yes, therapy helps!
Legal Psychology: the point of union between Psychology and Law

Legal Psychology: the point of union between Psychology and Law

May 9, 2021

Psychology and Law share an important similarity ; both are human and social sciences and share their object of study and the same area of ​​intervention, human behavior. But this link goes even further.

Psychology in the legal field

The object of study of Psychology are the characteristics of human behavior, while Law focuses on laws that regulate such behavior. Therefore, we can differentiate three contributions of Psychology in the legal field:

  • The study of the specificities or peculiarities of behavior on the part of Psychology, it provides the necessary basis from which specific laws can be created that consider these peculiarities and increase the effectiveness of the laws.
  • Psychology can help both in social organization and in the resolution of conflicts that can generate the laws, since the route adopted by the judicial power does not have to imply the individual acceptance of them.
  • Evaluate the degree of functionality of the law allowing it to achieve a greater adjustment to psychological changes that occur in the application of the laws.

For all the above, the role of Psychology in Law focuses on studying how different judicial decisions affect behavior, analyzing to what extent such resolutions manage to regulate society in order to progressively improve the judicial system.


Thus, the first relationships that the Law establishes with Psychology are produced through Social Psychology, Psychology of Attribution and Cognitive Psychology.

Social psychology

From the Social Psychology it is postulated that the human being behaves according to the different interactions that he maintains within his social environment. Thus, legislators must take into account the relationships that the person establishes with others , in this way you can have the necessary base in the elaboration of the norms that regulate human behavior.

For example, in the prediction of future behaviors when granting prison permits or provisional freedom, since by incorporating the person in the same social sphere in which he carried out the criminal behavior, he is exposed to the same stimuli that could have impelled him to commit these behaviors.


Psychology of Attribution

The Psychology of Attribution provides the mechanisms of explanation in the field of judicial decisions , specifically in the decision of guilt and criminal responsibility.

Cognitive Psychology

Cognitive Psychology is related to the field of witnessing, providing explanations of human behavior through the information obtained by juries, judges, witnesses and defendants.

The differences between Psychology and Law

However, there are clear differences between the two sciences; the most striking is that the law belongs to the category of "must be" (norms) and psychology to "be" (behaviors).

As indicated by authors such as Garrido (1994), the main difference between these two sciences is that although both are interested in the same subjects, the meaning they give is significantly different. Law regulates and intuits the factors that guide behavior and tells us what we should do or avoid. On the other hand, Psychology analyzes, measures, predicts and modifies behavior .


Therefore, some authors indicate that Psychology shows three approaches to the legal field:

  • Psychology of Law : focused on analyzing the psychological components for the functioning of the Law.
  • Psychology in Law : study the legal norms that imply the performance of diverse conducts.
  • Psychology for Law : turned into an auxiliary science of the Law, in the establishment of the truth of the facts, the imputability, the interpretation of the conducts, etc.

The concept of Legal Psychology

However, where the union between Psychology and Law is strengthened is in Legal Psychology, within which the Forensic Psychology is integrated, since this type of psychology centers its area of ​​action in the Law and in applying specifically the techniques and knowledge psychological to the interpretation of the entire judicial process.

Thus, Legal Psychology is the area of ​​research and psychological work whose object of study are the behaviors of legal actors in the fields of Law, Law and Justice.It includes the study, evaluation, explanation, prevention and treatment and / or assessment of those psychological, behavioral and relational aspects involved in the legal behavior of people through the methods of Scientific Psychology.

Fields of action of Legal Psychology

There are various classifications of the fields of action of Legal Psychology, and their prevalence varies in different countries. In general terms we can talk about the following areas of action:

Applied Psychology to Courts

Also called Forensic Psychology, includes the psychology applied to the rights of minors, family, civil, labor and criminal law . Different areas in which the psychologist makes technical reports, advice on the measures that should be applied, follow-up of interventions, etc.

Prison Psychology

The scope that includes the performance of the psychologist within the penitentiary institutions . Its functions involve the classification in modules of inmates, the study of the granting of exit permits, pardons, the study of the social climate, the general organization of the prison and the performance of individual and group treatments.

Judicial Psychology

His two most representative areas are the Psychology of Testimony and the Psychology of the Jury. The first refers to the application of research results of Social and Experimental Psychology in determining the validity of the testimonies ie the accuracy and credibility of the testimonies of eyewitnesses whether they are about accidents, everyday events and / or crimes .

In the second, the psychologist is in charge of the investigation of the decision-making processes , of the social influence of the juries as well as the evaluation of them.

Police Psychology and the Armed Forces

This field refers to the role of the psychologist in the selection, training, organization and relationship with society of this group (Police, Civil Guard, Army, etc.).

Victimology

It refers to the role of the psychologist in the care of victims of different types (ill-treatment, sexual abuse, attention to the detainee, etc.). Its functions are focused on the study, planning and prevention of risk groups and informative campaigns of prevention to the general population and in the care, treatment and monitoring of victims and their interaction with the legal system.

Mediation

It includes the scope of action of the psychologist in the solution of legal conflicts through negotiation performing an intervention that helps mitigate and prevent the emotional or social damage of those involved. Its functions are focused on preparing an adequate context for the communication of the parties, designing a mediation process and providing the parties with the tools that allow them to handle the conflict.

The functions of Legal Psychologists

In each of these areas, the Legal Psychologist performs various functions:

  • The evaluation and diagnosis in order to determine the psychological conditions of the legal actors.
  • The advice that implies guiding and / or advising as an expert to the judicial bodies in matters pertaining to their discipline.
  • The intervention, the design and the realization of programs aimed at the prevention, treatment, rehabilitation and integration of legal actors in their different areas (community, prison environment, etc.), both individually and as a group.
  • Education and training understood as the training and / or selection of professionals involved in the legal system (lawyers, judges, prosecutors, police, prison staff, etc.) both in content and psychological techniques useful in their work.
  • The campaigns of social prevention in mass media before the criminality elaborating and advising on social information campaigns for population at risk and general population.
  • The investigation of the various problems of Legal Psychology.
  • The study and research to help improve the situation of the victim and its interaction with the legal system.

Concluding

In conclusion, and in a synthetic way, it could be said that Psychology and Law are united since both share the same object of study human behavior and the Legal Psychology allows to contribute the knowledge of the Psychology on the human behavior of objective form independently of the point of view or scope of action where it is being analyzed and to consider the judicial process approaching it more to the society.

Although, unfortunately, in those cases in which the political weighs more than the social does not produce an effective relationship between Psychology and Law (Law) and situations occur in which the psychological aspects of human behavior have less relevance when making a decision or reaching a final resolution.

Bibliographic references:

  • Jiménez, E.M., Bunce, D. (2010): Concepts of Forensic Psychology: common and divergent budgets between Psychology and Law. In Sierra, J.C., Jiménez, E.M., Buela-Casal, G, forensic psychology: manual of techniques and applications. (pp.70-85). Madrid: New Library.
  • Cop.es. (2016). Juridic psychology. [online] Retrieved from: //www.cop.es/perfiles/contenido/juridica.htm

Admirable Evasions: How Psychology Undermines Morality (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie légale: le point d'union de la psychologie et du droit

Psychologie légale: le point d'union de la psychologie et du droit

Juin 20, 2022

La psychologie et le droit partagent une similitude importante ; les deux sont des sciences humaines et sociales et partagent leur objet d'étude et le même domaine d'intervention, le comportement humain. Mais ce lien va encore plus loin.

Psychologie dans le domaine juridique

Les objets d'étude de la psychologie sont les caractéristiques du comportement humain, alors que Law se concentre sur les lois qui régissent ce comportement. Nous pouvons donc distinguer trois contributions de la psychologie dans le domaine juridique:

  • L'étude des spécificités ou des particularités de comportement de la part de la psychologie, il fournit la base nécessaire à partir de laquelle des lois spécifiques peuvent être créées pour prendre en compte ces particularités et accroître l'efficacité de ces lois.
  • La psychologie peut aider à la fois dans l'organisation sociale et dans la résolution des conflits cela peut engendrer des lois, puisque la voie empruntée par le pouvoir judiciaire ne doit pas nécessairement impliquer leur acceptation individuelle.
  • Évaluer le degré de fonctionnalité de la loi lui permettant de mieux s'adapter aux changements psychologiques qui se produisent dans l'application des lois.

Pour tout ce qui précède, le rôle de la psychologie en droit consiste à étudier comment différentes décisions judiciaires affectent le comportement, à analyser dans quelle mesure de telles résolutions parviennent à réguler la société afin d'améliorer progressivement le système judiciaire.


Ainsi, les premières relations que la loi établit avec la psychologie découlent de la psychologie sociale, de la psychologie de l’attribution et de la psychologie cognitive.

Psychologie sociale

La psychologie sociale postule que l'être humain se comporte en fonction des différentes interactions qu'il entretient dans son environnement social. Donc, le législateur doit tenir compte des relations que la personne établit avec les autres De cette manière, vous pouvez disposer de la base nécessaire pour élaborer les normes régissant le comportement humain.

Par exemple, dans la prédiction de comportements futurs lors de l’octroi de permis de prison ou de liberté provisoire, puisqu’en intégrant la personne dans la même sphère sociale dans laquelle elle a commis le comportement criminel, elle est exposée au même stimulant qui aurait pu l’encourager. commettre ces comportements.


Psychologie de l'attribution

La psychologie de l'attribution fournit les mécanismes d'explication dans le domaine des décisions judiciaires , en particulier dans la décision de culpabilité et de responsabilité pénale.

Psychologie cognitive

La psychologie cognitive est liée au domaine de l'observation, fournir des explications sur le comportement humain grâce aux informations obtenues par les jurys, juges, témoins et accusés.

Les différences entre la psychologie et le droit

Cependant, il existe des différences claires entre les deux sciences; le plus frappant est que la loi appartient à la catégorie "doit être" (normes) et la psychologie à "être" (comportements).

Comme l'ont indiqué des auteurs tels que Garrido (1994), la principale différence entre ces deux sciences est que, bien que les deux s'intéressent aux mêmes sujets, leur signification est très différente. La loi régule et intègre les facteurs qui guident le comportement et nous indique ce que nous devons faire ou éviter. Pour sa part, La psychologie analyse, mesure, prévoit et modifie le comportement .


Par conséquent, certains auteurs indiquent que Psychology présente trois approches du domaine juridique:

  • Psychologie du droit : centré sur l'analyse des composantes psychologiques pour le fonctionnement de la loi.
  • Psychologie en droit : étudier les normes juridiques qui impliquent la réalisation de divers comportements.
  • Psychologie du droit : devenu une science auxiliaire du droit, dans l'établissement de la vérité des faits, l'imputabilité, l'interprétation des comportements, etc.

Le concept de psychologie juridique

Cependant, l'union entre la psychologie et le droit est renforcée en psychologie légale, au sein de laquelle la psychologie légale est intégrée, puisque ce type de psychologie centre son domaine d'action dans le droit et dans l'application spécifique des techniques et des connaissances. psychologique à l'interprétation de l'ensemble du processus judiciaire.

Ainsi, la psychologie juridique est le domaine de la recherche et du travail psychologique dont l'objet est d'étudier les comportements d'acteurs juridiques dans les domaines du droit, du droit et de la justice.Cela inclut l'étude, l'évaluation, l'explication, la prévention et le traitement et / ou l'évaluation des aspects psychologiques, comportementaux et relationnels impliqués dans le comportement légal des personnes par le biais des méthodes de la psychologie scientifique.

Champs d'action de la psychologie légale

Il existe différentes classifications des champs d'action de la psychologie légale et leur prévalence varie selon les pays. De manière générale, nous pouvons parler des domaines d’action suivants:

Psychologie appliquée aux tribunaux

Aussi appelé psychologie judiciaire, comprend la psychologie appliquée aux droits des mineurs, droit de la famille, droit civil, droit du travail et droit pénal . Différents domaines dans lesquels le psychologue établit des rapports techniques, donne des conseils sur les mesures à appliquer, le suivi des interventions, etc.

Psychologie Prison

La portée qui inclut la performance du psychologue au sein des institutions pénitentiaires . Ses fonctions impliquent la classification dans des modules de détenus, l'étude de l'octroi d'autorisations de sortie, le pardon, l'étude du climat social, l'organisation générale de la prison et la performance des traitements individuels et de groupe.

Psychologie judiciaire

Ses deux domaines les plus représentatifs sont la psychologie du témoignage et la psychologie du jury. Le premier concerne l'application des résultats de la recherche en psychologie sociale et expérimentale pour déterminer la validité des témoignages, c'est-à-dire l'exactitude et la crédibilité des témoignages de témoins oculaires, qu'il s'agisse d'accidents, d'événements quotidiens et / ou de crimes. .

Dans le second le psychologue est en charge de l'investigation des processus décisionnels , de l’influence sociale des jurys et de leur évaluation.

Psychologie policière et forces armées

Ce champ fait référence au rôle du psychologue dans la sélection, la formation, l'organisation et les relations avec la société de ce groupe (police, garde civile, armée, etc.).

Victimologie

Il fait référence au rôle du psychologue dans les soins aux victimes de différents types (mauvais traitement, abus sexuel, attention au détenu, etc.). Ses fonctions sont axées sur l’étude, la planification et la prévention des groupes à risque et les campagnes informatives de prévention auprès de la population en général ainsi que sur les soins, le traitement et le suivi des victimes et leur interaction avec le système judiciaire.

Médiation

Cela inclut le champ d’action du psychologue dans la résolution des conflits juridiques par la négociation effectuer une intervention qui aide à atténuer et à prévenir les dommages émotionnels ou sociaux des personnes impliquées. Ses fonctions sont centrées sur la préparation d'un contexte adéquat pour la communication des parties, la conception d'un processus de médiation et la fourniture aux parties des outils leur permettant de gérer le conflit.

Les fonctions des psychologues juridiques

Dans chacun de ces domaines, le psychologue juridique exerce différentes fonctions:

  • L'évaluation et le diagnostic afin de déterminer les conditions psychologiques des acteurs juridiques.
  • Le conseil qui implique de guider et / ou de conseiller en tant qu'expert auprès des instances judiciaires dans les domaines relevant de leur discipline.
  • L'intervention, la conception et la réalisation de programmes visant à la prévention, au traitement, à la réhabilitation et à l'intégration des acteurs juridiques dans leurs différents domaines (communauté, environnement pénitentiaire, etc.), à la fois individuellement et en groupe.
  • L'éducation et la formation s'entendent de la formation et / ou de la sélection de professionnels impliqués dans le système judiciaire (avocats, juges, procureurs, police, personnel pénitentiaire, etc.), tant dans le contenu que dans les techniques psychologiques utiles à leur travail.
  • Les campagnes de prévention sociale dans les médias avant la criminalité élaborer et conseiller des campagnes d'information sociale destinées aux populations à risque et à la population en général.
  • L'enquête sur les différents problèmes de psychologie juridique.
  • L'étude et la recherche pour aider à améliorer la situation de la victime et son interaction avec le système juridique.

En conclusion

En conclusion, et de manière synthétique, on pourrait dire que Psychologie et droit sont unis puisque les deux partagent le même objet d'étude du comportement humain et la psychologie juridique permet d’apporter la connaissance de la psychologie sur le comportement humain de forme objective indépendamment du point de vue ou du champ d’action où elle est analysée et d’envisager le processus judiciaire qui l’approche davantage à la société.

Bien que, malheureusement, dans les cas où le politique pèse plus que le social ne produit pas une relation efficace entre la psychologie et le droit (droit) et des situations dans lesquelles les aspects psychologiques du comportement humain ont moins de pertinence en prenant une décision ou en prenant une résolution finale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Jiménez, E.M., Bunce, D. (2010): Concepts de psychologie judiciaire: budgets communs et divergents entre la psychologie et le droit. En Sierra, J.C., Jiménez, E.M., Buela-Casal, G, Psychologie légale: manuel de techniques et d'applications. (pp.70-85). Madrid: nouvelle bibliothèque.
  • Cop.es. (2016). Psychologie juridique [en ligne] Extrait de: //www.cop.es/perfiles/contenido/juridica.htm

LA GAUCHE À L'ÉPREUVE DE L'IMMIGRATION - VRAIMENT POLITIQUE (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes