yes, therapy helps!
Mar Puigmartí:

Mar Puigmartí: "Not having taboos allows you to talk openly about sex with your partner"

November 27, 2021

Sex therapy is a type of psychotherapy that promotes the sexual and emotional well-being of people, and aims to help those individuals who experience difficulties in their intimate or loving life as a result of a sexual disorder or who are not comfortable with themselves in some way of his intimate life.

Scientific evidence shows that this form of therapy is very effective; However, many people have difficulty talking about their sexual problems, largely because they feel unsuccessful, embarrassed and even guilty.

  • Related article: "Sexual therapy: what it is and what are its benefits"

Interview with the psychologist and psychotherapist Mar Puigmartí

Today we wanted to talk to Mar Puigmartí, psychologist and psychotherapist specialized in sex and couples therapy to tell us what sex therapy is exactly and help us understand why we should not resist going to it because we have fears and false beliefs.


Mar offers psychological therapy at the Mensalus Psychological and Psychological Assistance Institute, one of the most prestigious psychotherapy and psychotherapy clinics in Spain.

Good morning Mar, tell us, why is it so difficult for us to talk about sexuality openly?

Although we have been progressing on the level of sexuality, many fears, myths, restrictions and taboos surrounding it still prevent us from living it freely. Society continually overwhelms us with dubious information, full of prejudices and gender stereotypes that leads us to internalize and accept messages that, if we do not question them, will end up hindering our way of living sexuality, and therefore talking about it.


It is important to know that you are part of us from birth until we die, playing an essential role in our development and growth throughout life. Offering a quality emotional and sexual education would promote a greater and wider knowledge about sexuality, allowing us to live it in a more positive and healthy way, and conceiving it as a source of pleasure and satisfaction, as well as communication and expression of affection. Understanding sexuality in this way would make it easier to talk about it openly and with total naturalness.

What are the main problems that men and women present in terms of their sex life?

The most frequent sexual problems are known as sexual dysfunctions. In the case of men, premature ejaculation, erectile dysfunction and lack of desire are the most common dysfunctions. In women, the most common are anorgasmia, lack of desire, vaginismus and dyspareunia. However, it is not uncommon to encounter problems of dissatisfaction, difficulties in sexual communication, cases of hypersexuality or sex addiction, paraphilias, phobia or aversion to sex etc.


All of them, in addition to affecting the quality of life of the person, often interfere in their relationship with the couple, if there is one.

Is it always necessary to have a problem to go to sex therapy or is it possible to do it for other reasons (for example, to vary and enrich the couple's erotic repertoire)?

It is not necessary to have a problem to go to sex therapy since other issues can be worked on. For example, there are many people who come because they want to enhance their sexual possibilities: acquire resources to get out of the monotony and enrich their sexual repertoire, develop skills to reinforce sensuality and eroticism, increase sexual self-esteem ... In this type of therapy is encouraged the sexual and emotional well-being of people.

What do you think is the biggest impediment when it comes to going to sex therapy?

Predefined ideas and false beliefs about sex make it difficult to ask for professional help because it is a very intimate and sometimes difficult to share. Those who suffer from these types of problems usually live it in a silent and hidden way, trying to deny and hide their difficulties and often avoiding having sex. They usually verbalize shame, guilt and frustration, and all this ends up generating discomfort and suffering in the person.

However, do not be ashamed or paralyzed when a problem of this kind arises. Sex therapy is very effective and the help of a professional to work the difficulties that arise in this area is very positive to live a satisfactory sexuality.

So, if for many people sexuality is a very intimate subject and that sometimes it is difficult to talk, how do you overcome this obstacle in your sessions with patients?

It is important to create from the beginning a close, safe and free of judgments about their thoughts, feelings, emotions, tastes, fantasies ... It is essential that patients can express themselves without fear, from freedom and respect. In this way, we can accompany them in this process so that they understand what is happening, help them resolve doubts, gain confidence and security, and motivate them to make the changes that are necessary for their well-being.

What are the benefits of not having taboos when it comes to sexual relations with a partner?

Having no taboos allows you to talk openly about sex with your partner, that sexual communication is more fluid and that both members can express their desires, preferences and sexual preferences with ease. All this reinforces the complicity in the couple, besides growing erotically and increasing sexual satisfaction.

Also, if at any time sexual difficulties arise, they will live with less anxiety because it will be much easier to talk about it, feel understood and seek solutions together.

What benefits does sexual therapy bring to patients?

Sexual therapy helps the person or the couple with their sexual and affective difficulties, providing resources and tools to be able to live the sexuality in a pleasant way.

This type of therapy has many benefits for patients: having a space where they can talk about sexuality, solve sexual difficulties that may arise, acquire new techniques for the enjoyment of their intimate relationships, obtain greater sexual self-knowledge, increase self-esteem, enhance erotic creativity, acquire communication skills with the couple ... In short, be protagonists of their sexuality.

More and more people are using online therapy, do you think it is effective for this type of problem?

Thanks to new technologies, online therapy has become more present in the field of psychotherapy since it is proven to bring many benefits. Going to a sex therapist is not easy for everyone because, since it is such a personal and delicate aspect of people's lives, it is harder to ask for help.

Online sexual therapy has become a very effective alternative to treat this type of difficulties because it facilitates professional assistance in a discreet and anonymous way without having to travel. Thus, through the screen, people can feel more comfortable and can express what causes them concern or suffering in order to receive the appropriate treatment and overcome their difficulties.

  • Related article: "The 6 best online therapy clinics"

What advice would you give to readers of Psychology and Mind to have a satisfying sex life?

We must begin by taking responsibility for our own pleasure. It is essential to review and question what model of sexuality we want to live to get rid of everything that moves us away from it. Knowing oneself, one's own body, connecting with the here and now of pleasure and giving oneself permission to feel is the key to enjoying a satisfying sexuality. In addition, transmitting our desires and needs to the couple will strengthen their confidence and will allow them to enjoy a full sexual life as a couple.


English | Sitges | Hotel Estela Barcelona | Art Hotel | dk (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mar Puigmartí:

Mar Puigmartí: "Ne pas avoir de tabous vous permet de parler ouvertement de sexualité avec votre partenaire"

Septembre 27, 2022

Thérapie sexuelle est un type de psychothérapie qui favorise le bien-être sexuel et émotionnel des personnes et vise à aider les personnes qui éprouvent des difficultés dans leur vie intime ou amoureuse à la suite d'un trouble sexuel ou qui ne sont pas à l'aise avec elles-mêmes de sa vie intime.

Les preuves scientifiques montrent que cette forme de thérapie est très efficace. Cependant, beaucoup de gens ont du mal à parler de leurs problèmes sexuels, principalement parce qu'ils se sentent infructueux, gênés et même coupables.

  • Article connexe: "La thérapie sexuelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels sont ses avantages"

Entretien avec la psychologue et psychothérapeute Mar Puigmartí

Aujourd'hui, nous voulions parler à Mar Puigmartí, psychologue et psychothérapeute spécialisée en thérapie du sexe et des couples, afin de nous expliquer ce qu'est exactement la thérapie sexuelle et nous aider à comprendre pourquoi nous ne devrions pas nous empêcher de le faire parce que nous avons des peurs et de fausses croyances.


Mar propose une thérapie psychologique à l'Institut d'assistance psychologique et psychologique Mensalus, l'une des cliniques de psychothérapie et de psychothérapie les plus prestigieuses d'Espagne.

Bonjour Mar, dites-nous, pourquoi est-il si difficile pour nous de parler ouvertement de la sexualité?

Bien que nous ayons progressé sur le plan de la sexualité, de nombreuses peurs, mythes, restrictions et tabous qui l’entourent nous empêchent toujours de la vivre librement. La société nous submerge continuellement d'informations douteuses, pleines de préjugés et de stéréotypes de genre qui nous amènent à intérioriser et à accepter des messages qui, si nous ne les remettons pas en question, finiront par entraver notre façon de vivre la sexualité et, par conséquent, d'en parler.


Il est important de savoir que vous faites partie de nous depuis la naissance jusqu'à notre mort, en jouant un rôle essentiel dans notre développement et notre croissance tout au long de la vie. Offrir une éducation émotionnelle et sexuelle de qualité favoriserait une connaissance plus large et plus large de la sexualité, nous permettant de la vivre de manière plus positive et plus saine, et de la concevoir comme une source de plaisir et de satisfaction, ainsi que de communication et d’expression d’affection. En comprenant la sexualité de cette manière, il serait plus facile d’en parler ouvertement et avec un naturel absolu.

Quels sont les principaux problèmes que les hommes et les femmes présentent en termes de vie sexuelle?

Les problèmes sexuels les plus fréquents sont connus sous le nom de dysfonctionnements sexuels. Dans le cas des hommes, l'éjaculation prématurée, la dysfonction érectile et le manque de désir sont les dysfonctionnements les plus courants. Chez les femmes, les plus courantes sont l’anorgasmie, le manque de désir, le vaginisme et la dyspareunie. Cependant, il n’est pas rare de rencontrer des problèmes d’insatisfaction, de difficultés de communication sexuelle, d’hypersexualité ou de dépendance sexuelle, de paraphilies, de phobie ou d’aversion pour le sexe, etc.


Tous, en plus d’affecter la qualité de vie de la personne, interfèrent souvent dans leurs relations avec le couple, s’il en existe une.

Est-il toujours nécessaire d'avoir un problème pour aller en sexothérapie ou est-il possible de le faire pour d'autres raisons (par exemple, pour varier et enrichir le répertoire érotique du couple)?

Il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir un problème pour aller en thérapie sexuelle car d’autres problèmes peuvent être résolus. Par exemple, de nombreuses personnes viennent parce qu'elles veulent améliorer leurs possibilités sexuelles: acquérir des ressources pour sortir de la monotonie et enrichir leur répertoire sexuel, développer des compétences pour renforcer la sensualité et l'érotisme, augmenter l'estime de soi sexuelle ... Ce type de thérapie est encouragé. le bien-être sexuel et émotionnel des personnes.

Selon vous, quel est le plus gros obstacle en matière de sexothérapie?

Les idées prédéfinies et les fausses croyances sur le sexe font qu'il est difficile de demander de l'aide à un professionnel parce que c'est très intime et parfois difficile à partager. Ceux qui souffrent de ce type de problèmes le vivent généralement de manière silencieuse et cachée, essayant de nier et de cacher leurs difficultés et évitant souvent d'avoir des relations sexuelles. Ils verbalisent généralement la honte, la culpabilité et la frustration, et tout cela finit par générer un malaise et des souffrances chez la personne.

Cependant, ne soyez pas honteux ou paralysé quand un problème de ce genre se pose. La thérapie sexuelle est très efficace et l'aide d'un professionnel pour résoudre les difficultés rencontrées dans ce domaine est très positive pour vivre une sexualité satisfaisante.

Donc, si pour beaucoup de gens la sexualité est un sujet très intime et qu'il est parfois difficile de parler, comment surmontez-vous cet obstacle lors de vos séances avec les patients?

Il est important de créer dès le début un contact étroit, sûr et exempt de jugements sur leurs pensées, leurs sentiments, leurs émotions, leurs goûts, leurs fantasmes ... Il est essentiel que les patients puissent s'exprimer sans peur, sans liberté ni respect. De cette manière, nous pouvons les accompagner dans ce processus afin qu'ils comprennent ce qui se passe, les aider à résoudre leurs doutes, gagner en confiance et en sécurité, et les motiver à apporter les changements nécessaires à leur bien-être.

Quels sont les avantages de ne pas avoir de tabous lorsqu'il s'agit de relations sexuelles avec un partenaire?

Ne pas avoir de tabous vous permet de parler ouvertement de sexualité avec votre partenaire, que la communication sexuelle est plus fluide et que les deux membres peuvent exprimer facilement leurs désirs, préférences et préférences sexuelles. Tout cela renforce la complicité dans le couple, en plus de la croissance érotique et de la satisfaction sexuelle.

En outre, si à tout moment, des difficultés sexuelles surviennent, elles vivront avec moins d’anxiété, car il sera beaucoup plus facile d’en parler, de se sentir compris et de rechercher des solutions ensemble.

Quels avantages la thérapie sexuelle apporte-t-elle aux patients?

La thérapie sexuelle aide la personne ou le couple à surmonter ses difficultés sexuelles et affectives, en fournissant des ressources et des outils lui permettant de vivre la sexualité de manière agréable.

Ce type de thérapie présente de nombreux avantages pour les patients: disposer d’un espace où discuter de la sexualité, résoudre les difficultés sexuelles qui peuvent en découler, acquérir de nouvelles techniques pour la jouissance de leurs relations intimes, acquérir une meilleure connaissance de soi-même créativité érotique, acquérir des compétences de communication avec le couple ... En bref, soyez les protagonistes de leur sexualité.

De plus en plus de personnes utilisent la thérapie en ligne, pensez-vous qu'elle est efficace pour ce type de problème?

Grâce aux nouvelles technologies, la thérapie en ligne est devenue plus présente dans le domaine de la psychothérapie, car il a été prouvé qu’elle apportait de nombreux avantages. Aller chez un sexologue n’est pas chose facile pour tout le monde, car c’est un aspect tellement personnel et délicat de la vie des gens, il est plus difficile de demander de l’aide.

La thérapie sexuelle en ligne est devenue une alternative très efficace pour traiter ce type de difficultés, car elle facilite l'assistance professionnelle de manière discrète et anonyme sans avoir à voyager. Ainsi, grâce à l'écran, les personnes peuvent se sentir plus à l'aise et exprimer ce qui les inquiète ou la souffre afin de recevoir le traitement approprié et de surmonter leurs difficultés.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 meilleures cliniques de thérapie en ligne"

Quel conseil donneriez-vous aux lecteurs de Psychology and Mind pour mener une vie sexuelle satisfaisante?

Nous devons commencer par assumer la responsabilité de notre propre plaisir. Il est essentiel de revoir et de mettre en question le modèle de sexualité que nous voulons vivre afin de nous débarrasser de tout ce qui nous en éloigne. Se connaître soi-même, son propre corps, se connecter à l'ici et maintenant du plaisir et se donner la permission de ressentir est la clé pour jouir d'une sexualité satisfaisante. En outre, la transmission de nos désirs et de nos besoins au couple renforcera leur confiance en eux et leur permettra de profiter pleinement de la vie sexuelle en couple.


Esculturas de Puigmarti en el Hotel Hilton Diagonal Mar - Semana del Medioambiente (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes