yes, therapy helps!
Learning difficulties: definition and warning signs

Learning difficulties: definition and warning signs

May 7, 2021

The Learning difficulties (DA) they include in their definition a heterogeneous set of alterations in reading, writing, calculus and general cognitive reasoning. These disorders are usually due to a dysfunction of the nervous system, and may continue throughout the life process.

Learning difficulties they can manifest simultaneously both through problems in self-regulation behaviors and social interaction , as well as through sensory deficits, mental retardation, severe emotional disorders or concomitant to external influences (such as cultural differences, insufficient or inappropriate instruction, although it is true that AD can not be derived causally from any of them).


Therefore, it is understood that There is a discrepancy between the actual and expected performance according to the maturational age of the small , which is why specialized attention is required to compensate for these difficulties presented by the student.

Specific Learning Disorder and DSM V

Currently, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM V defines the diagnostic category of Specific Learning Disorder distinguishing between reading, calculation and written expression skills.

Among the diagnostic criteria, it is emphasized that the subject must present an IQ within the average level with respect to their age group, being the level determined in any of the three capacities previously indicated significantly lower than the population average.


Causes of learning difficulties

The causes that can cause the manifestation of learning difficulties in the individual are very diverse, although the main one is derived from internal factors (neurobiological) of the subject such as organic deficits, aspects linked to chromosomal inheritance, problems related to biochemical or nutritional alterations or perceptive and / or motor cognitive deficits.

In a second category, the environmental causes linked to the particularities of the family and sociocultural context can be differentiated that offer little opportunities for cognitive stimulation and limit the development of such abilities in the child.

On the other hand, the characteristics of the educational system to which the student is assigned may condition a certain level of the internalization of basic learning; namely, the methodology of work and evaluation of the students, the quality of the teaching, the physical conditions and resources of the school, among others, can make substantial differences.


Finally, the origin of the learning difficulties may be due to an inadequate adjustment between the individual characteristics of the student and the demands he receives from the educational context (as defended from the interactionist position). This adjustment or type of response offered by the student to a task depends on the interaction of two variables: the level of knowledge that the child has and the disposition of strategies to solve this task. In that way, schoolchildren who present DA usually have the knowledge, but are not able to apply the appropriate strategies for a successful execution of the task. This last proposal is the one with the most theoretical support at present.

Influence of AD on child development

In line with that expressed above, a very relevant aspect is to understand the maturation, or biological growth of the child, as a dynamic disposition or condition that depends on the neurological, neuropsychological and psychological characteristics of the person, as well as the family environment and / or school where the development takes place.

The development in people with learning difficulties is characterized by a slower evolutionary rhythm . That is, we only talk about an alteration at a quantitative level, and not a qualitative one, as it happens in the development disorders. The differences in early ages between children with AD and children without AD can range between 2 and 4 years. Subsequently these discrepancies are decreasing and it can be said that individuals with AD can reach an acceptable level of competence.

Diverse environmental factors are, and therefore, modifiable, that contribute to the relief or aggravation of AD, such as: wealth and adequacy of speech in the family context, a high exposure to reading, the promotion of play and of activities that favor the development of sustained attention, as well as those that facilitate individual decision-making and personal initiative.

Learning difficulties and behavioral alterations

Given the close relationship between AD comorbidity and certain behavioral alterations, it is often difficult to determine which of these two manifestations motivates the other. Usually both co-occur simultaneously, as in the case of Attention Deficit Disorder (with Hyperactivity), where the complications that the child presents at the level of information processing and regulation of executive functions produce (or are derived from) difficulties in the acquisition of linguistic and arithmetic skills.

Numerous studies show that children and adolescents with learning difficulties are associated with other emotional and / or behavioral problems to a considerable extent. In this way, AD are aggravated, causing an even more significant deterioration of academic performance . The most frequent problems are observed in the male population in 70% and in the female population in 50%, and refer to externalizing behaviors such as attention deficits, hyperactivity and cognitive self-regulation, being less common antisocial, oppositional or aggressive behavior.

Some researches defend the idea that the presence of isolated behavioral alterations does not necessarily cause limitations in the acquisition of the first learning in children, although in other cases, where behavioral deviations start at an early age, the interrelation between both phenomena seems more evident.

Social functioning of children with learning difficulties

The difficulties in the field of social skills also show an intense correlation with the manifestation of AD in children and adolescents, having obtained Kavale Y Forness a percentage located around 75% of the cases in his research. In these ages, three are the most significant spheres of social relationships:

Social relationships with equals

As the child develops, in its goal of establishing itself as an independent individual with a definite identity of the "I" and more and more detached from parental protection and care, this field is the most influential and significant for the individual . At this stage, comparisons about the physical and psychological characteristics of each other, the level of popularity acquired or the perception of social support are determining factors.

When talking about children or adolescents with learning difficulties, these influences become even more remarkable, since they start with a disadvantage in terms of adaptive self-concept. Thus, in cases of AD it is more common for children to feel either isolated or rejected . In the former, the motivation of the child should be enhanced in order to present a greater predisposition for the acquisition of interpersonal skills, which will help him to be more competent and allow him to better manage the contextual situations in which he interacts. In the second case, a previous work on behavioral self-control and emotional management must be carried out to modify the negative interaction dynamics to which he is accustomed to perform.

Social relations with teachers

In this area, a fundamental part of the type of social relationships that the student establishes with the teaching team is determined by the beliefs that the professor presents with respect to the student in question.

Thus, the expectations of failure or academic success with respect to the student, the more or less flattering treatment received conditioned by the DA and the level of positive reinforcement administered after the achievement of objectives by the child will significantly influence a more or less educational conception. less positive about the personal competence of the student.

Among the most relevant aspects that influence the difficulties in social interaction in students with AD, the following can be distinguished: a limited competence to internalize the cognitive strategies that must be applied to certain contextual demands, a poor ability in the natural organization of the strategies that allow them to achieve social objectives, an unenthusiastic vision and very focused on their own perspective that prevents them from a satisfactory understanding of interpersonal relationships and what they imply, an insufficient capacity to detect discrepancies in the tone of voice that harms the complete understanding of the messages received from the interlocutor and, finally, difficulties in the correct interpretation of the nonverbal language in a generic way (gestures, facial expressions, etc).

Social relations with parents

The fact of having a child with AD is for the parents a complication added to the acceptance and understanding of the evolutionary changes experienced by the child during its development.

For parents it is very difficult to find the balance between exercising excessive control and overprotection when trying to promote the autonomy of the child leaving in the background everything that involves learning difficulties.This problem causes a less tolerant, more critical and less empathic or affective attitude that greatly hinders an adequate emotional development of the child.

Psychopedagogical intervention in the face of learning difficulties

In order to achieve the two fundamental objectives for students with AD, which are aimed at achieving an improvement in the emotional state of the student and, in turn, their academic performance, a set of psycho-pedagogical actions structured in three consecutive stages are proposed :

First stage

In the first moment an in-depth analysis must be carried out on what services the student will need to have in the school context to compensate and work the learning difficulties that it presents both at the level of establishing what type of special educational needs it needs, what concrete intervention program is going to be established according to its academic level and what specific strategies are going to be implemented by the teaching team for foster an adequate self-concept and self-esteem.

Second stage

Later, contact and establishment of direct collaboration with the family is indispensable , which must be fully committed to achieve a coordinated work of all parties involved. To do this, an initial phase of psychoeducation must be carried out by the team of professionals who help the family when it comes to understanding the nature of the DAs and what kind of actions they should incorporate into their habits in order to favor an increasingly positive progress made by the child (positive reinforcement and empathic attitude, establishment of clear routines, etc.).

On the other hand, it will also be useful to anticipate possible problems in order to determine the strategies to be implemented for their adequate resolution.

Third stage

Ultimately, work will be done to strengthen the child's metacognitive capacity, where aspects such as the awareness and acceptance of DAs, the recognition of their strengths and weaknesses, and an internal attributional style (locus of control) will be worked on. allow to exercise an active control over the achievement of successes with respect to the previously established objectives.

More specifically, the current lines of psychopedagogical intervention in AD are based on three aspects: the teaching of specific learning strategies (content simplification), the use of the constructivist perspective (methodology based on the Volsotskian theory on the development area). next, scaffolding and learning potential) and computer-assisted instruction.

In conclusion

As it has been proved, the affected areas of the child's psychological development are very diverse in the presence of a diagnosis of AD. Early detection and intervention by the main socializing agents (family and school) becomes fundamental for the promotion of a positive evolution of the specific case. As in most problems and / or psychological deviations in children, the cooperation between both parties has a very significant relevance in the course of this alteration.

On the other hand, as regards the intervention, It is worth bearing in mind that all measures should not be focused on the improvement of instrumental learning exclusively. , since the presence of these derives very usually in the development of an emotional malaise (diminution of the self-concept, feelings of inferiority, etc.) whose approach should be equally important.

Bibliographic references:

  • Garcia, J, N ,. (2001). Learning difficulties and physopedagogic intervention. Barcelona: Ariel.
  • García, J. N. (1998) (3rd ed. Rev.). Manual of learning difficulties. Madrid: Narcea.
  • González, R. and Valle, A. (1998). "Affective-motivational characteristics of students with learning difficulties". In V. Santiuste and J .A. Beltrán (coords.): Learning Difficulties, 261-277. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Ortiz González, Ma R. (2004). Manual of Learning Difficulties. Madrid: Pyramid.

Living With Severe Learning Disabilities: Jack's Story (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Difficultés d'apprentissage: définition et signes avant-coureurs

Difficultés d'apprentissage: définition et signes avant-coureurs

Novembre 13, 2022

Le Difficultés d'apprentissage (DA) ils incluent dans leur définition un ensemble hétérogène d'altérations de la lecture, de l'écriture, du calcul et du raisonnement cognitif général. Ces troubles sont généralement dus à un dysfonctionnement du système nerveux et peuvent persister tout au long du processus de la vie.

Difficultés d'apprentissage ils peuvent se manifester simultanément à la fois par des problèmes de comportement d'autorégulation et d'interaction sociale , ainsi que par des déficits sensoriels, un retard mental, des troubles émotionnels graves ou concomitants d’influences extérieures (telles que des différences culturelles, une instruction insuffisante ou inappropriée, même s’il est vrai que la MA ne peut en être déduite de manière causale).


Par conséquent, il est entendu que Il existe un écart entre la performance réelle et la performance attendue en fonction de l’âge de maturation du petit , c’est pourquoi une attention particulière est requise pour compenser ces difficultés présentées par l’élève.

Trouble d'apprentissage spécifique et DSM V

Actuellement, le Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux DSM V définit la catégorie de diagnostic de Trouble d'apprentissage spécifique faire la distinction entre les compétences en lecture, en calcul et en expression écrite.

Parmi les critères de diagnostic, il est souligné que le sujet doit présenter un QI dans les limites du niveau moyen par rapport à son groupe d'âge, soit le niveau déterminé dans l'une des trois capacités indiquées précédemment, qui est significativement inférieure à la moyenne de la population.


Causes des difficultés d'apprentissage

Les causes pouvant causer la manifestation de difficultés d’apprentissage chez l’individu sont très diverses, bien que la principale soit dérivée de: facteurs internes (neurobiologiques) du sujet, tels que les déficits organiques, les aspects liés à la transmission chromosomique, les problèmes liés aux altérations biochimiques ou nutritionnelles ou aux déficits cognitifs perceptifs et / ou moteurs.

Dans une deuxième catégorie, les causes environnementales liées aux particularités de la famille et du contexte socioculturel peuvent être différenciées qui offrent peu de possibilités de stimulation cognitive et limitent le développement de telles capacités chez l'enfant.

D'autre part, les caractéristiques du système éducatif auquel l'élève est affecté peuvent conditionner un certain niveau d'internalisation de l'apprentissage de base; à savoir, la méthodologie de travail et d'évaluation des élèves, la qualité de l'enseignement, les conditions matérielles et les ressources de l'école, entre autres, peuvent faire des différences substantielles.


Enfin, l'origine des difficultés d'apprentissage peut être due à un ajustement inadéquat entre les caractéristiques individuelles de l'élève et les exigences qu'il reçoit du contexte éducatif (telles que défendues de la position interactionniste). Cet ajustement ou type de réponse offert par l'élève à une tâche dépend de l'interaction de deux variables: le niveau de connaissances de l'enfant et la disposition des stratégies pour résoudre cette tâche. De cette façon, les écoliers qui présentent DA ont généralement les connaissances mais ne sont pas en mesure d'appliquer les stratégies appropriées pour une exécution réussie de la tâche. Cette dernière proposition est celle qui bénéficie du soutien le plus théorique à l’heure actuelle.

Influence de la maladie d'Alzheimer sur le développement de l'enfant

Conformément à ce qui a été exprimé ci-dessus, il est très important de comprendre la maturation ou la croissance biologique de l'enfant en tant que disposition dynamique ou condition dépendant des caractéristiques neurologiques, neuropsychologiques et psychologiques de la personne, ainsi que de l'environnement familial et / ou ou école où le développement a lieu.

Le développement des personnes ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage est caractérisé par un rythme évolutif plus lent . C'est-à-dire que nous ne parlons que d'une altération à un niveau quantitatif, et non qualitatif, comme cela se produit dans les troubles du développement. Les différences d'âge précoce entre enfants atteints de MA et enfants sans AD peuvent aller de 2 à 4 ans. Par la suite, ces écarts diminuent et on peut dire que les personnes atteintes de la MA peuvent atteindre un niveau de compétence acceptable.

Divers facteurs environnementaux sont donc modifiables, contribuant ainsi au soulagement ou à l'aggravation de la maladie d'Alzheimer, tels que: la richesse et l'adéquation de la parole dans le contexte familial, une forte exposition à la lecture, la promotion du jeu et des activités qui favorisent le développement d’une attention soutenue, ainsi que celles qui facilitent la prise de décision individuelle et l’initiative personnelle.

Difficultés d'apprentissage et modifications du comportement

Étant donné la relation étroite entre la comorbidité AD et certaines modifications du comportement, il est souvent difficile de déterminer laquelle de ces deux manifestations motive l’autre. Habituellement, les deux co-événements se produisent simultanément, comme dans le cas du trouble déficitaire de l'attention avec hyperactivité, où les complications que l'enfant présente au niveau du traitement de l'information et de la régulation des fonctions exécutives produisent (ou dérivent de) difficultés dans l'acquisition de compétences linguistiques et arithmétiques.

De nombreuses études montrent que les enfants et les adolescents ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage sont associés dans une mesure considérable à d’autres problèmes affectifs et / ou comportementaux. De cette manière, Les troubles aggravés entraînent une détérioration encore plus importante du rendement scolaire . Les problèmes les plus fréquents sont observés dans la population masculine dans 70% des cas et dans la population féminine dans 50% des cas. Ils se rapportent à des comportements d'extériorisation tels que les déficits de l'attention, l'hyperactivité et l'autorégulation cognitive, étant des comportements antisociaux, oppositionnels ou agressifs moins courants.

Certaines recherches défendent l'idée que la présence de modifications comportementales isolées ne limite pas nécessairement l'acquisition du premier apprentissage chez l'enfant, bien que dans d'autres cas, où les déviations comportementales commencent à un âge précoce, l'interrelation entre les deux phénomènes semble plus évidente. évidente.

Fonctionnement social des enfants ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage

Les difficultés dans le domaine des compétences sociales montrent également une corrélation intense avec la manifestation de la MA chez les enfants et les adolescents, ayant obtenu Kavale et Forness un pourcentage situé autour de 75% des cas dans ses recherches. Dans ces âges, trois sont les sphères les plus importantes des relations sociales:

Relations sociales avec des égaux

Au fur et à mesure que l'enfant se développe, dans le but de s'affirmer en tant qu'individu indépendant doté de l'identité du "je" et de plus en plus détaché de la protection et des soins parentaux, ce domaine est le plus influent et significatif pour l'individu . À ce stade, les comparaisons entre les caractéristiques physiques et psychologiques de chacun, le niveau de popularité acquis ou la perception du soutien social sont des facteurs déterminants.

Lorsqu'on parle d'enfants ou d'adolescents ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage, ces influences deviennent encore plus remarquables, car elles commencent avec un désavantage en termes de concept de soi adaptatif. Pour lui, dans les cas de MA, il est plus fréquent que les enfants se sentent isolés ou rejetés . Dans le premier cas, la motivation de l'enfant devrait être renforcée afin de présenter une plus grande prédisposition à l'acquisition d'habiletés interpersonnelles, ce qui l'aidera à être plus compétent et lui permettra de mieux gérer les situations contextuelles dans lesquelles il interagit. Dans le second cas, un travail préalable sur le contrôle du comportement et la gestion des émotions doit être effectué pour modifier la dynamique des interactions négatives à laquelle il est habitué.

Relations sociales avec les enseignants

Dans ce domaine, une partie fondamentale du type de relations sociales que l’étudiant établit avec l’équipe enseignante est déterminée par les croyances que le professeur présente à l’égard de l’élève en question.

Ainsi, les attentes d'échec ou de réussite scolaire vis-à-vis de l'étudiant, le traitement plus ou moins flatteur reçu sous condition du DA et le niveau de renforcement positif administré après la réalisation des objectifs par l'enfant auront une influence significative sur une conception plus ou moins éducative. moins positif sur la compétence personnelle de l'étudiant.

Parmi les aspects les plus pertinents qui influencent les difficultés d’interaction sociale chez les étudiants atteints de la MA, on peut distinguer: une compétence limitée pour intérioriser les stratégies cognitives devant être appliquées à certaines demandes contextuelles, une capacité médiocre dans l’organisation naturelle des stratégies leur permettent d’atteindre des objectifs sociaux, une vision sans enthousiasme et très concentrés sur leur propre perspective qui les empêche d’une compréhension satisfaisante des relations interpersonnelles et de ce qu’elles impliquent, d’une capacité insuffisante à détecter les divergences dans le ton de la voix qui nuit à la compréhension totale des relations interpersonnelles. les messages reçus de l'interlocuteur et, enfin, les difficultés d'interprétation générique du langage non verbal de manière générique (gestes, expressions faciales, etc.).

Relations sociales avec les parents

Le fait d'avoir un enfant atteint de la maladie d'Alzheimer est pour les parents une complication ajoutée à l'acceptation et à la compréhension des changements évolutifs vécus par l'enfant au cours de son développement.

Pour les parents, il est très difficile de trouver un équilibre entre un contrôle excessif et une surprotection lorsque l’on essaie de promouvoir l’autonomie de l’enfant en laissant au second plan tout ce qui implique des difficultés d’apprentissage.Ce problème provoque une attitude moins tolérante, plus critique et moins empathique ou affective, qui nuit grandement au développement affectif adéquat de l'enfant.

Intervention psychopédagogique face à des difficultés d'apprentissage

Pour atteindre les deux objectifs fondamentaux des étudiants atteints de MA, qui visent à améliorer leur état émotionnel et, partant, leur performance scolaire, un ensemble d’actions psychopédagogiques structurées en trois étapes consécutives est proposé :

Première étape

D'abord une analyse approfondie doit être menée sur les services que l'élève devra avoir dans le contexte scolaire compenser et résoudre les difficultés d’apprentissage qu’il présente, tant au niveau de la détermination du type de besoins éducatifs spéciaux dont il a besoin, du programme d’intervention concret qui sera mis en place en fonction de son niveau académique et des stratégies spécifiques qui seront mises en œuvre par l’équipe pédagogique pour: favoriser un concept de soi et une estime de soi adéquats.

Deuxième étape

Par la suite, le contact et l'établissement d'une collaboration directe avec la famille sont indispensables , qui doit être pleinement engagé pour réaliser un travail coordonné de toutes les parties concernées. Pour ce faire, une première phase de psychoéducation doit être réalisée par une équipe de professionnels qui aident la famille à comprendre la nature des AD et à définir le type d’actions qu’ils doivent intégrer à leurs habitudes afin de favoriser une progrès positifs réalisés par l’enfant (renforcement positif et attitude empathique, établissement de routines claires, etc.).

D'autre part, il sera également utile d'anticiper les problèmes éventuels afin de déterminer les stratégies à mettre en œuvre pour leur résolution adéquate.

Troisième étape

En fin de compte, un travail sera fait pour renforcer la capacité métacognitive de l'enfant, où des aspects tels que la connaissance et l'acceptation des AD, la reconnaissance de leurs forces et faiblesses et un style d'attribution interne (locus de contrôle) seront travaillés. permettre d'exercer un contrôle actif sur la réalisation des succès par rapport aux objectifs préalablement fixés.

Plus spécifiquement, les lignes actuelles d’intervention psychopédagogique dans l’AD reposent sur trois aspects: l’enseignement de stratégies d’apprentissage spécifiques (simplification du contenu), l’utilisation de la perspective constructiviste (méthodologie basée sur la théorie de Volsotskian sur le domaine du développement). ensuite, échafaudages et potentiel d’apprentissage) et enseignement assisté par ordinateur.

En guise de conclusion

Comme il a été prouvé, les zones affectées du développement psychologique de l'enfant sont très diverses en présence d'un diagnostic de MA. La détection précoce et l'intervention des principaux agents de socialisation (famille et école) deviennent fondamentales pour favoriser une évolution positive du cas spécifique. Comme dans la plupart des problèmes et / ou des déviations psychologiques chez les enfants, la coopération entre les deux parties revêt une importance primordiale au cours de cette modification.

Par contre, en ce qui concerne l’intervention, Il ne faut pas oublier que toutes les mesures ne doivent pas être exclusivement axées sur l'amélioration de l'apprentissage instrumental. , puisque leur présence découle très généralement du développement d’un malaise émotionnel (diminution du concept de soi, sentiment d’infériorité, etc.) dont l’approche devrait être tout aussi importante.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Garcia, J, N,. (2001). Difficultés d'apprentissage et intervention psychopédagogique. Barcelone: ​​Ariel.
  • García, J. N. (1998) (3ème éd. Rev.). Manuel de difficultés d'apprentissage. Madrid: Narcea.
  • González, R. et Valle, A. (1998). "Caractéristiques affectives de motivation des étudiants ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage". Dans V. Santiuste et J .A. Beltrán (coords.): Difficultés d'apprentissage, 261-277. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Ortiz González, Ma R. (2004). Manuel des difficultés d'apprentissage. Madrid: pyramide.

PEDOPHILIE DES ELITES FRANCAISES TEMOIGNAGE DE SEVERINE (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes