yes, therapy helps!
Low tolerance for frustration: how it appears and what to do before it

Low tolerance for frustration: how it appears and what to do before it

August 10, 2022

We can not get everything we want . This simple phrase expresses a fact that can be extremely hard depending on how much we wish it. Sometimes the circumstances do not help, sometimes we create excessively demanding goals or even sometimes we are required a level that at least for the moment we can not reach.

This happens during the whole life cycle, from birth to the grave, and is a reason for different levels of frustration that we have to face. And frustration can be difficult to face.

Each one of us has a concrete capacity to tolerate it, there are people who have a high tolerance to the fact of being frustrated and for whom it does not generate an impediment but a simple annoyance and other people with low tolerance to frustration who, at the least difficulty, paralyze and abandon the action. It is about the last of the cases that we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Resilience: definition and 10 habits to enhance it"

A natural emotion

Before assessing what is a low tolerance to frustration, it is necessary to take into account what this concept implies. Frustration is a feeling or feeling of aversive character in which a mixture of sadness, anger, and disappointment in the absence of an objective or the inability to achieve a goal or desire. It is not really necessary that it is a wish of one's own, but also may appear before the break with expectations and demands put on us.

It is a natural sensation that has nothing pathological (although depending on how it can become pathological), and that as we said before is present continuously throughout life every time there is a situation of denial and impossibility. At the beginning and throughout childhood we tend to have a very low tolerance for frustration, but over the course of development we are learning little by little to control it, to manage it and to generate alternative responses. But what does a low tolerance for frustration imply?


The low tolerance to frustration

It is understood as low tolerance to frustration or intolerance to frustration to the absence or low level of ability to withstand that set of events or circumstances that could frustrate us. The low tolerance to frustration means that before the appearance of this we are not able to react, let's abandon our actions and be unable to persevere and fight against difficulties . In other words, those who have low tolerance for frustration have a great difficulty in managing negative feelings such as stress, discomfort or not achieving their own wishes.

Generally, this inability to self-manage provokes behavioral manifestations in the form of sullen, irritable and hostile behavior. Failures are often seen as provoked by others or by circumstances, usually a tendency to feel victimized and to project blame on others. They tend to be people who tend to surrender quickly to perceive possible obstacles, focusing on how difficult things are and not seeing or believing in the possibility of solving the problem and managing to overcome the difficulties by themselves.


They focus on emotion, suffering and pain and avoidance. This can lead to the subject becoming impatient, dependent, demanding and even extremely passive. In some cases, it can trigger impulse control disorders, such as kleptomania, or aggressive and violent behavior towards those who do not fulfill or hinder their own desires.

A low tolerance to frustration also affects the ability to wait to delay a reward, something that could be essential to achieve rewards greater than the immediate ones. It is therefore associated with the need to achieve the satisfaction of their needs at the same time they appear. This makes it difficult, for example, to start doing a necessary task in pursuit of the gratification generated by resting or having fun. In turn, both the difficulty of completing tasks and the perception of this lack of capacity can be perceived as frustrating, worsening the situation and increasing the situation of discomfort of the person .

The low tolerance to frustration also has great consequences for the subject in multiple vital areas: at a family and social level personal relationships are resented, sometimes generating a distancing on the part of the rest and dynamiting their relationship with their environment. At work level is linked to a lack of flexibility and to respond to unforeseen events , something that hinders hiring and productivity.With regard to self-realization, a low tolerance for frustration tends to generate severe difficulties to achieve great long-term objectives and this can also generate a decrease in self-esteem and self-concept or the appearance of utilitarian, narcissistic or histrionic behaviors.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

Causes of this low tolerance

We have mentioned previously that the tolerance to frustration is something that is acquired throughout the development, having almost all the children very low capacity for it. Whether or not this tolerance develops correctly can depend on a large number of variables.

In the first place and although it develops throughout life, there are differences at the biological level that facilitate this fact. This is observable at a temperamental level , there are young children who are able to endure frustration and wait for a better future or even generate strategies to achieve their ultimate goal. Others are frustrated and surrender to the slightest difficulty, and many others even generate disruptive behaviors such as childhood tantrums as a result of their inability to control their displeasure.

Experience is one of the main factors that explain differences in tolerance to frustration. To have a high tolerance will be necessary throughout life we ​​have seen that our goals and desires are achievable but that requires an effort, having seen an association between effort and achievement of goals both short and long term. Also the awareness that waiting and not seeking immediate pleasure can lead to greater rewards over time.

Linked to the previous one, one of the reasons that can lead to a person is not tolerant to the fact of becoming frustrated, even in adulthood, are the educational models we have had. Excessively permissive parents who respond quickly to any demand from the child encourage the child not to struggle and learn that the things we want are quickly achieved. Once this pattern is fixed, the subject will not be able to react in the presence of difficulties and what could be a mere discomfort or obstacle becomes an impenetrable wall which contradicts them and which arouses their anger.

Another reason for the low tolerance to frustration is the existence on the part of the subject of too high expectations to have the real possibility of fulfilling them, so that their efforts never reach the required or desired level and it is learned that it is not possible to reach the own goals. There is a continued fear of failure, and over time the ability to tolerate it is extinguished. This can be derived from learning, both by hyperexlective parental models or excessive social demands.

How to improve the ability to tolerate frustration

As we have mentioned, the low tolerance to frustration can be enormously limiting. Fortunately, we can train our endurance capacity and our abilities to become more resistant and tolerant of aversive and frustrating situations.

Probably the first aspect to work is to analyze the frustration in an isolated way, recognizing its origin and why it is so unbearable. Once this is done, we will be able to use different methods to solve the situation.

One of the strategies involves restructuring personal beliefs regarding levels of demand and what we can achieve. It will be important to train in proposing realistic goals , whether or not they are ambitious, and assess that in all cases it will be easy for unforeseen events to appear. It is also useful that if we have very high goals we try to divide them in such a way that we make intermediate objectives that will lead us to the final goal, without pretending to achieve our objective immediately from the beginning. The generation of alternative strategies to the original is also paramount.

Likewise, we must also work on the relationship with failure and with frustration, not seeing them as a synonym of expiration but as a learning that will lead us to achieve our goals.

Another element to train could be to undergo Exposure to frustrating situations with prevention of responses . Training in stress and anger management and problem-solving training are essential. If the problems are linked to the social field, it may also be necessary to work on social skills.

Bibliographic references:

  • Jeronimus et al. (2017). «Frustration». Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences, Edition: 1. Springer, New York, Editors: Virgil Zeigler-Hill and Todd K. Shackelford, pp. 1 - 8.
  • Miller, NE (July 1941), "frustration-aggression hypothesis", Psychological Review, 48 (4): pp. 337 - 42

Understanding ADHD- #5 ADHD & Low Frustration Tolerance (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Faible tolérance à la frustration: son apparence et ce qu'il faut faire avant

Faible tolérance à la frustration: son apparence et ce qu'il faut faire avant

Janvier 5, 2023

Nous ne pouvons pas obtenir tout ce que nous voulons . Cette phrase simple exprime un fait qui peut être extrêmement difficile selon ce que nous souhaitons. Parfois, les circonstances ne nous aident pas, parfois nous créons des objectifs excessivement exigeants ou même parfois, nous sommes tenus d'atteindre un niveau que nous ne pouvons pas au moins atteindre pour le moment.

Cela se produit pendant tout le cycle de vie, de la naissance à la tombe, et explique les différents niveaux de frustration auxquels nous devons faire face. Et la frustration peut être difficile à affronter.

Chacun de nous a une capacité concrète à le tolérer, il y a des gens qui ont une grande tolérance au fait d'être frustrés et pour qui cela ne génère pas un empêchement mais un simple contrariété et autres personnes peu tolérantes à la frustration qui, au moindre problème, paralysent et abandonnent l'action. Il s’agit du dernier des cas dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Résilience: définition et 10 habitudes pour l'améliorer"

Une émotion naturelle

Avant d'évaluer ce qu'est une faible tolérance à la frustration, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte ce que ce concept implique. La frustration est un sentiment ou un sentiment de caractère aversif dans lequel se mêlent tristesse, colère et déception en l'absence d'objectif ou d'incapacité à atteindre un objectif ou à désirer. Il n’est pas vraiment nécessaire que ce soit un souhait personnel, mais aussi peut apparaître avant la pause avec les attentes et les demandes mettre sur nous.

C'est une sensation naturelle qui n'a rien de pathologique (bien que cela dépende de la façon dont elle peut devenir pathologique) et qui, comme nous l'avons dit auparavant, est présente de manière continue tout au long de la vie, chaque fois qu'il y a déni et impossibilité. Au début et tout au long de notre enfance, nous avons tendance à avoir une très faible tolérance à la frustration, mais au fil du développement, nous apprenons petit à petit à la maîtriser, à la gérer et à générer des réponses alternatives. Mais qu'implique une faible tolérance à la frustration?


La faible tolérance à la frustration

Il s’agit d’une faible tolérance à la frustration ou d’une intolérance à la frustration face à l’absence ou au faible niveau de capacité de supporter cet ensemble d’événements ou de circonstances susceptibles de nous frustrer. La faible tolérance à la frustration signifie qu’avant l’apparition de celle-ci, nous ne pouvons pas réagir, abandonnons nos actions et incapable de persévérer et de lutter contre les difficultés . En d'autres termes, ceux qui ont une faible tolérance à la frustration ont beaucoup de difficulté à gérer leurs sentiments négatifs tels que le stress, la gêne ou le non-respect de leurs souhaits.

Généralement, cette incapacité à s'autogérer provoque des manifestations comportementales sous forme de comportement maussade, irritable et hostile. Les échecs sont souvent perçus comme provoqués par les autres ou par les circonstances, généralement une tendance à se sentir victimisés et à blâmer les autres. Ils ont tendance à être des gens qui ont tendance à se rendre rapidement pour percevoir les obstacles possibles, en se concentrant sur la difficulté des choses et en ne voyant pas ou en ne croyant pas en la possibilité de résoudre le problème et en essayant de surmonter les difficultés par eux-mêmes.


Ils se concentrent sur les émotions, la souffrance, la douleur et l'évitement. Cela peut amener le sujet à devenir impatient, dépendant, exigeant et même extrêmement passif. Dans certains cas, cela peut déclencher des troubles du contrôle des impulsions, tels que la kleptomanie, ou des comportements agressifs et violents envers ceux qui ne répondent pas à leurs désirs ni ne les gênent.

Une faible tolérance à la frustration affecte également la capacité d'attendre pour retarder une récompense, ce qui pourrait être essentiel pour obtenir des récompenses supérieures à celles immédiates. Il est donc associé à la nécessité de satisfaire leurs besoins tout en apparaissant. Cela rend difficile, par exemple, de commencer à accomplir une tâche nécessaire à la recherche de la gratification générée par le repos ou l’amusement. À son tour, la difficulté d’accomplir des tâches et la perception de ce manque de capacité peuvent être perçues comme frustrantes, aggravation de la situation et aggravation de la situation de malaise de la personne .

La faible tolérance à la frustration a également de lourdes conséquences pour le sujet dans de nombreux domaines vitaux: au niveau familial et social, les relations personnelles sont ressenties, suscitant parfois une distanciation chez les autres et dynamisant leur relation avec leur environnement. Au niveau du travail est liée à un manque de flexibilité et à la prise en charge d'événements imprévus , quelque chose qui nuit à l’embauche et à la productivité.En ce qui concerne la réalisation de soi, une faible tolérance à la frustration tend à générer de graves difficultés pour atteindre de grands objectifs à long terme, ce qui peut également entraîner une diminution de l'estime de soi et de la conception de soi ou l'apparition de comportements utilitaires, narcissiques ou histrioniques.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

Causes de cette faible tolérance

Nous avons mentionné précédemment que la tolérance à la frustration est une chose acquise au cours du développement, la quasi-totalité des enfants ayant une très faible capacité. Le développement correct de cette tolérance peut dépendre d'un grand nombre de variables.

En premier lieu et bien qu’il se développe tout au long de la vie, il existe des différences au niveau biologique qui facilitent ce fait. Ceci est observable à un niveau capricieux , il y a des jeunes enfants qui sont capables de supporter la frustration et d'attendre un avenir meilleur ou même de générer des stratégies pour atteindre leur objectif ultime. D'autres sont frustrés et s'abandonnent à la moindre difficulté, et beaucoup d'autres génèrent même des comportements perturbateurs, tels que des crises de jeunesse, du fait de leur incapacité à contrôler leur mécontentement.

L'expérience est l'un des principaux facteurs expliquant les différences de tolérance à la frustration. Pour avoir une tolérance élevée sera nécessaire tout au long de la vie, nous avons vu que nos objectifs et nos désirs sont réalisables, mais cela nécessite un effort, avoir vu une association entre l'effort et la réalisation des objectifs à court et à long terme. En outre, le fait d'attendre et de ne pas rechercher le plaisir immédiat peut conduire à de plus grandes récompenses au fil du temps.

En lien avec le précédent, l’une des raisons qui peuvent conduire à une personne n’est pas tolérante au fait de devenir frustrée, même à l’âge adulte, ce sont les modèles éducatifs que nous avons eus. Les parents excessivement permissifs qui répondent rapidement à toute demande de l'enfant encouragent celui-ci à ne pas se débattre et à apprendre que les objectifs que nous souhaitons sont rapidement atteints. Une fois ce schéma défini, le sujet ne pourra plus réagir en présence de difficultés et de difficultés. ce qui pourrait être un simple inconfort ou un obstacle devient un mur impénétrable qui les contredit et qui suscite leur colère.

Une autre raison de la faible tolérance à la frustration réside dans le fait que le sujet a des attentes trop élevées pour avoir la possibilité réelle de les réaliser, de sorte que leurs efforts n'atteignent jamais le niveau requis ou souhaité et que l'on apprenne qu'il est impossible d'atteindre. les propres objectifs. La crainte de l'échec persiste et, avec le temps, la capacité de le tolérer s'éteint. Ceci peut être dérivé de l'apprentissage, à la fois par des modèles parentaux hyperexlectifs ou par des demandes sociales excessives.

Comment améliorer la capacité de tolérer la frustration

Comme nous l'avons mentionné, la faible tolérance à la frustration peut être extrêmement contraignante. Heureusement nous pouvons former notre capacité d'endurance et notre capacité à devenir plus résistante et tolérante dans des situations aversives et frustrantes.

Le premier aspect du travail consiste probablement à analyser la frustration de manière isolée, en reconnaissant son origine et en expliquant pourquoi elle est si insupportable. Une fois que cela sera fait, nous pourrons utiliser différentes méthodes pour résoudre le problème.

Une des stratégies implique la restructuration des croyances personnelles concernant les niveaux de demande et ce que nous pouvons réaliser. Il sera important de s'entraîner à proposer des objectifs réalistes , qu’ils soient ambitieux ou non, et d’évaluer que dans tous les cas, il sera facile de faire apparaître des événements imprévus. Il est également utile que si nous avons des objectifs très élevés, nous essayons de les diviser de manière à créer des objectifs intermédiaires qui nous mèneront à l'objectif final, sans prétendre atteindre notre objectif dès le début. La génération de stratégies alternatives à l'original est également primordiale.

De même, nous devons également travailler sur la relation entre échec et frustration, en ne la considérant pas comme un synonyme d'expiration, mais comme un apprentissage qui nous mènera à atteindre nos objectifs.

Un autre élément à former pourrait être de subir Exposition à des situations frustrantes avec prévention des réponses . Une formation à la gestion du stress et de la colère et à la résolution de problèmes est essentielle. Si les problèmes sont liés au domaine social, il peut également être nécessaire de travailler sur les compétences sociales.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Jeronimus et al. (2017). «Frustration» Encyclopédie de la personnalité et des différences individuelles, Édition: 1. Springer, New York, Éditeurs: Virgil Zeigler-Hill et Todd K. Shackelford, p. 1 - 8.
  • Miller, NE (juillet 1941), "hypothèse frustration-agression", Psychological Review, 48 (4): pp. 337 - 42

FINI DE SE DISPUTER : 5 ÉTAPES POUR Y ARRIVER ! (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes