yes, therapy helps!
Lev Vygotsky: biography of the famous Russian psychologist

Lev Vygotsky: biography of the famous Russian psychologist

November 27, 2021

Lev Vygotsky is a key author in the psychology of development and education , although he also made important contributions in the field of neuropsychology and founded the historical-cultural psychological approach. His theory and his work are framed in the context of the revolution of the proletariat that took place in Russia and in which he participated directly.

In this article we will discuss the biography and the main ideas and contributions of Vygotsky to psychology and other social sciences. We will focus its relationship with the development of evolutionary and educational psychology, although we will also mention its influence in other disciplines.


  • Recommended article: "The sociocultural theory of Lev Vygotsky"

Biography of Lev Vygotsky

Lev Semyonovich Vygotsky was born in 1896 in Orsha, Belarus, although he was raised in the city of Gomel. At that time the country was part of the Russian Empire, which was still ruled by a Tsar, although the revolutionary movement that would give way to the emergence of the Soviet Union would soon flourish. As a young man Vygotsky wanted to be a literary critic.

In 1913 he began studying law at the Moscow University ; the educational rank he could access was limited because he came from a Jewish family. He graduated 4 years later and returned to his hometown; there he began to teach psychology and logic. In 1917 the October Revolution took place and Vygotsky became involved in political activity.


Some time later, in 1924, Vygotsky became famous after impressing the community of Russian experimental psychology with a discourse on neuropsychology. From then on he worked as a researcher and as a professor at the Institute of Experimental Psychology in Moscow.

During this period of his life Vygotsky was a prolific author as well as an important instructor in the field of psychology . However, in 1926 he lost his job because of tuberculosis; He died of this disease in 1934, when he was only 37 years old, leaving behind a broad theoretical legacy that was collected by Aleksandr Luria and others.

Among the most outstanding works of this author are "Educational Psychology", "The mind in society", "The historical significance of the crisis of psychology", "The development of higher psychological processes", "Psychology of art" and "Thought and speech", his most influential book, which was published after his death.


Main ideas of his theory

Vygotsky's professional life was mainly focused on the development during childhood , in the psychology of development and in educational philosophy. However, his ideas were also relevant to fields such as philosophy and methodology of science, the study of higher mental functions or the interaction between human beings.

According to Vygotsky, people develop our repertoire of behavior during childhood from the interaction with other people in the environment. In this sense, the weight of culture is very relevant, which explains the internalization of a series of behaviors, habits, knowledge, norms or specific attitudes that we observe in those around us.

Thus, for example, he defined thought as an internal language and affirmed that it is acquired from exposure to the speech of other people. This internal language would fulfill the function of regulating one's behavior, especially during childhood , and during the early stages of development it would manifest in the child's external speech towards himself.

Vygotsky also gave great importance to the socializing functions of the game. This author argued that children internalize cultural norms, social roles or interpersonal skills through play. In addition, the use of symbols and imagination is very relevant in the acquisition of abstract thinking.

The main differences of Vygotsky's ideas with the approaches of Jean Piaget, the other fundamental theorist of the time, include the absence of stages of development, the focus on the language and the role of adults in learning or the emphasis on individuality, in interpersonal interaction and in the role of the sociocultural context.

Contributions to psychology

Vygotsky is considered one of the most influential authors in many of the branches of current psychology, although during his time he did not get as much recognition as Piaget, Skinner or Pavlov worldwide until decades after his death.This has been attributed both to his connection with the Soviet Communist Party and his premature death.

One aspect of Vygotsky's theory that has generated particular interest is the concept of the zone of proximal development, key in learning. This term refers to the distance between the behaviors that a child can perform by himself and what he is capable of doing with the help of other people with a greater mastery of a specific aspect.

Vygotsky called "scaffolding" the process by which an adult helps a child to carry out a certain task . As the child gains more knowledge or skills, educators should proportionally increase the difficulty of the exercises so that they continue to take advantage of the zone of proximal development.

The emergence of the historical-cultural psychological approach, which had the objective of determining the relationships between culture, mind and brain in a specific spatial and temporal context, is also attributed to the influence of Vygotsky, as well as that of Aleksandr Luria and other close collaborators.


Vygotsky's Social Cultural Theory -CHILD DEVELOPMENT & PEDAGOGY (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Lev Vygotsky: biographie du célèbre psychologue russe

Lev Vygotsky: biographie du célèbre psychologue russe

Juillet 26, 2022

Lev Vygotsky est un auteur clé en psychologie du développement et de l'éducation Il a également apporté d'importantes contributions dans le domaine de la neuropsychologie et fondé l'approche psychologique historique et culturelle. Sa théorie et son travail s'inscrivent dans le contexte de la révolution du prolétariat qui a eu lieu en Russie et à laquelle il a directement participé.

Dans cet article, nous discuterons de la biographie et des principales idées et contributions de Vygotsky à la psychologie et aux autres sciences sociales. Nous allons axer sa relation sur le développement de la psychologie de l'évolution et de l'éducation, même si nous mentionnerons également son influence dans d'autres disciplines.


  • Article recommandé: "La théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky"

Biographie de Lev Vygotsky

Lev Semyonovich Vygotsky est né en 1896 à Orcha, en Biélorussie, bien qu'il ait été élevé dans la ville de Gomel. À cette époque, le pays faisait partie de l’empire russe, qui était toujours dirigé par un tsar, bien que le mouvement révolutionnaire qui céderait le pas à l’émergence de l’Union soviétique se développe rapidement. Jeune homme, Vygotsky voulait être un critique littéraire.

En 1913, il commence ses études de droit à l'Université de Moscou. ; le niveau d'instruction auquel il pouvait accéder était limité car il venait d'une famille juive. Il obtint son diplôme 4 ans plus tard et retourna dans sa ville natale. là il a commencé à enseigner la psychologie et la logique. En 1917, la révolution d'Octobre a eu lieu et Vygotsky est devenu impliqué dans l'activité politique.


Quelque temps plus tard, en 1924, Vygotsky devint célèbre après avoir impressionné la communauté de la psychologie expérimentale russe par un discours sur la neuropsychologie. À partir de ce moment-là, il travailla comme chercheur et professeur à l'Institut de psychologie expérimentale de Moscou.

Au cours de cette période de sa vie, Vygotsky fut un auteur prolifique ainsi qu’un instructeur important dans le domaine de la psychologie. . Cependant, en 1926, il perd son emploi à cause de la tuberculose; Il mourut de cette maladie en 1934, alors qu'il n'avait que 37 ans, laissant derrière lui un vaste héritage théorique recueilli par Aleksandr Luria et d'autres.

Parmi les travaux les plus remarquables de cet auteur figurent "Psychologie de l'éducation", "L'esprit dans la société", "L'importance historique de la crise de la psychologie", "Le développement de processus psychologiques supérieurs", "La psychologie de l'art" et "Pensée et discours", son livre le plus influent, publié après sa mort.


Idées principales de sa théorie

La vie professionnelle de Vygotsky était principalement axée sur le développement durant l'enfance , en psychologie du développement et en philosophie de l’éducation. Cependant, ses idées étaient également pertinentes pour des domaines tels que la philosophie et la méthodologie de la science, l'étude des fonctions mentales supérieures ou l'interaction entre les êtres humains.

Selon Vygotsky, les gens développent notre répertoire de comportements durant l'enfance à partir de l'interaction avec d'autres personnes dans l'environnement. En ce sens, le poids de la culture est très pertinent, ce qui explique l’internalisation d’une série de comportements, habitudes, connaissances, normes ou attitudes spécifiques que nous observons chez ceux qui nous entourent.

Ainsi, par exemple, il a défini la pensée comme un langage interne et a affirmé qu’elle s’acquiert par l’exposition au discours d’autres personnes. Ce langage interne remplirait la fonction de régulation du comportement, surtout pendant l'enfance et au cours des premiers stades de développement, cela se manifesterait dans le discours extérieur de l'enfant envers lui-même.

Vygotsky accordait également une grande importance aux fonctions de socialisation du jeu. Cet auteur a fait valoir que les enfants intériorisent les normes culturelles, les rôles sociaux ou les compétences interpersonnelles par le jeu. De plus, l'utilisation de symboles et d'imagination est très pertinente dans l'acquisition de la pensée abstraite.

Les principales différences entre les idées de Vygotsky et les approches de Jean Piaget, l'autre théoricien fondamental de l'époque, incluent l'absence d'étapes de développement, l'accent mis sur la langue et le rôle des adultes dans l'apprentissage ou l'accent mis sur l'individualité, dans les interactions interpersonnelles et dans le rôle du contexte socioculturel.

Contributions à la psychologie

Vygotsky est considéré comme l’un des auteurs les plus influents dans de nombreuses branches de la psychologie actuelle, bien qu’à l’époque, il n’a reçu autant de reconnaissance dans le monde que Piaget, Skinner ou Pavlov que des décennies après sa mort.Cela a été attribué à la fois à ses liens avec le parti communiste soviétique et à sa mort prématurée.

Un aspect de la théorie de Vygotsky qui a suscité un intérêt particulier est le concept de zone de développement proximal, clé de l'apprentissage. Ce terme fait référence à la distance entre les comportements qu'un enfant peut adopter par lui-même et ce qu'il est capable de faire avec l'aide d'autres personnes maîtrisant mieux un aspect spécifique.

Vygotsky a appelé "échafaudage" le processus par lequel un adulte aide un enfant à effectuer une tâche donnée . Au fur et à mesure que l'enfant acquiert plus de connaissances ou d'habiletés, les éducateurs doivent augmenter proportionnellement la difficulté des exercices afin qu'ils continuent de tirer parti de la zone de développement proximal.

L'émergence de l'approche psychologique historico-culturelle, qui avait pour objectif de déterminer les relations entre la culture, l'esprit et le cerveau dans un contexte spatial et temporel spécifique, est également attribuée à l'influence de Vygotsky ainsi qu'à celle d'Aleksandr Luria. et d'autres proches collaborateurs.


Jean Piaget (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes