yes, therapy helps!
Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment

Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment

May 6, 2021

Throughout our lives, it is possible to feel sad for some reason or to have a bad streak in the emotional field. And even though nobody likes to go through these potholes, The truth is that suffering can even make you grow as a person , and, ultimately, be positive for your personal development.

However, it is necessary to be aware that, in some cases, what we might think is simple sadness or an emotional slump, is actually a depressive process; that is, pathological. There are different types of depression, and in this article we will talk about the most serious depressive disorder: major depression .

  • Related text: "Are there several types of depression?"

Major depression: what is it?

Major depression is a mood disorder characterized by the appearance of one or more depressive episodes of minimum two weeks of duration, and presents a set of symptoms of affective predominance (pathological sadness, apathy, anhedonia, despair, decay, irritability, etc.). However, symptoms of cognitive, volitional and somatic type are also present during their course.


Thus, people who have major depression are not simply "sad", but tend to show an extreme lack of initiative to do anything, as well as an inability to be cheerful and feel pleasure, a phenomenon known as anhedonia. They also experience other physical and psychological problems that significantly damage their quality of life.

On the other hand, major depression also affects how you think and reason. In general, the total or partial lack of motivation makes people who have entered into a crisis of this type seem absent and do not feel like doing anything, not even think much (which does not mean they have mental disability).


The major depressive picture can be divided into mild, moderate or severe, and It usually has its beginning during adolescence or young adulthood . The individual suffering from this condition may experience phases of normal mood between depressive phases that may last for months or years.

On the other hand, major depression is a type of unipolar depression, that is, it does not present phases of mania (which differentiates it from bipolarity), and the patient can have very serious problems if he does not receive adequate treatment.

Frequent symptoms

According to the fifth edition of the Manual Statistical Diagnosis of Mental Disorders (DSM-V), for the diagnosis of major depression, the subject must have five (or more) of the following symptoms during the depressive period (at least two weeks) .

These must represent a change with respect to the patient's previous activity; and one of the symptoms must be (1) depressed mood or (2) loss of interest or ability to feel pleasure.


  • Depressive mood most of the day , almost every day (1)
  • Loss of interest in activities that were rewarding before (2)
  • Loss or gain of weight
  • Insomnia or hypersomnia
  • Low self-esteem
  • Problems of concentration and problems to make decisions
  • Feelings of guilt
  • Suicidal thoughts
  • Agitation or psychomotor retardation almost every day
  • Fatigue or loss of energy almost every day

Types of major depression

In addition, the DSM-V specifies that symptoms must cause clinically significant distress or impairment in social, occupational or other important areas of functioning. The episode can not be attributed to the physiological effects of a substance or other medical condition, and the episode of major depression is not better explained by a schizoaffective disorder, schizophrenia, schizophreniform disorder, delusional disorder, or other specified or unspecified disorder of the disorder. spectrum of schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders.

There are two types of major depression:

  • Major depression with single episode : there is only the presence of a single depressive event in the patient's life.
  • Major recurrent depression : Depressive symptoms appear in two or more episodes in the patient's life. The separation between depressive episodes should be at least 2 months without presenting the symptoms

Causes of this mood disorder

Major depression is a multifactorial phenomenon , so that different factors could cause this psychopathology: genetic factors, experiences of childhood and current psychosocial adversities (social context and aspects of personality).

In addition, difficulties in social relationships, cognitive dysfunctions or socio-economic status could be risk factors for the development of this disorder. Probably, but, the interaction of biological, psychological and social factors favor the appearance of major depression.

As well major depression has been linked to a lack of dopamine in the reward system of the brain, which makes the person have no goals. This fact can be the trigger for a sedentary and monotonous lifestyle and the serious self-esteem problems that usually appear in these cases.

Treatment

Major depression is a serious pathology but, fortunately, treatable . Treatment options usually vary depending on the severity of the symptoms, and in severe cases, the administration of psychotropic drugs combined with psychotherapy seems to be the most appropriate treatment.

However, in recent years the effectiveness of other treatments has been shown, for example, that of Electroconvulsive Therapy (TEC) , which is usually used when depressive symptoms are severe or drug therapy does not work. Of course, this therapy is not comparable to the old electroshock, since the intensity of the discharges is much lower.

On the other hand, while Mindfulness has shown some effectiveness in intervening in cases of mild depression, with major depression does not seem to work.

However, people diagnosed with major depression they can fall easily in this type of crisis , so that the treatment is considered as a lifelong aid.

Treatment with psychotherapy

Psychological therapy has proven to be an effective tool for the treatment of depression , especially cognitive-behavioral therapy. This type of therapy considers the patient as a system that processes information from the environment before issuing a response. That is, the individual classifies, evaluates and gives meaning to the stimulus in terms of their set of experiences from the interaction with the environment and their beliefs, assumptions, attitudes, worldviews and self-assessments.

In cognitive behavioral therapy, different techniques are used that aim to have a positive effect on low self-esteem, negative problem-solving styles or the way of thinking and evaluating the events that occur around the patient. Here are some of the most common cognitive behavioral techniques:

  • Self-observation , the registration forms or the establishment of realistic technical goals are techniques that are often used and have shown their effectiveness.
  • Cognitive restructuring : The cognitive restructuring is used so that patient can have knowledge about their own emotions or thoughts and can detect irrational thoughts and replace them with more adaptive ideas or beliefs. Among the most well-known programs for the treatment of depression, are: the program of cognitive restructuring of Aaron Beck or Albert Ellis.
  • Development of problem solving skills : Deficits in problem solving are related to depression, so the training in problem solving is a good therapeutic strategy. In addition, social skills training and assertive training are also useful treatments for this condition.

Other forms of psychological therapy have also been shown to be effective in the treatment of depression. For example: Interpersonal psychotherapy, which treats depression as a disease associated with dysfunction in personal relationships; or cognitive therapy based on mindfulness or MBCT (Mindfulness-based cognitive therapy).

Pharmacotherapy

Although in less severe cases of depression or in other types of depression, the application of psychotropic drugs is not always necessary, in severe cases of depressive disorder the administration of different medications is advised during a certain period of time.

The most used antidepressant drugs are the following:

  • Tricyclic antidepressants (TCAs) These are known as first-generation antidepressant drugs, although they are rarely used as the first pharmacological alternative because of their side effects. Common side effects caused by these medications include dry mouth, blurred vision, constipation, difficulty urinating, worsening glaucoma, impaired thinking and fatigue. These drugs can also affect blood pressure and heart rate, so they are not recommended for older people. Some examples are: Amitriptyline, Clomipramine or Nortriptyline.
  • Inhibitors of Monoaminooxidase (MAOIs) : MAOIs are antidepressants that act by blocking the action of the enzyme monoamine oxidase. Like the previous ones, they are used less frequently due to their serious side effects: weakness, dizziness, headaches and tremors. Tranilciprominao and Iproniazida are some examples of this drug.
  • Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRIs) : They are the most used and are usually the first option in the pharmacological treatment of depression. These medications usually have fewer side effects than other antidepressants, although they can also cause dry mouth, nausea, nervousness, insomnia, sexual problems and headaches.Fluoxetine (Prozac) is the most well-known SSRI, although other drugs of this group are also commonly used, such as: Citalopram, Paroxetine or Sertraline.

Excess Serotonin and Serotonin Syndrome

Although it is also possible to find other types of antidepressants such as Selective Inhibitors of Noradrenaline Reuptake (ISRN), Selective Inhibitors of Noradrenaline and Dopamine Reuptake (ISRND) or atypical antidepressants, when consuming antidepressants that have the ability to increase Serotonin release is necessary to be careful with your overdose or interaction with other medications.

The excess stimulation of serotonin on postsynaptic receptors 5-HT1A and 5-HT2A at central and peripheral levels has negative effects for the organism that can become very serious and even fatal due to the Serotonin Syndrome.

  • You can learn more about this syndrome in our article: "Serotonin syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Bibliographic references:

  • Drake RE, Cimpean D, Torrey WC. (2009). Shared decision making in mental health: prospects for personalized medicine. Dialogues Clin Neurosci.
  • World Health Organization. ICD 10. (1992). Tenth Revision of the International Classification of Diseases. Mental and Behavioral Disorders: Clinical Descriptions and Guidelines for Diagnosis. Madrid: Meditor.
  • Perestelo Pérez L, González Lorenzo M, Rivero Santana AJ, Pérez Ramos J. (2007). Help tools for decision making of patients with depression. Quality Plan for the SNS of the MSPS. SESCS; 2010. STD Reports.

Major Depressive Disorder | Clinical Presentation (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement

Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 28, 2022

Tout au long de notre vie, il est possible de se sentir triste pour une raison quelconque ou d'avoir une mauvaise passe dans le champ émotionnel. Et même si personne n'aime passer par ces marmites, La vérité est que la souffrance peut même vous faire grandir en tant que personne et, finalement, être positif pour votre développement personnel.

Cependant, il est nécessaire de savoir que, dans certains cas, ce que nous pourrions penser d’une simple tristesse ou d’un effondrement émotionnel est en réalité un processus dépressif; c'est pathologique. Il existe différents types de dépression, et dans cet article nous parlerons de le trouble dépressif le plus grave: la dépression majeure .

  • Texte associé: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

La dépression majeure: qu'est-ce que c'est?

La dépression majeure est un trouble de l'humeur caractérisé par l'apparition d'un ou de plusieurs épisodes dépressifs d'une durée minimale de deux semaines et présente un ensemble de symptômes de prédominance affective (tristesse pathologique, apathie, anhédonie, désespoir, pourriture, irritabilité, etc.). Cependant, des symptômes de type cognitif, volitif et somatique sont également présents au cours de leur évolution.


Ainsi, les personnes souffrant de dépression majeure ne sont pas simplement "tristes", mais ont tendance à faire preuve d'un manque d'initiative extrême, d'une incapacité à être gaie et à ressentir du plaisir, un phénomène connu sous le nom d'anhédonie. Ils connaissent également d’autres problèmes physiques et psychologiques qui nuisent considérablement à leur qualité de vie.

D'autre part, la dépression majeure affecte également votre façon de penser et de raisonner. En général, le manque total ou partiel de motivation fait en sorte que les personnes qui sont entrées dans une crise de ce type semblent absentes et n'ont pas envie de faire quoi que ce soit, ne pensent même pas beaucoup (ce qui ne signifie pas qu'elles ont un handicap mental).


L’image dépressive majeure peut être divisée en légère, modérée ou grave, et Il commence généralement à l'adolescence ou au début de l'âge adulte . L'individu souffrant de cette maladie peut connaître des phases d'humeur normale entre des phases dépressives pouvant durer des mois ou des années.

Par ailleurs, la dépression majeure est un type de dépression unipolaire, c’est-à-dire qu’elle ne présente pas de phases maniaques (ce qui la différencie de la bipolarité) et que le patient peut avoir de très graves problèmes s’il ne reçoit pas un traitement adéquat.

Symptômes fréquents

Selon la cinquième édition du Manuel sur le diagnostic statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-V), pour le diagnostic de la dépression majeure, le sujet doit avoir cinq (ou plus) des symptômes suivants pendant la période dépressive (au moins deux semaines) .

Celles-ci doivent représenter un changement par rapport à l'activité antérieure du patient; et l'un des symptômes doit être (1) une humeur dépressive ou (2) une perte d'intérêt ou une capacité à ressentir du plaisir.


  • Humeur dépressive presque toute la journée presque tous les jours (1)
  • Perte d'intérêt pour les activités qui ont été enrichissantes avant (2)
  • Perte ou gain de poids
  • Insomnie ou hypersomnie
  • Faible estime de soi
  • Problèmes de concentration et problèmes pour prendre des décisions
  • Sentiments de culpabilité
  • Pensées suicidaires
  • Agitation ou retard psychomoteur presque tous les jours
  • Fatigue ou perte d'énergie presque tous les jours

Types de dépression majeure

En outre, le DSM-V spécifie que les symptômes doivent provoquer une détresse cliniquement significative ou une altération du fonctionnement social, professionnel ou autre. L'épisode ne peut pas être attribué aux effets physiologiques d'une substance ou d'une autre condition médicale, et l'épisode de dépression majeure n'est pas mieux expliqué par un trouble schizo-affectif, la schizophrénie, un trouble schizophréniforme, un trouble délirant ou un autre trouble spécifié ou non spécifié du trouble. spectre de la schizophrénie et d’autres troubles psychotiques.

Il existe deux types de dépression majeure:

  • Dépression majeure avec un seul épisode : il n'y a que la présence d'un seul événement dépressif dans la vie du patient.
  • Dépression récurrente majeure : Les symptômes dépressifs apparaissent dans deux épisodes ou plus de la vie du patient. La séparation entre les épisodes dépressifs doit durer au moins 2 mois sans présenter les symptômes.

Causes de ce trouble de l'humeur

La dépression majeure est un phénomène multifactoriel , afin que différents facteurs puissent être à l’origine de cette psychopathologie: facteurs génétiques, expériences de l’enfance et difficultés psychosociales actuelles (contexte social et aspects de la personnalité).

De plus, des difficultés dans les relations sociales, des dysfonctionnements cognitifs ou un statut socio-économique pourraient être des facteurs de risque pour le développement de ce trouble. Probablement, mais l’interaction de facteurs biologiques, psychologiques et sociaux favorise l’apparition d’une dépression majeure.

Aussi la dépression majeure a été liée à un manque de dopamine dans le système de récompense du cerveau, ce qui fait que la personne n’a aucun but. Ce fait peut être l'élément déclencheur d'un style de vie sédentaire et monotone et des graves problèmes d'estime de soi qui apparaissent généralement dans ces cas.

Traitement

La dépression majeure est une pathologie grave mais, heureusement, traitable . Les options de traitement varient généralement en fonction de la gravité des symptômes et, dans les cas graves, l'administration de psychotropes combinée à une psychothérapie semble être le traitement le plus approprié.

Cependant, au cours des dernières années, l’efficacité d’autres traitements a été démontrée, par exemple celle de Thérapie électroconvulsive (TEC) , qui est généralement utilisé lorsque les symptômes dépressifs sont sévères ou que la pharmacothérapie ne fonctionne pas. Bien sûr, cette thérapie n’est pas comparable à l’ancienne électrochoc, puisque l’intensité des décharges est beaucoup plus faible.

Par ailleurs, alors que Mindfulness a fait preuve d’une certaine efficacité pour intervenir dans les cas de dépression légère, la dépression majeure ne semble pas fonctionner.

Cependant, les personnes diagnostiquées avec une dépression majeure ils peuvent tomber facilement dans ce type de crise , de sorte que le traitement est considéré comme une aide à vie.

Traitement avec psychothérapie

La thérapie psychologique s'est avérée être un outil efficace pour le traitement de la dépression , en particulier la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale. Ce type de traitement considère le patient comme un système qui traite les informations de l’environnement avant de donner une réponse. En d’autres termes, l’individu classe, évalue et donne un sens au stimulus en termes de son ensemble d’expériences tirées de l’interaction avec l’environnement et de ses croyances, hypothèses, attitudes, visions du monde et auto-évaluations.

En thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, différentes techniques sont utilisées pour avoir un effet positif sur la faible estime de soi, les styles de résolution de problèmes négatifs ou la façon de penser et d’évaluer les événements survenant autour du patient. Voici quelques-unes des techniques cognitivo-comportementales les plus courantes:

  • Auto-observation , les formulaires d’inscription ou l’établissement d’objectifs techniques réalistes sont des techniques souvent utilisées et qui ont démontré leur efficacité.
  • Restructuration cognitive : La restructuration cognitive est utilisée afin que le patient puisse avoir une connaissance de ses propres émotions ou pensées, puisse détecter des pensées irrationnelles et les remplacer par des idées ou des croyances plus adaptatives. Parmi les programmes les plus connus pour le traitement de la dépression, on peut citer: le programme de restructuration cognitive d’Aaron Beck ou d’Albert Ellis.
  • Développement des compétences de résolution de problèmes : Les déficits dans la résolution de problèmes sont liés à la dépression, de sorte que la formation à la résolution de problèmes est une bonne stratégie thérapeutique. En outre, la formation aux compétences sociales et la formation assertive sont également des traitements utiles pour cette condition.

D'autres formes de thérapie psychologique se sont également avérées efficaces dans le traitement de la dépression. Par exemple: la psychothérapie interpersonnelle, qui traite la dépression comme une maladie associée à un dysfonctionnement dans les relations personnelles; ou thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience ou MBCT (thérapie cognitive basée sur la conscience).

Traitement pharmacologique

Bien que dans les cas moins graves de dépression ou dans d'autres types de dépression, l'application de médicaments psychotropes ne soit pas toujours nécessaire, dans les cas graves de trouble dépressif, l'administration de médicaments différents est conseillée pendant une certaine période.

Les antidépresseurs les plus utilisés sont les suivants:

  • Antidépresseurs tricycliques (ATC) Ceux-ci sont connus sous le nom d'antidépresseurs de première génération, bien qu'ils soient rarement utilisés comme première alternative pharmacologique en raison de leurs effets secondaires. Les effets secondaires courants causés par ces médicaments comprennent la bouche sèche, une vision floue, la constipation, des difficultés à uriner, une aggravation du glaucome, une altération de la pensée et de la fatigue. Ces médicaments peuvent également affecter la pression artérielle et la fréquence cardiaque, ils ne sont donc pas recommandés pour les personnes âgées. Quelques exemples sont: Amitriptyline, Clomipramine ou Nortriptyline.
  • Inhibiteurs de la monoaminooxydase (IMAO) : Les IMAO sont des antidépresseurs qui bloquent l'action de l'enzyme monoamine oxydase. Comme les précédents, ils sont moins fréquemment utilisés en raison de leurs effets secondaires graves: faiblesse, vertiges, maux de tête et tremblements. Tranilciprominao et Iproniazida sont quelques exemples de ce médicament.
  • Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS) : Ils sont les plus utilisés et sont généralement la première option dans le traitement pharmacologique de la dépression. Ces médicaments ont généralement moins d’effets secondaires que les autres antidépresseurs, bien qu’ils puissent également provoquer une sécheresse de la bouche, des nausées, une nervosité, une insomnie, des problèmes sexuels et des maux de tête.La fluoxétine (Prozac) est l’ISRS le plus connu, bien que d’autres médicaments de ce groupe soient également couramment utilisés, tels que: le citalopram, la paroxétine ou la sertraline.

Excès de sérotonine et syndrome sérotoninergique

Bien qu'il soit également possible de trouver d'autres types d'antidépresseurs tels que les inhibiteurs sélectifs du recaptage de la noradrénaline (ISRN), les inhibiteurs sélectifs de la noradrénaline et le recaptage de la dopamine (ISRND) ou des antidépresseurs atypiques, lors de la consommation d'antidépresseurs La libération de sérotonine est nécessaire pour faire attention à votre surdosage ou à votre interaction avec d'autres médicaments.

La stimulation excessive de la sérotonine sur les récepteurs postsynaptiques 5-HT1A et 5-HT2A aux niveaux central et périphérique a des effets négatifs sur l'organisme qui peuvent devenir très graves, voire mortels, en raison du syndrome de sérotonine.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ce syndrome dans notre article: "Syndrome de sérotonine: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Drake RE, Cimpean D, Torrey WC. (2009). Prise de décision partagée en santé mentale: perspectives de médecine personnalisée. Dialogues Clin Neurosci.
  • Organisation mondiale de la SANTE. CIM 10. (1992). Dixième révision de la classification internationale des maladies. Troubles mentaux et du comportement: descriptions cliniques et lignes directrices pour le diagnostic. Madrid: Meditor.
  • Perestelo Pérez L, González Lorenzo M, Rivero Santana AJ, J. Pérez Ramos (2007). Outils d'aide à la décision pour les patients souffrant de dépression. Plan qualité pour le SNS du MSPS. SESCS; 2010. Rapports STD.

LA DEPRESSION : définition , symptômes , causes , traitements antidépresseurs / Noura Marashi (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes