yes, therapy helps!
Lyme disease: symptoms, causes and treatment

Lyme disease: symptoms, causes and treatment

April 2, 2024

There are a lot of diseases that can affect us to a greater or lesser extent. Many of them are caused by bacterial or viral infections, infections that can appear for different reasons. Some of them are caused by bites or bites from other living beings, such as insects. It's what happens with Lyme disease , of which we are going to talk throughout this article.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Lyme disease: basic symptoms

Relatively frequent in the northern hemisphere, Lyme disease is an infectious disease transmitted by the bite of some species of ticks. Is about a disease of bacterial origin , which can evolve through various stages. We are also before an old acquaintance of humanity: there are vestiges of its existence even in prehistory, although the first cases documented as such are from the last century.


This alteration can appear at any age and in any sex, and these variables are not decisive at the time or not of getting sick. Generally there is more probability of appearance in those people who are frequently outdoors in areas where the habitual guests of said ticks inhabit.

The most notorious symptoms of this disorder are the presence of an erythema in the area of ​​the sting , which can spread (it is usually called migratory erythema), along with typical flu symptoms. The presence of nausea, conjunctivitis, headache, fatigue and muscle stiffness are relatively frequent.

If the disease progresses Arthritis, loss of muscle tone, facial paralysis, tremors can come , increased tension, memory problems and even respiratory problems that could stop the function. It can also affect the brain in the form of neuroborreliosis, generating paralysis and meningitis, and even psychiatric symptoms such as hallucinations.


However, some people may develop an evolution of the disease to a chronic phase, especially if they have not been treated or detected early. Although some deaths derived from it have been described (for example by cardiorespiratory arrest), the death of the subject due to Lyme disease is not usual.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

Causes

The origin of this disease is found in the bacterium Borrelia burgdorferi (in fact, Lyme disease is also known as borreliosis) which is introduced into the body by the bite of some species of ticks (although other insects could transmit it, as mosquitoes and fleas), very often transmitted by ticks of the genus Ixodes.

These ticks are common in rodents, horses and deer. The human being is not usually host of these beings, but an accidental exposure to these insects can generate a sting. Despite this, not all ticks of this genus transmit the bacteria previously mentioned, causing Lyme disease only those that are infected by it. Although this article mainly explores the disease and the symptoms caused in humans, it can also affect other animals and pets.


To get to transmit the bacteria and cause Lyme disease, it is estimated that the tick must adhere to the skin for between one and two days, although its small size can make it difficult to know how long it has been in the body to not be able to locate it. .

Lyme disease is not contagious among people : it is not contagious through physical contact, neither through breathing, nor through sexual contact. The sufferer can not transmit it unless a tick infected by the bacteria passes from its carrier to another. For example, if a dog suffers from the disease it will not infect its caregiver per se, although it may have attached ticks that could do so.

  • You may be interested: "Ekbom syndrome (delirium of parasitosis): causes and symptoms"

Stages of the disease

As we have mentioned, Lyme disease can go through a series of stages in which different symptoms can appear and disappear. From the bite to the onset of symptoms can last weeks, although it is common for the latter to appear between a few days and a week post-bite. Specifically, the following phases are highlighted.

1. Localized early infection

In this stage the migratory erythema usually appears around the bite of the tick, which can cause itching and other skin sensations . In general, there are usually no more symptoms. Occasionally, discomfort and bluish lymphocytomas also appear in areas such as the ears.

two.Early disseminated infection

The bacterium has penetrated and spread through the body, being able to generate other skin lesions in areas different from that of the bite, together with fatigue and muscular pain. Some more serious symptoms can be the appearance of arrhythmias and cardiac alterations. It is at this stage when neurological problems tend to appear such as meningitis, paralysis or hallucinations.

3. Late infection

After several months of untreated infection, joint problems usually occur (in fact, one of the first names of this disease is Lyme arthritis) that can become permanent. Problems such as memory loss usually appear and alterations in the level of consciousness, and encephalitis could occur.

Treatment

Generally, Lyme disease has an effective diagnosis and treatment that usually ends with the complete recovery of the patient.

The first element to consider is the possibility that the tick that has transmitted the bacteria or its stinger still remain in the body of the subject. A first step to follow is the removal of the organism's arachnid using hooks or tweezers, as well as disinfection of the area. If a bite is identified, it is recommended to observe the patient for at least one month to check whether or not there is symptomatology.

Later, different antibiotics will be applied according to the characteristics of the patient, the evolution of the disease and the symptoms. This treatment usually heals the disease over a period of several weeks, although residual symptoms may sometimes appear. In cases where this disease is chronic , it may be necessary to apply a more continuous antibiotic treatment program over time.

Analgesics can also be applied to combat possible muscle pain or other drugs to control fever and other symptoms that appear during the condition.

Bibliographic references:

  • Herrera, O .; Infante, J .; Ramírez, R. & Lavastida, H. (2012). Lyme disease: history, microbiology, epizootiology and epidemiology. Cuban Journal of Hygiene and Epidemiology, 50 (2). City of Havana, Cuba.
  • Dickinson, F.O. & Batlle, M.C. (1997). Lyme borreliosis: approach to an emerging infectious disease. Cuban Journal of Hygiene and Epidemiology, 35 (2). City of Havana, Cuba.

Lyme Disease: Mayo Clinic Radio (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maladie de Lyme: symptômes, causes et traitement

Maladie de Lyme: symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 24, 2022

Il y a beaucoup de maladies qui peuvent nous affecter plus ou moins. Nombre d'entre elles sont causées par des infections bactériennes ou virales, infections pouvant apparaître pour différentes raisons. Certaines d'entre elles sont causées par des morsures ou des morsures d'autres êtres vivants, tels que des insectes. C'est ce qui se passe avec la maladie de Lyme , dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Maladie de Lyme: symptômes de base

Relativement fréquente dans l'hémisphère nord, la maladie de Lyme est une maladie infectieuse transmise par la piqûre de certaines espèces de tiques. Il s'agit de une maladie d'origine bactérienne , qui peut évoluer à travers différentes étapes. Nous nous trouvons également devant une vieille connaissance de l’humanité: il existe des vestiges de son existence même dans la préhistoire, bien que les premiers cas documentés en tant que tels remontent au siècle dernier.


Cette altération peut apparaître à tout âge et de tout sexe, et ces variables ne sont pas décisives pour le moment de tomber malade. En règle générale, les personnes qui se trouvent fréquemment à l’extérieur dans les zones habitées par les hôtes habituels des tiques sont plus susceptibles d’apparaître.

Les symptômes les plus notoires de ce trouble sont la présence d'un érythème dans la zone de la piqûre , qui peut se propager (il s’agit généralement d’un érythème migrateur) et de symptômes grippaux typiques. Les nausées, la conjonctivite, les maux de tête, la fatigue et les raideurs musculaires sont relativement fréquents.

Si la maladie progresse L'arthrite, la perte de tonus musculaire, une paralysie faciale, des tremblements peuvent survenir , augmentation de la tension, des problèmes de mémoire et même des problèmes respiratoires pouvant arrêter la fonction. Il peut également affecter le cerveau sous forme de neuroborréliose, générant une paralysie et une méningite, voire des symptômes psychiatriques tels que des hallucinations.


Cependant, certaines personnes peuvent développer une évolution de la maladie vers une phase chronique, surtout si elles n'ont pas été traitées ou détectées tôt. Bien que certains décès en aient été décrits (par exemple par arrêt cardiorespiratoire), le décès du sujet dû à la maladie de Lyme n’est pas habituel.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

Les causes

L’origine de cette maladie se trouve dans la bactérie Borrelia burgdorferi (en fait, la maladie de Lyme est également connue sous le nom de borréliose) qui est introduite dans le corps par la piqûre de certaines espèces de tiques (bien que d’autres insectes puissent la transmettre). moustiques et puces), très souvent transmis par les tiques du genre Ixodes.

Ces tiques sont courantes chez les rongeurs, les chevaux et les cerfs. L'être humain n'est généralement pas l'hôte de ces êtres, mais une exposition accidentelle à ces insectes peut générer une piqûre. Malgré cela, toutes les tiques de ce genre ne transmettent pas les bactéries précédemment mentionné, causant la maladie de Lyme seulement ceux qui en sont infectés. Bien que cet article explore principalement la maladie et les symptômes causés chez l'homme, il peut également toucher d'autres animaux et animaux de compagnie.


Pour pouvoir transmettre la bactérie et causer la maladie de Lyme, on estime que la tique doit adhérer à la peau pendant un à deux jours, bien que sa petite taille rende difficile de savoir depuis combien de temps elle n’est pas en mesure de la localiser. .

La maladie de Lyme n'est pas contagieuse chez l'homme : il n'est pas contagieux par contact physique, ni par respiration, ni par contact sexuel. Le patient ne peut pas le transmettre à moins qu'une tique infectée par la bactérie ne passe de son porteur à un autre. Par exemple, si un chien souffre de la maladie, il n’infectera pas le soignant en tant que tel, bien qu’il puisse attacher des tiques susceptibles de le faire.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Syndrome d'Ekbom (délire de parasitose): causes et symptômes"

Étapes de la maladie

Comme nous l'avons mentionné, la maladie de Lyme peut traverser une série d'étapes au cours desquelles différents symptômes peuvent apparaître et disparaître. De la morsure à l’apparition des symptômes peuvent durer des semaines, bien qu’il soit courant que ces derniers apparaissent entre quelques jours et une semaine après la morsure. Plus précisément, les phases suivantes sont mises en évidence.

1. Infection précoce localisée

À ce stade, l’érythème migrateur apparaît généralement autour de la morsure de la tique, ce qui peut causer des démangeaisons et d'autres sensations cutanées . En général, il n'y a généralement plus de symptômes. Parfois, des lymphocytomes bleuâtres et inconfortables apparaissent également dans des zones telles que les oreilles.

2Infection précoce disséminée

La bactérie a pénétré dans le corps et s’est propagée dans le corps, pouvant générer d’autres lésions cutanées dans des zones différentes de celle de la morsure, ainsi que de la fatigue et des douleurs musculaires. Certains symptômes plus graves peuvent être l'apparition d'arythmies et d'altérations cardiaques. C’est à ce stade que les problèmes neurologiques ont tendance à apparaître comme la méningite, la paralysie ou les hallucinations.

3. Infection tardive

Après plusieurs mois d'infection non traitée, des problèmes articulaires apparaissent généralement (en fait, l'un des prénoms de cette maladie est l'arthrite de Lyme) et peuvent devenir permanents. Des problèmes tels que la perte de mémoire apparaissent généralement et des altérations du niveau de conscience, et une encéphalite pourrait se produire.

Traitement

En règle générale, le diagnostic et le traitement de la maladie de Lyme sont efficaces et se terminent généralement par le rétablissement complet du patient.

Le premier élément à prendre en compte est la possibilité que la tique qui a transmis la bactérie ou son stinger reste dans le corps du sujet. Une première étape à suivre est l'élimination de l'arachnide de l'organisme en utilisant des crochets ou des pincettes, ainsi que la désinfection de la zone. Si une morsure est identifiée, il est recommandé d’observer le patient pendant au moins un mois pour vérifier s’il existe ou non une symptomatologie.

Plus tard, différents antibiotiques seront appliqués en fonction des caractéristiques du patient, de l'évolution de la maladie et des symptômes. Ce traitement guérit généralement la maladie sur une période de plusieurs semaines, bien que des symptômes résiduels puissent parfois apparaître. Dans les cas où cette maladie est chronique , il peut être nécessaire d’appliquer un programme de traitement antibiotique plus continu au fil du temps.

Les analgésiques peuvent également être utilisés pour lutter contre d'éventuelles douleurs musculaires ou d'autres médicaments pour contrôler la fièvre et d'autres symptômes apparaissant au cours de l'affection.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Herrera, O .; Infante, J .; Ramírez, R. & Lavastida, H. (2012). Maladie de Lyme: histoire, microbiologie, épizootiologie et épidémiologie. Journal cubain d'hygiène et d'épidémiologie, 50 (2). Ville de la Havane, Cuba.
  • Dickinson, F.O. & Batlle, M.C. (1997). Borréliose de Lyme: approche d’une maladie infectieuse émergente. Journal cubain d'hygiène et d'épidémiologie, 35 (2). Ville de la Havane, Cuba.
Articles Connexes