yes, therapy helps!
Lenticular nucleus: parts, functions and associated disorders

Lenticular nucleus: parts, functions and associated disorders

January 25, 2022

The basal ganglia are a series of parts of the brain located in the depths of the brain that are of great importance for the performance of various functions. It is a set of different structures and substructures, which can be grouped according to their connections between them.

One of these structures or rather a set of them is the so-called lenticular nucleus , which is especially relevant in the management of motor skills, as well as in learning and motivation.

  • Related article: "Basal ganglia: anatomy and functions"

The lenticular core: parts and characteristics

The lenticular nucleus is a subcortical structure of the brain, located in the inner part of this. This nucleus is part of the basal ganglia, a set of structures configured by gray matter (that is, it is mainly neuronal somas and dendrites).


Also called the extraventricular nucleus of the striatum , the lenticular nucleus is formed by three segments, although said three segments can be divided mainly into two structures; putamen (which would be the outermost segment) and pale globe (which would pick up the middle and inner segments).

Thus, it can be considered that the lenticular nucleus is the union of two other structures of the basal ganglia, putamen and pale balloon .

This cuneiform structure is in contact with the internal capsule, which separates it from the thalamus and the caudate, and with the external capsule that separates it from the cloister and the insula. It connects with the aforementioned thalamus, the cerebral cortex and the set of structures that make up the brainstem.


Functions associated with this subcortical structure

The lenticular nucleus, like the set of structures that make up the basal ganglia, is a structure or set of structures of great importance for the correct functioning of the human being. Specifically, it has been observed that it has great importance in the following areas.

Motor skills

One of the aspects that has been most researched and that has been known for a long time is the great importance of the lenticular nucleus in motor skills and movement management and coordination . Its main task in this sense is to adapt the movement to the situations that are being lived and to adjust to situational demands.

Posture maintenance

The lenticular nucleus participates not only in the realization of concrete movements, but also has relation with the maintenance of the posture. Damage to the lenticular core can cause gait difficulties , uncoordinated or uncontrollable tremors.


Movement automation

The automation of movements is also affected by the lenticular nucleus, by allowing habituation to be acquired in its realization.

Learning

The lenticular nucleus has influence on the learning processes . Concretely it helps to generate procedural learning. In addition, through its various connections, the lenticular nucleus contributes to the creation of categories when organizing and structuring the world.

Motivation

Like other areas such as the caudate nucleus, the lenticular nucleus also contributes greatly to link the rational with the emotional , allowing both types of information to be integrated. This means that thanks to their connections we can link a knowledge or stimulus to an emotion, which can motivate or demotivate us.

  • Related article: "Are we rational or emotional beings?"

Disorders linked to the lenticular nucleus

The presence of alterations and injuries in the basal ganglia can have devastating repercussions on the health of the organism, as well as diminish its most basic capacities. Some of the alterations that are linked to damage to the lenticular nucleus are the following.

Subcortical dementias

The progressive degeneration caused by this type of dementias tends to start in different subcortical structures, being one of the most frequent the basal ganglia. The dementias produced by Parkinson's or by Huntington's Korea They are two of the best known, which occur with incoordination of the march, performing different spasmodic movements either at rest or during the performance of movements and a loss of memory and executive abilities.

Psychomotor disorders

Disorders such as tics or that of Gilles de la Tourette, or Parkinson's disease itself without it having to cause dementia, are also influenced by the alteration of the basal ganglia.

Obsessive-compulsive disorder

OCD has also been linked in part with the hyperactivation of the basal ganglia, especially the caudate nucleus and the putamen (forming this latter part of the lenticular nucleus).

  • Related article: "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD): what is it and how does it manifest?"

ADHD

ADHD is another of the disorders that is influenced by the presence of damage to the lenticular nucleus, making it difficult to maintain motivation and promoting the appearance of tics and agitation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Carlson, N.R. (2014). Physiology of Behavior (11th Edition). Madrid: Pearson Education.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Basal Ganglia (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Noyau lenticulaire: parties, fonctions et troubles associés

Noyau lenticulaire: parties, fonctions et troubles associés

Août 1, 2022

Les ganglions de la base sont une série de parties du cerveau situées dans les profondeurs du cerveau qui ont une grande importance pour la performance de diverses fonctions. C'est un ensemble de différentes structures et sous-structures, qui peuvent être regroupées en fonction de leurs connexions.

Une de ces structures ou plutôt un ensemble d’entre elles est le soi-disant noyau lenticulaire , particulièrement utile dans la gestion de la motricité, ainsi que dans l’apprentissage et la motivation.

  • Article connexe: "Les noyaux gris centraux: anatomie et fonctions"

Le noyau lenticulaire: pièces et caractéristiques

Le noyau lenticulaire est une structure sous-corticale du cerveau, située dans la partie interne de celui-ci. Ce noyau fait partie des noyaux gris centraux, un ensemble de structures configurées par la matière grise (c’est-à-dire qu’il s’agit principalement de somas et de dendrites neuronaux).


Aussi appelé le noyau extraventriculaire du striatum , le noyau lenticulaire est formé de trois segments, bien que lesdits trois segments puissent être divisés principalement en deux structures; le putamen (qui serait le segment le plus externe) et le globe pâle (qui ramasserait les segments moyen et interne).

Ainsi, on peut considérer que le noyau lenticulaire est l’union de deux autres structures des noyaux gris centraux, putamen et ballon pâle .

Cette structure cunéiforme est en contact avec la capsule interne qui le sépare du thalamus et du caudé et avec la capsule externe qui le sépare du cloître et de l'insula. Il se connecte avec le thalamus susmentionné, le cortex cérébral et l'ensemble des structures qui composent le tronc cérébral.


Fonctions associées à cette structure sous-corticale

Le noyau lenticulaire, comme l'ensemble des structures qui constituent les noyaux gris centraux, est une structure ou un ensemble de structures d'une grande importance pour le fonctionnement correct de l'être humain. En particulier, il a été observé qu’il revêt une grande importance dans les domaines suivants.

Motricité

L’un des aspects les plus étudiés et connus depuis longtemps est la grande importance du noyau lenticulaire dans la motricité, gestion du mouvement et coordination . Sa tâche principale dans ce sens est d'adapter le mouvement aux situations vécues et aux exigences de la situation.

Maintien de la posture

Le noyau lenticulaire participe non seulement à la réalisation de mouvements concrets, mais est également en relation avec le maintien de la posture. Des dommages au noyau lenticulaire peuvent causer des problèmes de démarche , tremblements incontrôlables ou incontrôlables.


Automatisation du mouvement

L'automatisation des mouvements est également affectée par le noyau lenticulaire, en permettant l'acquisition de l'accoutumance à sa réalisation.

Apprentissage

Le noyau lenticulaire a une influence sur les processus d'apprentissage . Concrètement, cela aide à générer un apprentissage procédural. De plus, par ses diverses connexions, le noyau lenticulaire contribue à la création de catégories lors de l’organisation et de la structuration du monde.

La motivation

Comme d’autres domaines tels que le noyau caudé, le noyau lenticulaire contribue également beaucoup à la relier le rationnel à l'émotionnel , permettant aux deux types d’informations d’être intégrées. Cela signifie que, grâce à leurs relations, nous pouvons lier une connaissance ou un stimulus à une émotion, ce qui peut nous motiver ou nous démotiver.

  • Article connexe: "Sommes-nous des êtres rationnels ou émotionnels?"

Troubles liés au noyau lenticulaire

La présence d'altérations et de blessures dans les ganglions de la base peut avoir des répercussions dévastatrices sur la santé de l'organisme et réduire ses capacités les plus fondamentales. Certaines des altérations liées aux lésions du noyau lenticulaire sont les suivantes.

Démences sous-corticales

La dégénérescence progressive causée par ce type de démence a tendance à se manifester dans différentes structures sous-corticales, l'une des plus fréquentes parmi les noyaux gris centraux. Les démences produites par la maladie de Parkinson ou par la Corée de Huntington Ils sont deux des plus connus, qui se produisent avec une incoordination de la marche, effectuant différents mouvements spasmodiques au repos ou pendant l'exécution de mouvements et une perte de mémoire et de capacités exécutives.

Troubles psychomoteurs

Des troubles tels que les tics ou celui de Gilles de la Tourette, ou la maladie de Parkinson elle-même sans que celle-ci ne provoque de démence, sont également influencés par l'altération des noyaux gris centraux.

Trouble obsessif compulsif

Le TOC a également été lié en partie à l’hyperactivation des noyaux gris centraux, en particulier du noyau caudé et du putamen (formant cette dernière partie du noyau lenticulaire).

  • Article connexe: "Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC): de quoi s'agit-il et comment se manifeste-t-il?"

TDAH

Le TDAH est un autre des troubles qui est influencé par la présence de dommages au noyau lenticulaire, rendant difficile le maintien de la motivation et favorisant l’apparition de tics et l’agitation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carlson, N.R. (2014). Physiologie du comportement (11ème édition). Madrid: Éducation Pearson.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid

Neutron Stars Collide in New LIGO Signal? | Space Time (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes