yes, therapy helps!
Low self-esteem? When you become your worst enemy

Low self-esteem? When you become your worst enemy

May 6, 2021

The self esteem is one of the most important psychological variables for emotional health, well-being and it is key in our positive relationship with the environment. But, unfortunately, not everyone has high self-esteem.

Studies say that this important aspect of personality is not static, but can vary throughout the life of a person, and according to psychologist Silvia Congost, author of the book "Automatic Self-Esteem", its development depends approximately 30% of genetic factors, and the rest, that is, 70%, depends on the environment and the experiences that we have had to live.

There are several types of self-esteem. If you want to know them you can read our article: "The 4 types of self-esteem: do you value yourself?"

The relationship between low self-esteem and emotional balance

Low self-esteem is a real problem that many people face , because it can negatively affect the different areas of your life. In short, low self-esteem causes suffering and prevents many of our goals or desires. Negative thinking patterns associated with low self-esteem (for example, thinking that everything you do is going to go wrong) can cause serious mental health problems, such as depression or anxiety.


Low self-esteem is paralyzing, and makes it difficult to try new things or carry out the various tasks of day to day , as well as starting a new hobby or looking for a job. This prevents living the life you want, and leads to frustration and discomfort over time.

Who is in this situation and wants to get out of this negative spiral, only if he does a hard job of self-reflection and recognizes his level of self-esteem will be able to improve it and, therefore, increase his well-being. In some cases, the person can not achieve it on its own, so it will be necessary to go to a specialist psychologist. Even so, is the person who wants to change who has to work to achieve it , since the psychologist only provides the tools for change.


What causes low self-esteem?

The thoughts you have about yourself seem absolute realities, but they are only opinions . They are based on the experiences you have had in life, and the messages that these experiences have contributed so that you form an image of who you are. If you have had bad experiences, it is likely that the evaluation of yourself is negative. The crucial experiences that help to forge these negative or positive beliefs about ourselves is very possible (though not always) that occur at an early age.

What you have seen, felt and what you have experienced during childhood and adolescence, in your family, school or community in general have a determining effect when it comes to valuing yourself in the future.

Examples of these experiences are presented below:

  • Systematic punishment or abuse
  • Failing to meet the expectations of parents
  • Not meeting the expectations of the group of friends and colleagues
  • Being the "scapegoat" of other people in moments of tension or anguish
  • Belonging to families or social groups characterized by lack of affection and disinterest
  • Being treated as the black sheep of the family or school

Psychological problems associated with low self-esteem

In addition to the above causes, sometimes, negative evaluations about oneself are caused by negative experiences that have happened later in life. For example. painful partner breakups or abusive relationships, persistent stress, bullying or mobbing, etc. Therefore, the relationship between psychological problems and self-esteem is a reality.


Many of the psychological or emotional problems are associated with low self-esteem, and this is why one of the most frequent reasons for psychological consultation. And since self-esteem can cause other types of problems (depression, eating disorders, addictions, anxiety, etc.), it is necessary to take measures

Stop being your worst enemy: strategies to improve self-esteem

Low self-esteem is very related to how you value and react to the things that happen If you want to stop being one of those people with low self-esteem, you can follow these tips to stop being your worst enemy and improve your self-esteem:

  • Set realistic goals
  • Do not compare yourself with others
  • Appreciate your qualities
  • Treat yourself with love and look at life in a positive way
  • Practice Mindfulness
  • Make constructive criticism towards yourself
  • Give yourself time
  • Practice physical exercise
  • Try to be assertive
You can deepen these strategies and learn more techniques to improve self-esteem in our article: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

Seeking help to improve self-esteem

If you detect that you have a serious self-esteem problem and the previous thing has not worked, it is necessary that you solve it as soon as possible because you do not have to continue suffering more time. So, instead of hiding and looking the other way, you can:

  • Talk with your family or close friends
  • Talk to your GP to advise what you should do
  • Go to therapy with a specialized psychologist

Being Your Own Worst Enemy (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Faible estime de soi? Quand tu deviens ton pire ennemi

Faible estime de soi? Quand tu deviens ton pire ennemi

Mai 22, 2019

Le estime de soi est une des variables psychologiques les plus importantes pour la santé émotionnelle, le bien-être et c'est essentiel dans notre relation positive avec l'environnement. Mais malheureusement, tout le monde n’a pas une haute estime de soi.

Des études indiquent que cet aspect important de la personnalité n'est pas statique, mais peut varier au cours de la vie d'une personne. Selon la psychologue Silvia Congost, auteur du livre "Automatic Self-Esteem", son développement dépend environ 30% des facteurs génétiques, et le reste, soit 70%, dépend de l'environnement et des expériences vécues.

Il existe plusieurs types d'estime de soi. Si vous voulez les connaître, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Les 4 types d’estime de soi: vous valorisez-vous?"

La relation entre faible estime de soi et équilibre émotionnel

La faible estime de soi est un problème réel auquel de nombreuses personnes sont confrontées , car cela peut affecter négativement les différents domaines de votre vie. En bref, une faible estime de soi est source de souffrance et empêche nombre de nos objectifs ou de nos désirs. Les schémas de pensée négatifs associés à une faible estime de soi (par exemple, penser que tout ce que vous faites va mal tourner) peuvent entraîner de graves problèmes de santé mentale, tels que la dépression ou l'anxiété.


Une faible estime de soi paralyse, et il est difficile d’essayer de nouvelles choses ou d’accomplir les diverses tâches de la vie quotidienne , ainsi que de commencer un nouveau passe-temps ou de chercher un emploi. Cela empêche de vivre la vie que vous voulez et conduit à la frustration et à l'inconfort au fil du temps.

Qui est dans cette situation et veut sortir de cette spirale négative, seulement s’il fait un travail difficile de réflexion sur lui-même et reconnaît que son niveau d’estime de soi pourra l’améliorer et, partant, améliorer son bien-être. Dans certains cas, la personne ne peut y parvenir seule, il sera donc nécessaire de consulter un psychologue. Quand même est la personne qui veut changer qui doit travailler pour y parvenir , puisque le psychologue ne fournit que les outils du changement.


Qu'est-ce qui cause la faible estime de soi?

Les pensées que vous avez à votre sujet semblent des réalités absolues, mais ce ne sont que des opinions. . Ils sont basés sur les expériences que vous avez vécues et sur les messages que ces expériences ont contribué à vous donner une image de qui vous êtes. Si vous avez eu de mauvaises expériences, il est probable que votre évaluation soit négative. Les expériences cruciales qui aident à forger ces croyances négatives ou positives sur nous-mêmes sont très possibles (bien que pas toujours) à un âge précoce.

Ce que vous avez vu, ressenti et vécu au cours de votre enfance et de votre adolescence, au sein de votre famille, de votre école ou de votre communauté en général, a un effet déterminant sur votre valorisation future.

Des exemples de ces expériences sont présentés ci-dessous:

  • Punition systématique ou abus
  • Ne pas répondre aux attentes des parents
  • Ne répond pas aux attentes du groupe d'amis et de collègues
  • Être le "bouc émissaire" d'autres personnes dans des moments de tension ou d'angoisse
  • Appartenir à des familles ou à des groupes sociaux caractérisés par un manque d'affection et un désintérêt
  • Être traité comme le mouton noir de la famille ou de l'école

Problèmes psychologiques associés à une faible estime de soi

Outre les causes susmentionnées, des évaluations négatives sur soi-même sont parfois causées par des expériences négatives survenues plus tard dans la vie. Par exemple. rupture douloureuse du partenaire ou relations abusives, stress persistant, brimades ou harcèlement moral, etc. Par conséquent, la relation entre les problèmes psychologiques et l'estime de soi est une réalité.


Beaucoup de problèmes psychologiques ou émotionnels sont associés à une faible estime de soi, ce qui explique l'une des raisons les plus fréquentes de consultation psychologique. Et comme l'estime de soi peut causer d'autres types de problèmes (dépression, troubles de l'alimentation, addictions, anxiété, etc.), il est nécessaire de prendre des mesures

Arrêtez d'être votre pire ennemi: stratégies pour améliorer l'estime de soi

Une faible estime de soi est très liée à la façon dont vous valorisez et réagissez aux événements qui se produisent Si vous souhaitez cesser d'être l'une de ces personnes ayant une faible estime de vous-même, vous pouvez suivre ces conseils pour cesser d'être votre pire ennemi et améliorer votre estime de soi:

  • Fixer des objectifs réalistes
  • Ne te compare pas aux autres
  • Appréciez vos qualités
  • Traitez-vous avec amour et regardez la vie de manière positive
  • Pratiquer la pleine conscience
  • Faites des critiques constructives envers vous-même
  • Donnez-vous du temps
  • Pratiquer de l'exercice physique
  • Essayez de vous affirmer
Vous pouvez approfondir ces stratégies et apprendre davantage de techniques pour améliorer l'estime de soi dans notre article: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

Demander de l'aide pour améliorer l'estime de soi

Si vous constatez que vous avez un problème sérieux d'estime de soi et que ce qui précède n'a pas fonctionné, il est nécessaire que vous le résolviez dès que possible car vous ne devez pas continuer à souffrir plus longtemps. Ainsi, au lieu de vous cacher et de regarder ailleurs, vous pouvez:

  • Parlez avec votre famille ou vos amis proches
  • Parlez à votre médecin pour lui dire ce que vous devriez faire.
  • Aller en thérapie avec un psychologue spécialisé

UTILISE tes ENNEMIS pour ATTEINDRE le SOMMET ⛰️ Vidéo de Motivation (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes