yes, therapy helps!
Learning to disagree: Paul Graham and the hierarchy of argumentative quality

Learning to disagree: Paul Graham and the hierarchy of argumentative quality

June 12, 2024

Disagreement and disagreement are two aspects as inherent to the human being as the need to eat. The mere fact of being rational animals predisposes us to doubt and disagree with any opinion with which we do not feel completely identified.

However, not all people have the ability to do it correctly. Paul Graham noticed this fact and created a "hierarchy of discrepancy" that orders the way in which people express their disagreement.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 types of arguments to use in debates and discussions"

Who is Paul Graham?

Paul Graham is a computer programmer and essayist of British origin who became known after his work with Lisp, a family of programming languages. In addition, he co-founded what was the first application service provider (ASP).


After gaining a notable reputation in the computer world and programming, Graham began his career as an essayist. From his own website, he published essays on a variety of topics They contained everything from texts about programming languages ​​to the causes of why "nerds" never reach popularity. These writings are gathered in the publication Hackers and painters, which was published in 2004, although it had already published books about programming previously.

However, one of his most acclaimed and widely disseminated essays throughout the world was his study How to disagree written in the year 2008. In it Graham graphically represents the "hierarchy of discrepancy" , which shows the different levels in which a person can express their disagreement or disagreement with any topic.


However, before explaining what it is about and how this hierarchy is organized, it is necessary to know what the discrepancy consists of and how the dynamics of the hierarchy function.

What is the discrepancy and how does it work?

The Royal Academy of the Spanish Language defines the "discrepancy" with two different meanings:

  1. "Difference, inequality that results from the comparison of things with each other".
  2. "Personal dissent in opinions or behavior".

Therefore, and according to this definition, a person who disagrees is one whose beliefs, thoughts or behaviors do not match those of any other person or group.

However, the discrepancy is a social fact. That is, in order to disagree with something, the presence of another person or group of people with whom to compare opinions and disagree is necessary; plus a group of followers that support our point of view .


So, the social level the discrepancy follows a path. A series of guidelines that go from the origin of the disagreement to the disagreements generated within this first discrepancy. Although complex, this process is much easier to understand if we follow each of the steps:

  1. Existence of an ideology or thought backed by numerous followers.
  2. Within this same group of people someone generates a discrepancy, spreading a belief or opinion of their own and creating a separation within the first group .
  3. Both parties acquire a large enough number of followers to maintain such opinions over time.
  4. Discrepancies continue to appear within the groups themselves that generate new groups of people, thus ending the original groups . This dynamic is repeated successively.

Because the tendency to disagree is something natural of the human being, by the mere fact of having the ability to reason, these dynamics are maintained over time and appear in all areas of life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of logical and argumentative fallacies"

Hierarchy of Graham's discrepancy

Once we know the functioning of the discrepancies, we can go on to describe how these disagreements can manifest themselves in each of the people who experience it. Since it is not the same to express a disagreement by means of an insult, that to do it resorting to the solid and rational argumentation.

To do this, Graham creates a graphical representation with a triangular shape in which these levels of discrepancy are ordered. According to this triangular chart, the higher the location of a person in the pyramid, the more powerful the position or the argument itself, while those who are at the lower levels use weak and banal arguments to justify themselves .

However, a person is able to evolve or move between the different levels. In this way, the higher the people are in the levels, more edifying and profitable will be the exchanges of opinions.

Wikipedia Commons.

Next, we explain the different levels of the hierarchy of the discrepancy from the lowest to the highest of all.

7. Insult

The lowest level of argumentation is where all those people who resort to insult as a form of opposition are installed, since they are unable to offer any kind of argument, however little reasoned it may be.

Graham exemplifies it with the phrase "you are an idiot".

6. Ad hominem

The author places on this rung all those who "attack the characteristics or the authority of the opponent are to consider the substance of the argument".

This means that the person is only able to rebut another by means of attacks or negative affirmations about their person, with the intention of discrediting him but without providing any valid argument that demonstrates the weakness of the reasoning and the affirmations of the other. That is, the person is attacked, not what he says.

An example of this discrepancy would be: "What will you know if you do not even have studies?"

  • Maybe you're interested: "6 keys to avoid absurd couple discussions"

5. Answering tone

In these cases the person focuses or uses the tone of your opponent's message to try to deny or disprove it , without taking into account the foundation or essence of what is being discussed.

A typical statement in these cases would be: "Screaming so much nobody will take you seriously."

4. Contradiction

The person who uses the contradiction to refute an opinion tends to express an opposite idea but with very little content or without any evidence.

In these cases the arguments used they express themselves in forms of universal truths that, according to that same person, do not need explanation .

Therefore the example would be: "Everyone knows that this is not the case".

3. Counter argument

From this level the reasoning begins to present a greater wealth and quality . However, in the counterargument the person exhibits evidence or evidence that supports his opinion, but that has been said or written by others before.

The ideas used to discuss any topic are not the result of the reasoning of the person, but it uses statements and explanations from third parties to support their beliefs.

For example: "You are not right, because as Socrates said ..."

2. Refutation

In this second level of discussion the person is able to reason and disagree with their own ideas and beliefs but without taking into account the basis of the argument or the beliefs of the other . Rather, it is based on details or very specific ideas of the discourse of the other, not being able to refute the central idea.

1. Refute the central point

Finally we reach the highest level, and therefore more constructive when it comes to maintaining a discussion. At this point the person has the necessary resources to refute the central theme or the basis of the discussion explicitly and directly , using their own experiences and arguments and being able to integrate the ideas of the other in their discussion.



Plant Intelligence and Human Consciousness Panel (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Apprendre à être en désaccord: Paul Graham et la hiérarchie de la qualité argumentative

Apprendre à être en désaccord: Paul Graham et la hiérarchie de la qualité argumentative

Décembre 9, 2021

Le désaccord et le désaccord sont deux aspects aussi inhérents à l’être humain que le besoin de manger. Le simple fait d'être des animaux rationnels nous prédispose à douter et à contredire toute opinion avec laquelle nous ne nous sentons pas complètement identifiés.

Cependant, toutes les personnes ne sont pas en mesure de le faire correctement. Paul Graham a remarqué ce fait et créé une "hiérarchie de divergence" qui ordonne la façon dont les gens expriment leur désaccord.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 types d'arguments à utiliser dans les débats et les discussions"

Qui est Paul Graham?

Paul Graham est un informaticien et essayiste d'origine britannique qui s'est fait connaître après son travail avec Lisp, une famille de langages de programmation. En outre, il a cofondé ce qui était le premier fournisseur de services d'application (ASP).


Après avoir acquis une réputation notable dans le monde de l’informatique et de la programmation, Graham a commencé sa carrière comme essayiste. À partir de son site Web, il a publié des essais sur divers sujets. Ils contenaient tout, des textes sur les langages de programmation aux raisons pour lesquelles les "nerds" n’atteignent jamais la popularité. Ces écrits sont rassemblés dans la publication Pirates et peintres, qui a été publié en 2004, alors qu’il avait déjà publié des ouvrages sur la programmation.

Cependant, l'un de ses essais les plus acclamés et largement diffusés à travers le monde était son étude Comment être en désaccord écrit en l'an 2008. Graham représente graphiquement la "hiérarchie des divergences" , qui montre les différents niveaux dans lesquels une personne peut exprimer son désaccord ou son désaccord avec n’importe quel sujet.


Cependant, avant d'expliquer de quoi il s'agit et comment cette hiérarchie est organisée, il est nécessaire de savoir en quoi consiste la divergence et comment fonctionne la dynamique de la hiérarchie.

Quel est le décalage et comment fonctionne-t-il?

L'Académie royale de langue espagnole définit le "décalage" avec deux significations différentes:

  1. "La différence, l'inégalité qui résulte de la comparaison des choses les unes avec les autres".
  2. "Dissidence personnelle dans les opinions ou le comportement".

Par conséquent, et selon cette définition, une personne en désaccord est un dont les croyances, les pensées ou les comportements ne correspondent à ceux d'aucune autre personne ou groupe.

Cependant, la divergence est un fait social. C'est-à-dire que pour être en désaccord avec quelque chose, la présence d'une autre personne ou d'un groupe de personnes avec qui comparer les opinions et en désaccord est nécessaire; et aussi un groupe d'adeptes qui soutiennent notre point de vue .


Ainsi, au niveau social, la divergence suit un chemin. Une série de lignes directrices allant de l'origine du désaccord aux désaccords générés dans le cadre de cette première divergence. Bien que complexe, ce processus est beaucoup plus facile à comprendre si nous suivons chacune des étapes suivantes:

  1. Existence d'une idéologie ou d'une pensée soutenue par de nombreux adeptes.
  2. Au sein de ce même groupe de personnes, une personne génère un écart, répandre une croyance ou une opinion qui leur est propre et créer une séparation au sein du premier groupe .
  3. Les deux parties acquièrent un nombre suffisant d'adeptes pour maintenir leurs opinions dans le temps.
  4. Des divergences persistent au sein des groupes eux-mêmes qui génèrent de nouveaux groupes de personnes, mettant ainsi fin aux groupes d'origine . Cette dynamique se répète successivement.

Parce que la tendance à être en désaccord est quelque chose de naturel chez l'être humain, du simple fait de pouvoir raisonner, cette dynamique se maintient dans le temps et se manifeste dans tous les domaines de la vie.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 10 types d’illusions logiques et argumentatives"

Hiérarchie de la discordance de Graham

Une fois que nous connaissons le fonctionnement des divergences, nous pouvons continuer à décrire comment ces désaccords peuvent se manifester chez chacune des personnes qui les vivent. Comme ce n’est pas la même chose d’exprimer un désaccord au moyen d’une insulte, c’est le faire en ayant recours à une argumentation solide et rationnelle.

Pour ce faire, Graham crée une représentation graphique de forme triangulaire dans laquelle ces niveaux de divergence sont ordonnés. Selon cette carte triangulaire, plus la position d'une personne dans la pyramide est élevée, plus la position ou l'argument lui-même sont puissants, tandis que ceux qui se trouvent aux niveaux inférieurs utilisent des arguments faibles et banaux pour se justifier .

Cependant, une personne est capable d'évoluer ou de passer d'un niveau à l'autre. De cette façon, plus les gens sont élevés dans les niveaux, les échanges d’opinions seront plus édifiants et plus rentables.

Wikipédia Commons.

Ensuite, nous expliquons les différents niveaux de la hiérarchie des écarts, du plus bas au plus élevé.

7. Insulte

Le plus bas niveau d'argumentation C’est là que s’installent toutes les personnes qui ont recours à l’insulte comme une forme d’opposition, dans la mesure où elles ne sont pas en mesure de présenter un quelconque argument, si peu motivé soit-il.

Graham l'illustre par la phrase "tu es un idiot".

6. Ad hominem

L'auteur met sur cette ligne tous ceux qui "attaquent les caractéristiques ou l'autorité de l'opposant doivent considérer le fond de l'argument".

Cela signifie que la personne ne peut réfuter une autre personne que par des attaques ou des affirmations négatives à son égard, dans l'intention de le discréditer mais sans fournir d'argument valable cela démontre la faiblesse du raisonnement et les affirmations de l'autre. C'est-à-dire que la personne est attaquée, pas ce qu'elle dit.

Un exemple de cette différence serait: "Que saurez-vous si vous n'avez même pas d'études?"

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "6 clés pour éviter des discussions de couple absurdes"

5. Tonalité de réponse

Dans ces cas, la personne se concentre ou utilise le ton du message de votre adversaire pour essayer de le nier ou de le réfuter , sans tenir compte du fondement ou de l’essence de ce qui est discuté.

Une déclaration typique dans ces cas serait: "Crier tellement que personne ne vous prendra au sérieux."

4. Contradiction

La personne qui utilise la contradiction pour réfuter une opinion a tendance à exprimer une idée opposée mais avec très peu de contenu ou sans aucune preuve.

Dans ces cas, les arguments utilisés ils s'expriment sous des formes de vérités universelles qui, selon cette même personne, n'ont pas besoin d'explication .

Par conséquent, l'exemple serait: "Tout le monde sait que ce n'est pas le cas".

3. Contre argument

A partir de ce niveau, le raisonnement commence à présenter une plus grande richesse et qualité . Cependant, dans le contre-argument, la personne présente une preuve ou des preuves qui corroborent son opinion, mais cela a déjà été dit ou écrit par d'autres personnes.

Les idées utilisées pour discuter de n'importe quel sujet ne résultent pas du raisonnement de la personne, mais utilisent des déclarations et des explications de tiers pour appuyer ses convictions.

Par exemple: "Tu n'as pas raison, parce que, comme disait Socrate ..."

2. Réfutation

Dans ce deuxième niveau de discussion, la personne est capable de raisonner et d’être en désaccord avec ses propres idées et croyances, mais sans tenir compte du fondement de l'argument ou des croyances de l'autre . Au contraire, il est basé sur des détails ou des idées très spécifiques du discours de l’autre, ne pouvant pas réfuter l’idée centrale.

1. réfuter le point central

Enfin, nous atteignons le plus haut niveau, et donc plus constructif lorsqu'il s'agit de maintenir une discussion. À ce point la personne dispose des ressources nécessaires pour réfuter explicitement et directement le thème central ou la base de la discussion , en utilisant leurs propres expériences et arguments et en étant capable d’intégrer les idées de l’autre dans leurs discussions.



Mathematics and sex | Clio Cresswell | TEDxSydney (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes