yes, therapy helps!
Mania: symptoms, associated disorders and treatment

Mania: symptoms, associated disorders and treatment

January 25, 2022

Many people associate the word mania with the presence of strange and prototypical customs of a person, which he often repeats with relative frequency. However, there are far fewer people who know that the mania concept also has another meaning, which as a general rule is what we refer to when we are talking about psychopathologies.

And is that the mania is also an alteration of the mood , being next to the depression one of the main alterations that comprise of the bipolar upheaval and that like this one supposes a serious alteration, malaise and limitation in the life of the person. It is about this type of emotional state that we are going to talk about throughout this article, defining it and visualizing its basic definition, in what contexts it appears and how it is usually treated.


  • Related article: "Bipolar disorder: 10 features and curiosities you did not know"

Mania and manic episodes

Mania is understood as a psychological alteration characterized by the presence of a state of mind excessively euphoric, expansive and concurrent with a high level of energy . It is a pathological and temporal state that, which can appear in different contexts and that usually appears a form of episodes of a duration of at least a week almost every day and most of the day.

These episodes are characterized by the presence of the aforementioned expansive, euphoric and irritable state of mind, which usually appears together with a high level of restlessness and agitation that manifests itself through hyperactive behavior. Usually the person has the feeling that their thoughts are moving at high speed , not being strange that the thread of the thought is lost before the great affluence of these.


The subject in manic phase also suffers a high level of distraction, having great difficulties of concentration and continuously going from one thing to another. They also appear in this state thoughts and delusions of greatness and genius , considering the subject often invulnerable and with unlimited resources. It is also common for high impulsiveness and aggressiveness to appear, as well as the ability to judge and assess risks, often leading to the performance of acts that may pose a risk to one's health or integrity. They also tend to try to get involved in a large number of projects regardless of their viability.

It is common for fights and conflicts to appear both socially and in the workplace or even in the family and / or couple, as well as large economic expenses (regardless of their economic capacity), hypersexuality (often at risk) and sometimes even consumption of substances that can make your condition worse (for example cocaine).


It is not uncommon also that hallucinations and delusions appear , interpreting reality based on them and reacting aggressively. Finally, it should be noted that often the behavioral changes experienced make it necessary to hospitalize the subject in order to stabilize it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Megalomania and delusions of grandeur: playing at being God"

Appearance contexts

The appearance of manic episodes is usually associated with the presence of a bipolar disorder. In fact, one of the most frequent types of bipolar disorder known, bipolar disorder type 1, requires only at least a manic episode not derived from the consumption of toxic or medical diseases in order to be diagnosed, not really needing the appearance of a depressive episode.

But bipolar disorder is not the only context in which an episode or manic behavior can appear. And it is the mania can also appear derived from the effects of the consumption of different drugs or substances, as a result of intoxication. Also some infections and diseases that generate an effect on the brain can also lead to the presence of manic symptoms. Among them may also be some dementias or infections such as encephalitis.

Also, also may appear in other mental disorders , being an example of this some psychotic disorders. Specifically highlights the schizoaffective disorder, which has a subtype called bipolar in which episodes of mania also occur.

In general, mania is a consequence of the presence of a neurochemical or functional alteration of the brain, whether caused by a toxic or drug or by an atypical functioning characteristic of some type of disorder or disease. Occasionally it can also be observed that in some cases manic symptoms may appear in situations of high psychosocial stress.

  • You may be interested: "The 6 types of mood disorders"

Consequences

The existence of an episode or a manic phase usually has severe repercussions for those who suffer them. At a social level it is frequent as we have seen that there are conflicts or even verbal or physical fights , especially with strangers.

It is also common to have problems with the immediate environment or with the couple such as conflicts, arguments, accusations or infidelities, these problems may have repercussions even after the end of the episode. Also, also it is usual that the environment does not understand the performance of the subject , or that this is due to an alteration of the state of mind alien to his will.

In the workplace, the presence of conflicts is not uncommon, as well as a loss of productivity due to excess energy and distractibility.

At an economic level, it is frequent that they are carried out as we have seen large excesses, often as a result of impulses or to acquire unnecessary products . The risks that can be committed can cause the subject to suffer various mishaps, such as work accidents, falls and injuries, poisonings or substance abuse, transmission of diseases or sexually transmitted infections or unwanted pregnancies. Also on some occasions people in manic phase may even get to perform illegal acts or be involved in criminal activities.

The high level of activation of the subject and their behavioral alterations mean that some type of hospitalization is often necessary in order to stabilize them, generally through pharmacological treatment .

Mania vs hypomania: a matter of degree

The mania is a psychological alteration of emotional character and that can have serious repercussions in the life of the sufferer. However, there is another concept that assumes the existence of virtually identical symptoms and with which it is very easy to confuse mania: hypomania.

As we can deduce by the name, hypomania is a somewhat less extreme version than mania , also appearing an expansive mood, euphoric and with a high level of agitation and energy. The main difference between mania and hypomania is in the intensity with which the symptoms occur.

Although the hypomania supposes a alteration of the perceptible spirit on the part of the surroundings and that can also have repercussions for the subject, the symptoms are less severe and there are usually no delusions or hallucinations. Also, usually do not prevent the subject to have a functionality in their day to day and usually it is not necessary to hospitalization of the patient. Finally, hypomanic episodes have a much shorter duration than manic ones: they usually last between four days and a week.

The treatment of mania

The treatment of manic episodes is usually done from the administration of some type of mood stabilizer , that is, a type of drug that stabilizes the mood. Lithium salts are generally used for this purpose, although there are also other options. In some cases it may be necessary to also apply antipsychotic drugs.

In the event that its appearance is due to intoxication, it will be necessary to treat this fact differentially. The same happens in case of infections, which must be treated in order to reduce or eliminate the symptoms. In disorders such as bipolar or bipolar schizoaffective, depending on the case and especially if there are features that imply a medical emergency (such as the appearance of suicidal behavior) or drugs are not effective it may be advisable the application of electroconvulsive therapy in a hospital .

In addition, it is usual to use psychological therapy (once stabilized at the pharmacological level), in order to detect prodrome or symptoms that warn of the arrival of an episode. Psychoeducation and control of social and circadian rhythms (including sleep and feeding schedules) can also be helpful.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Belloch, Sandín and Ramos (2008). Manual of Psychopathology. McGraw-Hill. Madrid.

Mania and Depression - Bipolar Disorder (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Manie: symptômes, troubles associés et traitement

Manie: symptômes, troubles associés et traitement

Juin 21, 2022

De nombreuses personnes associent le mot manie à la présence de coutumes étranges et prototypiques d’une personne, qu’il répète souvent à une fréquence relative. Cependant, beaucoup moins de personnes savent que le concept de manie a aussi une autre signification, qui correspond en règle générale à ce que nous appelons la psychopathologie.

Et est-ce la manie est aussi une altération de l'humeur , étant à côté de la dépression une des principales modifications que comporte le bouleversement bipolaire et qui, comme celle-ci, suppose une grave modification, un malaise et une limitation de la vie de la personne. Nous allons parler de ce type d'état émotionnel tout au long de cet article, en le définissant et en en visualisant la définition de base, dans quels contextes il apparaît et comment il est habituellement traité.


  • Article connexe: "Trouble bipolaire: 10 caractéristiques et curiosités que vous ne connaissiez pas"

Mania et épisodes maniaques

La manie est comprise comme une altération psychologique caractérisée par la présence d'un état d'esprit excessivement euphorique, expansif et concomitant à un niveau d'énergie élevé . Il s’agit d’un état pathologique et temporel qui peut apparaître dans différents contextes et se présente généralement sous la forme d’épisodes d’une durée d’au moins une semaine, presque tous les jours et presque toute la journée.

Ces épisodes sont caractérisés par la présence de l'état d'esprit expansif, euphorique et irritable mentionné ci-dessus, qui apparaît généralement avec un niveau élevé d'agitation et d'agitation qui se manifeste par un comportement hyperactif. Généralement la personne a le sentiment que ses pensées bougent à grande vitesse , n'étant pas étrange que le fil de la pensée se perde avant la grande affluence de ceux-ci.


Le sujet en phase maniaque souffre également d'un niveau élevé de distraction, de grandes difficultés de concentration et passe continuellement d'une chose à l'autre. Ils apparaissent également dans cet état pensées et délires de grandeur et de génie , considérant le sujet souvent invulnérable et aux ressources illimitées. Il est également courant qu’une forte impulsivité et une grande agressivité apparaissent, ainsi que la capacité de juger et d’évaluer les risques, conduisant souvent à la réalisation d’actes pouvant présenter un risque pour la santé ou l’intégrité. Ils ont également tendance à tenter de participer à un grand nombre de projets, quelle que soit leur viabilité.

Il est courant que des conflits et des conflits apparaissent tant sur le plan social que sur le lieu de travail, voire dans la famille et / ou le couple, ainsi que des dépenses économiques importantes (quelle que soit leur capacité économique), une hypersexualité (souvent à risque) et parfois même une consommation de drogue. substances pouvant aggraver votre état (par exemple, la cocaïne).


Il n’est pas rare que des hallucinations et des délires apparaissent , interprétant la réalité à partir d’eux et réagissant de manière agressive. Enfin, il convient de noter que les changements de comportement expérimentés rendent souvent nécessaire l'hospitalisation du sujet afin de le stabiliser.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Mégalomanie et délires de grandeur: jouer à être Dieu"

Contextes d'apparence

L'apparition d'épisodes maniaques est généralement associée à la présence d'un trouble bipolaire. En fait, l’un des types les plus fréquents de trouble bipolaire connu, le trouble bipolaire de type 1, n’exige que un épisode maniaque non dérivé de la consommation de maladies toxiques ou médicales afin d'être diagnostiqué, ne nécessitant pas vraiment l'apparition d'un épisode dépressif.

Mais le trouble bipolaire n'est pas le seul contexte dans lequel un épisode ou un comportement maniaque peut apparaître. Et c'est la manie peut aussi apparaître dérivée des effets de la consommation de drogues ou de substances différentes, à la suite d'une intoxication. De même, certaines infections et maladies générant des effets sur le cerveau peuvent également entraîner la présence de symptômes maniaques. Parmi eux peuvent également être des démences ou des infections telles que l'encéphalite.

Également aussi peut apparaître dans d'autres troubles mentaux , étant un exemple de ce certains troubles psychotiques. Met spécifiquement en évidence le trouble schizo-affectif, qui a un sous-type appelé bipolaire dans lequel des épisodes de manie se produisent également.

En général, la manie est une conséquence de la présence d'une altération neurochimique ou fonctionnelle du cerveau, qu'elle soit provoquée par une substance toxique ou médicamenteuse ou par un fonctionnement atypique caractéristique d'un type de trouble ou de maladie. Parfois, on peut également observer que, dans certains cas, des symptômes maniaques peuvent apparaître dans des situations de stress psychosocial élevé.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 6 types de troubles de l'humeur"

Conséquences

L'existence d'un épisode ou d'une phase maniaque a généralement de graves répercussions pour ceux qui en souffrent. Au niveau social, c'est fréquent comme on l'a vu qu'il y a des conflits ou même des combats verbaux ou physiques , surtout avec des étrangers.

Il est également courant d'avoir des problèmes avec l'environnement immédiat ou avec le couple tels que des conflits, des disputes, des accusations ou des infidélités. Ces problèmes peuvent avoir des répercussions même après la fin de l'épisode. Également aussi il est habituel que l'environnement ne comprenne pas la performance du sujet , ou que cela est dû à une modification de l'état d'esprit étranger à sa volonté.

Sur le lieu de travail, la présence de conflits n'est pas rare, de même qu'une perte de productivité due à un excès d'énergie et à la distractibilité.

Au niveau économique, il est fréquent qu’elles se déroulent comme on l’a vu des excès importants, souvent impulsifs ou pour acquérir des produits inutiles . Les risques pouvant être encourus peuvent causer au sujet divers accidents, tels que des accidents du travail, des chutes et des blessures, des intoxications ou une toxicomanie, la transmission de maladies, des infections sexuellement transmissibles ou des grossesses non désirées. De plus, à certaines occasions, des personnes en phase maniaque peuvent même accomplir des actes illégaux ou être impliquées dans des activités criminelles.

Le haut niveau d'activation du sujet et ses modifications comportementales font qu'il est souvent nécessaire d'hospitaliser pour les stabiliser, généralement par traitement pharmacologique .

Manie vs hypomanie: une question de degré

La manie est une altération psychologique de caractère émotionnel qui peut avoir de graves répercussions sur la vie du patient. Cependant, il existe un autre concept qui suppose l'existence de symptômes pratiquement identiques et avec lequel il est très facile de confondre la manie: l'hypomanie.

Comme on peut en déduire par le nom, l'hypomanie est une version un peu moins extrême que la manie , apparaît également une humeur expansive, euphorique et avec un niveau élevé d’agitation et d’énergie. La principale différence entre la manie et l'hypomanie réside dans l'intensité avec laquelle les symptômes apparaissent.

Bien que l’hypomanie suppose une altération de l’esprit perceptible de l’environnement et que cela puisse aussi avoir des répercussions sur le sujet, les symptômes sont moins graves et il n'y a généralement pas de délires ou d'hallucinations. En outre, n'empêche généralement pas le sujet d'avoir une fonctionnalité au quotidien et il n'est généralement pas nécessaire d'hospitaliser le patient. Enfin, les épisodes hypomaniaques durent beaucoup moins longtemps que les épisodes maniaques: ils durent généralement entre quatre jours et une semaine.

Le traitement de la manie

Le traitement des épisodes maniaques se fait habituellement à partir de l'administration d'un certain type de stabilisateur de l'humeur , c’est-à-dire un type de médicament qui stabilise l’humeur. Les sels de lithium sont généralement utilisés à cette fin, bien qu'il existe également d'autres options. Dans certains cas, il peut être nécessaire d’appliquer également des antipsychotiques.

Dans le cas où son apparition est due à une intoxication, il sera nécessaire de traiter ce fait différemment. Il en va de même en cas d'infections, qui doivent être traitées afin de réduire ou d'éliminer les symptômes. Dans des troubles tels que le schizoaffectif bipolaire ou bipolaire, selon le cas et surtout s'il existe des caractéristiques qui impliquent une urgence médicale (comme l'apparition d'un comportement suicidaire) ou que les médicaments ne sont pas efficaces, il peut être conseillé l'application de la thérapie électroconvulsive dans un hôpital .

En outre, il est habituel de recourir à une thérapie psychologique (une fois stabilisée au niveau pharmacologique) afin de détecter les prodromes ou les symptômes annonciateurs de l’arrivée d’un épisode. La psychoéducation et le contrôle des rythmes sociaux et circadiens (y compris les horaires de sommeil et d'alimentation) peuvent également être utiles.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Belloch, Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. McGraw-Hill. Madrid

Les Symptomes du Trouble Bipolaire: (Depression & Mania) Bipolar Disorder (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes