yes, therapy helps!
Law of the Effect of Edward Thordike: the basis of behaviorism

Law of the Effect of Edward Thordike: the basis of behaviorism

September 27, 2022

Psychology is not only focused on studying the human mind. For many psychologists, the representatives of the behavioral current of psychology, the object of study is behavior, that is, the acts performed by a great variety of living beings, provided that these can be modified through learning. That is, the study of animal behavior has also received the interest of many psychologists.

Although B. F. Skinner is probably the most well-known behavioral researcher, he owes part of his relevance to another scientist who worked several decades before him: Edward Thorndike. And of all the contributions that the latter made to the world of psychology, the so-called Law of the Thorndike Effect It is surely the most important. Let's see what it consists of.


  • Related article: "Animal intelligence: the theories of Thorndike and Köhler"

The law of the effect of Edward Thorndike

The fundamental idea expressed by the Law of Effect is that, if a consequence perceived as positive (and therefore satisfactory) occurs right after an action, it is more likely that the same action will happen again . On the other hand, if an unpleasant or painful stimulus arrives after an action, the chances of repeating that action would diminish.

On the other hand, this law was proposed both to describe animal behavior and that of human beings. One of the characteristics of behaviorism, which Thorndike helped inaugurate, was that downplay or even deny the functionality of consciousness in the acts their schemes could be applied to many forms of life, practically all those capable of learning: mice, mollusks, etc.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The theory of B. F. Skinner and behaviorism"

Implications for operant conditioning

While Thorndike is not formally a representative of behaviorism, his Law of Effect is a concept from which behaviorists worked to develop behavioral modification programs based on contingencies, that is, relationships between stimuli and responses.

For example, operant conditioning can be understood as an extension of the Law of Effect. This concept is a form of behavior modification based on the way in which the association between an action and a consequence affects the learned behavior patterns.

For example, the psychologist B. F. Skinner used this type of conditioning to, little by little, go rewarding the action of pigeons used in his laboratory causing them to internalize chains of behavior that resulted in the performance of a more complex act. At first they are given a reward by pushing a small ball with their beak, and as they do so, they are given more rewards when performing complementary actions; at the end, they end up playing ping pong, receiving a prize for each point won by the opposite pigeon.


  • Related article: "Operant conditioning: concepts and main techniques"

Hebb's Law

In a way, the Law of the Effect of Thorndike reflects a contribution made later by the neuropsychologist Donald Hebb, the so-called Law of Hebb. According to this, the neurons that are activated at the same time increase the possibilities of connecting at the same time in the future. In this case, a coincidence in time (the activation of nerve cells) influences a potential future event (the same activation pattern, later).

But nevertheless, The Law of the Effect of Edward Thorndike does not focus on a purely biological analysis or neurological of what happens in our nervous system, but basically based on behavior, in the style of behavioral psychologists like John B. Watson.

  • Related article: "Hebb's Law: the neuropsychological basis of learning"

Criticisms of the Law of Effect

The Law of Effect is the daughter of its time, and naturally its validity is not fully valid, although it was a valuable first step for behavioral psychology. The main criticisms that have been made against him have to do with their implications about what happens after an action has unpleasant effects .

For example, pain, in a sexual context, can act as pleasure in some people. There is a certain degree of uncertainty about which stimuli are aversive and which are not for a specific individual, especially considering that the language and abstract thinking typical of human beings raised in society offer a new way of experiencing the most basic stimuli.

Another example of this would be found in the perception of physical punishment or even torture.For some strongly indoctrinated people, this type of suffering may be desirable as a form of martyrdom, and therefore it is not impossible for exemplary executions to function as an incentive to break the rules, for example, through attacks based on religious fundamentalism.

On the other hand, it is also not clear what is a desirable stimulus; possibly there is no universal reward equally valid for all individuals, and that is why in many cases you have to inquire first about what is desirable and, in addition, on the type of reinforcers that are available in the "natural" environment of an individual: if someone is accustomed to receiving a reward that only occurs in a laboratory environment, the behavior that promotes may disappear.


What is Operant Conditioning? (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Loi de l'effet d'Edward Thordike: la base du behaviorisme

Loi de l'effet d'Edward Thordike: la base du behaviorisme

Juin 22, 2022

La psychologie n'est pas uniquement axée sur l'étude de l'esprit humain. Pour de nombreux psychologues, représentants du courant comportemental de la psychologie, l'objet de l'étude est le comportement, c'est-à-dire les actes accomplis par une grande variété d'êtres vivants, à condition que ceux-ci puissent être modifiés par l'apprentissage. C'est-à-dire que l'étude du comportement animal a également suscité l'intérêt de nombreux psychologues.

Bien que B. F. Skinner soit probablement le chercheur en comportement le plus connu, il doit en partie sa pertinence à un autre scientifique ayant travaillé plusieurs décennies avant lui: Edward Thorndike. Et de toutes les contributions que ce dernier a apportées au monde de la psychologie, la soi-disant loi de l'effet Thorndike C'est sûrement le plus important. Voyons en quoi cela consiste.


  • Article connexe: "Intelligence animale: les théories de Thorndike et Köhler"

La loi de l'effet d'Edward Thorndike

L'idée fondamentale exprimée par la loi d'effet est que, si une conséquence perçue comme positive (et donc satisfaisante) se produit juste après une action, il est plus probable que la même action se reproduise . D'autre part, si un stimulus désagréable ou douloureux arrive après une action, les chances de répéter cette action diminueraient.

D'autre part, cette loi a été proposée à la fois pour décrire le comportement des animaux et celui des êtres humains. L’une des caractéristiques du behaviorisme, que Thorndike a contribué à inaugurer, était que minimiser ou même nier la fonctionnalité de la conscience dans les actes, leurs régimes pourraient s'appliquer à de nombreuses formes de vie, pratiquement à tous ceux qui sont capables d'apprendre: souris, mollusques, etc.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie de B. F. Skinner et le behaviorisme"

Implications pour le conditionnement opérant

Bien que Thorndike ne soit pas officiellement un représentant du behaviorisme, sa loi d’effet est un concept à partir duquel les behavioristes ont travaillé pour: développer des programmes de modification du comportement sur la base de contingences, c’est-à-dire des relations entre stimuli et réponses.

Par exemple, le conditionnement opérant peut être compris comme une extension de la loi d’effet. Ce concept est une forme de modification du comportement en fonction de la manière dont l’association entre une action et une conséquence affecte les schémas comportementaux appris.

Par exemple, le psychologue B. F. Skinner a utilisé ce type de conditionnement pour récompenser, petit à petit, l'action des pigeons utilisés dans son laboratoire, les obligeant à intérioriser des chaînes de comportement aboutissant à la réalisation d'un acte plus complexe. Au début, ils reçoivent une récompense en poussant une petite balle avec leur bec et, ce faisant, ils reçoivent plus de récompenses lorsqu'ils effectuent des actions complémentaires; à la fin, ils finissent par jouer au ping-pong et reçoivent un prix pour chaque point gagné par le pigeon opposé.


  • Article connexe: "Conditionnement opérant: concepts et techniques principales"

Loi de Hebb

D'une certaine manière, la loi de l'effet de Thorndike reflète une contribution faite plus tard par le neuropsychologue Donald Hebb, la prétendue loi de Hebb. Selon cela, les neurones activés simultanément augmentent les possibilités de connexion simultanée dans le futur. Dans ce cas, une coïncidence temporelle (l'activation des cellules nerveuses) influence un événement futur potentiel (le même modèle d'activation, plus tard).

Cependant, La loi de l'effet d'Edward Thorndike ne se concentre pas sur une analyse purement biologique ou neurologique de ce qui se passe dans notre système nerveux, mais essentiellement basé sur le comportement, à la manière de psychologues du comportement comme John B. Watson.

  • Article connexe: "Loi de Hebb: la base neuropsychologique de l'apprentissage"

Critiques de la loi de l'effet

La loi de l’effet est la fille de son temps et, naturellement, sa validité n’est pas pleinement valable, bien qu’il s’agisse d’un premier pas précieux pour la psychologie comportementale. Les principales critiques qui lui ont été adressées ont trait à leurs implications sur ce qui se passe après une action a des effets désagréables .

Par exemple, dans un contexte sexuel, la douleur peut être un plaisir chez certaines personnes. Il existe un certain degré d'incertitude quant à savoir quels stimuli sont aversifs ou non pour un individu spécifique, d'autant plus que le langage et la pensée abstraite typiques des êtres humains élevés dans la société offrent une nouvelle façon de vivre les stimuli les plus fondamentaux.

Un autre exemple serait celui de la punition physique, voire de la torture.Pour certaines personnes fortement endoctrinées, ce type de souffrance peut être souhaitable en tant que forme de martyre. Il n'est donc pas impossible pour des exécutions exemplaires de fonctionner comme une incitation à enfreindre les règles, par exemple, par des attaques fondées sur le fondamentalisme religieux.

D'autre part, on ne sait pas non plus ce qu'est un stimulus souhaitable; il n’existe peut-être pas de récompense universelle également valable pour tous les individus, et c’est pourquoi, dans de nombreux cas, vous devez d'abord vous renseigner sur ce qui est souhaitable et, en outre, sur le type de renforçateur disponible dans l'environnement "naturel" d'un individu: si quelqu'un est habitué à recevoir une récompense qui se produit uniquement dans un environnement de laboratoire, le comportement qui le favorise peut disparaître.


Thorndike Puzzle Box - Psychology Experiment (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes