yes, therapy helps!
Limbic system: the emotional part of the brain

Limbic system: the emotional part of the brain

May 6, 2021

The limbic system It is one of the most interesting and important networks of neurons when it comes to studying human behavior, since it is one of the parts of the brain with a more relevant role in the appearance of moods.

That is why it is sometimes called "the emotional brain". But ... what exactly is the limbic system and what are its functions?

What is the limbic system?

The limbic system is a set of structures of the brain with diffuse boundaries that are especially connected to each other and whose function has to do with the appearance of emotional states or with what can be understood by "instincts", if we use this concept in its sense wider. Fear, happiness or anger, as well as all emotional states full of nuances, they have their main neurological basis in this network of neurons .


Thus, at the center of the limbic system's usefulness are the emotions, that which we link with the irrational. However, the consequences of what happens in the limbic system affect many processes that, theoretically, we do not have to associate with the emotive face of the human being, such as memorization and learning.

The limbic system in learning

More than 200 years ago, an English philosopher named Jeremy Bentham, one of the fathers of utilitarianism, proposed the idea of ​​a way to calculate happiness based on a classification of criteria to differentiate pain from pleasure. In theory, from this calculation we could know how useful or unhelpful each situation is, depending on how happy we were with this formula.


Simplifying a lot, it can be said that, in a way similar to that proposed by Bentham, the limbic system is something like the judge who determines what deserves to be learned and in what way it has to be memorized depending on the pleasurable or painful sensations that each situation produces.

That is, the way in which the positive or negative value of each one of the experiences that are lived depends on the limbic system. But, in addition, the way in which the limbic system influences our way of learning will have repercussions on our personality.

Some examples

For example, a mouse that has passed through the operant conditioning and has come to associate the action of moving a lever with the appearance of food in a drawer of his cage, he learns that moving the lever is fine thanks to the pleasurable sensations that he has to see the food and taste it, that is, based on something based on the euphoria of discovering a piece of cheese when you are hungry and in the pleasant sensations produced by eating it.


In humans, too it can be understood that those situations in which pleasure is more sublimated in a complex way , like what it feels like to listen to a good recital of poetry, teaches us that returning to the cultural association in which we have heard it is "useful". The limbic system remains the part of the brain responsible for this.

The parts of the limbic system

It should be remembered that the limbic system is not exactly an anatomically accurate region of the brain , but rather it is a network of neurons distributed by the brain and that are mixed between many different structures. That is to say, that the concept of the limbic system has more to do with the function of these zones than with their nature as a specific and well-delimited part of the brain.

However, it is possible to identify parts of the brain that play a very important role within the network of interconnections that is the limbic system and that, therefore, serve to give us an idea of ​​which are the areas through which this circuit passes. . The parts of the limbic system are the following:

Hypothalamus

One of the diencephalon areas most involved in the regulation of emotions , by its connection with the pituitary gland and therefore with the endocrine system and all parts of the body in which all types of hormones are released.

To read more about this part of the brain you can read this article about the thalamus

Hippocampus

The hippocampus has a very important function in mental processes related to memory , both in the memorization of abstract experiences and information and in the recovery of memories. The hippocampi are located on the inner side of the temporal lobes, very close to the thalamus and the tonsils.

The hippocampus is framed within what is known as the cortex of the limbic lobe, or arquicorteza, which is one of the oldest parts of the cerebral cortex; that is to say, that appeared very early in the line of evolution that has led to the appearance of the human being.

Amygdala

The cerebral tonsils are located next to each hippocampus , and therefore there is one in each of the hemispheres of the brain. Their role is related to the learned emotional response that certain situations arouse, and therefore they are involved with emotional learning, for which they have a role in the limbic system.

Orbitofrontal cortex

At the limits of the limbic system is the orbitofrontal cortex, which is the outlet valve of the "emotional" orders towards areas of the frontal lobe responsible for the planning and creation of strategies. So, has an important role in placating the "irrational impulses" that come from the limbic system and make pass only part of these signals, those that will serve to define well the objectives of the actions with medium or long term goals.

Is it correct to speak of an "emotional brain"?

In popular culture there is the widespread idea that the human brain has an emotional and a rational part . The emotional brain, which we would have inherited from our most primitive ancestors, would be the one thanks to which we have emotions, feelings and impulses difficult to suppress, while the rational brain would be responsible for the most conscientious and logical analysis of the situations we live or imagine.

However, as we have seen, the limbic system is deeply interconnected with other areas of the brain not directly identified with what we know as emotions, so the idea that we have an emotional brain is, to a large extent, an overly imaginative way of understanding this network of connections .

In addition, we must bear in mind that if we talk about an emotional brain is to oppose this concept to the idea of ​​a rational brain, which would be represented by the most superficial areas of the frontal lobe and the parietal. However, if in the case of the limbic system at least we know that it is a set of very old structures in our evolutionary line, the idea that there is a part of our body made to think rationally with a certain autonomy is directly an illusion.

Rationality is not innate

There are our ancestors who lived only with a limbic system and without the ability to think following the guidelines of what we understand as rationality, but in the history of the human being the rational thought is rather an exception . Not only do we not think rationally most of the time, but until a few thousand years ago rationality did not exist and, in fact, in some non-westernized cultures adults tend not to reach the fourth stage of cognitive development proposed by Jean Piaget .

That is, what we call rationality is more a product of history than the result of a set of brain structures designed for it. The limbic system is, in any case, one of the regions of the brain that allow the appearance of rational thought, and not vice versa.


Emotions: limbic system | Processing the Environment | MCAT | Khan Academy (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Système limbique: la partie émotionnelle du cerveau

Système limbique: la partie émotionnelle du cerveau

Septembre 28, 2022

Le système limbique Il s’agit de l’un des réseaux de neurones les plus intéressants et les plus importants pour l’étude du comportement humain, car il s’agit de l’une des parties du cerveau jouant un rôle plus important dans l’apparition des humeurs.

C'est pourquoi on l'appelle parfois "le cerveau émotionnel". Mais ... en quoi consiste exactement le système limbique et quelles sont ses fonctions?

Quel est le système limbique?

Le système limbique est un ensemble de structures cérébrales aux frontières diffuses qui sont particulièrement liées les unes aux autres et dont la fonction est liée à l'apparition d'états émotionnels ou à ce que l'on peut comprendre par "instincts", si l'on utilise ce concept dans son sens plus large. La peur, le bonheur ou la colère, ainsi que tous les états émotionnels pleins de nuances, ils ont leur base neurologique principale dans ce réseau de neurones .


Ainsi, au centre de l'utilité du système limbique se trouvent les émotions, ce que nous associons à l'irrationnel. Cependant, les conséquences de ce qui se passe dans le système limbique affectent de nombreux processus qui, théoriquement, ne doivent pas nécessairement être associés au visage émotif de l'être humain, tels que la mémorisation et l'apprentissage.

Le système limbique en apprentissage

Il y a plus de 200 ans, un philosophe anglais du nom de Jeremy Bentham, l'un des pères de utilitarisme, a proposé l’idée d’un moyen de calculer le bonheur sur la base d’une classification de critères permettant de différencier la douleur du plaisir. En théorie, grâce à ce calcul, nous pourrions savoir à quel point chaque situation est utile ou non, en fonction de notre satisfaction à l’égard de cette formule.


En simplifiant beaucoup, on peut dire que, d’une manière similaire à celle proposée par Bentham, le système limbique est quelque chose comme le juge qui détermine ce qui mérite d'être appris et de quelle manière il doit être mémorisé en fonction des sensations agréables ou douloureuses que chaque situation produit.

En d’autres termes, la manière dont la valeur positive ou négative de chacune des expériences vécues dépend du système limbique. Mais, de plus, la manière dont le système limbique influence notre façon d’apprendre aura des répercussions sur notre personnalité.

Quelques exemples

Par exemple, une souris ayant traversé le conditionnement opérant et a fini par associer l'action de déplacer un levier à l'apparition de nourriture dans un tiroir de sa cage, il apprend que le déplacement du levier est acceptable grâce aux sensations agréables qu'il a pour voir la nourriture et la goûter, c'est-à-dire basé sur l'euphorie de la découverte d'un morceau de fromage quand on a faim et des sensations agréables que procure le fait de le manger.


Chez l'homme aussi on peut comprendre que ces situations dans lesquelles le plaisir est plus sublimé de manière complexe , comme ce que cela donne d’écouter un bon récit de poésie, nous enseigne que le retour à l’association culturelle dans laquelle nous l’avons entendu est "utile". Le système limbique reste la partie du cerveau responsable de cela.

Les parties du système limbique

Il faut se rappeler que le système limbique n'est pas exactement une région du cerveau anatomiquement précise , mais il s’agit plutôt d’un réseau de neurones distribués par le cerveau et mélangés entre de nombreuses structures différentes. En d'autres termes, le concept de système limbique a plus à voir avec la fonction de ces zones qu'avec leur nature en tant que partie spécifique et bien délimitée du cerveau.

Cependant, il est possible d'identifier des parties du cerveau qui jouent un rôle très important dans le réseau d'interconnexions qu'est le système limbique et qui, par conséquent, servent à nous donner une idée des zones traversées par ce circuit. . Les parties du système limbique sont les suivantes:

Hypothalamus

Un des domaines les plus impliqués dans la régulation des émotions , par sa connexion avec l'hypophyse et donc avec le système endocrinien et toutes les parties du corps dans lesquelles tous les types d'hormones sont libérés.

Pour en savoir plus sur cette partie du cerveau, vous pouvez lire cet article sur le thalamus

Hippocampe

L'hippocampe a une fonction très importante dans les processus mentaux liés à la mémoire , à la fois dans la mémorisation d’expériences et d’informations abstraites et dans la récupération de mémoires. Les hippocampes sont situés sur la face interne des lobes temporaux, très près du thalamus et des amygdales.

L'hippocampe est encadré par ce qu'on appelle le cortex du lobe limbique, ou arquicorteza, qui est l'une des parties les plus anciennes du cortex cérébral. c'est-à-dire qui est apparu très tôt dans la ligne d'évolution qui a conduit à l'apparition de l'être humain.

Amygdale

Les amygdales cérébrales sont situées à côté de chaque hippocampe et, par conséquent, il y en a un dans chacun des hémisphères du cerveau. Leur rôle est lié à la réaction émotionnelle apprise suscitée par certaines situations et, partant, à un apprentissage émotionnel pour lequel ils jouent un rôle dans le système limbique.

Cortex orbitofrontal

Aux limites du système limbique se trouve le cortex orbitofrontal, qui est la valve de sortie des ordres "émotionnels" vers les zones du lobe frontal responsables de la planification et de la création de stratégies. Pourtant, joue un rôle important dans l'apaisement des "impulsions irrationnelles" provenant du système limbique et ne laissez passer qu'une partie de ces signaux, ceux qui serviront à bien définir les objectifs des actions à moyen ou long terme.

Est-il correct de parler d'un "cerveau émotionnel"?

Dans la culture populaire il y a l'idée répandue que le cerveau humain a une partie émotionnelle et rationnelle . Le cerveau émotionnel, que nous aurions hérité de nos ancêtres les plus primitifs, serait celui grâce auquel nous aurions des émotions, des sentiments et des impulsions difficiles à réprimer, tandis que le cerveau rationnel serait responsable de l'analyse la plus consciencieuse et logique des situations que nous vivons ou imaginons.

Cependant, comme nous l’avons vu, le système limbique est profondément interconnecté avec d’autres zones du cerveau qui ne sont pas directement identifiées à ce que nous appelons les émotions. Par conséquent, l’idée que nous avons un cerveau émotionnel est, dans une large mesure, une façon trop imaginative de comprendre ce réseau de connexions .

En outre, nous devons garder à l’esprit que si nous parlons de cerveau émotionnel, c’est opposer ce concept à l’idée de cerveau rationnel, qui serait représenté par les régions les plus superficielles du lobe frontal et du pariétal. Cependant, si dans le cas du système limbique au moins, nous savons que c’est un ensemble de très vieilles structures dans notre ligne d’évolution, l’idée qu’une partie de notre corps a été conçue pour penser rationnellement avec une certaine autonomie est directement une illusion.

La rationalité n'est pas innée

Il y a nos ancêtres qui vivaient seulement avec un système limbique et sans la capacité de penser en suivant les directives de ce que nous comprenons comme rationalité, mais dans l'histoire de l'être humain, la pensée rationnelle est plutôt une exception . Non seulement nous ne pensons pas de manière rationnelle la plupart du temps, mais il y a quelques milliers d'années encore, la rationalité n'existait pas et, en fait, dans certaines cultures non occidentalisées, les adultes ont tendance à ne pas atteindre le quatrième stade de développement cognitif proposé par Jean Piaget .

En d’autres termes, ce que nous appelons la rationalité est davantage un produit de l’histoire que le résultat d’un ensemble de structures cérébrales conçues à cet effet. Le système limbique est, en tout état de cause, l’une des régions du cerveau qui permettent l’apparition de la pensée rationnelle, et non l’inverse.


Emotions : que se passe-t-il dans le cerveau ? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes