yes, therapy helps!
Mansplaining: another underground form of cultural machismo?

Mansplaining: another underground form of cultural machismo?

May 1, 2024

Although it is very likely that it is not basically due to biological differences, it is clear that, to date, the behavior of men and women is different in many aspects. Some of these differences also allow one of the two sexes to dominate the other and have it easier to impose their points of view and their purposes.

The mansplaining, as a psychological phenomenon of domination , is an example of how the man, statistically, tends to try to take the reins of the dialogues with women, independently of the subject of which one speaks.

Let's see what it is and what does it have to do with sexism and cultural machismo .

What is mansplaining?

The term "mansplaining" is a neologism from English that in its original language is composed of the words "man" and "explain". It is usually used to refer to the statistical trend (and the action through which that trend is expressed) of men to explain things to women in a patronizing and condescending way , as if their interlocutors were especially bad people understanding, even if what they are talking about is a subject of which women know more than men.


For example, a man with no college education who explains to a biologist what hybridization between dog breeds does without even letting her speak is a relatively clear case of mansplaining.

What characterizes mansplaining is not that a man talks about certain issues related to femininity or feminism (after all, a specific man may know more than a specific woman about any topic, and vice versa), but that, In a systematic way, it is assumed that the role of women is to remain silent and learn .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Men do not feel comfortable with ambitious women"

The hypothesis based on machismo

The concept of mansplaining has begun to be used relatively recently, and it is believed that it has not been a decade since it appeared, although its origin is little known.


It has been welcomed with enthusiasm by associations and organizations linked to feminism and gender studies for obvious reasons: it can be interpreted as a micromachism, a subtle form of expression of patriarchy and cultural machismo that from this perspective he would reproduce a system of domination of men over women.

After all, in practice, mansplaining has a clear effect in terms of power relations: it makes the views of women invisible and annulled and that this is assumed to be normal. In other words, "mansplaining" is a word that many women needed to refer to a problem that until recently nobody knew what to call, despite the fact that numerous scientific researches have noticed its existence over the last few years.

  • Related article: "Patriarchy: 7 keys to understanding cultural machismo"

Mansplaining towards other men

The previous one is the interpretation of mansplaining based on the idea that this is one of the consequences of a system of male dominance. However, there is also another possible interpretation about this phenomenon. An interpretation based on a data that may surprise considering what we have seen before: men they also perform mansplaining when interacting with other men .


This is the conclusion that allows to reach an investigation conducted by Elizabeth Aries. After analyzing more than 40 hours of conversations, Aries found that men and women adopted very different styles when interacting with other people.

Males tended to compete more to dominate conversations regardless of who was in front, while the women showed a greater willingness to connect with others through symmetrical relationships and did not try to control the direction of the conversation.

For them, conversations about the most banal issues were also a scenario in which they can gain power and influence, and try to scale up little by little through their interventions, struggling to gain the attention of others.

Thus, in groups composed solely of men there were also a number of individuals who, when it had passed a time, they were invisible to a minority that ended up capitalizing on the conversations , something that happened much less in women's groups.

A much more aggressive style of interaction

These conclusions fit very well with the findings found in other research in psychology and that do not focus basically on dialogue: men tend to be more competitive and many more types of interactions, even though there is apparently no concrete or recognizable reward to the that can be accessed by doing this.

Thus, mansplaining would not be so much a way in which men try to nullify women, but a reflection of his style when it comes to interacting with the whole world .

Of course, these results always focus on statistical trends. A man does not have to fall constantly in the mansplaining, and a woman does not have to be always submissive or avoid fighting to extend her power in conversations. Simply, the mansplaining is much more generalized in one of the two sexes and stands out more and more frequently when the people who speak to each other are of opposite sexes.


The Fader Response (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mansplaining: une autre forme souterraine de machisme culturel?

Mansplaining: une autre forme souterraine de machisme culturel?

Mai 25, 2022

Bien qu'il soit très probable que cela ne soit pas fondamentalement dû à des différences biologiques, il est clair qu'à ce jour, le comportement des hommes et des femmes est différent à bien des égards. Certaines de ces différences permettent également à l'un des deux sexes de dominer l'autre et d'imposer plus facilement leurs points de vue et leurs objectifs.

Le raisonnement, comme phénomène psychologique de domination , est un exemple de la façon dont l’homme, statistiquement, tend à tenter de prendre les rênes du dialogue avec les femmes, indépendamment du sujet dont on parle.

Voyons ce que c'est et qu'est-ce que cela a à voir avec le sexisme et le machisme culturel .

Qu'est-ce que le mansplaining?

Le terme "mansplaining" est un néologisme de l'anglais qui, dans sa langue d'origine, est composé des mots "man" et "explique". Il est généralement utilisé pour désigner la tendance statistique (et l'action à travers laquelle cette tendance est exprimée) des hommes expliquer les choses aux femmes d'une manière condescendante et condescendante , comme si leurs interlocuteurs étaient des personnes particulièrement mauvaises et compréhensives, même si ce dont ils parlent est un sujet que les femmes connaissent mieux que les hommes.


Par exemple, un homme sans éducation universitaire qui explique à un biologiste ce que fait l'hybridation entre races de chiens sans même la laisser parler est un cas relativement clair de persistance.

Ce qui caractérise la répétition n'est pas qu'un homme parle de certains problèmes liés à la féminité ou au féminisme (après tout, un homme spécifique peut en savoir plus sur tout sujet, et inversement), mais De manière systématique, on suppose que le rôle des femmes est de garder le silence et d’apprendre .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les hommes ne se sentent pas à l'aise avec des femmes ambitieuses"

L'hypothèse basée sur le machisme

On a commencé à utiliser le concept de mode de vie relativement récemment et on pense que cela ne fait pas dix ans que le concept est apparu, bien que son origine soit peu connue.


Il a été accueilli avec enthousiasme par les associations et les organisations liées aux études sur le féminisme et le genre pour des raisons évidentes: il peut être interprété comme un micro-ordinateur. une forme subtile d'expression du patriarcat et du machisme culturel que dans cette perspective, il reproduirait un système de domination des hommes sur les femmes.

Après tout, dans la pratique, la métamorphose a un effet évident en termes de relations de pouvoir: elle rend les vues des femmes invisibles et annulées et on suppose que cela est normal. En d'autres termes, le mot "répétition" est un mot que beaucoup de femmes doivent mentionner un problème que personne ne savait jusque-là appeler, en dépit du fait que de nombreuses recherches scientifiques l'avaient remarqué au cours des dernières années.

  • Article connexe: "Patriarcat: 7 clés pour comprendre le machisme culturel"

Mansplaining envers d'autres hommes

La précédente est l'interprétation de la persécution basée sur l'idée que c'est l'une des conséquences d'un système de domination masculine. Cependant, il existe également une autre interprétation possible de ce phénomène. Une interprétation basée sur des données pouvant surprendre compte tenu de ce que nous avons vu auparavant: les hommes ils effectuent également des entretiens lorsqu’ils interagissent avec d’autres hommes .


Telle est la conclusion qui permet d’arriver à une enquête menée par Elizabeth Aries. Après avoir analysé plus de 40 heures de conversations, Aries a constaté que les hommes et les femmes adoptaient des styles très différents lorsqu'ils interagissaient avec d'autres personnes.

Les hommes avaient tendance à concourir davantage pour dominer les conversations, peu importe qui se trouvait devant, tandis que les femmes ont montré une plus grande volonté de se connecter avec les autres par des relations symétriques et ne pas essayer de contrôler la direction de la conversation.

Pour eux, les discussions sur les questions les plus banales constituaient également un scénario dans lequel ils pouvaient acquérir du pouvoir et de l'influence, et tenter de s'intensifier petit à petit à travers leurs interventions, s'efforçant d'attirer l'attention des autres.

Ainsi, dans les groupes composés uniquement d'hommes, il y avait aussi un certain nombre d'individus qui, une fois écoulés, ils étaient invisibles pour une minorité qui a fini par capitaliser sur les conversations , quelque chose qui est arrivé beaucoup moins dans les groupes de femmes.

Un style d'interaction beaucoup plus agressif

Ces conclusions cadrent très bien avec les conclusions d’autres recherches en psychologie et ne portent pas essentiellement sur le dialogue: les hommes ont tendance à être plus compétitifs et à multiplier les types d’interactions, même s’il n’ya apparemment aucune récompense concrète cela peut être consulté en faisant cela.

Ainsi, l’entretien n’est pas un moyen pour les hommes d’essayer d’annuler les femmes, mais un reflet de son style lorsqu'il s'agit d'interagir avec le monde entier .

Bien entendu, ces résultats se concentrent toujours sur les tendances statistiques. Un homme n'a pas besoin de tomber constamment dans la discussion, et une femme ne doit pas toujours être soumise ni éviter de se battre pour étendre son pouvoir dans les conversations. Simplement, le mode de fonctionnement est beaucoup plus généralisé chez l'un des deux sexes et se remarque de plus en plus fréquemment lorsque les personnes qui se parlent sont de sexe opposé.


How to: RESPECT WOMEN! (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes