yes, therapy helps!
Lewis's theory of active and inactive memory

Lewis's theory of active and inactive memory

August 1, 2022

Although memory has been researched scientifically for approximately 130 years, perhaps the most relevant discovery to date is that memory is much more complex than anyone could ever imagine. Next, we will talk about one of the most unnoticed theories that have passed through the history of the study of this brain process and that, nevertheless, could be closer to its real functioning: Lewis's theory of active and inactive memory .

  • Related article: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

What is memory?

Traditional theories, and mostly accepted by the scientific community, postulate that memory is a basic cognitive process that is divided into two types .


A short-term memory, located in the prefrontal cortex, which allows us to manipulate information from the external or internal environment (our mind) and has a limited capacity; and a long-term memory, located in the hippocampus and temporal lobe, of unlimited nature and that stores information permanently.

On the other hand, these traditional theories also point out that so that the formation of new memories takes place , these have to go through a period of instability in which they can undergo modifications, but once they reach the long-term memory, they remain unchanged.

However, at the end of the 1960s, several groups of researchers (including Lewis), investigating the phenomenon of amnesia in rats, observed effects that could not be explained by traditional memory theories.


They saw that memories consolidated in long-term memory they could be forgotten if a series of conditions were met . Based on this effect, in 1979 Lewis proposes an alternative theory.

  • You may be interested: "The 6 levels of loss of consciousness and associated disorders"

Lewis's theory of active and inactive memory

The author postulates that there are no types of memory, but that memory is a dynamic process composed of two states : an active state where all memories, both new and consolidated, could undergo modifications and be forgotten, and an inactive state where all memories remain stable.

That is to say; active memory would be composed of changing subsets of all memories of the organism that affect our present behavior, and inactive memory would be formed by all those permanent memories, which have the potential to be activated at some time, which are in a state of relative inactivity and have little or no effect on the present behavior of the organism.


In addition, it went a step further, arguing that memory does not have specific locations within the brain , but it is a central processor that is subordinated to other basic processes such as perception and attention. An active memory is a unique neuronal firing pattern. Different activated memories would reflect different patterns of neuronal density and would not have a specific location.

The student's example

The following example will allow a greater understanding of this theory:

A university student has just come out of a procedural law examination and is remembering the answers he gave based on what he studied (subset of permanent memories and unconsolidated memories that are active at that moment) when he suddenly passes in front of a bakery and a smell of food invades him and makes him remember the menu he will make when he gets home (the smell perception directed attention to the food, which in turn triggered a permanent reminder of the menu of the day that until that moment was inactive).

As can be seen, and as Lewis put it, "active memory is intuitively apparent to immediate consciousness". Consciousness is defined as the individual's ability to recognize the reality that surrounds him , relate to it and reflect on it and on yourself.

Recovering this model

However, this theory was quickly rejected at that time due to its highly speculative assumptions and the lack of a solid empirical contrast. 40 years later, each new finding in the field of memory could be related directly or indirectly to Lewis's work. In the year 2000, Nader, Schafe and Le Doux argued that new memories should be called active memories . Sara, in the same year, urged the entire scientific community to consider memory as a dynamic process.

In 2015, Ryan, Roy, Pignatelli, Arons and Tonegawa, among others, affirmed that each memory is a characteristic neuronal firing pattern (currently called cellular engrams).These same authors also conjectured in favor of another hypothesis of Lewis, which postulates that amnesia is not a destruction of the memory, but an inability to recover it, that is to say; an inability to activate an inactive memory.

Bibliographic references:

  • Lewis, D. J. (1979). Psychobiology of active and inactive memory. Psychological bulletin, 86 (5), 1054-1083. doi: 10.1037 / 0033-2909.86.5.1054
  • Nader, K., Schafe, G. E., and Le Doux, J. E. (2000). Fear memories requires protein synthesis in the amygdala for reconsolidation after retrieval. Nature, 406 (6797), 722-726. doi: 10.1038 / 35021052
  • Sara, S. J. (2000). Retrieval and reconsolidation: towards a neurobiology of remembering. Learning & Memory, 7 (2), 73-84. doi: 10.1101 / lm.7.2.73
  • Ryan, T. J., Roy, D. S., Pignatelli, M., Arons, A., and Tonegawa, S. (2015). Engram cells retain memory under retrograde amnesia. Science, 348 (6238), 1007-1013. doi: 10.1126 / science.aaa5542

Unleash Your Super Brain To Learn Faster And Work Smarter | Jim Kwik (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de Lewis de la mémoire active et inactive

La théorie de Lewis de la mémoire active et inactive

Juin 13, 2022

Bien que la mémoire ait fait l'objet de recherches scientifiques depuis environ 130 ans, la découverte la plus pertinente à ce jour est peut-être la mémoire est beaucoup plus complexe que quiconque pourrait imaginer. Ensuite, nous aborderons l’une des théories les plus inaperçues qui ont traversé l’histoire de l’étude de ce processus cérébral et qui pourraient néanmoins se rapprocher de son fonctionnement réel: La théorie de Lewis de la mémoire active et inactive .

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Qu'est-ce que la mémoire?

Les théories traditionnelles, et généralement acceptées par la communauté scientifique, postulent que la mémoire est un processus cognitif de base qui est divisé en deux types .


Une mémoire à court terme, située dans le cortex préfrontal, qui nous permet de manipuler des informations provenant de l'environnement externe ou interne (notre esprit) et dont la capacité est limitée. et une mémoire à long terme, située dans l'hippocampe et le lobe temporal, de nature illimitée et stockant des informations en permanence.

D'autre part, ces théories traditionnelles soulignent également que de sorte que la formation de nouveaux souvenirs a lieu , ceux-ci doivent traverser une période d’instabilité au cours de laquelle ils peuvent subir des modifications, mais une fois qu’ils atteignent la mémoire à long terme, ils restent inchangés.

Cependant, à la fin des années 1960, plusieurs groupes de chercheurs (dont Lewis), enquêtant sur le phénomène de l'amnésie chez le rat, ont observé des effets que les théories de la mémoire traditionnelles ne pouvaient expliquer.


Ils ont vu que les mémoires consolidées dans la mémoire à long terme ils pourraient être oubliés si une série de conditions étaient remplies . Sur la base de cet effet, Lewis propose en 1979 une théorie alternative.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 6 niveaux de perte de conscience et les troubles associés"

La théorie de Lewis de la mémoire active et inactive

L’auteur postule qu’il n’existe aucun type de mémoire, mais que cette mémoire est un processus dynamique composé de deux états : un état actif où toutes les mémoires, nouvelles et consolidées, peuvent subir des modifications et être oubliées, et un état inactif où toutes les mémoires restent stables.

C'est-à-dire; la mémoire active serait composée de sous-ensembles changeants de toutes les mémoires de l'organisme qui affectent notre comportement actuel, et la mémoire inactive serait formée par toutes ces mémoires permanentes, qui ont le potentiel d'être activées à un moment donné, qui sont dans un état de relative inactivité et n’ont que peu ou pas d’effet sur le comportement actuel de l’organisme.


En outre, il est allé encore plus loin, affirmant que la mémoire n'a pas d'emplacements spécifiques dans le cerveau , mais c’est un processeur central subordonné à d’autres processus de base tels que la perception et l’attention. Une mémoire active est un modèle de déclenchement neuronal unique. Différentes mémoires activées refléteraient différents modèles de densité neuronale et n'auraient pas d'emplacement spécifique.

L'exemple de l'étudiant

L'exemple suivant permettra de mieux comprendre cette théorie:

Un étudiant d'université vient de sortir d'un examen de droit procédural et se souvient des réponses qu'il a données sur la base de ce qu'il a étudié (sous-ensemble de mémoires permanentes et de mémoires non consolidées actives à ce moment) lorsqu'il passe soudainement devant une boulangerie. et une odeur de nourriture l'envahit et lui rappelle le menu qu'il préparera lorsqu'il rentrera chez lui (la perception de l'odorat attira l'attention sur la nourriture, ce qui déclencha un rappel permanent du menu du jour jusqu'à ce que ce soit le cas. inactif).

Comme on peut le voir et comme le dit Lewis, "la mémoire active est intuitivement apparente pour la conscience immédiate". La conscience est définie comme la capacité de l'individu à reconnaître la réalité qui l'entoure , se rapporter à elle et réfléchir sur elle et sur vous-même.

Récupérer ce modèle

Cependant, cette théorie a été rapidement rejetée à ce moment-là en raison de ses hypothèses hautement spéculatives et de l'absence d'un contraste empirique solide. 40 ans plus tard, chaque nouvelle découverte dans le domaine de la mémoire pourrait être liée directement ou indirectement au travail de Lewis. En 2000, Nader, Schafe et Le Doux ont soutenu que les nouveaux souvenirs devraient s'appeler des souvenirs actifs. . La même année, Sara a exhorté l'ensemble de la communauté scientifique à considérer la mémoire comme un processus dynamique.

En 2015, Ryan, Roy, Pignatelli, Arons et Tonegawa, entre autres, ont affirmé que chaque mémoire est un schéma de déclenchement neuronal caractéristique (actuellement appelé engramme cellulaire).Ces mêmes auteurs ont également émis des hypothèses en faveur d'une autre hypothèse de Lewis, qui postule que l'amnésie n'est pas une destruction de la mémoire, mais une incapacité à la récupérer, c'est-à-dire; une incapacité à activer une mémoire inactive.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Lewis, D. J. (1979). Psychobiologie de la mémoire active et inactive. Bulletin psychologique, 86 (5), 1054-1083. doi: 10.1037 / 0033-2909.86.5.1054
  • Nader K., Schafe G.E. et Le Doux J.E. (2000). Les souvenirs de peur nécessitent une synthèse protéique dans l'amygdale pour la reconstitution après récupération. Nature, 406 (6797), 722-726. doi: 10.1038 / 35021052
  • Sara, S. J. (2000). Récupération et reconsolidation: vers une neurobiologie de la mémoire. Learning & Memory, 7 (2), 73-84. doi: 10.1101 / lm.7.2.73
  • Ryan, T.J., Roy, D.S., Pignatelli, M., Arons, A. et Tonegawa, S. (2015). Les cellules engrammes conservent la mémoire sous amnésie rétrograde. Science, 348 (6238), 1007-1013. doi: 10.1126 / science.aaa5542

Esoteric Agenda - Best Quality with Subtitles in 13 Languages (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes