yes, therapy helps!
Laboratory material: 23 essential objects and instruments

Laboratory material: 23 essential objects and instruments

September 24, 2022

Most of the scientific advances of recent centuries have been able to be carried out thanks to the progressive technology and the effort of its application in the investigation of the phenomena of different branches or aspects of reality, generally through experimental research.

Although these investigations can be carried out in different ways and in different places, they are usually carried out in some type of laboratory, where there are enough elements and conditions to generate experiments that can check or analyze samples, as well as reproduce in controlled conditions the phenomena or situations to study.

And in this context highlights the need for adequate equipment and sufficient laboratory equipment . Throughout this article we will talk about the different elements that make up the latter, at least as regards the most basic of what is usually available in general.


Laboratory material: basic objects

We can understand by laboratory material the set of tools and instruments that a laboratory needs to be able to carry out the necessary research or experimentation in order to generate knowledge and analyze the phenomenon of reality that is being studied.

Keep in mind that there are a variety of laboratory types , each of them requiring specialized material in the field of study in which they work: does not require the same type of material from a physics laboratory as chemistry, for example. The material that we indicate below is what is usually considered the most basic and most associated with the laboratory prototype, perhaps with an orientation towards chemistry, biology and medicine.


1. Test tube

This small transparent tube, which has a base that supports it, has as its main function to measure the volume of a liquid or a solid (by the principle of Archimedes).

2. Test tube

A type of tube, similar to the test tube but without a base, in which liquids, solutions or samples to analyze or experiment are usually poured.

3. Rack / grid

When we use test tubes it is necessary to be able to leave them in a fixed place from which to work, given that they do not have a base of support. That is why a grid or rack can be very useful to deposit them, especially when we have several samples.

4. Microscope

Although the first laboratories did not have this material, the invention of the microscope supposed a revolution at scientific level, allowing to examine the matter, its composition and structure and its interaction with the environment at a level indistinguishable to the human eye. Nowadays there are few laboratories that do not have any.


5. Petri dish

Small round container, transparent and with lid, which is usually used in order to place samples of tissues, bacteria and cells to subsequently generate crops.

6. Storage slides

Similar to the previous one, a slide is usually a small and thin glass or plastic plate in which a minimum portion of the sample to be analyzed is placed (for example, a drop of blood), in order to be able to observe it by the microscope.

7. Pipette

Instrument of laboratory generally of glass or plastic that allows to measure the volume of a substance that we can pour of controlled way by one of its ends, being able to easily determine the amount of substance that has left it.

8. Burette

Instrument elongated similar to a mixture between test tube and funnel, the burette allows to determine the volume of a liquid or solution at the same time that it has a handle or stopcock to allow the regulation of the passage of the liquid.

9. Flask

Larger container and usually in the form of a test tube with the closed end widened, is used to contain substances, mix or distill them. They exist of diverse types, being one of the most known the one of Erlenmeyer.

10. Agitator / mixer

An agitator is any instrument that allows the uniform mixing of the samples with which it is worked through its movement. Traditionally used a rod, but currently there are electronic mixers or with different mechanisms.

11. Funnel

Especially in chemistry, it is common that there are several types of funnels which allow to mix in a controlled manner the different compounds or in order to separate solids from liquids. It stands out the one of decantation (that allows to regulate with a handle the amount of substance that is filtering).

12. Scale-scale

Being able to accurately weigh what we are studying is basic in a large number of scientific disciplines, which is why a scale or balance (currently being mostly digital) are basic instruments.

13. Tweezers

The tweezers are very necessary in a laboratory, generally in order to hold a specific instrument or move some elements of the samples that we are analyzing.

14. Scalpel

Especially in sciences such as medicine or chemistry, it may be necessary to make precise cuts to reach or separate a sample of the material to be analyzed (for example to make a biopsy). In this sense a scalpel can be useful.

15. Spatula

With an appearance similar to that of a round knife, it is a useful instrument for collecting small solids in the form of dust.

16. Lima

Sometimes it may be necessary to file an object or material to extract a small sample or even to cut a particular material.

17. Teaspoon

Something as basic as a spoon is also a useful instrument in a laboratory, especially if we are making some kind of solution that requires the use of some chemical element in powder form.

18. Toilet brush

The cleaning of the laboratory material, both before and after using it, is something fundamental that can in fact greatly alter the results of the experimentation or analysis. That is why a brush that allows for example cleaning flasks or test tubes is a must.

19. Wash bottle

In general, in order to clean the material used, we will need more than the brush, being necessary to apply water to clean it. The washing bottle is usually filled with distilled water or some type of alcohol, allowing a comfortable application in the instruments.

20. Cigarette lighter / burner / stove

In many experiments and with many substances and chemical reactions it may be necessary to heat the components to be used, or even cause them to burn. Obviously we are talking about laboratory material, not employees on a day-to-day basis.

21. Thermometer

Knowing the temperature at which a substance or sample is present may be fundamental to be able to study it correctly or even to preserve it (for example, in the case of living organs or cells such as sperm cells). In this sense the use of some type of thermometer is useful.

22. Dropper

Another instrument that, although extremely simple, is common in different types of laboratories. However, it must be borne in mind that the amount of substance that is expelled may be more or less precise and that different instruments can sometimes have the same function (such as the handle in a separatory funnel).

23. Computer

Perhaps this instrument seems obvious, but the fact is that the computing capacity of a computer allows to record and even automate concrete processes to be used during experimentation with a level of precision and detail that a human being could spend much longer to achieve.

Bibliographic references:

  • Atkins J. and Jones, L. (2012). Principles of Chemistry. The roads of discovery, 5th Ed. Editorial Panamericana Medical, Madrid.
  • Bawer JD. (nineteen ninety six). Clinical Analysis, Methods and Interpretation. Barcelona. Ed. Revert√©.

Laboratory Equipment Names | List of Laboratory Equipment in English (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Matériel de laboratoire: 23 objets et instruments essentiels

Matériel de laboratoire: 23 objets et instruments essentiels

Juillet 22, 2022

La plupart des avancées scientifiques des derniers siècles ont pu être réalisées grâce à la technologie de pointe et aux efforts de son application dans la recherche des phénomènes de différentes branches ou aspects de la réalité, généralement par le biais de recherches expérimentales.

Bien que ces investigations puissent être effectuées de différentes manières et à différents endroits, elles le sont généralement dans des laboratoires où les éléments et les conditions sont suffisants pour générer des expériences permettant de contrôler ou d'analyser des échantillons, ainsi que de se reproduire conditions contrôlées des phénomènes ou des situations à étudier.

Et dans ce contexte souligne la nécessité d'un équipement adéquat et d'un équipement de laboratoire suffisant . Tout au long de cet article, nous aborderons les différents éléments qui composent ce dernier, du moins en ce qui concerne le plus élémentaire de ce qui est généralement disponible.


Matériel de laboratoire: objets de base

Nous pouvons comprendre par le matériel de laboratoire l’ensemble des outils et instruments dont un laboratoire a besoin pour pouvoir effectuer les recherches ou les expériences nécessaires afin de générer des connaissances et d’analyser le phénomène de réalité étudié.

N'oubliez pas qu'il existe une variété de types de laboratoires , chacun d’entre eux nécessitant du matériel spécialisé dans le domaine d’étude dans lequel ils travaillent: ne nécessite pas du même type de matériel de laboratoire de physique que la chimie, par exemple. Le matériel que nous indiquons ci-dessous est ce qui est généralement considéré comme le plus fondamental et le plus associé au prototype de laboratoire, avec peut-être une orientation vers la chimie, la biologie et la médecine.


1. tube à essai

Ce petit tube transparent, qui possède une base qui le supporte, a pour fonction principale de mesurer le volume d’un liquide ou d’un solide (selon le principe d’Archimède).

2. tube à essai

Un type de tube, similaire au tube à essai mais sans base, dans lequel sont généralement coulés des liquides, des solutions ou des échantillons à analyser ou à expérimenter.

3. Rack / grille

Lorsque nous utilisons des éprouvettes, il est nécessaire de pouvoir les laisser dans un endroit déterminé pour travailler, étant donné qu’elles ne disposent pas d’une base de support. C'est pourquoi une grille ou un rack peut être très utile pour les déposer, surtout lorsque nous avons plusieurs échantillons.

4. microscope

Bien que les premiers laboratoires ne disposaient pas de ce matériel, l'invention du microscope supposait une révolution au niveau scientifique, permettant d'examiner la matière, sa composition, sa structure et ses interactions avec l'environnement à un niveau indiscernable à l'œil humain. De nos jours, il y a peu de laboratoires qui n'en ont pas.


5. Boîte de Pétri

Petit récipient rond, transparent et avec couvercle, généralement utilisé pour placer des échantillons de tissus, de bactéries et de cellules afin de générer des cultures par la suite.

6. Diapositives de stockage

Semblable à la précédente, une lame est généralement une petite et fine plaque de verre ou de plastique dans laquelle est placée une partie minimale de l’échantillon à analyser (une goutte de sang, par exemple), afin de pouvoir l’observer par microscope

7. Pipette

Instrument de laboratoire généralement en verre ou en plastique qui permet de mesurer le volume d'une substance que l'on peut verser de manière contrôlée par l'une de ses extrémités, pouvant facilement déterminer la quantité de substance qu'il a quittée.

8. Burette

Instrument allongé similaire à un mélange entre tube à essai et entonnoir, la burette permet de déterminer le volume d'un liquide ou d'une solution en même temps que celui-ci comporte une poignée ou un robinet d'arrêt pour permettre la régulation du passage du liquide.

9. Flacon

Un récipient plus grand, généralement sous la forme d’un tube à essai à extrémité fermée élargie, est utilisé pour contenir, mélanger ou distiller des substances. Ils existent de divers types, étant l'un des plus connus celui d'Erlenmeyer.

10. Agitateur / mélangeur

Un agitateur est un instrument qui permet le mélange uniforme des échantillons avec lesquels il est travaillé tout au long de son mouvement. Traditionnellement utilisé une tige, mais il existe actuellement des mélangeurs électroniques ou avec des mécanismes différents.

11. Entonnoir

En chimie en particulier, il existe plusieurs types d’entonnoirs permettant de mélanger de manière contrôlée les différents composés ou de séparer les solides des liquides. Il se distingue par celui de la décantation (qui permet de régler avec une poignée la quantité de substance filtrante).

12. échelle

Être capable de peser avec précision ce que nous étudions est fondamental dans un grand nombre de disciplines scientifiques, ce qui explique pourquoi une balance ou une balance (qui est principalement numérique) sont des instruments de base.

13. Brucelles

Les pincettes sont très nécessaires dans un laboratoire, généralement pour pouvoir tenir un instrument spécifique ou déplacer certains éléments des échantillons que nous analysons.

14. Scalpel

En particulier dans les sciences telles que la médecine ou la chimie, il peut être nécessaire d'effectuer des coupes précises pour atteindre ou séparer un échantillon du matériau à analyser (par exemple, pour effectuer une biopsie). En ce sens, un scalpel peut être utile.

15. spatule

D'apparence semblable à celle d'un couteau rond, c'est un instrument utile pour la collecte de petits solides sous forme de poussière.

16. Lima

Parfois, il peut être nécessaire de déposer un objet ou un matériau pour extraire un petit échantillon ou même pour couper un matériau particulier.

17. cuillère à café

Un élément aussi fondamental qu'une cuillère est également un instrument utile dans un laboratoire, surtout si nous élaborons une solution qui nécessite l'utilisation d'un élément chimique sous forme de poudre.

18. Brosse de toilette

Le nettoyage du matériel de laboratoire, avant et après son utilisation, est un élément fondamental qui peut en fait altérer considérablement les résultats de l’expérimentation ou de l’analyse. C'est pourquoi une brosse permettant, par exemple, de nettoyer des flacons ou des éprouvettes est indispensable.

19. bouteille de lavage

En général, pour nettoyer le matériau utilisé, il nous faut plus que le pinceau, il est nécessaire d'appliquer de l'eau pour le nettoyer. La bouteille de lavage est généralement remplie d’eau distillée ou d’un certain type d’alcool, ce qui permet une application confortable dans les instruments.

20. allume-cigarette / brûleur / cuisinière

Dans de nombreuses expériences et avec de nombreuses substances et réactions chimiques, il peut être nécessaire de chauffer les composants à utiliser, voire même de les faire brûler. De toute évidence, nous parlons de matériel de laboratoire et non d’employés au quotidien.

21. thermomètre

Connaître la température à laquelle une substance ou un échantillon est présent peut être fondamental pour pouvoir l’étudier correctement ou même pour le conserver (par exemple, dans le cas d’organes vivants ou de cellules telles que les spermatozoïdes). En ce sens, l'utilisation d'un certain type de thermomètre est utile.

22. compte-gouttes

Un autre instrument, bien que extrêmement simple, est commun dans différents types de laboratoires. Cependant, il convient de garder à l'esprit que la quantité de substance expulsée peut être plus ou moins précise et que différents instruments peuvent parfois avoir la même fonction (comme le manche d'un entonnoir à décantation).

23. ordinateur

Cet instrument semble peut-être évident, mais le fait est que la capacité de calcul d’un ordinateur permet d’enregistrer et même d’automatiser des processus concrets à utiliser lors de l’expérimentation avec un niveau de précision et de détail qu'un être humain pourrait dépenser beaucoup plus de temps à atteindre.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Atkins J. et Jones, L. (2012). Principes de chimie. Les chemins de la découverte, 5e éd. Editorial Panamericana Medical, Madrid.
  • Bawer JD. (1996). Analyse clinique, méthodes et interprétation. Barcelone Ed. Reverté.

Mondes intérieurs, Mondes extérieurs - Partie 1 - Akasha (L'Univers est Vibration) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes