yes, therapy helps!
Mamillary bodies (brain region): definition, location and functions

Mamillary bodies (brain region): definition, location and functions

November 11, 2022

The human brain is made up of a set of organs, some of which are so small that it is not easy to recognize them at first sight. Mamillary bodies are one of these.

In this article we will see what are the mammillary bodies, what is their function in the encephalon and how it relates to various parts of the brain.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What are mamillary bodies?

The mammillary bodies are a pair of small spherical brain structures that they are located in the limbic system , the part of the brain that is responsible for generating and regulating emotions.


Specifically, they are located in the fornix, also called trine, an area that connects the hippocampus (responsible for managing the storage and recovery of memories) with the diencephalon, the latter being a structure located right in the middle of the brain and responsible for many vital tasks.

As for the composition of the mammillary bodies themselves, consists of a group of neuronal nuclei , that is, units in which different neurons are grouped together according to the tasks in which they participate (which, although they may be very similar, differ in different aspects).

  • Maybe you're interested: "Limbic system: the emotional part of the brain"

The connections of these areas of the brain

The mamillary bodies, being located in the cerebral trine, intervene in mental processes associated with emotions and memory.


Specifically, the mamillary bodies receive nervous impulses from the amygdala, related to the regulation of hormonal levels and with the intense emotional responses , and the hippocampus, which as we have seen is a kind of directory of memories that are stored in other parts of the brain.

Specifically, the hippocampus works with memories belonging to the declarative memory, while the amygdala manages the emotional memory, that is, the emotional frame of the memories.

On the other hand, the mamillary bodies send information to the thalamus , the largest brain structure of the diencephalon, responsible for integrating sensory information and generating immediate responses to certain stimuli.

But this should not be interpreted as a sign that the mamillary bodies make "bridges between the hippocampus and the amygdala on one side and the thalamus on the other.


This would occur if the mammillary bodies were simply a stretch of white matter, that is, a part of the brain composed simply of neuronal axons (the long part of these nerve cells, ordered to send nerve impulses to distant areas), but remember that the composition of these is based on the neuronal nuclei, that is, gray matter, areas in which the neuronal somas pile up and they are in almost direct contact with each other.

Thus, the mammillary bodies do not have a passive role in the brain, they do not limit themselves to sending nervous signals to other areas, but they process that information and transform it into something else, even if it is only something slightly different and that is destined to be mixed with the tangle of nervous signals that ascend to the upper part of the brain.

  • You may be interested: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?"

What is your function?

At the moment little is known about the exact function of mamillary bodies, among other things because they are so small that it is difficult to isolate their processes from others that are inscribed in the overall functioning of the trigone. You only know the generic role that has by connecting involved areas with emotion and memory with the thalamus , which in turn is one of the most complex structures of our nervous system (for example, it has been attributed the function of being the "button" that ignites consciousness).

Therefore, it is necessary to continue investigating to know exactly what is the function of these tiny sets of neuronal nuclei and to take into account that, perhaps, it is more useful to consider it not as an isolated thing but as part of a broader process carried out by the trine or even by the joint action of this and other parts of the brain.

Associated brain injuries, and their effects

It has been seen that lesions in the mammillary bodies are often associated with Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome.

As suggested by the connectivity of the mammillary bodies, memory problems are among the most prominent symptoms of this syndrome. Specifically, anterograde amnesia stands out, for which it is not possible or is very difficult to create new memories from what is lived in the present.

Thus, the clinical cases of patients with this type of lesion suggest that the mammillary bodies are very involved in memory. However, this region is also especially damaged in other diseases, such as Alzheimer's or schizophrenia .

The fact that each of these neurological or psychiatric conditions has a very wide range of symptoms and that it is not known whether a symptom is due specifically to damage to the mammillary bodies or to injuries in other parts of the central nervous system means that it is clear what is the concrete function of this set of cerebral structures.


2-Minute Neuroscience: Limbic System (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Corps mamillaires (région du cerveau): définition, localisation et fonctions

Corps mamillaires (région du cerveau): définition, localisation et fonctions

Septembre 15, 2022

Le cerveau humain est composé d'un ensemble d'organes, dont certains sont si petits qu'il n'est pas facile de les reconnaître à première vue. Les corps mamillaires en font partie.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quels sont les corps mammillaires, quelle est leur fonction dans l'encéphale et en quoi cela concerne les différentes parties du cerveau.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Que sont les corps mammifères?

Les corps mammillaires sont une paire de petites structures cérébrales sphériques qui ils sont situés dans le système limbique , la partie du cerveau responsable de la génération et de la régulation des émotions.


Plus précisément, ils sont situés dans le fornix, également appelé trigone, une zone qui relie l’hippocampe (responsable de la gestion du stockage et de la récupération des mémoires) au diencephale, ce dernier étant une structure située juste au milieu du cerveau et responsable de nombreuses tâches vitales.

Quant à la composition des corps mammillaires eux-mêmes, se compose d'un groupe de noyaux neuronaux , c’est-à-dire des unités dans lesquelles différents neurones sont regroupés en fonction des tâches auxquelles ils participent (qui, bien qu’ils puissent être très similaires, diffèrent sous différents aspects).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Système limbique: la partie émotionnelle du cerveau"

Les connexions de ces zones du cerveau

Les corps mammifères, situés dans le trigone cérébral, interviennent dans les processus mentaux associés aux émotions et à la mémoire.


Plus précisément, les corps mammifères reçoivent des impulsions nerveuses de l’amygdale, liées à la régulation des niveaux hormonaux et avec les réponses émotionnelles intenses et l'hippocampe, qui, comme nous l'avons vu, est une sorte de répertoire de mémoires stockées dans d'autres parties du cerveau.

Plus précisément, l’hippocampe travaille avec des souvenirs appartenant à la mémoire déclarative, tandis que l’amygdale gère la mémoire émotionnelle, c’est-à-dire le cadre émotionnel des souvenirs.

D'autre part, les corps mammifères envoyer des informations au thalamus , la plus grande structure cérébrale du diencephale, responsable de l’intégration des informations sensorielles et de la génération de réponses immédiates à certains stimuli.

Mais cela ne doit pas être interprété comme un signe que les corps mammifères forment des "ponts entre l'hippocampe et l'amygdale d'un côté et le thalamus de l'autre.


Cela se produirait si les corps mammillaires étaient simplement une étendue de substance blanche, c’est-à-dire une partie du cerveau composée simplement d’axones neuronaux (la partie longue de ces cellules nerveuses, dans le but d’envoyer des impulsions nerveuses vers des régions éloignées). d'entre eux est basé sur les noyaux neuronaux, c'est-à-dire la matière grise, les zones dans lesquelles les soma neuronaux s'accumulent et ils sont presque en contact direct les uns avec les autres.

Ainsi, les corps mammillaires n’ont pas de rôle passif dans le cerveau, ils ne se limitent pas à envoyer des signaux nerveux à d’autres régions, mais ils traitent cette information et la transforment en autre chose, même si ce n’est que quelque chose de légèrement différent et destiné à être mélangé. avec l'enchevêtrement de signaux nerveux qui montent à la partie supérieure du cerveau.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

Quelle est sa fonction?

À l'heure actuelle, on connaît mal la fonction exacte des corps mammifères, notamment parce qu'ils sont si petits qu'il est difficile d'isoler leurs processus des autres processus inscrits dans le fonctionnement général du trigone. Vous ne connaissez que le rôle générique qui a en reliant les zones concernées avec émotion et mémoire avec le thalamus , qui est à son tour une des structures les plus complexes de notre système nerveux (par exemple, on lui attribue la fonction de "bouton" qui enflamme la conscience).

Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de poursuivre les recherches pour savoir exactement quelle est la fonction de ces minuscules ensembles de noyaux neuronaux et de prendre en compte le fait qu'il est peut-être plus utile de le considérer non pas comme une chose isolée, mais dans le cadre d'un processus plus vaste mis en œuvre par le gouvernement. trigone ou même par l'action conjointe de cette et d'autres parties du cerveau.

Lésions cérébrales associées et leurs effets

Il a été constaté que les lésions des corps mammillaires sont souvent associées au syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff.

Comme le suggère la connectivité des corps mammillaires, les problèmes de mémoire comptent parmi les symptômes les plus importants de ce syndrome. Plus précisément, l’amnésie antérograde se distingue, pour laquelle il n’est pas possible ou est très difficile de créer de nouveaux souvenirs de ce qui est vécu dans le présent.

Ainsi, les cas cliniques de patients avec ce type de lésion suggèrent que les corps mammillaires sont très impliqués dans la mémoire. Cependant, cette région est aussi particulièrement endommagée dans d'autres maladies, telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer ou la schizophrénie .

Le fait que chacune de ces affections neurologiques ou psychiatriques présente un très large éventail de symptômes et que l’on ignore si un symptôme est dû spécifiquement à une lésion du corps mammillaire ou à des lésions dans d’autres parties du système nerveux central signifie il est clair quelle est la fonction concrète de cet ensemble de structures cérébrales.


Ganglions de la base (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes