yes, therapy helps!
Loneliness can increase the risk of death

Loneliness can increase the risk of death

June 20, 2024

Many times we associate the loneliness to the negative feelings that the isolation .

However, today we know that it can also have very negative material repercussions. In fact, the feeling of prolonged loneliness can increase the risk of death by 26% , percentage that is increased up to 32% in cases in which social isolation is real. These are the data published by psychologists at Brigham Young University in the journal Perspectives on Psychological Science.

Loneliness may increase the risk of death, according to a study

The study carried out by these researchers is a meta-analysis of different investigations in the field of social psychology which aims to find relationships between loneliness (real and perceived) and mortality patterns. What they found is what seems to be a correlation between social isolation and the risk of death so marked that it can have large-scale repercussions .


In addition, the results of the meta-analysis not only speak of an increased risk of death in those people who, due to their habits, have little contact with other people (that is, they show cases of real social isolation), but the same happens in people that regardless of the number of real interactions with others and the time devoted to them they feel alone. Chronic loneliness, whether real or subjective, carries certain dangers.

That is why addressing this problem is more complicated than you might expect, since not only do you have to intervene on the number of real interactions with others, but also on the quality of these relationships .

Both the subjective factor and the objective associated with loneliness can be affecting our health in different ways: producing episodes of stress, negatively affecting the functioning of the immune system, producing blood pressure states that favor the appearance of inflammations, leading to social dynamics negative, etc. All these factors interact with each other and feed each other, and that is why, although they do not have to translate into the occurrence of fatal accidents, they wear away the health of the organism , causing it to age before and complications of all kinds appear.


Virtually all the benefits associated with a life full of satisfying relationships can serve to get an idea of ​​the negative aspects that lack of physical and emotional contact with others.

Loneliness: a problem that extends in the western world

These conclusions are especially worrisome if we take into account that in Western countries there are more and more people living alone or without strong ties with any community . In addition, new forms of communication through digital media do not encourage the emergence of sustained face-to-face relationships, and there are even new ways of working that require no company other than a laptop and a drink.

In addition, a large part of the population at risk of social isolation is precisely that in a more delicate state of health: older people . These people may find themselves at a point where the family lives far away, contact with co-workers has been lost and there are hardly any social activities that are aimed at them.


Offering these older people (and ourselves) contexts in which to develop diverse social ties can be one of the fundamental keys to improving the health of people on a large scale and preventing the occurrence of certain fatal accidents. The result, in addition, would be the construction of a well cohesive society, with all the advantages that entails.

Bibliographic references:

  • Holdt-Lunstad, J., Smith, T. B., Baker, M., Harris, T. and Stephenson, D. (2015). Loneliness and Social Isolation as Risk Factors for Mortality: A Meta-Analytic Review. Perspectives on Psychological Science, 10 (2), accessed at //pps.sagepub.com/content/10/2/227.full.pdf

Loneliness Can Increase Risk of Premature Death by 14% (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La solitude peut augmenter le risque de décès

La solitude peut augmenter le risque de décès

Avril 16, 2021

Plusieurs fois, nous associons le la solitude aux sentiments négatifs que le isolation .

Cependant, nous savons aujourd'hui que cela peut aussi avoir des répercussions matérielles très négatives. En fait, le sentiment de solitude prolongée peut augmenter le risque de décès de 26% , pourcentage augmenté jusqu’à 32% dans les cas où l’isolement social est réel. Ce sont les données publiées par des psychologues de la Brigham Young University dans la revue Perspectives sur la science psychologique.

La solitude peut augmenter le risque de décès, selon une étude

L’étude réalisée par ces chercheurs est une méta-analyse de différentes investigations dans le domaine de la psychologie sociale qui vise à trouver des relations entre la solitude (réelle et perçue) et les schémas de mortalité. Ce qu’ils ont trouvé, c’est ce qui semble être une corrélation entre l’isolement social et le risque de mort, si marqué qu’il peut avoir répercussions à grande échelle .


En outre, les résultats de la méta-analyse parlent non seulement d'un risque accru de décès chez les personnes qui, du fait de leurs habitudes, ont peu de contacts avec d'autres personnes (c'est-à-dire qu'elles présentent des cas de véritable isolement social), mais il en va de même chez les personnes que peu importe le nombre d'interactions réelles avec les autres et le temps qui leur est consacré, ils se sentent seuls. La solitude chronique, qu'elle soit réelle ou subjective, comporte certains dangers.

C’est pourquoi il est plus compliqué de s'attaquer à ce problème que vous ne le pensiez, car vous devez non seulement intervenir sur le nombre d'interactions réelles avec les autres, mais également sur qualité de ces relations .

Le facteur subjectif et l'objectif associé à la solitude peuvent affecter notre santé de différentes manières: en produisant des épisodes de stress, en affectant négativement le fonctionnement du système immunitaire, en produisant des états de pression artérielle qui favorisent l'apparition d'inflammations, conduisant à une dynamique sociale. négatif, etc. Tous ces facteurs interagissent et se nourrissent, et c’est pourquoi, même s’ils ne doivent pas nécessairement se traduire par des accidents mortels, ils portent la santé de l'organisme , le faisant vieillir avant et des complications de toutes sortes apparaissent.


Pratiquement tous les avantages associés à une vie remplie de relations enrichissantes peuvent servir à se faire une idée des aspects négatifs du manque de contact physique et émotionnel avec les autres.

La solitude: un problème qui s'étend au monde occidental

Ces conclusions sont particulièrement inquiétantes si l’on tient compte du fait que dans les pays occidentaux de plus en plus de personnes vivent seules ou sans lien étroit avec une communauté . En outre, les nouvelles formes de communication par le biais des médias numériques n’encouragent pas l’émergence de relations interpersonnelles durables, et il existe même de nouvelles méthodes de travail qui ne nécessitent aucune entreprise autre qu’un ordinateur portable et une boisson.

En outre, une grande partie de la population menacée d’isolement social est précisément celle qui se trouve dans un état de santé plus délicat: personnes âgées . Ces personnes peuvent se retrouver à un stade où la famille vit loin, où le contact avec leurs collègues a été perdu et où pratiquement aucune activité sociale ne leur est destinée.


Offrir à ces personnes âgées (et à nous-mêmes) des contextes dans lesquels développer des liens sociaux divers peut être l’une des clés fondamentales pour améliorer la santé des personnes à grande échelle et prévenir la survenue de certains accidents mortels. Le résultat serait en outre la construction d'une société bien soudée, avec tous les avantages que cela comporte.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Holdt-Lunstad, J., Smith, T. B., Baker, M., Harris, T. et Stephenson, D. (2015). La solitude et l'isolement social en tant que facteurs de risque de mortalité: un examen méta-analytique. Perspectives on Psychological Science, 10 (2), consulté à l'adresse http://pps.sagepub.com/content/10/2/227.full.pdf.

scientifiques ont démontré que votre mère vivra plus longtemps si vous lui parlez souvent (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes