yes, therapy helps!
Liberal Feminism: what it is, philosophical positioning and claims

Liberal Feminism: what it is, philosophical positioning and claims

January 29, 2023

In very general terms, feminism is a set of political and theoretical movements that fight for the vindication of women (and of other historically subordinated identities) that has a history of many centuries, and that has gone through very diverse stages and transformations.

That is why it is usually divided into theoretical currents, which do not suppose the end of one and the beginning of the other, but, having incorporated different experiences and denunciations of contexts of vulnerability with the passage of time, feminism has been updating the struggles and the theoretical nuances.

After the "First Wave" of feminism (also known as Suffragist Feminism), which advocated for equal rights, feminists focused on how our identity is constructed based on the social relationships that we engage especially through the distinction between the public space and the private space.


The proposal at this time is that the claim of women has to do with our incorporation into public life, in addition to promoting legal equality. That current is called Liberal Feminism .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

What is it and where does Liberal Feminism come from?

The 1960s and 1970s, mainly in the United States and Europe, saw feminist mobilizations emerge related to the New Left and the civil rights movements of African-Americans .

In this context, women managed to make visible their experiences of sexism and the need to organize among themselves, to share those experiences and seek strategies of vindication. Emerged, for example, feminist organizations such as the NOW (National Organization of Women) driven by one of the key figures of this current, Betty Friedan.


Likewise, and at the theoretical level, feminists took distance from the most popular paradigms of the moment, generating their own theories that would account for the oppression they experienced . Therefore, Liberal Feminism is a political movement, but also theoretical and epistemological that takes place since the second half of the twentieth century, in the United States and Europe mainly.

At this stage, feminism appeared publicly as one of the great social movements of the nineteenth century whose repercussions connected with other movements and theoretical currents, such as socialism, since they proposed that the cause of women's oppression was not biological, but rather that it was based on the beginnings of private property and the social logics of production. One of the key antecedents in this is the work of Simone de Beauvoir: the second sex.

Likewise its growth had to do with the development of women's citizenship , which did not happen in the same way in Europe as in the United States. In the latter, the feminist movement of the Second Wave convened several social struggles, while in Europe it was more characterized by isolated movements.


In short, the main struggle of Liberal Feminism is to achieve equality of opportunities based on a critique of the distinction between public space and private space, because historically women have been relegated to the private or domestic space, which has fact that we have fewer opportunities in the public space, for example, in access to education, health or work.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between Psychology and Anthropology"

Betty Friedan: representative author

Betty Friedan is perhaps the most representative figure of Liberal Feminism . Among other things, she described and denounced the situations of oppression experienced by middle-class American women, denouncing that they were obliged to sacrifice their own life projects, or on equal opportunities with men; what also promotes some differences in the experience of health and illness between them.

In fact, one of her most important works is called "The problem that has no name" (chapter 1 of the book Mystique of femininity), where she relates the displacement to the private space and the silenced life of women with the development of those nonspecific diseases that medicine does not finish defining and treating.

Thus, he understands that we build our identity in correspondence with social relations and promotes a personal change of women and a modification of these relationships.

In other words, Friedan denounces that the subordination and oppression that women experience have to do with legal restrictions that already from the outset limit us access to public space, before which, it offers reformist options, that is, to generate gradual changes in said spaces so that this situation is modified.

Some criticisms and limitations of Liberal Feminism

We have seen that Liberal Feminism is characterized by fight for equal opportunities and the dignity of women. The problem is that he understands "the woman" as a homogenous group, where equality of opportunities will make all women claim our dignity.

Although the Liberal Feminism is a necessary movement and committed to equal opportunities, the relationship between this inequality and the social structure is not questioned, which keeps hidden other experiences of being women.

That is to say, deals with the problems of white women, westerners, housewives and middle class , and advocates for equal opportunities in the public space, assuming that this struggle will be the one that emancipates all women, without considering that there are differences of class, race, ethnicity or social status that build different experiences in the " be a woman "and with this, different needs and demands.

This is where the "third wave" of feminism comes from, where the multiplicity of identities and forms of being a woman are recognized in relation to social structures. Recognizes that the claims of women and feminisms are not the same in all contexts, among other things because not all contexts give the same opportunities and vulnerabilities to the same people .

Thus, for example, while in Europe there is a struggle to decolonize feminism itself, in Latin America the main struggle is survival. These are issues that have led feminism to constantly reinvent itself and to stand up in struggle according to each time and each context.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gandarias, I. & Pujol, J. (2013). From the Others to the No (s) other: encounters, tensions and challenges in the fabric of articulations between groups of migrated women and local feminists in the Basque Country. CROSSROADS. Critical Review of Social Sciences, 5: 77-91.
  • Perona, A. (2005). Postwar American liberal feminism: Betty Friedan and the re-foundation of liberal feminism. Retrieved April 16, 2018. Available at //files.teoria-feminista.webnode.com.ve/200000007-66cbe67c5a/El%20feminismo%20norteamericano%20de%20postguerra%20Betty%20Friedan%20y%20la%20refundacion%20del%20feminismo % 20liberal.pdf
  • Heras, S. (2009). An approach to feminist theories. Universitas Journal of Philosophy, Law and Politics, 9: 45-82.
  • Velasco, S. (2009). Sexes, gender and health: theory and methods for clinical practice and health programs. Minerva: MAdrid
  • Amorós, C. & de Miguel, A. (S / A). Feminist theory: from illustration to globalization. Retrieved April 16. Available at //www.nodo50.org/mujeresred/IMG/article_PDF/article_a436.pdf

Michele Moody-Adams on the Compatibility of Liberalism and Feminism (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Féminisme libéral: qu'est-ce que c'est, position philosophique et revendications

Féminisme libéral: qu'est-ce que c'est, position philosophique et revendications

Septembre 16, 2022

En termes très généraux, le féminisme est un ensemble de mouvements politiques et théoriques cette lutte pour la revendication des femmes (et d'autres identités historiquement subordonnées) qui a une histoire de plusieurs siècles et qui a traversé des étapes et des transformations très diverses.

C’est pourquoi il est généralement divisé en courants théoriques, qui ne supposent pas la fin de l’un et le début de l’autre, mais ayant incorporé différentes expériences et dénonciations de contextes de vulnérabilité au fil du temps, le féminisme a actualisé les luttes et les les nuances théoriques.

Après la "première vague" du féminisme (également connu sous le nom de féminisme suffragiste), qui prônait l'égalité des droits, les féministes se sont concentrées sur la construction de notre identité sur la base des relations sociales que nous entretenons notamment à travers la distinction. entre l'espace public et l'espace privé.


À l'heure actuelle, il est proposé que les revendications des femmes tiennent à notre intégration dans la vie publique, en plus de la promotion de l'égalité juridique. Ce courant s'appelle le féminisme libéral .

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

De quoi s'agit-il et d'où vient le féminisme libéral?

Les années 1960 et 1970, principalement aux États-Unis et en Europe, ont vu émerger des mobilisations féministes liées à la nouvelle gauche et aux mouvements des droits civiques des Afro-Américains .

Dans ce contexte, les femmes ont réussi à rendre visibles leurs expériences de sexisme et la nécessité de s'organiser entre elles, de partager ces expériences et de rechercher des stratégies de revendication. A émergé, par exemple, des organisations féministes telles que la NOW (Organisation nationale des femmes) dirigée par l'une des figures clés de ce courant, Betty Friedan.


De même et au niveau théorique, les féministes se sont éloignées des paradigmes les plus populaires du moment, générer leurs propres théories qui expliqueraient l'oppression qu'ils ont subie . Le féminisme libéral est donc un mouvement politique, mais aussi théorique et épistémologique, qui se déroule depuis la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, principalement aux États-Unis et en Europe.

À ce stade, le féminisme est apparu publiquement comme l’un des grands mouvements sociaux du XIXe siècle dont les répercussions ont eu des répercussions sur d’autres mouvements et courants théoriques, tels que le socialisme, car ils ont proposé que la cause de l’oppression des femmes ne soit pas biologique, elle reposait sur les débuts de la propriété privée et les logiques sociales de la production. L'un des antécédents clés de ce travail est l'œuvre de Simone de Beauvoir: le deuxième sexe.

De même sa croissance a à voir avec le développement de la citoyenneté des femmes , ce qui n’est pas arrivé de la même manière en Europe qu’aux Etats-Unis. Dans ce dernier cas, le mouvement féministe de la deuxième vague a organisé plusieurs luttes sociales alors qu'en Europe, il était davantage caractérisé par des mouvements isolés.


En résumé, la principale difficulté du féminisme libéral consiste à réaliser l'égalité des chances sur la base d'une critique de la distinction entre espace public et espace privé, car historiquement, les femmes ont été reléguées dans l'espace privé ou domestique, qui a fait que nous avons moins de possibilités dans l’espace public, par exemple dans l’accès à l’éducation, à la santé ou au travail.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Différences entre psychologie et anthropologie"

Betty Friedan: auteur représentant

Betty Friedan est peut-être la figure la plus représentative du féminisme libéral . Entre autres choses, elle a décrit et dénoncé les situations d'oppression vécues par les femmes américaines de la classe moyenne, dénonçant qu'elles étaient obligées de sacrifier leurs propres projets de vie ou de jouir de l'égalité des chances avec les hommes; Ce qui favorise également certaines différences dans l'expérience de la santé et de la maladie entre eux.

En fait, l’une de ses œuvres les plus importantes s’appelle "Le problème qui n’a pas de nom" (chapitre 1 du livre Mystique de la féminité), où elle raconte le déplacement vers l'espace privé et la vie silencieuse des femmes avec le développement de ces maladies non spécifiques que la médecine ne finit pas de définir et de traiter.

Ainsi, il comprend que nous construisons notre identité en correspondance avec les relations sociales et encourage un changement personnel des femmes et une modification de ces relations.

En d'autres termes, Friedan dénonce le lien de subordination et d'oppression que subissent les femmes avec des restrictions légales cela déjà dès le départ nous limite l'accès à l'espace public, avant lequel il offre des options réformistes, c'est-à-dire de générer des changements graduels dans lesdits espaces afin que cette situation soit modifiée.

Quelques critiques et limites du féminisme libéral

Nous avons vu que le féminisme libéral se caractérise par se battre pour l'égalité des chances et la dignité des femmes. Le problème est qu’il comprend «la femme» comme un groupe homogène, où l’égalité des chances obligera toutes les femmes à revendiquer notre dignité.

Bien que le féminisme libéral soit un mouvement nécessaire et engagé en faveur de l'égalité des chances, la relation entre cette inégalité et la structure sociale n'est pas remise en question, ce qui cache d'autres expériences d'être des femmes.

C'est-à-dire, traite des problèmes des femmes blanches, des occidentaux, des femmes au foyer et de la classe moyenne et plaide pour l'égalité des chances dans l'espace public, en supposant que cette lutte émancipera toutes les femmes, sans considérer qu'il existe des différences de classe, de race, d'ethnie ou de statut social qui construisent des expériences différentes dans le " être une femme "et avec cela, différents besoins et demandes.

C’est d’où vient la «troisième vague» du féminisme, qui reconnaît la multiplicité des identités et des formes d’être femme par rapport aux structures sociales. Reconnaît que les revendications des femmes et des féminismes ne sont pas les mêmes dans tous les contextes, entre autres parce que tous les contextes ne donnent pas les mêmes opportunités et vulnérabilités aux mêmes personnes .

Ainsi, par exemple, alors qu’il existe en Europe une lutte pour la décolonisation du féminisme lui-même, le combat principal en Amérique latine est la survie. Ce sont des questions qui ont amené le féminisme à se réinventer sans cesse et à se battre dans toutes les luttes selon chaque époque et chaque contexte.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gandarias, I. & Pujol, J. (2013). Des Autres aux Nuls autres: rencontres, tensions et défis dans le tissu des articulations entre groupes de femmes migrantes et féministes locales au Pays basque. CARREFOURS. Revue critique des sciences sociales, 5: 77-91.
  • Perona, A. (2005). Féminisme libéral américain d'après-guerre: Betty Friedan et la refondation du féminisme libéral. Récupéré le 16 avril 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //files.teoria-feminista.webnode.com.ve/200000007-66cbe67c5a/El%20feminismo%20norteamericano%20de%20postguerra%20Betty%20Friedan%20y%20la%20la%20f%%%%%%%%%% actuellement. % 20liberal.pdf
  • Heras, S. (2009). Une approche des théories féministes. Universitas Journal de philosophie, droit et politique, 9: 45-82.
  • Velasco, S. (2009). Sexe, genre et santé: théorie et méthodes pour la pratique clinique et les programmes de santé. Minerva: MAdrid
  • Amorós, C. et de Miguel, A. (S / A). Théorie féministe: de l'illustration à la mondialisation. Récupéré le 16 avril. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.nodo50.org/mujeresred/IMG/article_PDF/article_a436.pdf.

UNE HISTOIRE POPULAIRE DE LA FRANCE - GÉRARD NOIRIEL - LA GRANDE H. (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes