yes, therapy helps!
Kurt Schneider: biography and main contributions of this psychiatrist

Kurt Schneider: biography and main contributions of this psychiatrist

April 26, 2024

Kurt Schneider is, together with Karl Jaspers, the main representative of the School of Heidelberg, an important antecedent of phenomenology and psychopathology of a biologicist nature.

In this article we will analyze the biography and the theoretical contributions of Kurt Schneider , particularly those related to schizophrenia, depression and psychopathy.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Biography of Kurt Schneider

Kurt Schneider was born in 1887 in the town of Crailsheim, which is currently in Germany but at the time belonged to the independent kingdom of Württemberg. He studied medicine at the universities of Berlin and Tübingen, and in 1912 he obtained a PhD with a thesis on psychopathology in the syndrome (or "psychosis") of Korsakoff.


After serving in the army during the First World War, Schneider continued to be trained as a psychopathologist, philosopher and teacher. In 1922 he was hired as an associate professor at the University of Cologne. In 1931, he became director of the Institute of Psychiatric Research in Munich and head of psychiatry at a municipal hospital.

He collaborated with the German army as a senior physician and psychiatrist in the years of World War II. Subsequently, in 1946, was appointed head of psychiatry and neurology at the University of Heidelberg , an institution that played a fundamental role in the later developments of academic psychopathology.


Schneider retired from professional activity in 1955; until that time he retained his position as dean in Heidelberg, obtained four years earlier. He died in October 1967 at the age of 80, leaving psychology and psychiatry a legacy that would have a remarkable influence.

One of the key points of Schneider's methodology was his particular interest in the analytical description of the subjective experience of patients. In this sense his proposals can be related to the phenomenological method , and should be understood in a broader theoretical context: that of the Heidelberg school of psychiatry.

The school of psychiatry in Heidelberg

Kurt Schneider is considered, along with Karl Theodor Jaspers (1883-1969), one of the main theorists of the school of psychiatry of Heidelberg, whose nucleus was in the University of Heidelberg, in Germany. This current was characterized by its Approach to mental disorder from a biologist perspective .


Jaspers is known primarily for his work around delusions; A very important aspect of his work is his emphasis on the importance of topography (the formal aspect) of psychopathological symptoms, as opposed to their specific contents. Other relevant authors of the Heidelberg School are Wilhelm Mayer-Gross and Oswald Bumke.

The clearest antecedent of the School of Heidelberg is Emil Kraepelin (1855-1926). This author created a classification of mental disorders according to their clinical manifestations, opposing previous systems that used hypothetical causes as the main criterion. The influence of Kraepelin on modern diagnostic classifications is evident.

Contributions by this author

The most significant contributions of Kurt Schneider to the field of psychopathology are related to diagnostic methods.

Specifically, he focused on the most characteristic symptoms and signs of certain psychological disorders in order to systematize and facilitate its identification, as well as the distinction of similar but not equivalent phenomena.

1. First-rate symptoms of schizophrenia

Schneider defined the conceptualization of schizophrenia from a series of manifestations referred to as "first-rate symptoms", and that would help distinguish this disorder from other types of psychosis. It is important to bear in mind that at that time the term "psychosis" also referred to phenomena such as mania.

The first-rate symptoms of schizophrenia according to Schneider would be the auditory hallucinations (including voices that comment on the actions of the subject and the echo of thought), the experiences of passivity (such as delusions of control), the delirium of theft of thought, the diffusion of thought and the delusional perceptions.

The influence that this grouping of symptoms has had in the subsequent diagnostic classifications has been very significant.Both the DSM manuals and the CIEs are largely inspired by the Schneiderian conception that there are nuclear symptoms (such as delusions and hallucinations) that may be accompanied by other less specific ones.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 differences between psychosis and schizophrenia"

2. Endogenous and reactive depression

Another of Schneider's most important contributions is the distinction between two types of depression: the endogenous, which would have a biological origin, and the reactive , associated to a greater extent to psychological alterations, in particular due to negative life events.

Currently the usefulness of this distinction is very questioned, in large part because it is known that in the so-called "reactive depressions" the functioning of neurotransmitters is altered, in addition to the idea of ​​Schneider underlies a dualistic conception of the psychology However, the term "endogenous depression" remains popular.

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

3. The 10 types of psychopathy

Nowadays we understand psychopathy in a similar way to the antisocial personality disorder described by the main diagnostic manuals. These ideas owe much to another one of the contributions of Kurt Schneider: his description of psychopathy as an ambiguous deviation in relation to normative behavior, and of the 10 types of psychopathy.

Thus, this author created a non-systematic typology, based purely on his own ideas, differentiating in this way psychopathy characterized by abnormalities in mood and activity , those of insecure-sensitive and insecure-anancástico type, the fanatical, the self-assertive, the emotionally unstable, the explosive, the insensitive, the weak will and the asthenic.

  • Related article: "Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?"

History of Art Documentary (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Kurt Schneider: biographie et principales contributions de ce psychiatre

Kurt Schneider: biographie et principales contributions de ce psychiatre

Janvier 17, 2022

Kurt Schneider est, avec Karl Jaspers, le principal représentant de l'école de Heidelberg, un important antécédent de phénoménologie et de psychopathologie de nature biologiste.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons la biographie et les contributions théoriques de Kurt Schneider , en particulier ceux liés à la schizophrénie, à la dépression et à la psychopathie.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Biographie de Kurt Schneider

Kurt Schneider est né en 1887 dans la ville de Crailsheim, qui se trouve actuellement en Allemagne, mais qui appartenait à l'époque au royaume indépendant du Wurtemberg. Il étudia la médecine aux universités de Berlin et de Tübingen et obtint en 1912 un doctorat avec une thèse sur la psychopathologie du syndrome (ou "psychose") de Korsakoff.


Après avoir servi dans l'armée pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, Schneider continua à suivre une formation de psychopathologiste, philosophe et enseignant. En 1922, il fut engagé comme professeur associé à l'Université de Cologne. En 1931, il devient directeur de l'Institut de recherche psychiatrique à Munich et responsable de la psychiatrie dans un hôpital municipal.

Il a collaboré avec l'armée allemande en tant que médecin et psychiatre en chef pendant les années de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Par la suite, en 1946, a été nommé chef de la psychiatrie et de la neurologie à l'université de Heidelberg , une institution qui a joué un rôle fondamental dans les développements ultérieurs de la psychopathologie universitaire.


Schneider a pris sa retraite de l'activité professionnelle en 1955; jusque-là, il conserva son poste de doyen à Heidelberg, obtenu quatre ans plus tôt. Il est décédé en octobre 1967 à l'âge de 80 ans, laissant à la psychologie et à la psychiatrie un héritage qui aurait une influence remarquable.

L'un des points clés de la méthodologie de Schneider était son intérêt particulier pour la description analytique de l'expérience subjective des patients. Dans ce sens ses propositions peuvent être liées à la méthode phénoménologique et doit être compris dans un contexte théorique plus large: celui de l’école de psychiatrie de Heidelberg.

L'école de psychiatrie à Heidelberg

Kurt Schneider est considéré, avec Karl Theodor Jaspers (1883-1969), l'un des principaux théoriciens de l'école de psychiatrie de Heidelberg, dont le noyau était à l'Université de Heidelberg, en Allemagne. Ce courant était caractérisé par son Approche du trouble mental du point de vue d'un biologiste .


Jaspers est principalement connu pour son travail sur les illusions; Un aspect très important de son travail est l'accent mis sur l'importance de la topographie (l'aspect formel) des symptômes psychopathologiques, par opposition à leur contenu spécifique. Wilhelm Mayer-Gross et Oswald Bumke sont d’autre auteurs de l’école de Heidelberg.

L'antécédent le plus clair de l'école de Heidelberg est Emil Kraepelin (1855-1926). Cet auteur a créé une classification des troubles mentaux en fonction de leurs manifestations cliniques, en opposant les systèmes antérieurs utilisant des causes hypothétiques comme critère principal. L'influence de Kraepelin sur les classifications diagnostiques modernes est évidente.

Contributions de cet auteur

Les contributions les plus significatives de Kurt Schneider au domaine de la psychopathologie concernent les méthodes de diagnostic.

Plus précisément, il s'est concentré sur les symptômes et signes les plus caractéristiques de certains troubles psychologiques afin de systématiser et de faciliter son identification, ainsi que la distinction entre des phénomènes similaires mais non équivalents.

1. Symptômes de premier ordre de la schizophrénie

Schneider a défini la conceptualisation de la schizophrénie à partir d'une série de manifestations appelées "symptômes de premier ordre", ce qui permettrait de distinguer ce trouble d'autres types de psychose. Il est important de garder à l'esprit qu'à cette époque le terme "psychose" faisait également référence à des phénomènes tels que la manie.

Les premiers symptômes de la schizophrénie selon Schneider seraient les hallucinations auditives (y compris les voix qui commentent les actions du sujet et l'écho de la pensée), les expériences de passivité (comme les illusions de contrôle), le délire de vol de pensée, la diffusion de la pensée et les perceptions délirantes.

L'influence de ce regroupement de symptômes dans les classifications diagnostiques ultérieures a été très significative.Les manuels de DSM et les CIE sont largement inspirés de la conception Schneiderienne selon laquelle il existe des symptômes nucléaires (tels que des illusions et des hallucinations) qui peuvent être accompagnés par d’autres moins spécifiques.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 5 différences entre psychose et schizophrénie"

2. Dépression endogène et réactive

Une autre des contributions les plus importantes de Schneider est la distinction entre deux types de dépression: la crise endogène, qui aurait une origine biologique, et la réaction , associé dans une plus large mesure à des altérations psychologiques, dues en particulier à des événements négatifs de la vie.

Actuellement, l'utilité de cette distinction est très remise en question, en grande partie parce qu'il est connu que dans les "dépressions réactives", le fonctionnement des neurotransmetteurs est altéré, en plus de l'idée de Schneider qui sous-tend une conception dualiste de la psychologie Cependant, le terme "dépression endogène" reste populaire.

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

3. Les 10 types de psychopathies

De nos jours, nous comprenons la psychopathie de la même manière que le trouble de la personnalité antisocial décrit dans les principaux manuels de diagnostic. Ces idées doivent beaucoup à une autre des contributions de Kurt Schneider: sa description de la psychopathie comme déviation ambiguë par rapport au comportement normatif, et des 10 types de psychopathie.

Ainsi, cet auteur a créé une typologie non systématique, basée uniquement sur ses propres idées, différenciant ainsi psychopathie caractérisée par des anomalies de l'humeur et de l'activité , ceux de type insécurisant-sensible et insécurisant-anancástico, le fanatique, l’autoaffirmant, l’émotionnellement instable, l’explosif, l’insensible, la volonté faible et l’asthénique.

  • Article connexe: "Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?"

The Savings and Loan Banking Crisis: George Bush, the CIA, and Organized Crime (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes