been an easy target for decades , not only being mocked and prejudiced but also unfair legal battles against them.

This, with the passage of time has only reaffirmed that there is a profound lack of knowledge about this disorder. That is why today, we have proposed to refute some of the most widespread myths about kleptomaniacs .

What is kleptomania?

However, it is necessary to clarify from the beginning exactly what this disease consists of. Kleptomania is cataloged by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (in its fourth edition) as a disorder belonging to the group of impulse control disorders and whose main characteristic consists of the recurrent difficulty in controlling impulses for stealing .


The kleptomaniac often has an uncontrollable urge to steal things he does not need. Among the fundamental components of those who suffer from this disorder include recurrent thoughts of intrusion, the feeling of helplessness that pushes them to perpetrate the theft and a feeling of release of pressure and a certain euphoria after committing the theft.

Diagnostic criteria of kleptomania

In addition, the DSM-IV also provides diagnostic criteria for this disease, among which are the following:

1. Habitual difficulty in managing and controlling the impulses to commit theft even in objects and goods that are not indispensable for their personal use or for their economic value.


2. Feeling of uncertainty and tension in the previous moments commit the theft.

3. Wellness, feeling of euphoria and success at the time of perpetrating the theft.

4. Theft does not have an angry motivation nor is it a response to a delusional disorder or to hallucinations in the background.

5. ETheft is not explained by the presence of a dissocial disorder , an antisocial personality disorder or a manic episode.

Comorbidity

People diagnosed with kleptomania They frequently have other types of disorders that negatively influence their mood . The comorbidity of kleptomania is varied, but the most common disorders are: anxiety, problems related to food or also within the same impulse control group.

It is also important to clarify that kleptomaniacs are usually classified into three groups, these being: sporadic kleptomaniacs , among whom the time between robbery and robbery occurs at very long intervals; the episodic kleptomaniacs , in which case robberies are committed more frequently but in which there are certain periods of "rest" and chronic kleptomaniacs , who steal in a latent and continuous way to the point where this activity constitutes a severe problem for the person and bursts with their daily activities.


Dismantling myths

Among the myths most frequently related to this disease and those who suffer from it, we find the following:

Myth 1: They feel pleasure in stealing and are unable to feel guilt

The kleptomaniac experiences an accumulation of negative emotions and a certain increase in internal tension before stealing an object, so he feels that only by stealing can he alleviate this discomfort. While it is true that this feeling of relief of tension is present after carrying out the act, the sensation is different from that of pleasure, because it is usually accompanied by a latent feeling of guilt after the act. In other words, anxiety and internal tension (increasing in the moments before the act) are mitigated through theft .

Myth 2: They will steal whenever they have the chance and they are incurable

As we mentioned above, the number of robberies that a person with this condition will commit will vary as the type of kleptomaniac that is (episodic, sporadic or chronic). In addition, it is important to emphasize that kleptomaniacs only commit robberies in response to an increase in anxiety and previous tension, which is why the belief that they are capable of stealing everything if they have the opportunity to do so is false. Regarding treatment, various therapies (especially behavioral) have shown very good results in mitigating anxiety prior to the act and, thereby, eliminating the need to steal.

Myth 3: The robberies of kleptomaniacs are climbing and are professional thieves

When kleptomaniacs steal, they are only responding to an inner urge . That is why they do not share any characteristic with the "common" thieves beyond the fact of stealing, so they are not able to premeditate or plan their thefts, they simply do it occasionally. For this same reason, their robberies do not go in escalation, such as those of career criminals who went through a criminal evolutionary process (for example, who started by stealing a wallet, then assaulted a store, then a bank, etc.). The kleptomaniacs are not professionalized in what they do, they simply do it. It is true that they will find the best opportunity to do so, but at no time this pretends to be for them their modus vivendi (the way they earn their living) because, for them, stealing does not entail any lucrative profit.

Myth 5: They are perfectly capable of controlling their desire to steal but do not want

Completely false The kleptomaniacs are able to understand the act of stealing is wrong , but they simply can not control their need to steal things. For them it is as necessary to commit the act of stealing as that of a gambler to gamble. That is why it is sometimes debated whether it should be classified as part of the obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Myth 6: They are crazy / deviant / mentally alienated

Neither crazy, nor alienated: they are perfectly capable of fending for themselves, since they do not have delusional or paranoid characteristics , so they perfectly understand reality. Sometimes, it is true that the act of stealing can interfere with their daily activities (as in the case of chronic kleptomaniacs), but a correct treatment can redirect the situation and provide them with a completely normal life.

Differences of the kleptomaniac with the common thief

Here we outline some of the differences that kleptomaniacs have in relation to common thieves.

1. While ordinary thieves commit their acts out of self-conviction, the kleptomaniac responds to an inner impulse , so that the latter does not commit his acts with free will.

2. Commonly, in thieves there are some mild psychopathic traits (for example, the need to satisfy immediately their drives, egocentrism, perversity, etc.) while in kleptomaniacs there are no features of some of the previous characteristics.

3. The thieves generally seek to profit from the goods they steal; the kleptomaniacs do not . Likewise, while common thieves steal the goods they consider to be of greater value, kleptomaniacs are only motivated by the act of stealing in themselves, and do not make judgments of monetary value on the goods they steal.

4. Within the distorted scheme of values ​​of a thief, what he does is right or is "fair" . A kleptomaniac, however, knows that what he does is not good but it is very difficult for him to control it.

5. The thief does not usually have remorse (or more specifically yes, but mitigate this with intricate defense mechanisms) while the kleptomaniac, as soon as he consummates the act, is invaded by enormous amounts of guilt and anguish.

What therapies can help a kleptomaniac?

The current therapies that seek to blur the impulses to steal in kleptomaniacs can be pharmacological and / or behavioral. In many cases antidepressants are given in order to regulate the levels of serotonin released by the subject at the time of committing the act.

As we mentioned earlier, among the most effective psychotherapeutic works for kleptomaniacs are behavioral therapies with an emphasis on the cognitive. This type of therapy achieves an adequate development in their daily activities. On the other hand, some psychoanalysts report that the real causes of compulsive theft focus on unconsciously suppressed discomforts during early childhood. It is also advised that those who suffer from this disorder share with a third party their experiences, feelings and thoughts, so that this trustworthy person exercises a "vigilant" role.


What is Conduct Disorder? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Kleptomanie (vol impulsif): 6 mythes sur ce trouble

Kleptomanie (vol impulsif): 6 mythes sur ce trouble

Mars 1, 2024

Qu'est-ce que la kleptomanie? Parce que souvent la fausse information, les clichés de la télévision et du film et la stigmatisation de ceux qui ignorent la gravité de ce désordre; lLes patients atteints de kleptomanie sont une cible facile depuis des décennies , non seulement être moqués et préjugés mais aussi des batailles juridiques injustes contre eux.

Ceci, avec le passage du temps, n'a fait que réaffirmer qu'il existe un manque profond de connaissances sur ce trouble. C'est pourquoi aujourd'hui, nous avons proposé de réfuter certains des mythes les plus répandus sur les kleptomanes .

Qu'est-ce que la kleptomanie?

Cependant, il est nécessaire de préciser dès le début en quoi consiste exactement cette maladie. Kleptomania est catalogué par le Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (dans sa quatrième édition) en tant que trouble appartenant au groupe des troubles du contrôle des impulsions et dont la caractéristique principale consiste en la difficulté récurrente à contrôler les pulsions de vol .


Le kleptomane a souvent une envie incontrôlable de voler des choses dont il n'a pas besoin. Parmi les composantes fondamentales de ceux qui souffrent de ce trouble figurent les pensées récurrentes d'intrusion, le sentiment d'impuissance qui les pousse à commettre le vol et un sentiment de libération de pression et une certaine euphorie après le vol.

Critères diagnostiques de la kleptomanie

En outre, le DSM-IV fournit également des critères de diagnostic pour cette maladie, parmi lesquels:

1. Difficulté habituelle à gérer et à contrôler les pulsions de vol même dans des objets et des biens qui ne sont pas indispensables pour leur usage personnel ou pour leur valeur économique.


2. Sentiment d'incertitude et de tension dans les moments précédents commettent le vol.

3. Bien-être, sentiment d'euphorie et de succès au moment de commettre le vol.

4. Le vol n'a pas une motivation fâchée ce n'est pas non plus une réponse à un trouble délirant ou à des hallucinations en arrière-plan.

5. ELe vol ne s'explique pas par la présence d'un trouble dissocial , un trouble de la personnalité antisociale ou un épisode maniaque.

Comorbidité

Personnes atteintes de kleptomanie Ils ont souvent d'autres types de troubles qui influencent négativement leur humeur . La comorbidité de la kleptomanie est variée, mais les troubles les plus courants sont: anxiété, problèmes liés à l’alimentation ou également au sein du même groupe de contrôle du pouls.

Il est également important de préciser que les kleptomanes sont généralement classés en trois groupes, à savoir: kleptomanes sporadiques , chez qui le temps entre le vol et le vol se produit à de très longs intervalles; le kleptomanes épisodiques , auquel cas les vols sont commis plus fréquemment mais au cours desquels il existe certaines périodes de "repos" et kleptomanes chroniques , qui volent de manière latente et continue au point où cette activité constitue un problème grave pour la personne et éclate dans ses activités quotidiennes.


Démanteler les mythes

Parmi les mythes les plus fréquemment liés à cette maladie et ceux qui en souffrent, on trouve les suivants:

Mythe 1: Ils ont du plaisir à voler et sont incapables de se sentir coupables

Le kleptomane expérimente une accumulation d'émotions négatives et une certaine augmentation de la tension interne avant de voler un objet. Il a donc le sentiment que seul le vol peut soulager cet inconfort. S'il est vrai que ce sentiment de soulagement de la tension est présent après l'exécution de l'acte, la sensation est différente de celle du plaisir, car elle s'accompagne généralement d'un sentiment de culpabilité latent après l'acte. En d'autres termes, l'anxiété et la tension interne (augmentant peu avant l'acte) sont atténuées par le vol .

Mythe 2: Ils voleront chaque fois qu'ils en auront l'occasion et qu'ils seront incurables

Comme nous l'avons mentionné ci-dessus, le nombre de vols qu'une personne atteinte de cette condition commettra variera selon le type de kleptomane qui est (épisodique, sporadique ou chronique). En outre, il est important de souligner que les kleptomanes ne commettent des vols qu’en réponse à une anxiété accrue et à des tensions antérieures, raison pour laquelle il est faux de croire qu’ils sont capables de tout voler s’ils en ont la possibilité. En ce qui concerne le traitement, diverses thérapies (notamment comportementales) ont montré de très bons résultats pour atténuer l’anxiété avant l’acte et, ainsi, éliminer le besoin de voler.

Mythe 3: Les vols de kleptomanes grimpent et sont des voleurs professionnels

Quand les kleptomanes volent, ils ne font que répondre à une envie intérieure . C'est pourquoi ils ne partagent aucune caractéristique avec les voleurs "ordinaires" au-delà du vol, ils ne peuvent donc pas préméditer ou planifier leur vol, ils le font simplement à l'occasion. Pour cette même raison, leurs braquages ​​ne se multiplient pas, comme ceux de criminels de carrière ayant suivi un processus criminel évolutif (par exemple, qui ont commencé par voler un portefeuille, puis ont attaqué un magasin, puis une banque, etc.). Les kleptomanes ne sont pas professionnalisés dans ce qu'ils font, ils le font tout simplement. Il est vrai qu’ils trouveront la meilleure opportunité pour le faire, mais à aucun moment cela ne prétend être pour eux leur modus vivendi (la façon dont ils gagnent leur vie) parce que, pour eux, voler n’entraîne aucun profit lucratif.

Mythe 5: Ils sont parfaitement capables de contrôler leur désir de voler mais ne veulent pas

Complètement faux Les kleptomanes sont capables de comprendre que voler est mal , mais ils ne peuvent tout simplement pas contrôler leur besoin de voler des choses. Pour eux, il est aussi nécessaire de commettre l'acte de vol que de jouer un joueur. C'est pourquoi on discute parfois de la question de savoir si cela doit être classé dans le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

Mythe 6: Ils sont fous / déviants / mentalement aliénés

Ni fou, ni aliéné: ils sont parfaitement capables de se défendre eux-mêmes, car ils n'ont pas de caractéristiques délirantes ou paranoïaques , donc ils comprennent parfaitement la réalité. Parfois, il est vrai que le fait de voler peut nuire à leurs activités quotidiennes (comme dans le cas des kleptomanes chroniques), mais un traitement approprié peut réorienter la situation et leur permettre de mener une vie complètement normale.

Différences du kleptomane avec le voleur commun

Nous décrivons ici certaines des différences entre les kleptomanes et les voleurs ordinaires.

1. Alors que les voleurs ordinaires commettent leurs actes par conviction, les kleptomanes répondent à une impulsion intérieure , afin que ce dernier ne commette pas ses actes avec une volonté libre.

2. En général, chez les voleurs, il existe quelques traits psychopathiques légers (par exemple, la nécessité de satisfaire immédiatement leurs pulsions, leur égocentrisme, leur perversité, etc.), tandis que chez les kleptomanes, certaines des caractéristiques précédentes ne se caractérisent pas.

3. Les voleurs cherchent généralement à tirer profit des biens qu'ils volent; les kleptomanes ne le font pas . De même, alors que les voleurs ordinaires volent les biens qu’ils considèrent comme ayant une plus grande valeur, les kleptomanes ne sont motivés que par le fait de voler en eux-mêmes et ne portent pas de jugement sur la valeur monétaire des biens qu’ils volent.

4. Dans le schéma de valeurs déformé d'un voleur, ce qu'il fait est juste ou "juste" . Un kleptomane, cependant, sait que ce qu'il fait n'est pas bon mais qu'il lui est très difficile de le contrôler.

5. Le voleur n'a généralement pas de remords (ou plus précisément oui, mais atténuez cela avec des mécanismes de défense complexes) tandis que le kleptomane, dès qu'il a accompli l'acte, est envahi par d'énormes quantités de culpabilité et d'angoisse.

Quelles thérapies peuvent aider un kleptomane?

Les thérapies actuelles qui cherchent à brouiller les pulsions de voler chez les kleptomanes peuvent être pharmacologiques et / ou comportementales. Dans de nombreux cas, des antidépresseurs sont administrés afin de réguler les niveaux de sérotonine libérés par le sujet au moment de l'acte.

Comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment, les thérapies comportementales mettant l'accent sur le cognitif sont parmi les travaux psychothérapeutiques les plus efficaces pour les kleptomanes. Ce type de thérapie réalise un développement adéquat dans leurs activités quotidiennes. Par ailleurs, certains psychanalystes rapportent que les véritables causes du vol compulsif se concentrent sur les inconforts supprimés inconsciemment au cours de la petite enfance. Il est également conseillé à ceux qui souffrent de ce trouble de partager leurs expériences, leurs sentiments et leurs pensées avec un tiers, de sorte que cette personne digne de confiance exerce un rôle "vigilant".


je suis un cleptomane sur g mod #PoliceVictime (Mars 2024).


Articles Connexes