yes, therapy helps!
Lima syndrome: kidnappings turned into a delirium

Lima syndrome: kidnappings turned into a delirium

March 30, 2024

Many times, human beings can get to exhibit behaviors that are difficult to understand.

Undoubtedly, one of the strange phenomena is part of what is known as the Lima syndrome, a condition that affects some kidnappers who develop sympathy and positive feelings towards their victims.

  • Related article: "The 12 most curious and shocking types of delusions"

Characteristics of this strange syndrome

The Lima syndrome is one of those incomprehensible phenomena that could quietly be part of a cinematographic history. This syndrome is a psychological state that affects a kidnapper, who may have positive and even romantic feelings towards the person to whom he deprives of his freedom . It can be manifested in different ways, for example, avoiding harm, giving him certain freedoms during his captivity and even worrying about his health and well-being.


However, first of all, it is necessary to emphasize that a syndrome is not necessarily a disorder, but is characterized by the presence of a series of symptoms encompassed under a label. The syndrome of Lima it is not by far a psychopathology , but it can draw attention when it manifests.

In fact, there are few data on this, and little research has been done on this phenomenon, largely due to the complexity of measuring and analyzing it. Logically, it is almost impossible to have a large sample of kidnappers who experience this syndrome in order to evaluate them. The syndrome of Lima occurs little , and if it happens it is because there are a series of conditions that favor its development.


Because it happens?

Surely you have already asked yourself: "What reasons can make a kidnapper suffer from Lima syndrome?". To understand this phenomenon it is necessary to understand the life of the kidnapper and what happens to him in the mind at the time of the kidnapping. It is possible that the cases in which this condition has manifested, the kidnapper did not intend to hurt the captive .

The kidnapper, for example, may have committed an act of kidnapping because he is going through financial difficulties. Another option is that you develop the Lima syndrome because you are not happy with the kidnapping. That is to say, he is part of a group of kidnappers who have influenced his decision by the phenomenon of group pressure, although he is not entirely comfortable and does not want to treat the detainee badly. It could also happen that the abductor feels physically attracted to the victim.


How is the Lima syndrome manifested?

Whatever the reason, the fact is that the kidnapper treats the victim positively and cares that their stay in captivity is as unpleasant as possible. Many times acts as if it were not limiting the freedom of the other person , which makes the situation seem to be part of a delirium.

Some of the behaviors carried out by the kidnappers to make the victim's stay more pleasant are, for example, to bring well-prepared and nutritious food to the hostages' room or to be kidnapped, to heal their wounds and, in general, to be very attentive. to their needs and even carry out behaviors that would have nothing to do with a kidnapping. The kidnapper develops attachment to the victim and cares about their well-being .

What is the origin of the term

The term syndrome of Lima was coined this way by a pair of events happened in the Peruvian city of Lima. The first of them took place when, in this city, the Embassy of Japan was occupied in 1996 by members of a terrorist group called the Revolutionary Movement Tupac Amaru (MRTA). Hundreds of people were held in the building. Within a few days, the hostages were freed one by one out of sympathy, even those considered very valuable.

There is another version of the origin of this syndrome. It turns out that a Lima psychiatrist was kidnapped by an individual . The astute psychiatrist, knowledgeable Stockholm syndrome, applied his knowledge in psychology to make the kidnapper feel sorry for him and treat him well.

What is the Stockholm syndrome?

The Stockholm syndrome is a phenomenon similar to the Lima syndrome, but it happens in reverse. That is to say, it is not the kidnapper who feels sympathy and attachment towards the kidnapped, but it is the latter who feels it towards his captor. According to the psychiatrist's own version, his knowledge about the human mind allowed him to develop the empathy of his captor so that he would finally release him.

The Stockholm syndrome has been widely studied.An investigation by the FBI, which analyzed data on 4,700 victims of kidnappings, found that in 27% of cases this syndrome develops . It seems that there are three determining factors when developing it:

  • The duration of the kidnapping : more likely to suffer from it after longer captivity.
  • Direct contact : The kidnappers have direct contact with the kidnapped. They do not isolate them.
  • Friendly treatment : The kidnappers do not hurt the hostages.

According to the psychologist Pascual García Senderos: "What is surprising is that the individual who has been kidnapped and deprived of his freedom takes the side of the kidnapper and not the rescuers. It seems incredible how a person who is a victim of a kidnapping can develop attachment towards the person who has held him back, but the truth is that, surely, the kidnapped person is grateful for having treated him well and not having killed him. "

  • Related article: "Stockholm syndrome: friend of my kidnapper"

Los Trastornos Mentales Mas Graves e Increibles (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Lima: les enlèvements transformés en délire

Syndrome de Lima: les enlèvements transformés en délire

Décembre 5, 2019

Bien souvent, les êtres humains peuvent avoir des comportements difficiles à comprendre.

Sans aucun doute, l'un des phénomènes étranges fait partie de ce que l'on appelle le syndrome de Lima, une maladie qui affecte certains ravisseurs qui développent de la sympathie et des sentiments positifs envers leurs victimes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 types de délires les plus curieux et les plus choquants"

Caractéristiques de ce syndrome étrange

Le syndrome de Lima fait partie de ces phénomènes incompréhensibles qui pourraient faire partie d'une histoire cinématographique. Ce syndrome est un état psychologique qui affecte un ravisseur, qui peut avoir sentiments positifs et même romantiques envers la personne à qui il prive de sa liberté . Cela peut se manifester de différentes manières, par exemple en évitant de nuire, en lui donnant certaines libertés pendant sa captivité et même en s’inquiétant pour sa santé et son bien-être.


Cependant, tout d'abord, il est nécessaire de souligner qu'un syndrome n'est pas nécessairement un trouble, mais se caractérise par la présence d'une série de symptômes englobés sous une étiquette. Le syndrome de Lima ce n'est pas de loin une psychopathologie , mais il peut attirer l’attention quand il se manifeste.

En fait, il existe peu de données à ce sujet et peu de recherches ont été menées sur ce phénomène, principalement en raison de la complexité de sa mesure et de son analyse. Logiquement, il est presque impossible d'avoir un grand échantillon de kidnappeurs qui souffrent de ce syndrome afin de les évaluer. Le syndrome de Lima se produit peu , et si cela se produit, c’est qu’il existe une série de conditions favorables à son développement.


Pourquoi ça se passe?

Vous vous êtes sûrement déjà demandé: "Quelles sont les raisons pour lesquelles un ravisseur peut souffrir du syndrome de Lima?". Pour comprendre ce phénomène, il est nécessaire de comprendre la vie du kidnappeur et ce qui lui arrive dans l’esprit au moment du kidnapping. Il est possible que les cas dans lesquels cette condition s'est manifestée, le ravisseur n'avait pas l'intention de blesser le captif .

Le ravisseur, par exemple, peut avoir commis un acte d’enlèvement parce qu’il traverse des difficultés financières. Une autre option est de développer le syndrome de Lima parce que vous n'êtes pas satisfait de l'enlèvement. C'est-à-dire qu'il fait partie d'un groupe de ravisseurs qui ont influencé sa décision par le phénomène de la pression du groupe, bien qu'il ne soit pas tout à fait à l'aise et qu'il ne veuille pas maltraiter le détenu. Il se peut également que le ravisseur se sente physiquement attiré par la victime.


Comment se manifeste le syndrome de Lima?

Quelle que soit la raison, le fait est que le ravisseur traite la victime de manière positive et se soucie de ce que son séjour en captivité soit aussi désagréable que possible. Beaucoup de fois agit comme si cela ne limitait pas la liberté de l'autre personne , ce qui donne l'impression que la situation fait partie d'un délire.

Certains des comportements adoptés par les ravisseurs pour rendre le séjour de la victime plus agréable sont, par exemple, d'apporter des aliments bien préparés et nutritifs dans la salle des otages ou d'être kidnappés, de soigner leurs blessures et, en général, d'être très attentifs. répondre à leurs besoins et même adopter des comportements qui n’auraient rien à voir avec un enlèvement. Le ravisseur développe l'attachement à la victime et se soucie de son bien-être .

Quelle est l'origine du terme

Le terme syndrome de Lima a été inventé de cette façon par deux événements survenus dans la ville péruvienne de Lima. Le premier d'entre eux a eu lieu lorsque, dans cette ville, l'ambassade du Japon a été occupée en 1996 par des membres d'un groupe terroriste appelé Mouvement révolutionnaire Tupac Amaru (MRTA). Des centaines de personnes ont été détenues dans le bâtiment. En quelques jours, les otages ont été libérés un par un par sympathie, même ceux considérés comme très précieux.

Il existe une autre version de l'origine de ce syndrome. Il s'avère que un psychiatre de Lima a été kidnappé par un individu . Le psychiatre astucieux, spécialiste du syndrome de Stockholm, appliqua ses connaissances en psychologie pour que le ravisseur se sente désolé pour lui et le traite bien.

Quel est le syndrome de Stockholm?

Le syndrome de Stockholm est un phénomène similaire au syndrome de Lima, mais il se produit en sens inverse. C’est-à-dire que ce n’est pas le ravisseur qui ressent la sympathie et l’attachement à l’égard du kidnappé, mais bien ce dernier qui le ressent envers son ravisseur. Selon la version du psychiatre, ses connaissances sur l'esprit humain lui ont permis de développer l'empathie de son ravisseur pour qu'il puisse enfin le relâcher.

Le syndrome de Stockholm a été largement étudié.Une enquête du FBI, qui a analysé les données de 4 700 victimes d’enlèvements, a révélé que dans 27% des cas, ce syndrome se développe . Il semble qu'il existe trois facteurs déterminants lors de son développement:

  • La durée de l'enlèvement : plus susceptibles d'en souffrir après une captivité plus longue.
  • Contact direct : Les ravisseurs sont en contact direct avec les kidnappés. Ils ne les isolent pas.
  • Traitement amical : Les ravisseurs ne font pas de mal aux otages.

Selon le psychologue Pascual García Senderos: "Ce qui est surprenant, c’est que la personne qui a été kidnappée et privée de sa liberté prenne le parti du ravisseur et non des sauveteurs. Il semble incroyable de voir comment une personne victime d'un enlèvement peut développer un attachement envers la personne qui l'a retenu, mais la vérité est que le kidnappé est certainement reconnaissant de l'avoir bien traité et de ne pas l'avoir tué. "

  • Article connexe: "Syndrome de Stockholm: l'amie de mon ravisseur"

Sabri Gmir après UCS - Dax (Décembre 2019).


Articles Connexes