yes, therapy helps!
Landau-Kleffner syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

Landau-Kleffner syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

July 14, 2024

Although generally we do not realize it, each and every one of us carries out a large number of highly complex cognitive processes. And is that activities and skills that we generally take for granted and even for simple require a lot of interactions between different brain regions that handle different types of information. An example of this is speech, whose development is very useful when communicating and adapting to life in society.

However, there are different disorders, illnesses and injuries that can generate important complications when developing and maintaining this ability. This is the case of Landau-Kleffner syndrome , a rare disease that we are going to talk about in this article.


  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

Landau-Kleffner syndrome: description and symptoms

The Landau-Kleffner syndrome is a branch and rare neurological disease of appearance in children , characterized by the appearance of a progressive aphasia at least receptive level that appears usually linked to electroencephalographic alterations, which are usually associated with the suffering of epileptic seizures. In fact, it is also called epileptic aphasia, acquired epileptic aphasia or aphasia with convulsive disorder.

One of the symptoms of this condition is the appearance of the aforementioned aphasia, which can be comprehensive (that is, there are problems in understanding the language), expressive (in the production of this) or mixed, after a period of time in which the development of language was normative for the child's age. In fact, the child may suddenly or progressively lose previously acquired abilities . The most common is that there are problems of a comprehensive nature, losing the ability to understand the language and can even lead to silence.


Another of the most common symptoms u that is in fact related to the appearance of aphasia (and that in fact largely explains the alterations that generate it) is the suffering of epileptic seizures, existing in almost three quarters of those affected . These crises can be of any type, and can appear both unilaterally and bilaterally in one area of ​​the brain as well as at a generalized level.

The most common is that an epileptic seizure appears in or affects the temporal lobe, they usually activate during slow sleep and tend to generalize to the rest of the brain . There are also cases in which they do not occur, or at least not at a clinical level.

They can also and usually appear secondarily, although it is not something defining the disorder itself, problems at the behavioral level: irritability, anger, aggression and motor agitation, as well as autistic features.


The symptoms of this disease can appear at any age between 18 months and 13 years, although it is more common between three-four and seven years of age.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Aphasias: the main language disorders"

Causes of this disorder

The causes of this unusual disease continue to this day without being clear, although there are various hypotheses in this regard.

One of them considers the possibility of being faced with a genetic alteration, specifically product of GRIN2A gene mutations .

Other hypotheses, which do not have to contravene the previous one, indicate that the problem can be derived from a reaction or alteration of the immune system of minors, and even due to infections such as herpes.

Course and forecast

The course of the Landau-Kleffner syndrome is usually progressive and fluctuating, part of the symptomatology may disappear with age .

As far as the forecast is concerned, it can vary greatly depending on the case. usually disappearing part of the symptomatology (specifically the epilepsy usually disappears during the adolescence), although aphasic problems can remain throughout the life of the subject.

Complete recovery can occur in about a quarter of cases as long as they are treated. It is much more frequent, however, that there remain small sequelae and speech difficulties. Finally around a quarter of patients can have serious sequelae.

As a general rule, the earlier the onset of symptoms, the worse the prognosis and the greater the possibility of sequelae, not only due to the problem itself but also to the lack of development of communication skills during growth.

Treatment

The treatment of this disease requires a multidisciplinary approach , the problems presented must be dealt with from different disciplines.

Epileptic type alterations, although usually disappear with age, require medical treatment. Generally, antiepileptic drugs, such as lamotrigine, are used for this purpose. Also steroids and adrenocorticotropic hormone have been effective, as well as immunoglobulins. Vagus nerve stimulation has also been used occasionally. In some cases surgery may be necessary .

With regard to aphasia, a deep work will be necessary at the level of speech therapy and speech therapy. In some cases it may be necessary to make curricular adaptations or even to use special education schools. Behavioral problems and psychological alterations should also be worked differentially.

Finally, the psychoeducation of both the child and their parents and environment can promote a better development of the child and a greater understanding and ability to cope with the disease and the complications that it can generate on a day-to-day basis.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aicardi, J. (1999). The Landau-Kleffner syndrome. Rev Neurol., 29: 380-5.
  • Association Landau-Kleffner Syndrome (s.f.). What is the SLK ?. [On-line]. Available at: //www.landau-kleffner.org/sindrome-landau-kleffner/.
  • Landau, W.M. & Kleffner, F.R. (1957). Syndrome of acquired aphasia with convulsive disorder in children. Neurology, 7: 523-30.
  • Nieto, M., López, M.I., Candau, R., L. Ruiz, L., Rufo, M. and Correa, A. (1997). Acquired epileptic aphasia (Landau-Kleffner syndrome). Contribution of 10 cases. Spanish Annals of Pediatrics, 47 (6): 611-617.
  • Pozo, A.J., Pozo, D., Carrillo, B., Simon, N., Llanes, M. and Pozo, D. (2005). The Landau-Kleffner syndrome. Presentation of two cases. Cuban Journal of Pediatrics, 77 (2).
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Landau-Kleffner: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome de Landau-Kleffner: symptômes, causes et traitement

Avril 16, 2021

Bien que généralement nous ne le réalisions pas, chacun d’entre nous exécute un grand nombre de processus cognitifs extrêmement complexes. Et est-ce que les activités et les compétences que nous prenons généralement pour acquis et même pour les plus simples nécessitent de nombreuses interactions entre différentes régions du cerveau qui gèrent différents types d’informations. Un exemple de ceci est le discours, dont le développement est très utile pour communiquer et s'adapter à la vie en société.

Cependant, différents troubles, maladies et blessures peuvent générer des complications importantes lors du développement et du maintien de cette capacité. C'est le cas du syndrome de Landau-Kleffner , une maladie rare dont nous allons parler dans cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Syndrome de Landau-Kleffner: description et symptômes

Le syndrome de Landau-Kleffner est une branche et une maladie neurologique rare d'aspect chez les enfants , caractérisé par l’apparition d’une aphasie progressive au moins au niveau réceptif qui apparaît généralement liée à des altérations électroencéphalographiques, généralement associées à des crises d'épilepsie. En fait, on l’appelle aussi aphasie épileptique, aphasie épileptique acquise ou aphasie avec trouble convulsif.

L’un des symptômes de cette affection est l’apparition de l’aphasie susmentionnée, qui peut être globale (c’est-à-dire qu’il existe des problèmes de compréhension de la langue), expressive (dans la production de celle-ci) ou mixte, après un laps de temps le développement du langage était normatif pour l'âge de l'enfant. En fait l'enfant peut perdre soudainement ou progressivement des capacités acquises antérieurement . Le plus courant est qu’il existe des problèmes de nature globale, qui empêchent de comprendre la langue et peuvent même conduire au silence.


Un autre des symptômes les plus courants qui est en fait lié à l’apparition de l’aphasie (et qui explique en grande partie les modifications qui l’entraînent) est la souffrance des crises épileptiques, qui touche près des trois quarts des personnes touchées. . Ces crises peuvent être de tous types et peuvent apparaître à la fois de manière unilatérale et bilatérale dans une zone du cerveau ainsi qu’à un niveau généralisé.

Le plus commun est qu'une crise d'épilepsie apparaît ou affecte le lobe temporal, ils s'activent généralement pendant le sommeil lent et ont tendance à se généraliser au reste du cerveau . Il y a aussi des cas où ils ne se produisent pas, ou du moins pas au niveau clinique.

Ils peuvent aussi apparaître, généralement de manière secondaire, bien que ce ne soit pas une définition du trouble lui-même, des problèmes de comportement: irritabilité, colère, agression et agitation motrice, ainsi que des caractéristiques autistiques.


Les symptômes de cette maladie peuvent apparaître à tout âge entre 18 mois et 13 ans, bien qu’ils soient plus fréquents entre trois et quatre et sept ans.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage"

Causes de ce trouble

Les causes de cette maladie inhabituelle continuent à ce jour sans être claires, bien que diverses hypothèses soient avancées à cet égard.

L’un d’eux considère la possibilité d’être confronté à une altération génétique, en particulier produit de mutations du gène GRIN2A .

D’autres hypothèses, qui ne doivent pas nécessairement aller à l’encontre de la précédente, indiquent que le problème peut provenir d’une réaction ou d’une altération du système immunitaire des mineurs, et même d’infections telles que l’herpès.

Cours et prévisions

Le cours du syndrome de Landau-Kleffner est généralement progressif et fluctuant, une partie de la symptomatologie peut disparaître avec l'âge .

En ce qui concerne les prévisions, elles peuvent varier considérablement selon les cas. partie habituellement disparue de la symptomatologie (en particulier l'épilepsie disparaît généralement pendant l'adolescence), bien que des problèmes aphasiques puissent subsister tout au long de la vie du sujet.

Une guérison complète peut se produire dans environ un quart des cas, à condition qu'ils soient traités. Il est cependant beaucoup plus fréquent qu'il reste de petites séquelles et des difficultés d'élocution. Enfin, environ un quart des patients peuvent avoir des séquelles graves.

En règle générale, plus l'apparition des symptômes est précoce, plus le pronostic est sombre et plus le risque de séquelles est grand, non seulement en raison du problème lui-même, mais aussi du manque de développement des compétences de communication au cours de la croissance.

Traitement

Le traitement de cette maladie nécessite une approche multidisciplinaire , les problèmes présentés doivent être traités dans différentes disciplines.

Les modifications de type épileptique, bien qu'elles disparaissent généralement avec l'âge, nécessitent un traitement médical. Généralement, les médicaments antiépileptiques, tels que la lamotrigine, sont utilisés à cette fin. Les stéroïdes et l'hormone corticotrope ont également été efficaces, de même que les immunoglobulines. La stimulation du nerf vague a également été utilisée occasionnellement. Dans certains cas, une intervention chirurgicale peut être nécessaire .

En ce qui concerne l'aphasie, un travail en profondeur sera nécessaire au niveau de l'orthophonie et de l'orthophonie. Dans certains cas, il peut être nécessaire de procéder à des adaptations des programmes ou même de recourir à des écoles d’enseignement spécial. Les problèmes de comportement et les altérations psychologiques doivent également être traités différemment.

Enfin, la psychoéducation de l’enfant et de ses parents et de son environnement peut favoriser son développement, sa compréhension et sa capacité à faire face à la maladie et aux complications qu’elle peut engendrer quotidiennement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Aicardi, J. (1999). Le syndrome de Landau-Kleffner. Rev Neurol., 29: 380-5.
  • Association Syndrome Landau-Kleffner (s.f.). Qu'est ce que le SLK? [En ligne] Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.landau-kleffner.org/sindrome-landau-kleffner/.
  • Landau, W.M. & Kleffner, F.R. (1957): syndrome d'aphasie acquise avec trouble convulsif chez les enfants. Neurology, 7: 523-30.
  • Nieto, M., López, M. I., Candau, R., L. Ruiz, L., Rufo, M. et Correa, A. (1997). Aphasie épileptique acquise (syndrome de Landau-Kleffner). Contribution de 10 cas. Spanish Annals of Pediatrics, 47 (6): 611-617.
  • Pozo, A.J., Pozo, D., Carrillo, B., Simon, N., Llanes, M. et Pozo, D. (2005). Le syndrome de Landau-Kleffner. Présentation de deux cas. Journal cubain de pédiatrie, 77 (2).

Qu'est ce que l'épilepsie de l'enfant? (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes