yes, therapy helps!
Kurt Koffka: biography of this Gestalt psychologist

Kurt Koffka: biography of this Gestalt psychologist

July 18, 2024

The German psychologist Kurt Koffka he is widely known for helping, together with Wolfgang Köhler and Max Wertheimer, to establish the foundations of the Gestalt school, which in retrospect would be a fundamental antecedent to modern cognitive psychology as we understand it.

We briefly review his career and contributions to the history of psychology, paying special attention to his figure in the genesis of the Gestalt movement, inseparable from his other two companions but with their own personality, and the importance that this was due to the reductionism in force at the time .


Biography of Kurt Koffka

Koffka was born in Berlin in 1886, in the bosom of a wealthy family known for being a long line of lawyers and legal scholars. From a young age, Koffka breaks with the traditional and, instead of opting for a law degree, studies Philosophy at the University of Berlin.

Koffka feels that he belongs to this field and ends up doctoring in 1908 . His thesis, entitled "Rhythm Experimental Research", is conducted under the tutelage of Carl Stumpf, an important representative of phenomenological psychology. During this time he lives in Edinburgh, which allows him to improve his English and obtain an advantageous position with respect to his colleagues to be able to introduce their theories in the English-speaking countries before anyone else.


After working in different psychology laboratories that question the dominant German elementarism, Koffka travels to Frankfurt and Main where he associates with Köhler and a newly arrived Wertheimer with thousands of ideas about perception that could be tested in numerous experiments. These works would give their first fruit in 1912, when Wertheimer published an article on the perception of the movement that gives birth to the movement that constitutes the Gestalt school.

Several years later, after the First World War, he moved to the United States as a university professor and participated, together with Köhler in 1925, as representative of the gestalt movement in the conferences of Clark University, conferences in which years ago figures had also participated. as Freud and Jung.

Koffka remained active as a university professor, researcher and writer until the last of his days in 1941.


The contribution of Koffka from the Gestalt

It is impossible to speak of the contribution of Koffka without taking into account the unique collaboration that gave birth to the gestalt movement. The three names originally associated with this form an indissoluble triumvirate and, up to a point, it is difficult to attribute particular aspects of the theory to each one.

However, each of the three played a differentiated role in the group and made their own contribution, always from a common base and respect for the work of the other two.

In the context of a Gestalt psychology that breaks with reductionism, which postulated that if psychology was a science then it should be able to reduce phenomena to constituent elements, Koffka is credited with a large body of empirical work .

Probably his most famous contribution is the systematic application of gestalt principles in his two best-known works: The Growth of the Mind (1921) and Principles of Gestalt Psychology (1935).

The infantile mind

In The Growth of the Mind, Koffka argues that early childhood experiences are organized as "all", rather than the chaotic confusion of stimuli that William James perceives newborns. As they get older, Koffka says, children learn to perceive stimuli in a more structured and differentiated way, rather than as an "all".

Koffka devotes much of this book to arguing against trial-and-error learning. He, through the investigations of Köhler, defends the insight. That is true learning occurs through the understanding of the situation and the elements that make it up , not to find the solution of a problem by pure chance. This revolutionary concept contributed greatly to the North American pedagogical approach shifting from rote learning to learning by comprehension.

Perception and memory

In Principles of Gestalt Psychology, Koffka continues with the line of research from which the gestalt movement was originally born: visual perception . In addition, it gathers the enormous amount of work carried out by the members of the gestalt group and its students and delves into topics such as learning and memory.

Koffka gives great importance to works on perceptual constancy, through which humans are able to perceive the properties of an object as constants, although conditions such as perspective, distance or illumination change.

When speaking of learning and memory, Koffka proposes a theory of the traces. It assumes that every physical event experienced gives rise to a specific activity in the brain, which leaves a trace of memory in the nervous system although the stimulus is no longer present.

Once the memory trace is formed, all subsequent related experiences will involve an interaction between the memory process and the memory trace. This circularity where the old traces affect the new processes recalls the theories of Piaget, who together with Lev Vygotsky would become the foundation of constructivism.

Likewise, following this theory also explains oblivion. It gives a very important role to the availability of the traces, an idea that surprises by the similarity with the explanations that we have today about the memory.

It is undeniable that Koffka, as an individual and as the founder of Gestalt, is a fundamental pillar of modern psychology . Both through cognitivism and constructivism, we see his legacy reflected.


Gestalt Psychology - Ch12 - History of Modern Psychology - Schultz & Schultz (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Kurt Koffka: biographie de ce psychologue de la Gestalt

Kurt Koffka: biographie de ce psychologue de la Gestalt

Septembre 22, 2020

Le psychologue allemand Kurt Koffka Il est largement connu pour avoir aidé, avec Wolfgang Köhler et Max Wertheimer, à jeter les bases de l'école de Gestalt, qui, rétrospectivement, constituerait un antécédent fondamental de la psychologie cognitive moderne telle que nous la concevons.

Nous passons brièvement en revue sa carrière et ses contributions à l’histoire de la psychologie, en accordant une attention particulière à sa figure dans la genèse du mouvement Gestalt, indissociable de ses deux autres compagnons mais avec leur propre personnalité, et l’importance que cela était dû au réductionnisme en vigueur à cette époque. .


Biographie de Kurt Koffka

Koffka est né à Berlin en 1886, au sein d'une famille aisée connue pour être une longue lignée d'avocats et de juristes. Dès son jeune âge, Koffka rompt avec la tradition et, au lieu d’opter pour un diplôme en droit, étudie la philosophie à l’Université de Berlin.

Koffka estime appartenir à ce domaine et finit par être doctorant en 1908 . Sa thèse, intitulée "Rhythm Experimental Research", est dirigée par Carl Stumpf, un représentant important de la psychologie phénoménologique. Pendant ce temps, il réside à Edimbourg, ce qui lui permet d’améliorer son anglais et d’obtenir une position avantageuse vis-à-vis de ses collègues pour pouvoir présenter leurs théories dans les pays anglophones avant tout le monde.


Après avoir travaillé dans différents laboratoires de psychologie qui remettent en question l’élémentarisme allemand dominant, Koffka se rend à Francfort et dans le Main, où il s’associe à Köhler et à un Wertheimer nouvellement arrivé avec des milliers d’idées sur la perception qui pourraient être testées dans de nombreuses expériences. Ces travaux donneront leur premier fruit en 1912, lorsque Wertheimer publiera un article sur la perception du mouvement qui donne naissance au mouvement qui constitue l'école de la Gestalt.

Quelques années plus tard, après la Première Guerre mondiale, il s'installe aux États-Unis en tant que professeur d'université et participe, avec Köhler en 1925, en tant que représentant du mouvement gestalt aux conférences de la Clark University, conférences auxquelles participaient également des personnalités des années précédentes. comme Freud et Jung.

Koffka demeura actif en tant que professeur d’université, chercheur et écrivain jusqu’à la fin de ses jours en 1941.


La contribution de Koffka de la Gestalt

Il est impossible de parler de la contribution de Koffka sans prendre en compte la collaboration unique qui a donné naissance au mouvement gestalt. Les trois noms initialement associés à cette forme forment un triumvirat indissoluble et, jusqu'à un certain point, il est difficile d'attribuer à chacun des aspects particuliers de la théorie.

Cependant, chacun des trois a joué un rôle différent dans le groupe et a apporté sa propre contribution, toujours à partir d'une base commune et du respect du travail des deux autres.

Dans le contexte d’une psychologie de la Gestalt rompant avec le réductionnisme, qui postulait que si la psychologie était une science, elle devrait pouvoir réduire les phénomènes à des éléments constitutifs, Koffka est crédité d'un grand nombre de travaux empiriques .

Sa contribution la plus célèbre est probablement l’application systématique des principes de la gestalt dans ses deux œuvres les plus connues: La croissance de l'esprit (1921) et Principes de psychologie de la Gestalt (1935).

L'esprit infantile

Dans La croissance de l'esprit, Koffka soutient que les expériences de la petite enfance sont organisées comme "toutes", plutôt que comme une confusion chaotique de stimuli que William James perçoit pour les nouveau-nés. Selon Koffka, en vieillissant, les enfants apprennent à percevoir les stimuli de manière plus structurée et différenciée, plutôt que comme un "tout".

Koffka consacre une grande partie de son livre à s'opposer à l'apprentissage par essais et erreurs. Grâce aux enquêtes de Köhler, il défend le insight. C'est que le véritable apprentissage passe par la compréhension de la situation et des éléments qui la composent , ne pas trouver la solution d'un problème par pur hasard. Ce concept révolutionnaire a grandement contribué à l’approche pédagogique nord-américaine, passant d’un apprentissage par cœur à un apprentissage par la compréhension.

Perception et mémoire

Dans les principes de la psychologie de la Gestalt, Koffka continue avec la ligne de recherche à l'origine du mouvement gestalt: la perception visuelle . De plus, il rassemble l'énorme travail effectué par les membres du groupe de gestalt et ses étudiants et aborde des sujets tels que l'apprentissage et la mémoire.

Koffka attache une grande importance aux travaux sur la constance de la perception, grâce auxquels les humains sont capables de percevoir les propriétés d'un objet comme des constantes, bien que des conditions telles que la perspective, la distance ou l'éclairage changent.

En parlant d'apprentissage et de mémoire, Koffka propose une théorie des traces. Il suppose que chaque événement physique vécu donne lieu à une activité spécifique dans le cerveau, qui laisse une trace de mémoire dans le système nerveux bien que le stimulus ne soit plus présent.

Une fois que la trace de mémoire est formée, toutes les expériences associées ultérieures impliquent une interaction entre le processus de mémoire et la trace de mémoire. Cette circularité où les traces anciennes affectent les nouveaux processus rappelle les théories de Piaget qui, avec Lev Vygotsky, deviendrait le fondement du constructivisme.

De même, suivre cette théorie explique également l'oubli. Cela donne un rôle très important à la disponibilité des traces, une idée qui surprend par la similitude avec les explications que nous avons aujourd'hui sur la mémoire.

Il est indéniable que Koffka, en tant qu'individu et fondateur de la Gestalt, est un pilier fondamental de la psychologie moderne. . Tant par le cognitivisme que par le constructivisme, nous voyons son héritage reflété.


kurt koffka gestalt (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes