yes, therapy helps!
Lingual rotation: functions and characteristics of this part of the brain

Lingual rotation: functions and characteristics of this part of the brain

May 23, 2022

There are many structures that are part of the nervous system, being the cerebral cortex one of the most developed in the human being. In it it is possible to observe the presence of a large number of convolutions and grooves, being folds that allow the condensation in a small space of a large amount of neuronal mass.

These folds are part of the gray matter of the brain and participate in different functions. One of them is the lingual turn , about which we will talk briefly throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Brain twists: the 9 main folds of the brain"

The lingual turn: what is it and where is it?

It receives the name of lingual turn one of the circumvolutions or cerebral turns, that is to say the part that leaves to the outside of the folds present in the cerebral cortex. It is a gyrus not as well known or popular as others like the supramarginal gyrus, but nevertheless it seems to have a great importance in different brain functions.


The lingual turn It is located in the occipital lobe , in its middle part, and it is located between the calcarine sulcus and the collateral sulcus. At its ends it joins on one side joins the visual area to be in contact with the wedge, while on the other it ends by joining the parahipocampal rotation in the temporal lobe.

Although the name of this brain region seems to indicate a relationship with speech, the truth is that its name has nothing to do with its function: the name of this turn comes largely from its tongue-like shape . However, curiously yes that is involved in some aspects of language, but not in the oral.


  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Main functions of this part of the brain

The lingual gyrus is a brain gyrus that is involved or that participates in different functions of great relevance for the human being . Among them we can highlight the following.

1. Importance in visual processing and color perception

It has been observed that the lingual turn, as an active part of the occipital lobe, is associated with the ability to encode complex images. It also seems to be linked to the subjective perception of color, producing its achromatopsia lesion.

2. Participate in visual memory

Likewise, different researches have shown that the lingual turn not only participates in the codification of images but also has a relevant role in visual memory, Your injury causes different problems of recognition of stimuli . In fact, the lingual turn is one of the areas that allows us to identify stimuli with symbolic meaning, such as letters. In addition, it also allows you to recognize faces and objects.


3. Reading

We have said previously that the lingual turn, in spite of its name, was not associated to a large extent with the capacity of the speech but that it did have some involvement in the language. And is that another of the great functions associated with the lingual turn has to do with reading, being one of the parts of the brain that allows identify and name stimuli through vision to later transform them, being a relevant first step to allow reading.

4. Semantic processing

In addition to the merely visual, the lingual turn participates in the processing of semantic information both in situations in which the visual stimulus has symbolic elements per se or the subject tries to attribute them.

5. Involvement in emotion

The lingual turn is also connected to the parahipocampal turn , so that it is in contact with the limbic system. It has been observed that the activation of this turn correlates with the impression of emotionality to the images.

6. The ability to imagine: divergent thinking and creativity

The ability to create and develop strategies different from the usual and known in order to solve problems is also linked to the activity of the lingual turn, although it is more strongly associated with the frontal lobe. Specifically, the lingual turn would be linked to the creation and elaboration of mental images that are part of the imagination.

7. The ability to dream

Another aspect that has been associated with the lingual turn is the link that has been observed between this turn and the possibility of elaborate images during sleep , being at least partly responsible for us to have dreams.

Problems associated with your injury

The lesion of the lingual gyrus can generate different types of problems and deficits that can suppose a deterioration or limitation of the functionality of the human being in his day to day.Among them, the possible emergence of pure alexia or impossibility to read (despite retaining the ability to write).

Another problem that may appear is prosopagnosia, a type of visual agnosia in which we are not able to recognize familiar faces.

Memorization and spatial navigation are also altered , as well as achromatopsia or color blindness is possible.

It has also been observed that the lesion of the lingual gyrus, generally due to cerebral infarcts in said area, tends to generate the loss of oneiric ability (ie to have dreams). In addition to the above, the lingual turn has also been associated with other problems: an example is the recently studied link between this turn and the severity of anxious-depressive symptomatology in young people.

Also the excess activation of this area has effects: it has been observed that visual noise can be generated, the perception of small black and white points in the entire visual field that resemble the effect of snow that would happen on an old television and whose antenna malfunctioned.

Bibliographic references:

  • Couvy-Duchesne, B .; Strike, L.T .; from Zubicaray, G .; McMachon, K.L .; Thompson, P.M .; Hickie, I.B .; Martin, N.G. & Wright, M.J. (2018). Lingual Gyrus Surface Area is associated with anxiety-depression severity in young adults: a genetic clustering approach. eNeuro, 5 (1).
  • Bogousslavsky, J .; Miklossy, J .; Deruaz, J.P .; Assal, G. & Regli, F. (1987). Lingual and fusiform gyri in visual processing: a clinico-pathologic study of superior altitudinal hemianopia. Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry, 50: 607-617.
  • Kehoe, E. G .; Toomey, J. M .; Balsters, J. H., & Bokde, A. L. (2012). Healthy aging is associated with increased neural processing of positive valence but attenuated processing of emotional arousal: an fMRI study. Neurobiol Aging.
  • Zhang, L .; Qiao, L .; Chen, Q .; Yand, W .; Xu, M .; Yao, X .; Qiu, J. & Yang, D. (2016). Gray Matter Volume of the Lingual Gyrus Mediates the Relationship between Inhibition Function and Divergent Thinking. Front. Psychol, 7: 1532.
  • Zilles, K. & Amunts, K. (2012). Architecture of the Cerebral Cortex. In: Mai, J. & Paxinos, G. (2012). The Human Nervous System. 3rd edition.

Histology- Taste Buds and Lingual Papillae (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rotation linguale: fonctions et caractéristiques de cette partie du cerveau

Rotation linguale: fonctions et caractéristiques de cette partie du cerveau

Avril 26, 2019

Il existe de nombreuses structures faisant partie du système nerveux, le cortex cérébral étant l’un des plus développés de l’être humain. Il est possible d’observer la présence d’un grand nombre de circonvolutions et de rainures constituant des plis qui permettent la condensation dans un petit espace contenant une grande quantité de masse neuronale.

Ces plis font partie de la matière grise du cerveau et participent à différentes fonctions. L'un d'eux est le tour de langue , dont nous parlerons brièvement tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Torsion du cerveau: les 9 principaux replis du cerveau"

Le tour lingual: qu'est-ce que c'est et où est-il?

Il reçoit le nom de tour de langue une des circonvolutions ou des tournures cérébrales, c'est-à-dire la partie qui part à l'extérieur des plis présents dans le cortex cérébral. C'est un gyrus moins connu et populaire que d'autres, comme le gyrus supramarginal, mais il semble néanmoins avoir une grande importance dans différentes fonctions cérébrales.


Le tour lingual Il est situé dans le lobe occipital , dans sa partie médiane, et se situe entre le sulcus calcarin et le sulcus collatéral. À ses extrémités, il rejoint d'un côté la zone visuelle pour être en contact avec le coin, tandis que de l'autre, il se termine par la rotation para-hampique du lobe temporal.

Bien que le nom de cette région cérébrale semble indiquer une relation avec la parole, la vérité est que son nom n’a rien à voir avec sa fonction: le nom de ce tour vient en grande partie de sa forme de langue . Cependant, curieusement oui, cela est impliqué dans certains aspects de la langue, mais pas à l'oral.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Principales fonctions de cette partie du cerveau

Le gyrus lingual est un gyrus cérébral impliqué ou participant à différents processus. fonctions d'une grande pertinence pour l'être humain . Parmi eux, nous pouvons souligner les suivants.

1. Importance du traitement visuel et de la perception des couleurs

Il a été observé que le tournant lingual, en tant que partie active du lobe occipital, est associé à la capacité de coder des images complexes. Il semble également être lié à la perception subjective de la couleur, produisant sa lésion d'achromatopsie.

2. Participer à la mémoire visuelle

De même, différentes recherches ont montré que le virage lingual participe non seulement à la codification des images mais joue également un rôle important dans la mémoire visuelle. Votre blessure cause différents problèmes de reconnaissance des stimuli . En fait, le virage lingual est l’un des domaines qui nous permet d’identifier les stimuli avec une signification symbolique, telle que des lettres. En outre, il vous permet également de reconnaître des visages et des objets.


3. lecture

Nous avons dit précédemment que le virage lingual, malgré son nom, n’était pas associé dans une large mesure à la capacité du discours, mais qu’il était impliqué dans la langue. Et est-ce une autre des grandes fonctions associées au virage lingual a trait à la lecture, étant une des parties du cerveau qui permet identifier et nommer les stimuli par la vision de les transformer ensuite, constituant un premier pas pertinent pour permettre la lecture.

4. Traitement sémantique

En plus de l'aspect purement visuel, le tour lingual participe au traitement des informations sémantiques aussi bien dans les situations où le stimulus visuel comporte des éléments symboliques ou que le sujet tente de les attribuer.

5. Implication dans l'émotion

Le tour lingual est également lié au virage parahipocampal , de sorte qu'il est en contact avec le système limbique. Il a été observé que l'activation de ce tour est corrélée à l'impression d'émotivité des images.

6. La capacité d'imaginer: pensée divergente et créativité

La capacité à créer et à développer des stratégies différentes des méthodes habituelles et connues pour résoudre des problèmes est également liée à l'activité du tour lingual, bien qu'elle soit plus étroitement associée au lobe frontal. Plus précisément, le tournant lingual serait lié à la création et à l'élaboration d'images mentales faisant partie de l'imagination.

7. La capacité de rêver

Un autre aspect associé au virage lingual est le lien qui a été observé entre ce virage et la possibilité de élaborer des images pendant le sommeil , étant au moins en partie responsable de nous d'avoir des rêves.

Problèmes liés à votre blessure

La lésion du gyrus lingual peut générer différents types de problèmes et de déficits pouvant impliquer une détérioration ou une limitation de la fonctionnalité de l'être humain au quotidien.Parmi eux, l'émergence possible d'une alexie pure ou l'impossibilité de lire (malgré le fait de conserver la capacité d'écrire).

Un autre problème qui peut apparaître est la prosopagnosie, un type d'agnosie visuelle dans laquelle nous ne sommes pas capables de reconnaître des visages familiers.

La mémorisation et la navigation spatiale sont également modifiées , ainsi que l’achromatopsie ou le daltonisme est possible.

Il a également été observé que la lésion du gyrus lingual, généralement due à des infarctus cérébraux dans cette région, tend à générer la perte de la capacité onirique (ie avoir des rêves). Outre ce qui précède, le retournement lingual a également été associé à d'autres problèmes: le lien récemment étudié entre ce retournement et la gravité de la symptomatologie anxieuse-dépressive chez les jeunes.

L’excès d’activation de cette zone a également des effets: il a été observé que le bruit visuel peut être généré, la perception de petits points noirs et blancs dans tout le champ visuel cela ressemble à l’effet de la neige qui se produirait sur un vieux téléviseur et dont l’antenne fonctionnait mal.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Couvy-Duchesne, B .; Strike, L.T .; de Zubicaray, G .; McMachon, K.L .; Thompson, P.M .; Hickie, I.B .; Martin, N.G. & Wright, M.J. (2018). La surface superficielle du gyrus lingual est associée à la gravité de l’anxiété et de la dépression chez les jeunes adultes: une approche de regroupement génétique. eNeuro, 5 (1).
  • Bogousslavsky, J .; Miklossy, J .; Deruaz, J.P .; Assal, G. & Regli, F. (1987). Gyri lingual et fusiforme dans le traitement visuel: une étude clinico-pathologique de l'hémianopsie altitudinale supérieure. Journal de neurologie, neurochirurgie et psychiatrie, 50: 607-617.
  • Kehoe, E. G .; Toomey, J. M; Balsters, J.H., et Bokde, A.L. (2012). Le vieillissement en bonne santé est associé à une augmentation du traitement neural de la valence positive mais du traitement atténué de l'excitation émotionnelle: une étude IRMf. Neurobiol Vieillissement.
  • Zhang, L .; Qiao, L .; Chen, Q .; Yand, W.; Xu, M .; Yao, X .; Qiu, J. et Yang, D. (2016). Le volume de la matière grise du gyrus lingual sert d'intermédiaire entre la fonction d'inhibition et la pensée divergente. Avant. Psychol, 7: 1532.
  • Zilles, K. et Amunts, K. (2012). Architecture du cortex cérébral. Dans: Mai, J. & Paxinos, G. (2012). Le système nerveux humain. 3ème édition.

UltraMAB Antibody: How to Test Antibody Specificity (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes