yes, therapy helps!
Malthusianism: what is this political and economic theory?

Malthusianism: what is this political and economic theory?

May 1, 2024

Malthusianism is a political and economic theory which proposes that the population is growing at a rate that is incompatible with the food resources we have available. Although it is a theory that emerged more than two centuries ago, its concepts continue to be discussed and remain valid.

Below we explain what Malthusianism is, what its main concepts are and how it has been transformed to this day.

  • Related article: "Social engineering: the dark side of Psychology?"

What is Malthusianism?

Malthusianism is based on the proposal that the world population tends to increase faster than the food supply , with which, scarce resources will have to be shared among more and more individuals.


It was developed by Thomas Malthus in a 1798 text called An essay on the population principle, in which it studies the dynamics of the population, its exacerbated growth, and its relationship with the availability of resources that they would have to satisfy basic needs.

Malthus was skeptical towards positivist theories very popular in his time, and that sought the perfectibility of the human being, praising the advances and the diffusion of knowledge as a source of wellbeing and freedom for the future.

Faced with this tendency, Malthus argued that the development of humanity was limited by the pressures exerted by the accelerated demographic growth as opposed to little food availability.


For the above, According to Malthus it is necessary to create consistent controls on population growth , that offer an alternative to the population explosion and counteract the lack of resources. For Malthus, these controls can be of two types, preventive or positive.

Malthusianism is a perspective that significantly influenced the policies of England at the beginning of the 19th century, especially from a legislative debate where protectionist policies towards agriculture were generated; sector that had been affected after the Napoleonic wars.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The influence of Darwin in Psychology, in 5 points"

Preventive control and positive control

Preventive control, according to Malthus, consists in deciding individually in favor of stopping population growth. I mean, it's about limit yourself voluntarily and make rational decisions, for example, before creating a family .


These decisions should be based on the monthly income received and the real possibilities of ensuring a good quality of life for new members of a family.

On the other hand, exercising positive control of the population is about acting in face of the direct consequences of the lack of preventive control. That is, once society has not limited its population growth voluntarily, the balance is inevitably established through diseases, wars and famine.

According to Mathus, the positive control act more intensively towards the lower income population groups , where the percentage of infant death is higher, as well as unhealthy living conditions.

Preventive control and positive control eventually close the imbalance between the high population level and the limited availability of resources, but this is at the cost of creating conditions of marginalization and poverty that according to Malthus are unavoidable.

Technology and population in poverty

Other alternatives related to this are the technological development that can increase, for example, agricultural development, and also migration understood as distribution of the population in different cities .

However, according to Malthus, the technology only provides a momentary relief and an improvement in the levels of life also transient. On the other hand, migration would not end up redistributing the population, since the general conditions of the places of destination were very severe.

In the same sense, Malthus I was against the idea that the rich have to distribute their wealth to poor people , because this could make poor people stay in a passive position.

It could also make people in poverty feel that they actually have the real possibility of financially supporting a family, with which families could grow even more.

Neo-Malthusianism: changes in population control

Malthusianism has evolved as populations' needs change. Thus a new perspective called neo-Malthusianism has emerged, which has focused especially on the economic policy and population history of England .

The demographic historian E. A.Wrigley is considered one of the intellectuals who has retaken Malthusianism with greater force. He has proposed that before the industrial revolution, England had an "organic economic system," characterized by diminishing returns where subsistence levels were characterized by the use of wood and other organic materials as a source of energy.

In modern England, the cost of living and population were related, but as the population began to increase, the price indexes also increased.

Likewise, it proposes that fertility was the main determinant for the growth of the population, families were very extensive until the first half of the 19th century and although the fertility rate started to fall, still exacerbated growth is expected .

To study this relationship between fertility, neo-Malthusian literature involves comparative studies, especially between English and French experiences. At least until the French Revolution, the latter was characterized by a high-pressure system, while England was adjusted through nuptiality and preventive control.

Thus, in neo-Malthusianism and in other issues of economic policy, positive and preventive control measures are still discussed and how they have been transformed over time.

Bibliographic references:

  • Abramitzky, R. and Braggion, F. (S / A). Malthusian and Neo-Malthusian Theories. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Retrieved May 25, 2018. Available at http://people.stanford.edu/ranabr/sites/default/files/malthusian_and_neo_malthusian1_for_webpage_040731.pdf.

Population, Sustainability, and Malthus: Crash Course World History 215 (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Malthusianisme: quelle est cette théorie politique et économique?

Malthusianisme: quelle est cette théorie politique et économique?

Mai 16, 2022

Le malthusianisme est une théorie politique et économique qui propose que la population croisse à un taux incompatible avec les ressources alimentaires dont nous disposons. Bien que cette théorie ait émergé il y a plus de deux siècles, ses concepts continuent à être discutés et restent valables.

Nous expliquons ci-dessous ce qu'est le malthusianisme, quels en sont les concepts principaux et comment il a été transformé.

  • Article connexe: "Ingénierie sociale: le côté obscur de la psychologie?"

Qu'est-ce que le malthusianisme?

Le malthusianisme est basé sur la proposition que la population mondiale a tendance à augmenter plus rapidement que l'offre alimentaire , avec lesquels, des ressources rares devront être partagées entre de plus en plus d'individus.


Il a été développé par Thomas Malthus dans un texte de 1798 appelé Un essai sur le principe de population, dans lequel il étudie la dynamique de la population, sa croissance exacerbée et son lien avec la disponibilité des ressources qu'ils auraient à satisfaire leurs besoins essentiels.

Malthus était sceptique vis-à-vis des théories positivistes très populaires de son temps, qui cherchaient la perfectibilité de l'être humain, louant les progrès et la diffusion du savoir en tant que source de bien-être et de liberté pour l'avenir.

Devant cette tendance, Malthus a fait valoir que le développement de l’humanité était limité par les pressions exercées par la croissance démographique accélérée, par opposition à la faible disponibilité de nourriture.


Pour ce qui précède, Selon Malthus, il est nécessaire de créer des contrôles cohérents de la croissance démographique , qui offrent une alternative à l’explosion démographique et pallient le manque de ressources. Pour Malthus, ces contrôles peuvent être de deux types, préventifs ou positifs.

Le malthusianisme est une perspective qui a influencé de manière significative les politiques de l'Angleterre au début du 19ème siècle, notamment à partir d'un débat législatif qui a généré des politiques protectionnistes à l'égard de l'agriculture. secteur qui avait été touché après les guerres napoléoniennes.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "L'influence de Darwin en psychologie, en 5 points"

Contrôle préventif et contrôle positif

Le contrôle préventif, selon Malthus, consiste à décider individuellement d’arrêter la croissance de la population. Je veux dire, c'est à propos de limitez-vous volontairement et prenez des décisions rationnelles, par exemple, avant de créer une famille .


Ces décisions devraient être fondées sur le revenu mensuel perçu et les possibilités réelles d’assurer une bonne qualité de vie aux nouveaux membres de la famille.

Par ailleurs, exercer un contrôle positif sur la population revient à agir face aux conséquences directes de l’absence de contrôle préventif. En d’autres termes, dès que la société n’a pas limité volontairement la croissance de sa population, l’équilibre est inévitablement établi par les maladies, les guerres et la famine.

Selon Mathus, le contrôle positif agir plus intensément auprès des groupes de population à faible revenu , où le pourcentage de mortalité infantile est plus élevé, ainsi que les conditions de vie malsaines.

Le contrôle préventif et le contrôle positif finissent par résorber le déséquilibre entre le niveau élevé de la population et la disponibilité limitée des ressources, mais cela crée des conditions de marginalisation et de pauvreté inévitables selon Malthus.

Technologie et population en situation de pauvreté

Le développement technologique pouvant accroître, par exemple, le développement agricole, ainsi que d'autres la migration comprise comme répartition de la population dans différentes villes .

Cependant, selon Malthus, la technologie ne procure qu’un soulagement momentané et une amélioration des niveaux de vie transitoires également. En revanche, les migrations ne finiraient pas par redistribuer la population, les conditions générales des lieux de destination étant très sévères.

Dans le même sens, Malthus J'étais contre l'idée que les riches doivent distribuer leur richesse aux pauvres , car cela pourrait amener les pauvres à rester passifs.

Cela pourrait également donner aux personnes en situation de pauvreté le sentiment d’avoir réellement la possibilité de soutenir financièrement une famille, avec laquelle les familles pourraient encore grandir.

Néo-malthusianisme: changements dans le contrôle de la population

Le malthusianisme a évolué à mesure que les besoins des populations évoluent. Ainsi, une nouvelle perspective appelée néo-malthusianisme a émergé, qui s'est concentré en particulier sur la politique économique et l'histoire de la population de l'Angleterre .

L'historien démographique E. A.Wrigley est considéré comme l’un des intellectuels qui a repris le malthusianisme avec plus de force. Il a proposé qu'avant la révolution industrielle, l'Angleterre disposait d'un "système économique organique" caractérisé par des rendements décroissants, où les niveaux de subsistance étaient caractérisés par l'utilisation du bois et d'autres matériaux organiques comme source d'énergie.

Dans l'Angleterre moderne, le coût de la vie et la population étaient liés, mais à mesure que la population a commencé à augmenter, les indices de prix ont également augmenté.

De même, il est proposé que la fécondité soit le facteur déterminant de la croissance démographique. Les familles ont été très nombreuses jusqu'à la première moitié du XIXe siècle et, bien que le taux de fécondité ait commencé à baisser, une croissance encore exacerbée est attendue .

Pour étudier cette relation entre la fécondité, la littérature néo-malthusienne comporte des études comparatives, notamment entre des expériences en anglais et en français. Au moins jusqu'à la Révolution française, cette dernière était caractérisée par un système à haute pression, tandis que l'Angleterre était adaptée par la nuptialité et le contrôle préventif.

Ainsi, dans le néo-malthusianisme et dans d’autres questions de politique économique, les mesures de contrôle positives et préventives sont toujours discutées et comment elles ont été transformées au fil du temps.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Abramitzky, R. et Braggion, F. (S / A). Théories malthusiennes et néo-malthusiennes. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Récupéré le 25 mai 2018. Disponible à http://people.stanford.edu/ranabr/sites/default/files/malthusian_and_neo_malthusian1_for_webpage_040731.pdf.

ADAM SMITH, PRECURSEUR DE L'ECONOMIE MODERNE (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes