yes, therapy helps!
Margaret Floy Washburn: biography of this experimental psychologist

Margaret Floy Washburn: biography of this experimental psychologist

November 28, 2022

Margaret Floy Washburn (1871-1939) was the first woman to obtain official recognition of the PhD degree in Psychology from Cornell University, and was also the second woman president of the APA (American Psychological Association).

His studies have been pioneers, although little known, in experimental psychology especially applied to the mental processes of animals and humans. She is also one of the first representatives of the struggles for equity of opportunities for women in higher education.

In this article you will find a biography of Margaret Floy Washburn , as well as some of its main contributions to psychology and some of the elements that generated important barriers for the participation and scientific development of women in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century.


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Margaret Floy Washburn: biography of a pioneer of psychology

Margaret Floy Washburn was born on July 25, 1871 in New York City. It grew in a context where education was taught in spaces reserved for men, and little by little spaces were opened up that were also reserved for women.

Washburn he was trained in philosophy and science at Vassar College and later he did postgraduate studies with James McKeen Cattell, who had started a psychology laboratory at Columbia University. Although in this context women were not allowed to participate in the laboratories, Margaret Floy Washburn was admitted as a "listener".


A year after working with Cattell, Washburn decided to study at Cornell University along with the British psychologist Edward B. Titchener, since there seemed to have more opportunities to obtain an official degree as a psychologist. That's how she became Titchener's first PhD student and the first woman to whom the Doctorate in Psychology was officially recognized , in the year of 1894.

Washburn developed in a privileged family context from which he was able to develop an important professional career and face the context that excluded women from academic activity , at the time that demanded a life based on marriage and family.

He maintained his professional career as a priority and gained a lot of prestige both for his research and for his teaching activity. For example, he published a total of 69 experimental studies that were produced in his laboratory at Vassar College, where he also prioritized the participation of women. In the year of 1903 he was part of the list of the 50 best psychologists in America.


  • You may be interested: "Why is there still discrimination against women?"

Society of psychologists and the first generation of women

Edward B. Titchener had some disagreements with the psychology that the APA supported at that time, so he decided to found the first alternative society of experimental psychologists. Titchener had flatly refused to accept that women were part of their society , among other things because he considered it improper that they were present in the smoking room; place that, in addition, the APA had already opened for the scientists.

In this context, Washburn had distanced himself from Titchener and had become critical of his reductionist views of the mind, but he was already part of the first generation of prestigious women in experimental psychology. In fact, in the year of 1921 was named president of the American Psychological Association , becoming the second woman to occupy this position (the first was Mary Whiton Calkins).

Once Titchner had died, the Society of Experimental Psychologists reorganized, and for the first time admitted two women as members of the group: June Etta Downey and Margaret Floy Washburn. In the year of 1931, Washburn even got that the annual meetings of psychologists will be realized in Vassar College, the school of women to whom it was assigned. In the same year she became the second woman elected as a member of the prestigious National Academic of Science.

Main works and books

The main contribution of Washburn's work to psychology was the study of consciousness and mental processes in animals and later in humans . Specifically, he explored the existence of conscious processes, such as attention and learning. In addition, he emphasized the importance of motor movements for the activation and development of psychological processes, especially for learning, attention and emotion.

From his studies done with animals, Washburn He maintained that it is motor excitement that prepares for future actions . In other words, higher mental processes, such as reflection and awareness, decision-making and learning, occur from physical movements that predispose or inhibit action in the presence of distal stimuli (those that activate the sensory system). because they function as an announcement of the arrival of a proximal stimulus, which is what directly affects the organism).

Some of his main works are The Animal Mind (The animal mind), of 1908, which has been recognized as one of the pioneering studies in animal cognition, as well as one of the investigations that allowed to mature the field of experimental psychology and standardize both definitions and vocabulary.

Another of his main works is Movement and Mental Imagery (Movement and mental imagery) of 1917, which was where he developed his theory of consciousness in an important way. It is in the latter that Washburn managed to integrate the experimental method of introspection with an emphasis on motor processes.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychological Association (2018). Margaret Floy Washburn, PhD. 1921 APA President. Retrieved June 19, 2018. Available at //www.apa.org/about/governance/president/bio-margaret-washburn.aspx
  • García Dauder, S. (2005). Psychology and Feminism. Forgotten history of women pioneers in Psychology. Madrid: Narcea.
  • Rodkey, E. (2010). Margaret Floy Washburn. Psychology's Feminist Voices. Retrieved June 19, 2018. Available at //www.feministvoices.com/margaret-floy-washburn/

Margaret Floy Washburn & The Animal Mind (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Margaret Floy Washburn: biographie de cette psychologue expérimentale

Margaret Floy Washburn: biographie de cette psychologue expérimentale

Juin 21, 2022

Margaret Floy Washburn (1871-1939) a été la première femme à obtenir la reconnaissance officielle du doctorat en psychologie de l'Université Cornell et la deuxième présidente de l'APA (American Psychological Association).

Ses études ont été des pionnières, bien que peu connues, en psychologie expérimentale spécialement appliquée aux processus mentaux des animaux et des humains. Elle est également l’une des premières représentantes des luttes pour équité des chances pour les femmes dans l'enseignement supérieur.

Dans cet article, vous trouverez une biographie de Margaret Floy Washburn , ainsi que certaines de ses principales contributions à la psychologie et certains des éléments qui ont généré d’importants obstacles à la participation et au développement scientifique des femmes à la fin du XIXe et au début du XXe siècle.


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Margaret Floy Washburn: biographie d'un pionnier de la psychologie

Margaret Floy Washburn est née le 25 juillet 1871 à New York. Il a grandi dans un contexte où l'éducation était enseignée dans des espaces réservés aux hommes et où peu à peu se sont ouverts des espaces réservés également aux femmes.

Washburn il a été formé en philosophie et en sciences au collège Vassar et plus tard, il a fait des études de troisième cycle avec James McKeen Cattell, qui avait créé un laboratoire de psychologie à l'Université Columbia. Bien que, dans ce contexte, les femmes n’aient pas été autorisées à participer aux laboratoires, Margaret Floy Washburn a été admise comme "auditeur".


Un an après avoir travaillé avec Cattell, Washburn décida d'étudier à la Cornell University avec le psychologue britannique Edward B. Titchener, car il semblait avoir plus d'opportunités d'obtenir un diplôme officiel en tant que psychologue. C'est ainsi qu'elle est devenue la première étudiante au doctorat de Titchener et la première femme à qui le doctorat en psychologie a été officiellement reconnu , en l'an 1894.

Washburn a évolué dans un contexte familial privilégié à partir duquel il a pu développer une carrière et un visage professionnels importants. le contexte qui a exclu les femmes de l'activité académique , à l'époque qui demandait une vie basée sur le mariage et la famille.

Il a maintenu sa carrière professionnelle en priorité et a acquis beaucoup de prestige à la fois pour ses recherches et pour son activité d'enseignement. Par exemple, il a publié un total de 69 études expérimentales réalisées dans son laboratoire du Vassar College, où il a également donné la priorité à la participation des femmes. En 1903, il figurait sur la liste des 50 meilleurs psychologues américains.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Pourquoi existe-t-il encore une discrimination à l'égard des femmes?"

Société de psychologues et la première génération de femmes

Edward B. Titchener avait des désaccords avec la psychologie soutenue par l'APA à ce moment-là. Il décida donc de fonder la première société alternative de psychologues expérimentaux. Titchener avait catégoriquement refusé d'admettre que les femmes faisaient partie de la société , entre autres parce qu’il estimait inopportun qu’ils soient présents dans le fumoir; En outre, l’APA avait déjà ouvert ses portes aux scientifiques.

Dans ce contexte, Washburn avait pris ses distances par rapport à Titchener et était devenu critique à l'égard de ses conceptions réductionnistes de l'esprit, mais il faisait déjà partie de la première génération de femmes prestigieuses en psychologie expérimentale. En fait, en 1921 a été nommé président de l'American Psychological Association , devenant la deuxième femme à occuper ce poste (la première était Mary Whiton Calkins).

Une fois Titchner décédé, la Society of Experimental Psychologists s'est réorganisée et a admis pour la première fois deux femmes au sein du groupe: June Etta Downey et Margaret Floy Washburn. En 1931, Washburn apprit même que les réunions annuelles des psychologues se tiendraient au Vassar College, l’école de femmes à qui il était confié. La même année, elle est devenue la deuxième femme élue membre de la prestigieuse université nationale des sciences.

Principaux ouvrages et livres

La principale contribution du travail de Washburn à la psychologie était l'étude de la conscience et des processus mentaux chez les animaux et plus tard chez l'homme . Plus précisément, il a exploré l’existence de processus conscients, tels que l’attention et l’apprentissage. En outre, il a souligné l'importance des mouvements moteurs pour l'activation et le développement de processus psychologiques, en particulier d'apprentissage, d'attention et d'émotion.

De ses études faites avec des animaux, Washburn Il a affirmé que c'est l'excitation motrice qui prépare les actions futures . En d'autres termes, les processus mentaux supérieurs, tels que la réflexion et la conscience, la prise de décision et l'apprentissage, résultent de mouvements physiques prédisposant ou inhibant l'action en présence de stimuli distaux (ceux qui activent le système sensoriel). car ils fonctionnent comme une annonce de l'arrivée d'un stimulus proximal, ce qui affecte directement l'organisme).

Certaines de ses œuvres principales sont L'esprit animal (L'esprit animal), de 1908, qui a été reconnu comme l'une des études pionnières dans la cognition animale, ainsi que une des investigations qui a permis de mûrir le champ de la psychologie expérimentale et normaliser les définitions et le vocabulaire.

Une autre de ses œuvres principales est Mouvement et imagerie mentale (Mouvement et images mentales) de 1917, où il développa sa théorie de la conscience de manière importante. C'est dans cette dernière que Washburn a réussi à intégrer la méthode expérimentale d'introspection en mettant l'accent sur les processus moteurs.

Références bibliographiques:

  • American Psychological Association (2018). Margaret Floy Washburn, PhD. 1921 Président de l'APA. Récupéré le 19 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.apa.org/about/governance/president/bio-margaret-washburn.aspx.
  • García Dauder, S. (2005). Psychologie et féminisme. Histoire oubliée de femmes pionnières en psychologie. Madrid: Narcea.
  • Rodkey, E. (2010). Margaret Floy Washburn. Les voix féministes de la psychologie. Consulté le 19 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.feministvoices.com/margaret-floy-washburn/.

Margaret Floy Washburn (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes