yes, therapy helps!
Macho women exist, and these 5 attitudes define them

Macho women exist, and these 5 attitudes define them

November 27, 2021

Machismo is a complex phenomenon that, over the centuries, has found different ways of expressing themselves. This means that in different cultures it is reflected through different attitudes and actions. However, there is another aspect that adds complexity to the issue: machismo is not only expressed in men.

And it is that the fruit of the inequality and millennial discrimination that women have suffered has also been reflected in the type of values, ideas and attitudes that many of them, like the rest of society, have adopted.

Macho women are a reality , although their ideas about gender roles put them in the spotlight. This article is dedicated to exploring some of the basic actions and ideas through which this sexism manifests itself.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Micromachismos: 4 subtle samples of everyday machismo"

Why are there macho women?

We must bear in mind that machismo, being the product of a collective phenomenon and not individual, can not be analyzed as it is done, for example, with the experimentation of pain. Most people avoid painful situations, but machismo does not have to have immediate negative consequences for the women who reproduce it.

Thus, being a woman is totally compatible with being macho, at least in practice, although in the long run it hurts her. But Obviously, this does not mean that these should be criminalized ; At the end of the day, their actions harm them, feeding the rigidity of the gender roles in which the female gender has reserved the worst part.


The awareness and improvement of the material subsistence situations of these people should be the objective, but for this it is necessary. know how to detect internalized misogyny that occurs in people of both sexes.

  • Related article: "Misogyny: 9 attitudes that portray misogynists"

Sexist attitudes that appear in some women

These are some behavioral patterns that occur relatively commonly in sexist women. All of them are also presented, with some variations, in macho men, but there are some nuances that are worth taking into account in the first case, since in this internalized misogyny is usually more subtle.

1. Criticize others judging them for their sex life

Women with internalized misogyny may come to judge others very harshly for no reason, simply because in their opinion they do not adapt well to their gender roles. Y one of the most ingrained gender roles is that of the person oriented towards the private and family environment, in which all the sexual and reproductive potential must be exclusive of one man.


As much as we have already gone through the decade of supposed sexual liberation, the idea that women should preserve their virginity until marriage continues to leave a mark on the morals of many people.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Sexist prejudice: explanatory theories"

2. They judge negatively women who get promotions

As we have seen, the traditional role of women has been confined to the domestic sphere . That is why, in the case of the female gender, the possibility of carving out a career is seen as a phase prior to marriage and, therefore, something in which it does not make sense to invest many efforts and time.

That's why women who are promoting and progressing in their careers they are viewed with suspicion for those who have internalized misogyny, among which are machista women.

3. Assume that motherhood is destiny

According to traditional standards, reproduction is the raison d'être of women. In addition, it is not about any type of reproduction, but that which goes hand in hand with the nuclear family model: husband, wife and children. It is common that all the mental complexity of the female gender is intended to reduce to the tasks related to the care of children emphasizing the role of genes or "the feminine essence" above learning or the freedom to choose other ways of life.

Thus, these people use their position as women to speak with authority to point out what is female and what is not, making it establish a kind of competition to find a husband and have children before passing a certain threshold of age, and allowing himself the luxury of criticizing those who do not follow these rules of the game.

4. They make paying expensive the exit of youth

As from a macho perspective aesthetics speaks a lot about the value of women (as reproductive elements that are supposed to be), those women who pass a certain age are ridiculed and underestimated by it. Is a type of discrimination that points to what one is, not to what one is doing , just like racism.

5.Fiercely monitor compliance with beauty canons

For the same reason that we have seen in the previous section, the macho woman looks with magnifying glass at the possible aesthetic imperfections that occur in the others, and they point them out publicly. The result is an increase in social pressure that directs the female gender towards an obsession with beauty in its smallest details.


What Nice Men Don’t Say To Nice Women (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les femmes machistes existent, et ces 5 attitudes les définissent

Les femmes machistes existent, et ces 5 attitudes les définissent

Novembre 26, 2022

Le machisme est un phénomène complexe qui, au fil des siècles, a trouvé différentes manières de s’exprimer. Cela signifie que dans différentes cultures, cela se traduit par différentes attitudes et actions. Cependant, un autre aspect ajoute à la complexité du problème: le machisme ne s'exprime pas uniquement chez les hommes.

Et c’est que les fruits de l’inégalité et de la discrimination millénaire dont les femmes sont victimes se sont également reflétés dans le type de valeurs, d’idées et d’attitudes que beaucoup d’entre elles, comme le reste de la société, ont adoptées.

Les femmes machistes sont une réalité , bien que leurs idées sur les rôles de genre les mettent sous les projecteurs. Cet article est consacré à explorer certaines des actions et idées de base à travers lesquelles ce sexisme se manifeste.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Micromachismos: 4 échantillons subtils de machisme de tous les jours"

Pourquoi y a-t-il des femmes machistes?

Il ne faut pas oublier que le machisme, produit d’un phénomène collectif et non individuel, ne peut être analysé comme c’est le cas, par exemple, avec l’expérimentation de la douleur. La plupart des gens évitent les situations douloureuses, mais le machisme ne doit pas avoir de conséquences négatives immédiates pour les femmes qui le reproduisent.

Ainsi, être une femme est tout à fait compatible avec le machisme, du moins dans la pratique, bien que cela lui fasse mal à long terme. Mais De toute évidence, cela ne signifie pas que ceux-ci doivent être criminalisés ; En fin de compte, leurs actions leur nuisent, alimentant la rigidité des rôles de genre dans lesquels le genre féminin a réservé le pire.


L’objectif devrait être la prise de conscience et l’amélioration des conditions matérielles de subsistance de ces personnes, mais c’est pour cela nécessaire. savoir détecter la misogynie intériorisée cela se produit chez les personnes des deux sexes.

  • Article connexe: "Misogynie: 9 attitudes qui dépeignent les misogynes"

Attitudes sexistes qui apparaissent chez certaines femmes

Certains comportements se produisent assez fréquemment chez les femmes sexistes. Tous sont également présentés, avec quelques variantes, chez les hommes machistes, mais il convient de prendre en compte certaines nuances dans le premier cas, car cette misogynie intériorisée est généralement plus subtile.

1. Critiquer les autres qui les jugent pour leur vie sexuelle

Les femmes avec une misogynie intériorisée peuvent en arriver à juger les autres très durement sans raison, simplement parce que, à leur avis, elles ne s'adaptent pas bien à leurs rôles de genre. Y l'un des rôles de genre les plus enracinés est celui de la personne orientée vers l'environnement privé et familial, dans lequel tout le potentiel sexuel et reproductif doit être exclusif d'un seul homme.


Bien que nous ayons déjà traversé la décennie supposée de la libération sexuelle, l'idée que les femmes devraient préserver leur virginité jusqu'au mariage continue de laisser une marque sur la morale de nombreuses personnes.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Préjugés sexistes: théories explicatives"

2. Ils jugent négativement les femmes qui obtiennent des promotions

Comme nous l’avons vu, le rôle traditionnel des femmes a été confiné à la sphère domestique . C’est pourquoi, dans le cas du sexe féminin, la possibilité de se lancer dans une carrière est considérée comme une phase avant le mariage et, par conséquent, comme une étape dans laquelle il n’a pas de sens d’investir beaucoup de temps et d’efforts.

C’est pourquoi les femmes qui promeuvent et progressent dans leur carrière ils sont regardés avec suspicion pour ceux qui ont intériorisé la misogynie, parmi lesquels se trouvent les femmes machistes.

3. Supposer que la maternité est le destin

Selon les normes traditionnelles, la reproduction est la raison d'être de la femme. De plus, il ne s'agit pas de n'importe quel type de reproduction, mais de ce qui va de pair avec le modèle de famille nucléaire: mari, femme et enfants. Il est courant que toute la complexité mentale du genre féminin ait pour but de réduire les tâches liées à la garde des enfants mettant l'accent sur le rôle des gènes ou "l'essence féminine" au-dessus de l'apprentissage ou de la liberté de choisir d'autres modes de vie.

Ainsi, ces personnes utilisent leur position de femme pour parler avec autorité afin d'indiquer ce qui est une femme et ce qui ne l'est pas, ce qui en fait une sorte de compétition pour trouver un mari et avoir des enfants avant d'atteindre un certain seuil d'âge. et se permettre le luxe de critiquer ceux qui ne suivent pas ces règles du jeu.

4. Ils font payer cher la sortie de la jeunesse

Comme dans une perspective machiste, l’esthétique parle beaucoup de la valeur des femmes (en tant qu’éléments de reproduction supposés être), les femmes qui dépassent un certain âge sont ridiculisées et sous-estimées. C'est un type de discrimination qui pointe vers ce que l'on est, pas sur ce que l'on fait , tout comme le racisme.

5Surveiller scrupuleusement la conformité avec les canons de beauté

Pour la même raison que celle que nous avons vue dans la section précédente, la femme machiste examine à la loupe les éventuelles imperfections esthétiques des autres et les signale publiquement. Il en résulte une augmentation de la pression sociale qui oriente le genre féminin vers une obsession de la beauté dans ses moindres détails.


Lesbian community in The Netherlands - Anthropology of the Dutch (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes