yes, therapy helps!

"Left" people are smarter, according to study

August 10, 2022

People who support the right-wing political ideology tend to be less intelligent than those on the left, and people with low intelligence during childhood, when they grow up, have racist opinions and against homosexuals, says a controversial study recently conducted in Ontario , Canada.

Political ideology and intelligence: is there any relationship?

It seems that the people on the left are more intelligent, and those on the right, less. At least, this is what a controversial study affirms.

Conservative politicians are facilitators of prejudice against other individuals or groups, say Canadian academics. The document analyzes massive studies of the United Kingdom (of more than 15,000 people) in which the child intelligence with the political opinions in the adult age of these subjects.


The authors affirm that people with low intelligence position themselves with the political right because they feel more secure with this line of discourse. Fundamentally, the educational level of the people is not what determines whether they are racist or not, but that it is the innate intelligence , according to the authors.

Belonging to a certain social class does not predict ideology

Social status also does not play an important role as a predictor. The study, published in Psychological Science, affirms that the right ideology forms a way for people with low reasoning capacity to become racist and xenophobic.

Researchers say that cognitive abilities are fundamental in forming impressions of other people, and are key to having an open mind.


"Individuals with lower cognitive skills tend to defend more conservative right-wing ideologies because they maintain the status quo, the right provides a sense of order, of continuity with what is established, and requires a higher cognitive level to detect what works badly. a political system and therefore be able to make a criticism and a proposal for improvement "

Research and results

The study, conducted by the University of Brock in Ontario, Canada, used the information from two studies of the United Kingdom that were carried out in 1958 and 1970, where the intelligence of several thousand children of 10 and 11 years was evaluated. When they turned 33, they answered questions about politics , and from there the bulk of the data could be extracted to prepare the report.

In the first British study, which was carried out in 1958 by the National Organization for Child Development, participated 4,267 men and 4,537 women who were born in 1958.


In the second research carried out in the United Kingdom, the British Cohort Study, 3,412 men and 3,658 women were born who were born in 1970.

When they were already adults, they were asked if they agreed with statements such as, "I would not mind working with people of other races," and "I would not mind if a family of a different race lived by my side."

They were also asked if they agreed with the political ideology of the conservative right, such as, "It would give lawbreakers harder sentences," and "Schools should teach children to obey authority."

Bibliographic references:

  • Original study: //pss.sagepub.com/content/23/2/187.full.pdf

Are You Smarter Than Average? (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Une

Une "gauche" est plus intelligente, selon une étude

Mai 20, 2022

Les personnes qui soutiennent l'idéologie politique de droite ont tendance à être moins intelligentes que celles de gauche et les personnes peu intelligentes durant leur enfance, lorsqu'elles grandissent, ont des opinions racistes et sont hostiles aux homosexuels, selon une étude controversée récemment menée en Ontario. , Canada.

Idéologie politique et intelligence: existe-t-il une relation?

Il semble que les gens de gauche soient plus intelligents et ceux de droite, moins. C'est du moins ce qu'affirme une étude controversée.

Les politiciens conservateurs sont des facilitateurs de préjugés à l’égard d’autres individus ou groupes, selon les universitaires canadiens. Le document analyse des études massives du Royaume-Uni (de plus de 15 000 personnes) dans lesquelles le intelligence de l'enfant avec les opinions politiques à l'âge adulte de ces sujets.


Les auteurs affirment que les personnes ayant un faible niveau d’intelligence se positionnent avec la droite politique car elles se sentent plus en sécurité avec ce type de discours. Fondamentalement, le niveau d’éducation des personnes n’est pas ce qui détermine si elles sont racistes ou non, mais bien le fait que ce soit le cas. intelligence innée , selon les auteurs.

Appartenir à une certaine classe sociale ne prédit pas l'idéologie

Le statut social ne joue pas non plus un rôle important en tant que prédicteur. L’étude, publiée dans Science psychologique, affirme que la bonne idéologie constitue un moyen pour les personnes ayant une faible capacité de raisonnement de devenir racistes et xénophobes.

Les chercheurs disent que les capacités cognitives sont fondamentales pour former des impressions d’autres personnes et sont essentielles à l’ouverture d’esprit.


"Les individus ayant de faibles compétences cognitives ont tendance à défendre des idéologies de droite plus conservatrices car ils maintiennent le statu quo, la droite donne un sens de l'ordre, une continuité avec ce qui est établi et nécessite un niveau cognitif supérieur pour détecter ce qui fonctionne mal. un système politique et donc pouvoir faire une critique et une proposition d'amélioration "

Recherche et résultats

L’étude, menée par l’Université de Brock en Ontario (Canada), s’appuie sur les informations provenant de deux études britanniques réalisées en 1958 et 1970, où l’intelligence de plusieurs milliers d’enfants de 10 et 11 ans a été évaluée. Quand ils ont eu 33 ans, ils ont répondu aux questions sur la politique et à partir de là, la majeure partie des données pourrait être extraite pour préparer le rapport.

Dans la première étude britannique, réalisée en 1958 par le Organisation nationale pour le développement de l'enfant, ont participé 4 267 hommes et 4 537 femmes nées en 1958.


Dans la seconde étude réalisée au Royaume-Uni, la British Cohort Study, sont nés 3 422 hommes et 3 658 femmes, nés en 1970.

Quand ils étaient déjà adultes, on leur demandait s’ils étaient d’accord avec des affirmations telles que "cela ne me dérangerait pas de travailler avec des personnes d’autres races" et "cela ne me dérangerait pas si une famille d’une race différente vivait à mes côtés".

On leur a également demandé s'ils étaient d'accord avec l'idéologie politique de la droite conservatrice, telle que "cela imposerait des peines plus lourdes aux contrevenants" et "les écoles devraient apprendre aux enfants à obéir à l'autorité".

Références bibliographiques:

  • Étude originale: //pss.sagepub.com/content/23/2/187.full.pdf

J-12 FAUX ! "Les femmes sont plus intelligentes" 2/3: Études sur le QI (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes