yes, therapy helps!
Linguistic intelligence: what is it and how can it be improved?

Linguistic intelligence: what is it and how can it be improved?

September 21, 2022

The ability to express ourselves through language It is one of those characteristics that distinguishes us from other living beings. Verbal communication is also a useful tool that has allowed us to survive in adverse environments, better understand our environment and form large communities in which hundreds of people cooperate with each other.

In short, we are a prosperous species partly thanks to our ability to combine words with each other. We can call this ability Linguistic intelligence (or verbal intelligence ).

A definition of linguistic Intelligence

Think of the way you would explain to another person that a pot has fallen to the ground and broken. Simple, right? Now think about this other situation: you should read a two-page text in which a philosopher explains what metaphysics is for her, and summarize about it to another person.


Surely you will believe that this last task is much more complicated, despite not having read that text. Even though you are able to develop well with the language in your day to day, Some tasks that involve the use of words seem especially difficult compared to other . Some of these activities, in fact, may seem impossible to perform, such as explaining how we feel to a person whose language we do not fully understand.

These small daily pitfalls serve to give us an idea of ​​what is Linguistic Intelligence: the degree to which a person is able to skillfully use language to express and understand ideas and to achieve objectives from this ability.


Linguistic Intelligence (sometimes also called Verbal Intelligence) is part of the Theory of Multiple Intelligences of Howard Gardner , and taking it into account allows you to create strategies to enhance the use of language.

A tool to adapt to the environment

Reality is not easy to understand, so the way to formulate explanations about it should not be. The vast majority of people We are born with the ability to learn the language, but not all of us get along just as well with our mother tongue . And it is possible that in some situations we notice that we have no control over words, that our linguistic Intelligence is not as developed as the context requires.

Precisely for this reason, linguistic Intelligence is important: considering its existence, we can know to what extent we are able to make us understand and understand what is being said to us, both by speaking and writing. This is especially important if we take into account that the use of language allows us to get closer to our objectives and, therefore, have more or less linguistic intelligence impacts on our ability to manage problems, address projects or even maintain healthy relationships with other people.


How to improve in Linguistic Intelligence?

If it is true that the Intelligence can be quickly summarized as the ability to find solutions to new problems in the most effective wayIt is also true that this can be improved by taking some habits and routines. Linguistic Intelligence, as a concrete plot within the broader concept of "intelligence", is not an exception to this rule. That means we can take measures to influence our level of performance in linguistic intelligence , changing for the better our ability to adapt to new situations in which a skillful use of words is useful (difficult to find a situation where I do not know about this!).

Knowing all this, you can start to introduce small changes in your day to day to improve your ability with the language. Here are some indications and recommendations to enhance your linguistic intelligence.

1. Start a personal diary

Starting a journal is a good first step. You will write about topics that affect you indirectly and that you find interesting or relevant, so it is difficult for this activity to become boring. Also, you will not have the pressure of having to write something impressive to impress someone, because they are written for you, that nobody else has to see. It will be easy for you to improve your verbal skills if you force yourself to explain your experiences and feelings .

2. Choose an interesting topic and write a short essay about it

Writing freely about what you feel and starting from the way you see reality is a good way to train in Linguistic Intelligence, but It is wise to pose challenges so that the level of difficulty of the tasks is not always the same . Therefore, in addition to writing a diary, it is good to write down something more universal and write about them. In this way you will force yourself to expand your vocabulary and improve your ability to express yourself on a specific topic along more or less long texts.

3. Appreciate the value of a good dialogue

If you want to polish your Linguistic Intelligence, also could be useful to relate with people with whom you do not usually communicate . People with concerns and interests different from yours, people with whom you can not use your own slang and who forces you to leave your comfort zone At the time of speaking. Nothing better than the challenge of communicating with someone who has another point of view to become able to understand and be understood.

4. Read a lot and well

There are few better things to discover expressions and vocabulary than reading . There is an almost infinite amount of books in which you can memorize and review all kinds of linguistic routes while you entertain or learn about things that interest you . However, if you want to improve your linguistic intelligence by getting the most out of books, it is best to take care of what you read. Try to get books of different authors in your hands, to see a little bit of everything.

5. Do you give poetry and music a chance?

The poetry and the music They have the added value of breaking the conventions of grammar to communicate and express phenomena and emotions. Get in touch with lyrical forms of expression can make you get used to seeing language as a creative game in which the words are at the service of the message, and not the other way around. In fact, there is an example in which it was proven how the musical training in preschool children served to improve their verbal Intelligence.

Linguistic intelligence in children

These recommendations may be useful to you, but some also can be adapted for children to enter the capacities related to Linguistic Intelligence . At the end of the day, it is in the early stages of childhood when it becomes more important to have the means to quickly learn the rudiments of language, which will develop during growth.

Bibliographic references:

  • Operskalski, O. T., Paul, E. J., Colom, R., Barbey, A.K., Grafman, J. (2015). Mapping the Four-Factor Structure of Emotional Intelligence. Front. Hum. Neurosci.
  • Triglia, Adrián; Regader, Bertrand; and García-Allen, Jonathan (2018). "What is intelligence? From IQ to multiple intelligences". EMSE Publishing.


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'intelligence linguistique: de quoi s'agit-il et comment peut-on l'améliorer?

L'intelligence linguistique: de quoi s'agit-il et comment peut-on l'améliorer?

Décembre 9, 2021

Le capacité à s'exprimer par le langage C'est l'une de ces caractéristiques qui nous distingue des autres êtres vivants. La communication verbale est également un outil utile qui nous a permis de survivre dans des environnements défavorables, de mieux comprendre notre environnement et de former de grandes communautés dans lesquelles des centaines de personnes coopèrent les unes avec les autres.

En bref, nous sommes une espèce prospère en partie grâce à notre capacité à combiner des mots les uns avec les autres. On peut appeler cette capacité Intelligence linguistique (ou intelligence verbale ).

Une définition de l'intelligence linguistique

Pensez à la façon dont vous expliqueriez à une autre personne qu'un pot est tombé au sol et s'est brisé. Simple, non? Pensez maintenant à cette autre situation: vous devriez lire un texte de deux pages dans lequel un philosophe explique ce qu’est la métaphysique pour elle, puis résumez-le à une autre personne.


Vous allez sûrement croire que cette dernière tâche est beaucoup plus compliquée, même si vous n’avez pas lu ce texte. Même si vous parvenez à bien vous familiariser avec la langue au quotidien, Certaines tâches impliquant l’utilisation de mots semblent particulièrement difficiles par rapport à d’autres. . En fait, certaines de ces activités peuvent sembler impossibles à réaliser, par exemple expliquer ce que nous ressentons à une personne dont nous ne comprenons pas parfaitement le langage.

Ces petits écueils quotidiens servent à nous donner une idée de ce qu'est l'intelligence linguistique: le degré avec lequel une personne est capable d'utiliser habilement le langage pour exprimer et comprendre des idées et atteindre des objectifs à partir de cette capacité.


L’intelligence linguistique (parfois aussi appelée intelligence verbale) fait partie de la théorie des intelligences multiples de Howard Gardner , et sa prise en compte vous permet de créer des stratégies pour améliorer l’utilisation de la langue.

Un outil d'adaptation à l'environnement

La réalité n’est pas facile à comprendre, il n’est donc pas utile de formuler des explications à ce sujet. La grande majorité des gens Nous sommes nés avec la capacité d'apprendre la langue, mais nous ne nous entendons pas tous aussi bien avec notre langue maternelle . Et il est possible que dans certaines situations, nous remarquons que nous n’avons aucun contrôle sur les mots, que notre intelligence linguistique n’est pas aussi développée que le nécessite le contexte.

C'est précisément pour cette raison que l'intelligence linguistique est importante: compte tenu de son existence, nous pouvons savoir dans quelle mesure nous sommes en mesure de nous faire comprendre et comprendre ce qu'on nous dit, à la fois en parlant et en écrivant. Ceci est particulièrement important si nous prenons en compte le fait que l'utilisation de la langue nous permet de nous rapprocher de nos objectifs et donc d'avoir plus ou moins d'intelligence linguistique. des impacts sur notre capacité à gérer les problèmes, à traiter des projets ou même à maintenir des relations saines avec d'autres personnes.


Comment améliorer l'intelligence linguistique?

S'il est vrai que le L'intelligence peut être rapidement résumé comme la capacité de trouver des solutions aux nouveaux problèmes de la manière la plus efficaceIl est également vrai que cela peut être amélioré en prenant certaines habitudes et routines. L'intelligence linguistique, en tant que complot concret dans le concept plus large d '"intelligence", ne fait pas exception à la règle. Cela signifie que nous pouvons prendre des mesures pour influencer notre niveau de performance en intelligence linguistique , changeant pour le meilleur notre capacité à nous adapter à de nouvelles situations dans lesquelles une utilisation habile des mots est utile (difficile de trouver une situation où je ne le sais pas!).

Sachant tout cela, vous pouvez commencer à introduire de petits changements dans votre journée pour améliorer votre capacité à parler. Voici quelques indications et recommandations pour améliorer votre intelligence linguistique.

1. Commencez un journal personnel

Commencer un journal est une bonne première étape. Vous allez écrire sur des sujets qui vous concernent indirectement et que vous trouvez intéressants ou pertinents. Il est donc difficile pour cette activité de devenir ennuyeuse. De plus, vous ne serez pas obligé d'écrire quelque chose d'impressionnant pour impressionner quelqu'un, car il est écrit pour vous, personne ne doit le voir. Il vous sera facile d'améliorer vos compétences verbales si vous vous forcez à expliquer vos expériences et vos sentiments. .

2. Choisissez un sujet intéressant et rédigez un court essai à ce sujet

Écrire librement sur ce que vous ressentez et partir de la façon dont vous voyez la réalité est un bon moyen de vous former à l'intelligence linguistique, mais Il est sage de poser des défis afin que le niveau de difficulté des tâches ne soit pas toujours le même. . Par conséquent, en plus d'écrire un journal, il est bon d'écrire quelque chose de plus universel et d'écrire à leur sujet. De cette façon, vous vous forcerez à élargir votre vocabulaire et à améliorer votre capacité à vous exprimer sur un sujet spécifique au moyen de textes plus ou moins longs.

3. Apprécier la valeur d'un bon dialogue

Si vous voulez perfectionner votre intelligence linguistique, Il pourrait être utile d’établir des liens avec des personnes avec lesquelles vous ne communiquez pas habituellement. . Les personnes ayant des préoccupations et des intérêts différents des vôtres, des personnes avec lesquelles vous ne pouvez pas utiliser votre propre argot et qui vous obligent à quitter votre langue. zone de confort au moment de parler. Rien de mieux que le défi de communiquer avec quelqu'un qui a un autre point de vue pour devenir capable de comprendre et d'être compris.

4. Lire beaucoup et bien

Il y a peu de choses meilleures à découvrir pour les expressions et le vocabulaire que en lisant . Il y a une quantité presque infinie de des livres dans lesquels vous pouvez mémoriser et réviser toutes sortes d'itinéraires linguistiques tout en divertissant ou en apprenant des choses qui vous intéressent . Toutefois, si vous souhaitez améliorer votre intelligence linguistique en tirant le meilleur parti des livres, il est préférable de prendre soin de ce que vous lisez. Essayez de mettre des livres d'auteurs différents entre vos mains, pour voir un peu de tout.

5. Donnez-vous une chance à la poésie et à la musique?

Le poésie et la Musique Ils ont la valeur ajoutée de briser les conventions de la grammaire pour communiquer et exprimer des phénomènes et des émotions. Entrez en contact avec des formes lyriques de l'expression peut vous habituer à voir la langue comme un jeu créatif dans lequel les mots sont au service du message, et non l'inverse. En fait, il existe un exemple dans lequel il a été prouvé que la formation musicale dispensée aux enfants d’âge préscolaire avait servi à améliorer leur intelligence verbale.

Intelligence linguistique chez les enfants

Ces recommandations peuvent vous être utiles, mais certaines aussi peut être adapté pour que les enfants entrent dans les capacités liées à l'intelligence linguistique . En fin de journée, il est de plus en plus important d’avoir les moyens d’apprendre rapidement les rudiments du langage, qui se développeront au cours de la croissance.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Operskalski, O. T., Paul, E. J., Colom, R., Barbey, A.K., Grafman, J. (2015). Cartographie de la structure à quatre facteurs de l'intelligence émotionnelle. Avant. Hum. Neurosci.
  • Adriano Triglia; Regader, Bertrand; et García-Allen, Jonathan (2018). "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence? Du QI aux intelligences multiples". EMSE Publishing.



6 éme sens - Développer son intuition - hypnose (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes