yes, therapy helps!
Laughter therapy: the psychological benefits of laughter

Laughter therapy: the psychological benefits of laughter

November 27, 2021

Humor films, jokes of a friend or the jokes of a humorist They are natural remedies to combat stress and emotional problems .

The laugh therapy It is an alternative therapy that consists of creating situations that encourage laughter and humor, in this way, alleviate physical and emotional tensions. In this article we review everything you need to know about laughter therapy

Benefits of Risoterapia

There have been many studies that support the multiple benefits of this form of therapy. Lee Berk and Stanley Tan from Loma Linda University in California (United States) have published several studies in this line of research.


These are some of the conclusions:

  • Laughter activates the immune system : Therapy of humor or laughter therapy has a positive effect on the immune system making us more healthy and resistant.
  • Reduces stress hormones : Your research results also indicate a general decrease in related hormones such as stress like cortisol.
  • Fosters the secretion of the so-called hormones of happiness : serotonin, dopamine, adrenaline and endorphins.
  • Oxygenation : Increases the body's ability to use oxygen.
  • Mobilize the spine , which helps relieve back pain. In addition, it helps the person to forget the pain.
  • Laughter can provide good conditioning cardiac , especially for those who are unable to perform physical exercise.
  • Blood pressure : Laughter therapy helps prevent hypertension.
  • When we laugh, we get twice as much oxygen , a natural hyperventilation that favors all the processes of the organism.

The laugh is the best medicine

So, laughter therapy works well for certain emotional problems and to combat stress and pain . A study carried out by the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) found that laughing shows improve children's pain tolerance, which could be used in hospitals when children have to undergo surgery.


At the University of Maryland, the researchers found that an experimental group that visualized humorous films experienced a greater blood supply compared to the group that did not visualize this type of films. This could be related to the psychological benefits of laughter.

As already mentioned, laughter stimulates different catecholamines, which are associated with happiness, relaxation and well-being , like endorphins. In addition, laughter de-stresses, reduces anxiety and increases energy. All these psychological and physiological benefits that are important to face the different negative situations or the bad moments.

The relationship between laughter and mental health

The link between laughter and mental health is evident as it helps to cope with disturbing emotions. It is not possible to feel anxiety, anger or sadness when you are laughing. But l Laughter not only relaxes, but helps recharge the batteries . At the same time, it reduces stress and increases energy, which is positive in order to stay better emotionally.


Humor helps to see things differently, that is, helps to see situations in a less threatening way. A humorous vision of life creates distance with psychopathology, which can help you feel better and more prepared for the challenges of the day to day.

The social benefits of laugh therapy

Humor and playful communication strengthen our relationships by activating positive feelings and creating an emotional connection with others. When we have fun, we laugh, and have good times with others, a positive bond is created with other people. This union acts as a buffer against stress or burnout, conflicts with others, and threatening situations.

Laughing with others is more powerful than laughing alone . But how can we generate those situations of humor with other people? For this you can follow these tips:

  • Watch movies, series or funny programs with humorous content.
  • Go to places where there are comedians acting.
  • Look for pages on the web that are humorous.
  • Surround yourself with fun people.
  • Share jokes, jokes or funny stories with others.
  • Find humor books in bookstores or in the library of your town.
  • Attend "laughter yoga" classes.
  • Take time to do fun activities (for example, bowling, minigolf, karaoke).

Laughter joins people in difficult times

Fun situations with others are one of the best strategies for maintaining fresh and exciting relationships. These situations s emotionally shocking and build bonds for strong and lasting relationships . Sharing these fun moments, laughter and play also add joy, vitality and ability to recover before the difficult moments of life. In addition, humor is a powerful and effective way to heal resentments and disagreements. Laughter joins people in difficult times. In the couple, the incorporation of humor and fun moments improve the quality of relationships. But this also applies to co-workers, family and friends.

Using humor and laughter in relationships is good because:

  • It allows to be more spontaneous and uninhibited.
  • Humor moves you away from problems.
  • Laughter helps forget judgments, criticisms, and doubts.
  • It helps express the true feelings and deep emotions to reach the hearts of others.

10 Health Benefits of Laughter (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie par le rire: les avantages psychologiques du rire

Thérapie par le rire: les avantages psychologiques du rire

Septembre 28, 2022

Films d'humour, blagues d'un ami ou les blagues d'un humoriste Ce sont des remèdes naturels pour lutter contre le stress et les problèmes émotionnels. .

Le rire thérapie C'est une thérapie alternative qui consiste à créer des situations qui encouragent le rire et l'humour, de cette manière, soulagent les tensions physiques et émotionnelles. Dans cet article, nous passons en revue tout ce que vous devez savoir sur la thérapie par le rire.

Avantages de Risoterapia

De nombreuses études ont démontré les multiples avantages de cette forme de thérapie. Lee Berk et Stanley Tan de l'Université Loma Linda en Californie (États-Unis) ont publié plusieurs études dans ce domaine.


Voici certaines des conclusions:

  • Le rire active le système immunitaire : La thérapie par l'humour ou la thérapie par le rire a un effet positif sur le système immunitaire, ce qui nous rend plus sains et plus résistants.
  • Réduit les hormones du stress : Les résultats de votre recherche indiquent également une diminution générale des hormones associées telles que le stress, comme le cortisol.
  • Favorise la sécrétion des soi-disant hormones du bonheur : sérotonine, dopamine, adrénaline et endorphines.
  • Oxygénation : Augmente la capacité du corps à utiliser l'oxygène.
  • Mobiliser la colonne vertébrale , qui aide à soulager les maux de dos. En outre, cela aide la personne à oublier la douleur.
  • Le rire peut fournir un bon conditionnement cardiaque , en particulier pour ceux qui sont incapables de faire de l'exercice physique.
  • Tension artérielle : La thérapie par le rire aide à prévenir l'hypertension.
  • Quand on rit, on obtient deux fois plus d'oxygène , une hyperventilation naturelle qui favorise tous les processus de l'organisme.

Le rire est le meilleur remède

Pourtant, la thérapie par le rire fonctionne bien pour certains problèmes émotionnels et pour lutter contre le stress et la douleur . Une étude réalisée par l'Université de Californie à Los Angeles (UCLA) a révélé que les émissions de rire amélioraient la tolérance à la douleur chez les enfants, ce qui pourrait être utilisé dans les hôpitaux lorsque les enfants doivent subir une intervention chirurgicale.


À l'université du Maryland, les chercheurs ont découvert qu'un groupe expérimental qui visualisait des films humoristiques avait un apport de sang supérieur à celui du groupe ne visualisant pas ce type de films. Cela pourrait être lié aux avantages psychologiques du rire.

Comme déjà mentionné, le rire stimule différentes catécholamines, associées au bonheur, à la détente et au bien-être , comme les endorphines. De plus, le rire diminue le stress, réduit l'anxiété et augmente l'énergie. Tous ces avantages psychologiques et physiologiques qui sont importants pour faire face aux différentes situations négatives ou aux mauvais moments.

La relation entre le rire et la santé mentale

Le lien entre le rire et la santé mentale est évident dans la mesure où il aide à faire face à des émotions perturbantes. Il n’est pas possible de ressentir de l’anxiété, de la colère ou de la tristesse lorsque vous riez. Mais l Le rire non seulement détend, mais aide à recharger les batteries . En même temps, cela réduit le stress et augmente l’énergie, ce qui est positif pour rester mieux émotionnellement.


L'humour aide à voir les choses différemment, c'est-à-dire à voir les situations d'une manière moins menaçante. Une vision humoristique de la vie crée une distance avec la psychopathologie, ce qui peut vous aider à vous sentir mieux et mieux préparé aux défis du jour.

Les avantages sociaux de la thérapie par le rire

L'humour et la communication ludique renforcent nos relations en activant des sentiments positifs et en créant un lien affectif avec les autres. Lorsque nous nous amusons, que nous rions et passions de bons moments avec les autres, un lien positif est créé avec les autres. Cette union sert de tampon contre le stress ou l'épuisement professionnel, les conflits avec les autres et les situations menaçantes.

Rire avec les autres est plus puissant que rire seul Mais comment pouvons-nous générer ces situations d’humour avec d’autres personnes? Pour cela, vous pouvez suivre ces conseils:

  • Regardez des films, des séries ou des programmes amusants au contenu humoristique.
  • Aller à des endroits où il y a des comédiens agissant.
  • Rechercher des pages sur le web qui sont humoristiques.
  • Entourez-vous de gens amusants.
  • Partagez des blagues, des blagues ou des histoires amusantes avec d'autres.
  • Trouvez des livres d'humour dans les librairies ou dans la bibliothèque de votre ville.
  • Assistez aux cours de "yoga du rire".
  • Prenez le temps de faire des activités amusantes (par exemple, bowling, minigolf, karaoké).

Le rire rejoint les gens dans les moments difficiles

Les situations amusantes avec les autres sont l’une des meilleures stratégies pour maintenir des relations nouvelles et passionnantes. Ces situations s émotionnellement choquant et nouer des liens pour des relations solides et durables . Partager ces moments amusants, rire et jouer ajoute également de la joie, de la vitalité et la capacité de récupérer avant les moments difficiles de la vie. En outre, l'humour est un moyen puissant et efficace de guérir les ressentiments et les désaccords. Dans les moments difficiles, le rire rejoint les gens.L'incorporation d'humour et de moments amusants dans le couple améliore la qualité des relations. Mais cela vaut également pour les collègues, la famille et les amis.

Utiliser l'humour et le rire dans les relations c'est bien parce que:

  • Cela permet d'être plus spontané et sans entrave.
  • L'humour vous éloigne des problèmes.
  • Le rire aide à oublier les jugements, les critiques et les doutes.
  • Cela aide à exprimer les vrais sentiments et les émotions profondes pour atteindre le cœur des autres.

Rigologie : la thérapie par le rire (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes