yes, therapy helps!
Main differences between growth and economic development

Main differences between growth and economic development

July 15, 2024

It has not been many years since we emerged from the last major economic crisis, the 2008 euro crisis. In fact, despite the fact that the situation has stopped being as critical as before, the consequences of this are still valid in part of the globe , with which we still could not talk about a total recovery.

However, fortunately it seems little by little different countries are improving their situation and it is observed compared to the first years of crisis some growth and economic development . With regard to these last two terms, they are often considered practically identical synonyms.

But although they have a certain relationship with each other, the truth is that they actually refer to different concepts. That is why throughout this article we are going to make a brief explanation of the differences between economic development and economic growth .


  • Related article: "William Edwards Deming: biography of this statistician and consultant"

Economic growth: basic concept

Economic growth is understood as that situation or economic reality in which the set of goods and services produced per year surpass those of the previous period . In other words, we consider that we are in a situation of economic growth when the production of a country or territory is greater than during the period (usually year) immediately preceding, with a greater volume of income.

This growth is perceived per capita, that is, it is derived from the increase in the value of each worker's production.


This growth can lead to an increase in the welfare of the population as a whole , as there is greater economic capacity on the part of the territory to search for the benefit of citizens. However, although we are talking about something that usually leads to this improvement, it does not always necessarily imply it, and it is not necessary for economic growth to exist if the capital increase is reflected in the quality of life of the population as a whole.

And is that economic growth is defined as a purely quantitative factor and directly measurable through existing capital figures. It can be assessed from different statistical indicators, among which the Gross Domestic Product or GDP stands out as the main one .

What is economic development?

With regard to economic development, this concept is referring to the socio-economic situation in which there is an increase in the quality of life of the inhabitants of a country, which increases the conditions of citizens and their prosperity. a generalized form.


The economic development happens when the growth of the economy translates into a progress of the whole of the community that inhabits the country or territory, in an equitable manner and affecting different areas.

On the other hand, economic development implies for example the improvement of health and education systems, infrastructure, life expectancy or economic capacity of each of the members of society. It also includes the development of more egalitarian and inclusive social policies , as well as the increase of freedoms and rights (also on the other side of their duties) and the participation of the citizen in political and community life.

The concept of economic development, unlike the concept of growth, it is not quantitative but qualitative : development is difficult to measure directly, and different mechanisms should be used such as satisfaction indexes, measurement of the different aspects that influence the quality of life, literacy or access to employment or training.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 45 best sentences about Economics and Finance"

Main differences between growth and economic development

Observing the above definitions of development and economic growth already allow us to indirectly glimpse some of the main differences between both concepts. However, to make them more evident, we will now delve into what aspects make us differentiate between economic growth and economic development.

1. How it is applied

To begin with, one of the main and most important differences is that while economic growth implies only the existence of a higher level of capital within the territory , the development implies that this growth or the economic situation of the country in question will be applied in the improvement of the welfare of each one of its inhabitants.

2. Economic development needs growth

They also differ in that while economic development generally requires economic growth in order to be effective, the latter need not need or lead to development. Likewise, in order for a country's economic development to take place, growth may be necessary, but it is not enough to generate it: it requires a correct application of the benefits . In addition, while economic growth refers mainly to the economic in the case of development, we tend to focus instead on the structural and social changes that can be derived from it.

3. Qualitative or quantitative indicators

Another difference is in the way in which the indicator of each of them is obtained. While growth is a quantitative measure that is obtained from relatively simple mathematical calculations, calculating the level of economic development involves making a qualitative and not totally accurate assessment of the general situation of the population.

4. Degree of stability

Finally, it should be taken into account that while economic growth can easily see trimmed and move to a situation of degrowth In the case of economic development, this tends to be more stable in terms of most of its advances, although it can also be deeply influenced by the alteration of the economy.

Bibliographic references:

  • Galor, O. (2005) From Stagnation to Growth: Unified Growth Theory. Handbook of Economic Growth, Elsevier.
  • Maddison, A. (2001). The World Economy: A Millennial Perspective, Paris, OECD.

Different Between Economic Growth and Economic Development (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Principales différences entre croissance et développement économique

Principales différences entre croissance et développement économique

Octobre 19, 2020

Cela fait longtemps que nous ne sommes pas sortis de la dernière crise économique majeure, la crise de l'euro de 2008. En fait, même si la situation a cessé d'être aussi critique qu'avant, ses conséquences sont encore valables dans une partie du monde. , avec lequel nous ne pouvions toujours pas parler de récupération totale.

Cependant, heureusement, il semble que peu à peu différents pays améliorent leur situation et on l'observe par rapport aux premières années de crise un peu de croissance et de développement économique . En ce qui concerne ces deux derniers termes, ils sont souvent considérés comme des synonymes pratiquement identiques.

Mais bien qu'ils aient une certaine relation les uns avec les autres, la vérité est qu'ils renvoient à des concepts différents. C’est pourquoi, tout au long de cet article, nous allons faire une brève explication des différences entre développement économique et croissance économique .


  • Article connexe: "William Edwards Deming: biographie de ce statisticien et consultant"

Croissance économique: concept de base

La croissance économique est comprise comme la situation ou la réalité économique dans laquelle l'ensemble des biens et services produits par an dépasse celui de la période précédente . En d'autres termes, nous considérons que nous sommes en situation de croissance économique lorsque la production d'un pays ou d'un territoire est supérieure à celle de la période (généralement l'année) qui précède, avec un volume de revenu plus important.

Cette croissance est perçue par habitant, c’est-à-dire qu’elle découle de l’augmentation de la valeur de la production de chaque travailleur.


Cette croissance peut conduire à une augmentation du bien-être de la population dans son ensemble , étant donné que la capacité économique du territoire est plus grande de rechercher le bénéfice des citoyens. Cependant, bien que nous parlions de quelque chose qui conduit habituellement à cette amélioration, cela ne l’implique pas nécessairement et il n’est pas nécessaire que la croissance économique existe si l’augmentation de capital se reflète dans la qualité de vie de la population dans son ensemble.

Et est-ce que la croissance économique est définie comme un facteur purement quantitatif et directement mesurable à travers les chiffres de capital existants. Il peut être évalué à partir de différents indicateurs statistiques, parmi lesquels le produit intérieur brut ou le PIB ressort comme le principal .

Qu'est-ce que le développement économique?

En ce qui concerne le développement économique, ce concept fait référence à la situation socio-économique dans laquelle la qualité de la vie des habitants d’un pays augmente, ce qui accroît la condition des citoyens et leur prospérité. une forme généralisée.


Le développement économique se produit lorsque la croissance de l'économie se traduit par un progrès de l'ensemble de la communauté qui habite le pays ou le territoire, de manière équitable et qui touche différentes zones.

D'autre part, le développement économique implique par exemple l'amélioration des systèmes de santé et d'éducation, des infrastructures, de l'espérance de vie ou de la capacité économique de chacun des membres de la société. Cela inclut également le développement de politiques sociales plus égalitaires et inclusives , ainsi que l’augmentation des libertés et des droits (également en deçà de leurs devoirs) et la participation du citoyen à la vie politique et communautaire.

Le concept de développement économique, contrairement au concept de croissance, ce n'est pas quantitatif mais qualitatif : le développement est difficile à mesurer directement, et différents mécanismes devraient être utilisés, tels que les indices de satisfaction, la mesure des différents aspects influençant la qualité de la vie, l’alphabétisation ou l’accès à l’emploi ou à la formation.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 45 meilleures phrases sur l'économie et la finance"

Principales différences entre croissance et développement économique

L’observation des définitions ci-dessus du développement et de la croissance économique nous permet déjà de déceler indirectement certaines des principales différences entre les deux concepts. Cependant, pour les rendre plus évidentes, nous allons maintenant nous intéresser aux aspects qui nous permettent de différencier croissance économique et développement économique.

1. Comment est-il appliqué

Pour commencer, l’une des différences principales et majeures est que si la croissance économique n'implique que l'existence d'un niveau de capital supérieur sur le territoire , le développement implique que cette croissance ou la situation économique du pays en question sera appliquée à l'amélioration du bien-être de chacun de ses habitants.

2. Le développement économique a besoin de croissance

Ils diffèrent également par le fait que si le développement économique nécessite généralement la croissance économique pour être efficace, cette dernière n’a pas besoin de développement ni ne le conduit. De même, pour que le développement économique d'un pays puisse avoir lieu, la croissance peut être nécessaire, mais il ne suffit pas de la générer: il nécessite une application correcte des avantages . En outre, bien que la croissance économique se réfère principalement au développement économique, nous avons plutôt tendance à nous concentrer sur les changements structurels et sociaux qui peuvent en découler.

3. Indicateurs qualitatifs ou quantitatifs

Une autre différence réside dans la manière dont l'indicateur de chacun d'entre eux est obtenu. Si la croissance est une mesure quantitative obtenue à partir de calculs mathématiques relativement simples, le calcul du niveau de développement économique implique une évaluation qualitative et non totalement précise de la situation générale de la population.

4. Degré de stabilité

Enfin, il faut tenir compte du fait que si la croissance économique peut facilement voir coupé et passer à une situation de décroissance Dans le cas du développement économique, la plupart de ses progrès ont tendance à être plus stables, même s’il peut aussi être profondément influencé par l’altération de l’économie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Galor, O. (2005) De la stagnation à la croissance: théorie de la croissance unifiée. Manuel de croissance économique, Elsevier.
  • Maddison, A. (2001). L'économie mondiale: une perspective millénaire, Paris, OCDE.

Croissance et développement - Economie - Terminale STMG - digiSchool (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes