yes, therapy helps!
Lack of empathy: 12 signs that give it away

Lack of empathy: 12 signs that give it away

April 28, 2024

Empathy is a basic skill that allows us to successfully relate to other members of our species and society, allowing a healthy coexistence and respecting the rights, freedoms and needs of each of its components.

Thanks to it we can relate to a deep level and value and feel valued by others. But the truth is that not everyone is equal to empathic, and there are even people who completely lack this ability. Not having it can lead to very understandable channels for the majority and a great disability, and in some people even to trigger aggression or violence. How can we recognize someone who lacks it? In this article, we are going to talk about different signs that betray someone with a lack of empathy .


  • Related article: "Empathy, much more than putting oneself in the place of the other"

What is empathy?

We call empathy the ability to put oneself in someone else's shoes, understanding the feelings and thoughts that others may have and how situations affect them or even our own actions. It is about seeing things not objectively and coldly, but to see them as the other experiences them: the implications for the person, their subjectivity, their context and their circumstances, as well as their idiosyncrasies and values, must be taken into account. personality.

Empathy is a basic element of deep interpersonal relationships , as well as the interpersonal and emotional intelligences, allowing us the adequate and adaptive contact with others as well as the management of our own emotions and the recognition of the rest of the people in our environment. Its lack can have repercussions in the life of the person who lacks it and also in its environment, generating instability, loneliness and even problems of adaptation to society or the monitoring of social norms.


There can be many causes that can generate lack of empathy: from the deprivation of affect throughout childhood to the experience of physical, psychological and / or sexual abuse, also passing through various neurological, neurodevelopmental or psychological problems. It's important to put attention on each person has their own capabilities and empathy may be more or less developed in each one of us, but the total absence of this capacity is difficult and usually occurs in different disorders.

An example of this is the set of autism spectrum disorders. Another, the narcissistic personality or the limiting personality. Finally, and in addition, the latter in which the lack of empathy can go hand in hand with the exercise of violence, disobedience of rules and laws and even crimes, is the case of people with antisocial disorder or the case of psychopathy and sociopathy.


Signs that show the lack of empathy

Below we indicate some signs that reflect the presence of a difficulty or absence of empathy, regardless of their reason for appearance. Keep in mind that lack of empathy can occur at the cognitive level (ie not knowing how the other can feel), emotionally (although you know how you can feel the other it has no emotional impact) or both senses. In addition, in addition to all this, we must bear in mind that lack of empathy can be associated with different characteristics depending on other facets of personality and cognition , not being applicable all the items that follow all the subjects with lack of empathy.

1. Immersion in oneself

A characteristic that people with a lack of empathy tend to have in common, especially those who have autistic characteristics, is the feeling that they are centered in their inner world and that they do not have total awareness of the people around them.

2. Problems of understanding

Not being able to put oneself in the place of others means that for many people with problems of empathy it can be difficult to understand the actions and words of others, as well as the reaction to one's own actions. This can generate suffering in the subject itself or be something indifferent, depending on whether there is a desire for a relationship (such as in people with Asperger) or it is indifferent.

3. Theory of the distorted mind

The theory of the mind is the ability we have to realize that other people have their own mind, motivations and desires, and that these may be different from ours. The existence of a lack of empathy can lead to or be related to a problem in this capacity, there being a certain inability to separate one's point of view from what others can have.

4. Egocentrism

Something common in all people with a lack of empathy is self-centeredness: they see everything from their point of view, being the only valid and not considering the validity of others . There can also be selfishness: the only or the most important thing is what one wants, the defense of their rights and the achievement of their objectives.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Self-centered personality: 15 characteristic features"

5. Narcissism

Although it is not essential, it is common for those who lack empathy to develop a certain degree of narcissism, considering themselves superior or more valuable than the rest and making your needs something above the rights of other people . This aspect is strongly linked to the previous point.

6. Lack of tact and contextual inadequacy

In contact with others, someone who does not have empathy will be characterized by a communication that does not take into account or for which it is indifferent how others can react. Thus, they can leave aside pragmatic aspects of the language and send messages of great hardness without any tact towards their issuers. This sign may not be evident in case of manipulation attempts, if the person has a great intelligence and is able to cognitively know how they affect things to others.

7. Impatience

Another characteristic common to non-empathic people is impatience with others: they can not understand or value the needs of others and they find it irritating to have to repeat or invest time doing things with others , integrating them.

8. Stereotypes and prejudices follow

The fact of not being able to empathize makes it habitual for these people to use stereotypes and prejudices, acting on a cognitive level and using the labels in order to guide their behavior and thinking. Nor are they able to see how they affect the behavior of others.

9. Surface, destructive or avoided relationships

Something common to most people with a lack of empathy is the fact that, not being able to identify and value the other's emotions and thoughts as something valuable or interesting and not being able to put themselves in their place, they generally maintain shallow relationships and superficial It is possible that this type of relationship is simply cordial or that there is seductive behavior to satisfy their needs, or that they are directly avoided because they are incomprehensible.

10. Utilitarian behavior

A person with a great lack of empathy will tend to employ other people as a resource to achieve their ends. The fact of not being able to put oneself in the place of the other makes them devalorize and reify the other, using it directly or indirectly to achieve personal goals regardless of their feelings.

11. Aggression and violence

While not all people who do not have empathy develop violent attitudes (for example, people with autism have problems with empathy and are not usually violent), the truth is that having no empathy makes it easier resort to aggressive or even violent problem solving styles in the absence of awareness of what this implies for the other or the suffering they can cause.

12. Lack of remorse

Doing something that harms others often leads to a certain amount of remorse in most people. However, in those who lack empathy remorse is nonexistent or much less than usual, although they can apologize if they have the knowledge that others have suffered or if it suits their purposes.


10 Traits Of An Empath - Signs You Are A Highly Sensitive Person (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Manque d'empathie: 12 signes qui le trahissent

Manque d'empathie: 12 signes qui le trahissent

Avril 16, 2021

L’empathie est une compétence de base qui nous permet d’être en relation avec d’autres membres de notre espèce et de la société, en permettant une coexistence saine et en respectant les droits, les libertés et les besoins de chacune de ses composantes.

Grâce à cela, nous pouvons nous connecter à un niveau et à une valeur profonds et nous sentir valorisés par les autres. Mais la vérité est que tout le monde n’est pas égal à l’empathie, et il y a même des personnes qui manquent complètement de cette capacité. Ne pas l'avoir peut entraîner des voies très compréhensibles pour la majorité et un handicap important, voire provoquer chez certaines personnes même une agression ou une violence. Comment reconnaître quelqu'un à qui ce manque? Dans cet article, nous allons parler de différents signes qui trahissent quelqu'un avec un manque d'empathie .


  • Article connexe: "L'empathie, bien plus que se mettre à la place de l'autre"

Qu'est-ce que l'empathie?

Nous appelons empathie la capacité de se mettre à la place de quelqu'un d'autre, de comprendre les sentiments et les pensées que les autres peuvent avoir et de voir comment les situations l'affectent, voire nos propres actions. Il s'agit de voir les choses avec objectivité et froideur, mais de les voir comme les autres les expérimentent: il faut tenir compte des implications pour la personne, de leur subjectivité, de leur contexte et de leurs circonstances, ainsi que de leurs idiosyncrasies et de leurs valeurs. personnalité

L'empathie est un élément fondamental des relations interpersonnelles profondes , ainsi que les intelligences interpersonnelles et émotionnelles, nous permettant un contact adéquat et adaptatif avec les autres, ainsi que la gestion de nos propres émotions et la reconnaissance du reste des gens dans notre environnement. Son absence peut avoir des répercussions sur la vie de la personne qui en manque, ainsi que sur son environnement, générant instabilité, solitude et même des problèmes d’adaptation à la société ou de contrôle des normes sociales.


De nombreuses causes peuvent générer un manque d'empathie: de la privation d'affect tout au long de l'enfance à l'expérience d'abus physique, psychologique et / ou sexuel, en passant également par divers problèmes neurologiques, neurodéveloppementaux ou psychologiques. Il est important de garder à l'esprit que chaque personne a ses propres capacités et l’empathie peut être plus ou moins développée chez chacun d’entre nous, mais l’absence totale de cette capacité est difficile et se produit généralement dans différents troubles.

Un exemple de ceci est l'ensemble des troubles du spectre autistique. Un autre, la personnalité narcissique ou la personnalité limitante. Enfin, et en outre, le dernier cas dans lequel le manque d'empathie peut aller de pair avec l'exercice de la violence, la désobéissance aux règles et lois et même les crimes, est le cas des personnes atteintes de désordre antisocial ou le cas de psychopathie et sociopathie.


Des signes qui montrent le manque d'empathie

Ci-dessous, nous indiquons certains signes qui reflètent la présence d'une difficulté ou d'une absence d'empathie, quelle que soit la raison de leur apparition. N'oubliez pas que le manque d'empathie peut survenir au niveau cognitif (c.-à-d. Ne pas savoir ce que l'autre peut ressentir), émotionnellement (bien que vous sachiez comment vous pouvez sentir l'autre n'a aucun impact émotionnel) ou les deux. des sens En plus de tout cela, nous devons garder à l’esprit que le manque d’empathie peut être associé à différentes caractéristiques. en fonction d'autres facettes de la personnalité et de la cognition , n'étant pas applicable tous les éléments qui suivent tous les sujets avec un manque d'empathie.

1. Immersion en soi

Les personnes qui manquent d'empathie ont tendance à avoir en commun, en particulier celles qui présentent des caractéristiques autistes, le sentiment d'être centrées sur leur monde intérieur et de ne pas être totalement conscientes de leur entourage.

2. Problèmes de compréhension

Ne pas être en mesure de se mettre à la place des autres signifie que, pour de nombreuses personnes aux prises avec des problèmes d'empathie, il peut être difficile de comprendre les actions et les paroles des autres, ainsi que la réaction à leurs propres actions. Cela peut générer de la souffrance chez le sujet lui-même ou être quelque chose d'indifférent, selon qu'il y ait un désir de relation (comme chez les personnes atteintes d'Asperger) ou qu'il soit indifférent.

3. Théorie de l'esprit déformé

La théorie de l'esprit est la capacité que nous devons réaliser que d'autres personnes ont leur propre esprit, leurs motivations et leurs désirs, et que ceux-ci peuvent être différents des nôtres. L'existence d'un manque d'empathie peut conduire ou être liée à un problème de cette capacité, il y a une certaine incapacité à séparer son point de vue de ce que les autres peuvent avoir.

4. L'égocentrisme

Quelque chose de commun chez toutes les personnes avec un manque d'empathie est l'égocentrisme: elles voient tout de leur point de vue, être le seul valide et ne pas considérer la validité des autres . Il peut aussi y avoir de l'égoïsme: la seule chose ou la chose la plus importante est ce que l'on veut, la défense de leurs droits et la réalisation de leurs objectifs.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Personnalité centrée sur elle-même: 15 traits caractéristiques"

5. Narcissisme

Bien que cela ne soit pas essentiel, il est courant que ceux qui manquent d'empathie développent un certain degré de narcissisme, se considérant supérieurs ou plus précieux que les autres et faire de vos besoins quelque chose de supérieur aux droits des autres . Cet aspect est fortement lié au point précédent.

6. Manque de tact et inadéquation contextuelle

Au contact des autres, une personne sans empathie se caractérisera par une communication qui ne prend pas en compte ou pour laquelle il est indifférent de voir comment les autres peuvent réagir. Ainsi, ils peuvent laisser de côté les aspects pragmatiques de la langue et envoyer des messages d'une grande dureté sans aucun tact envers leurs émetteurs. Ce signe peut ne pas être évident en cas de tentatives de manipulation, si la personne a une grande intelligence et est capable de savoir de manière cognitive comment elles affectent les choses pour les autres.

7. Impatience

Une autre caractéristique commune aux personnes non empathiques est leur impatience vis-à-vis des autres: elles ne peuvent ni comprendre ni apprécier les besoins des autres et elles trouvent cela irritant de devoir répéter ou investir du temps à faire les choses avec les autres en les intégrant.

8. Stéréotypes et préjugés suivent

Le fait de ne pas être capable d'empathie fait qu'il est habituel pour ces personnes d'utiliser des stéréotypes et des préjugés, d'agir au niveau cognitif et d'utiliser les étiquettes pour guider leur comportement et leur pensée. Ils ne sont pas non plus en mesure de voir comment ils affectent le comportement des autres.

9. Relations superficielles, destructives ou évitées

Ce qui est commun à la plupart des personnes qui manquent d'empathie, c'est le fait que, ne pouvant pas identifier et valoriser les émotions et les pensées de l'autre comme quelque chose de précieux ou d'intéressant et ne pouvant pas se mettre à leur place, elles entretiennent généralement des relations superficielles et superficiel Il est possible que ce type de relation soit simplement cordial ou qu'il existe un comportement séduisant pour satisfaire leurs besoins, ou qu'ils sont directement évités parce qu'ils sont incompréhensibles.

10. Comportement utilitaire

Une personne avec un grand manque d'empathie aura tendance à employer d'autres personnes comme ressource pour atteindre leurs objectifs. Le fait de ne pas pouvoir se mettre à la place des autres les amène à dévaloriser et à réifier les autres, en les utilisant directement ou indirectement pour atteindre des objectifs personnels, quels que soient leurs sentiments.

11. Agression et violence

Bien que toutes les personnes qui n'ont pas d'empathie ne développent pas d'attitudes violentes (par exemple, les personnes avec autisme ont des problèmes d'empathie et ne sont généralement pas violentes), mais la vérité est que l'absence d'empathie facilite les choses. recourir à des styles de résolution de problèmes agressifs, voire violents en l'absence de conscience de ce que cela implique pour l'autre ou de la souffrance qu'il peut causer.

12. Absence de remords

Faire quelque chose qui nuit à autrui entraîne souvent un certain remords chez la plupart des gens. Cependant, chez ceux qui manquent d'empathie, le remords est inexistant ou bien moins que d'habitude, bien qu'ils puissent s'excuser s'ils savent que d'autres ont souffert ou si cela convient à leurs objectifs.


Voilà ce qui provoque du stress pour chaque signe astrologique (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes