yes, therapy helps!
Lorazepam: uses and side effects of this drug

Lorazepam: uses and side effects of this drug

January 25, 2022

The effects of anxiety states maintained in the long term can put an emotional strain on the patient and also interfere in all aspects of daily life. In order to avoid its symptoms and the consequences that this entails, intervention through psychological and pharmacological therapy is essential.

Benzodiazepines are the pharmacological treatments of choice in these cases. Within this group is lorazepam , which presents numerous advantages when accompanying a psychological therapy, providing the patient with support for recovery.

  • Related article: "Benzodiazepines (psychodrugs): uses, effects and risks"

What is lorazepam?

Lorazepam is a tranquilizer and anxiolytic drug corresponding to the category of high-potency benzodiazepines ; to which five basic properties are attributed:


  • Anxiolytics
  • Amnesic
  • Sedative and hypnotic.
  • Anticonvulsants
  • Muscle relaxants.

This type of anxiolytics have the ability to stabilize the psychic state in a way that does not harm or interfere with the activities or daily tasks of the person who takes it.

Also, one of the advantages that lorazepam offers to other types of benzodiazepine is that this acts on the emotional elements by eliminating them , so it cancels the tendency to suffer from disorders based on emotional and psycho-reactive load.

This quality makes it a medicine especially recommended at the time of accompany some type of psychological intervention , besides that it is combinable with other psychotropic drugs or antidepressant treatments.


  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Uses of this drug

The prescription of lorazepam is mainly limited to treatment of anxiety disorders and with the aim of alleviating, both short and long term, the symptoms that this alteration entails. More specifically in cases in which the symptoms interfere or limit the patient's life.

However, it is necessary for the clinical professional to review and evaluate the efficacy of the drug on a regular basis, since its use in a chronic way has not been validated by the clinical studies and, in addition, Lorazepam is likely to cause dependence in the person both physical and psychological.

Likewise, lorazepam is also recommended for the treatment of many other diseases or conditions. These include:


  • Irritable bowel syndrome .
  • Epilepsy.
  • Insomnia.
  • Treatment of nausea and vomiting induced by cancer treatment.
  • Management of agitation caused by withdrawal syndrome.

Method of administration and dose

The two formats in which lorazepam can be found are in tablets or in concentrated liquid solution to be taken orally. The usual dose is restricted to two or three daily doses , that is to say 2.5 mg of product approximately.

However, in order to achieve the best possible results it is recommended that the medical professional establish the frequency of administration and duration individually. Likewise, if it is necessary to increase the daily dose, it is necessary to proceed progressively, eliminating the possible side effects.

Because of the high tolerance that this drug generates, it is advisable that lorazepam be used only in short periods of between two and four weeks . In this way, the risk of physical dependence caused by its long-term consumption is also eliminated, and with it the withdrawal symptoms that this generates. These symptoms are:

  • States of anxiety .
  • Alteration of the senses.
  • Insomnia.
  • Dysphoria .
  • Psychosis and seizures (in the least of cases).

Side effects of lorazepam

As with most medications, regardless of the action or purpose they have, lorazepam can also be accompanied by a series of side effects and risks.

While these adverse effects do not have to appear in all people , it is important to be able to recognize them and thus modify the doses or change to another type of benzodiazepines.

These side effects can be classified as: very frequent, frequent, rare, rare, very rare or of not established frequency.

1. Very frequent

  • Sedation .
  • Feeling tired.
  • Drowning sensation

2. Common

  • Asthenia.
  • Muscular weakness .
  • Ataxia.
  • Feeling confused .
  • Depression.
  • Dizziness

3. Uncommon

  • Sickness.
  • Alterations in libido .
  • Impotence.
  • Descent of orgasms.

4. Rare

Agitation . Erections

5. Very rare

  • Hypersensitivity
  • Allergic reactions of the skin.
  • Lack of sodium .
  • Hypothermia.
  • Alterations in the secretion of the antidiuretic hormone.
  • Hypotension .
  • Constipation.
  • Increase in bilirubin levels .
  • Yellowing of the skin and the whites of the eyes.
  • Increase in transaminases and phosphatase.
  • Thrombocytopenia or decrease in the number of platelets in the blood.
  • Agranulocytosis or decrease in the number of neutrophils in the blood.
  • Pancytopenia or reduction of all blood cells.
  • Paradoxical reactions such as anxiety.
  • Depression of the central nervous system.
  • Respiratory problems .

In the event that the patient experiences any of the above adverse effects, it is advisable that he or she visit the doctor as soon as possible.

Precautions

There are a number of indications or conditions to consider before starting a treatment of lorazepam, since this is not indicated for all types of people. In the following cases its consumption is not recommended or at least, the patient must be careful of the possible complications that this may cause .

The use of lorazepam is disapproved in people allergic to this active principle, as well as to any of the elements that are within this pharmaceutical specialty. The symptoms or adverse effects that the patient can suffer range from breathing difficulties or asthma attacks, to swelling, urticaria or anaphylactic shock.

Other cases in which the use of lorazepam is prohibited are when the person suffers from myasthenia gravis, severe breathing difficulties, sleep apneas or if you have severe liver disease.

It is necessary that the patient inform his doctor in the case that he is taking some other type of medication, including that which can be obtained without prescription, in order to avoid any possible interference or harmful effect to the organism as a result of the combination of drugs .

Likewise, it is necessary for the patient to know that both barbiturates and alcoholic beverages exert a depressant effect on the central nervous system, so if they are administered or taken together the sedative effects of the medication are accentuated considerably and harmful.

On the other hand, there are a number of special circumstances under which people should exercise caution when taking this medication, or not take it directly. These conditions include pregnancy and lactation; children, the elderly and physically weak patients, people with respiratory insufficiency and driving and using machinery.

1. Pregnancy and lactation

It is necessary for the patient to inform the medical staff if she is pregnant or if she intends to become pregnant, given that the consumption of benzodiazepines is associated with an increased risk of malformations in the fetus if it is administered during the first trimester of pregnancy.

In addition, if this drug is administered when the woman is in the late phase of pregnancy, it is possible that lorazepam causes a series of sequelae in the baby. These effects range from hypoactivity or hypothermia, to apnea and respiratory and feeding problems. Another adverse effect that lorazepam has on the baby is that it runs the risk of acquiring a physical dependence that ends in a postnatal dependency syndrome .

On the other hand, this medicine is highly contraindicated during the period of lactation. The effect of benzodiazepines secreted through breast milk may include sedative effects on the baby and inability to suckle.

2. Children, the elderly and patients with physical weakness

In no case should benzodiazepines be administered to children, except for very extreme conditions or illnesses, the duration of the treatment being as short as possible.

Also, given that the elderly and physically weak patients have a greater predisposition to suffer the effects of medication , it is recommended that they be administered in very low doses.

3. People with respiratory failure

As with the elderly or in a situation of physical weakness, patients with some type of respiratory insufficiency should also consume this drug in much lower doses, since the risk of suffering respiratory depression is much greater .

4. Driving and using machinery

Due to the sedative effects of lorazepam, people who need to drive vehicles or operate machinery must be prudent, since the medication can alter the ability to perform these tasks.


Ativan Drug for Anxiety: Side Effects, Dosage & Uses (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Lorazépam: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Lorazépam: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Août 8, 2022

Les effets des états d'anxiété maintenus à long terme peuvent créer une tension émotionnelle sur le patient et interférer dans tous les aspects de la vie quotidienne. Afin d'éviter ses symptômes et les conséquences que cela entraîne, une intervention au moyen d'un traitement psychologique et pharmacologique est essentielle.

Les benzodiazépines sont les traitements pharmacologiques de choix dans ces cas. Le lorazépam fait partie de ce groupe. , qui présente de nombreux avantages lors de l’accompagnement d’une thérapie psychologique, apportant au patient un soutien pour sa guérison.

  • Article connexe: "Benzodiazépines (psychodrugs): usages, effets et risques"

Qu'est-ce que le lorazépam?

Le lorazépam est un tranquillisant et un anxiolytique correspondant à la catégorie des benzodiazépines de haute puissance ; auquel sont attribuées cinq propriétés de base:


  • Anxiolytiques
  • Amnésique
  • Sédatif et hypnotique.
  • Anticonvulsivants
  • Myorelaxants

Ce type d'anxiolytique a la capacité de stabiliser l'état psychique de manière à ne pas nuire aux activités ni aux tâches quotidiennes de la personne qui les prend.

En outre, l’un des avantages que le lorazépam offre à d’autres types de benzodiazépines est que agit sur les éléments émotionnels en les éliminant elle annule donc la tendance à souffrir de troubles basés sur une charge émotionnelle et psychoréactive.

Cette qualité en fait un médicament particulièrement recommandé au moment de accompagner un type d'intervention psychologique , outre qu’il peut être associé à d’autres médicaments psychotropes ou traitements antidépresseurs.


  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Utilisations de ce médicament

La prescription de lorazépam est principalement limitée à traitement des troubles anxieux et dans le but d'atténuer, à court et à long terme, les symptômes que cette modification entraîne. Plus spécifiquement dans les cas où les symptômes interfèrent ou limitent la vie du patient.

Cependant, il est nécessaire que les cliniciens examinent et évaluent régulièrement l’efficacité du médicament car son utilisation de façon chronique n’a pas été validée par les études cliniques et, en outre, Le lorazépam est susceptible de provoquer une dépendance chez la personne à la fois physique et psychologique.

De même, le lorazépam est également recommandé pour le traitement de nombreuses autres maladies ou affections. Ceux-ci incluent:


  • Syndrome du côlon irritable .
  • L'épilepsie
  • L'insomnie
  • Traitement des nausées et des vomissements induit par le traitement du cancer.
  • Gestion de l'agitation causée par le syndrome de sevrage.

Mode d'administration et dose

Les deux formats dans lesquels le lorazépam peut être trouvé sont en comprimés ou en solution liquide concentrée à prendre par voie orale. La dose habituelle est limitée à deux ou trois doses par jour , soit 2,5 mg de produit environ.

Cependant, afin d'obtenir les meilleurs résultats possibles, il est recommandé que le professionnel de la santé établisse la fréquence de l'administration et la durée de chaque traitement. De même, s’il est nécessaire d’augmenter la dose quotidienne, il faut procéder progressivement, en éliminant les éventuels effets secondaires.

En raison de la haute tolérance que ce médicament engendre, il est conseillé de prendre le lorazépam utilisé seulement par courtes périodes de deux à quatre semaines . De cette manière, le risque de dépendance physique causé par sa consommation à long terme est également éliminé, ainsi que les symptômes de sevrage que cela génère. Ces symptômes sont:

  • États d'angoisse .
  • Altération des sens.
  • L'insomnie
  • La dysphorie .
  • Psychose et convulsions (dans le moins des cas).

Effets secondaires du lorazépam

Comme avec la plupart des médicaments, quels que soient leur action ou leur but, le lorazépam peut également être accompagné d'une série d'effets secondaires et de risques.

Pendant que ces effets indésirables ne doivent pas nécessairement apparaître chez toutes les personnes , il est important de pouvoir les reconnaître et ainsi modifier les doses ou passer à un autre type de benzodiazépines.

Ces effets indésirables peuvent être classés comme suit: très fréquent, fréquent, rare, rare, très rare ou de fréquence non établie.

1. très fréquent

  • Sédation .
  • Sensation de fatigue.
  • Sensation de noyade

2. commun

  • Asthénie
  • Faiblesse musculaire .
  • Ataxie
  • Se sentir confus .
  • La dépression
  • Vertige

3. Peu commun

  • La nausée
  • Altérations de la libido .
  • Impuissance
  • Descente des orgasmes.

4. rare

Agitation . Érections

5. Très rare

  • L'hypersensibilité
  • Réactions allergiques de la peau.
  • Manque de sodium .
  • L'hypothermie
  • Altérations dans la sécrétion de l'hormone antidiurétique.
  • Hypotension .
  • Constipation
  • Augmentation des niveaux de bilirubine .
  • Jaunissement de la peau et du blanc des yeux.
  • Augmentation des transaminases et de la phosphatase.
  • Thrombocytopénie ou diminution du nombre de plaquettes dans le sang.
  • Agranulocytose ou diminution du nombre de neutrophiles dans le sang.
  • Pancytopénie ou réduction de toutes les cellules sanguines.
  • Des réactions paradoxales telles que l'anxiété.
  • Dépression du système nerveux central.
  • Problèmes respiratoires .

Si le patient ressent l'un des effets indésirables susmentionnés, il est conseillé de consulter son médecin le plus tôt possible.

Précautions

Il existe un certain nombre d'indications ou de conditions à prendre en compte avant de commencer un traitement par le lorazépam, car cela n'est pas indiqué pour tous les types de personnes. Dans les cas suivants, sa consommation n'est pas recommandée ou du moins, le patient doit faire attention aux complications possibles que cela pourrait causer .

L'utilisation de lorazépam est interdite chez les personnes allergiques à ce principe actif, ainsi qu'à l'un des éléments de cette spécialité pharmaceutique. Les symptômes ou les effets indésirables que le patient peut subir vont de difficultés respiratoires à l'asthme, en passant par le gonflement, l'urticaire ou le choc anaphylactique.

Les autres cas dans lesquels l'utilisation du lorazépam est interdite sont les suivants: quand la personne souffre de myasthénie grave, de graves difficultés respiratoires, d'apnées du sommeil ou si vous avez une maladie grave du foie.

Il est nécessaire que le patient informe son médecin s'il prend actuellement un autre type de médicament, y compris celui pouvant être obtenu sans ordonnance, afin d'éviter toute interférence ou tout effet nocif pour l'organisme résultant de l'association des médicaments. .

De même, il est nécessaire que le patient sache que les barbituriques et les boissons alcoolisées exercent un effet dépresseur sur le système nerveux central, donc, s'ils sont administrés ou pris ensemble, les effets sédatifs du médicament sont considérablement accentués et nocifs.

D'autre part, il existe un certain nombre de circonstances spéciales dans lesquelles les personnes doivent faire preuve de prudence lors de la prise de ce médicament, ou ne pas le prendre directement. Ces conditions incluent la grossesse et l'allaitement; les enfants, les personnes âgées et les patients physiquement faibles, les personnes souffrant d'insuffisance respiratoire, la conduite automobile et l'utilisation de machines.

1. Grossesse et allaitement

La patiente doit informer le personnel médical si elle est enceinte ou si elle envisage de le devenir, étant donné que la consommation de benzodiazépines est associé à un risque accru de malformations chez le fœtus s'il est administré pendant le premier trimestre de la grossesse.

De plus, si ce médicament est administré à une femme en fin de grossesse, il est possible que le lorazépam provoque une série de séquelles chez le bébé. Ces effets vont de l'hypoactivité ou de l'hypothermie à l'apnée et aux problèmes respiratoires et d'alimentation. Un autre effet indésirable que le lorazépam a sur le bébé est qu’il court le risque de développer une dépendance physique qui aboutit à une perte de conscience. syndrome de dépendance postnatale .

D'autre part, ce médicament est hautement contre-indiqué pendant la période de lactation. L'effet des benzodiazépines sécrétées par le lait maternel peut inclure des effets sédatifs sur le bébé et une incapacité à allaiter.

2. Enfants, personnes âgées et patients présentant une faiblesse physique

Les benzodiazépines ne doivent en aucun cas être administrées à des enfants, sauf dans des conditions ou des maladies très extrêmes, la durée du traitement étant la plus courte possible.

Aussi, étant donné que les patients âgés et physiquement faibles ont une plus grande prédisposition à subir les effets des médicaments , il est recommandé de les administrer à très faible dose.

3. Personnes souffrant d'insuffisance respiratoire

Comme chez les personnes âgées ou en situation de faiblesse physique, les patients présentant un certain type d'insuffisance respiratoire devraient également consommer ce médicament à des doses beaucoup plus faibles, car le risque de souffrir de dépression respiratoire est beaucoup plus grand .

4. Conduite de véhicules et utilisation de machines

En raison des effets sédatifs du lorazépam, les personnes qui doivent conduire des véhicules ou utiliser des machines doivent être prudentes, car les médicaments peuvent altérer leur capacité à effectuer ces tâches.


Médicament pour domir : quel traitement contre l'insomnie ? (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes