yes, therapy helps!
Margaret Mahler: biography of this psychoanalyst

Margaret Mahler: biography of this psychoanalyst

May 26, 2024

Child development and how the human being gradually acquires an identity of its own from the stimulation of the environment and the elaboration of the Self have been the object of frequent study on the part of psychology. Different models and explanations have been established in this regard.

One of the best-known authors in this regard is Margaret Mahler, psychoanalytic author specializing in child development and in psychotic disorders in minors. Next we will review his life and work through a short biography of Margaret Mahler.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Brief biography of Margaret Mahler: early years

Margaret Schonberger, that was her birth name until she acquired the surname of her husband, she was born in Sopron (Hungary) during the year 1897.


Daughter of a doctor and a housewife of Jewish origins, Margaret was the first of two sisters. While her father always treated her correctly and encouraged her to investigate (for the time in question it was considered that he offered the same treatment as if he had been born a man), with his mother never had a relationship too close.

Margaret Mahler he was interested from childhood by science , probably partly due to his father's profession. In her adolescence she was encouraged to read psychoanalytic authors such as Sigmund Freud, interested in the subject of psychology and the unconscious.

He began the career of History of Art at the University of Budapest in 1916, but ended up deciding to change and make medicine, being transferred to the University of Munich and beginning to specialize in pediatrics. However, at that time anti-Semitism began to be promoted and accentuated and, being of Jewish origin, decided to move to Jenna until his graduation in 1922, seeing how the game and affective attachments were fundamental in the physical and mental development of children.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Anna Freud: biography and work of the successor of Sigmund Freud"

Transfer to Vienna and approach to psychoanalysis

That same year, Margaret Schonberger would receive the news that she could not remain in Germany, being forced to move to Vienna. The author had already begun in Jenna to be interested in attachment relationships between parents and children , which once in Vienna led her to be more actively interested in psychoanalytic theory and to be trained in this area. In 1933 it would become part of the Psychoanalytic Institute of Vienna.

WWII

In 1936 he married Paul Mahler, from whom he would absorb the surname . However, her husband's business and activities practically bankrupted them.

Shortly after their marriage the Nazi army took control of Austria, which forced to move to England (thanks in large part to the intervention of the wife of the Viceroy of India) in order to escape.


Later they moved to the United States, where she would try to get her family to join her. However, his mother was deported and murdered in Auschwitz while his father died before the Nazis invaded the region.

Life in the United States and death

In the years after the Second World War, Margaret Mahler started working and researching psychosis and autism . He managed to practice at the Psychoanalytic Institute of Philadelphia. It would also be accepted at the Psychoanalytic Society of New York and at the Institute of Human Development.

It was at this time that he would establish most of his theory regarding the mother-child symbiosis and the progressive acquisition of identity and autonomy . She was also one of the first psychologists to specialize in infants with psychotic disorders, creating the center specialized in it, the Masters Therapeutic Nursery, and another focused on individuation and separation, the Masters Children Center, in 1957.

The author received several recognitions and awards in honor of her contribution throughout her life, especially in her last years. Margaret Mahler died in 1985 in New York City.

  • Related article: "The 4 types of Autism and its characteristics"

Contributions

The work of Margaret Mahler focused mainly on the treatment of childhood, making theoretical contributions in the psychoanalytic field of human development .

One of his most recognized theories deals with individuation. For Mahler the personality of a child begins to be forged thanks to the interaction with other people, initially fused with the figure of the mother as the baby is not able to differentiate and distinguish between what I am and what is not.Throughout the development the infant will try to separate and become an independent entity throughout different phases.

First, during the first month of life the child would be in the phase that he calls normal autism, in which he does not respond to external stimulation and spends more time asleep than awake.

From the second month between the symbiosis phase, in which the baby is not able to distinguish between me and not me and is in a stage of fusion with the mother.

In the fourth month of life usually the first attempts at differentiation are already observed, entering the final phase of separation and individuation , starting the subject to explore for himself, although he needs the mother figure to be close. After a year he begins to practice locomotion and separation with the mother, temporarily. After that, a conflicting sub-period between dependency and independence begins, which will culminate approximately after two years of age when he has a permanent Self and begins to be aware that others have their own psyche alien to their own.

  • Related article: "Karen Horney and her theory about neurotic personality"

Mahler"s Stages of Child Development (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Margaret Mahler: biographie de ce psychanalyste

Margaret Mahler: biographie de ce psychanalyste

Décembre 5, 2019

Le développement de l'enfant et la manière dont l'être humain acquiert progressivement une identité propre résultant de la stimulation de l'environnement et de l'élaboration du Soi ont fait l'objet d'études fréquentes de la part de la psychologie. Différents modèles et explications ont été établis à cet égard.

L'un des auteurs les plus connus à cet égard est Margaret Mahler, auteure psychanalytique spécialisée dans le développement de l'enfant et dans les troubles psychotiques chez les mineurs. Nous passerons ensuite en revue sa vie et son travail à travers une courte biographie de Margaret Mahler.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Brève biographie de Margaret Mahler: la petite enfance

Margaret Schonberger, c'était son nom de naissance jusqu'à ce qu'elle acquière le nom de famille de son mari, elle est née à Sopron (Hongrie) en 1897.


Fille d'un médecin et d'une femme au foyer d'origine juive, Margaret était la première de deux sœurs. Alors que son père la traitait toujours correctement et l'encourageait à enquêter (pour le moment en question, on considérait qu'il offrait le même traitement que s'il était né homme), avec sa mère jamais eu de relation trop étroite.

Margaret Mahler il était intéressé depuis l'enfance par la science , probablement en partie à cause de la profession de son père. Dans son adolescence, elle a été encouragée à lire des auteurs psychanalytiques tels que Sigmund Freud, s'intéressant au sujet de la psychologie et de l'inconscient.

Il commença la carrière d'histoire de l'art à l'Université de Budapest en 1916, mais finit par décider de changer et de faire de la médecine, en cours de transfert à l'Université de Munich et commence à se spécialiser en pédiatrie. Cependant, à cette époque, on commença à promouvoir et à intensifier l'antisémitisme et, étant d'origine juive, décida de passer à Jenna jusqu'à sa graduation en 1922, voyant à quel point le jeu et les attachements affectifs étaient fondamentaux dans le développement physique et mental des enfants.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Anna Freud: biographie et travail du successeur de Sigmund Freud"

Transfert à Vienne et approche de la psychanalyse

La même année, Margaret Schonberger apprendrait qu'elle ne peut rester en Allemagne et qu'elle est contrainte de déménager à Vienne. L’auteur avait déjà commencé à s'intéresser à Jenna relations d'attachement entre parents et enfants qui, une fois à Vienne, l’a amenée à s’intéresser plus activement à la théorie psychanalytique et à se former à ce domaine. En 1933, il ferait partie de l'Institut psychanalytique de Vienne.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

En 1936 il a épousé Paul Mahler, dont il absorberait le nom de famille . Cependant, les affaires et les activités de son mari les ont pratiquement mises en faillite.

Peu de temps après leur mariage, l'armée nazie a pris le contrôle de l'Autriche, qui a été contrainte de déménager en Angleterre (grâce en grande partie à l'intervention de l'épouse du vice-roi des Indes) pour s'échapper.


Plus tard, ils ont déménagé aux États-Unis, où elle a essayé de faire venir sa famille. Cependant, sa mère a été déportée et assassinée à Auschwitz alors que son père était décédé avant que les nazis n’ont envahi la région.

La vie aux États-Unis et la mort

Dans les années après la seconde guerre mondiale, Margaret Mahler a commencé à travailler et à faire des recherches sur la psychose et l'autisme . Il a réussi à pratiquer à l'Institut psychanalytique de Philadelphie. Il serait également accepté par la Société psychanalytique de New York et par l’Institute of Human Development.

C’est à ce moment-là qu'il établira l'essentiel de sa théorie concernant la symbiose mère-enfant et l'acquisition progressive de l'identité et de l'autonomie . Elle a également été l’un des premiers psychologues à se spécialiser dans les nourrissons atteints de troubles psychotiques, en créant le centre spécialisé dans ce domaine, la Masters Therapeutic Nursery, et un autre centre sur l’individuation et la séparation, le Masters Children Centre, en 1957.

L'auteur a reçu plusieurs distinctions et récompenses en l'honneur de sa contribution tout au long de sa vie, en particulier au cours de ses dernières années. Margaret Mahler est décédée en 1985 à New York.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types d'autisme et ses caractéristiques"

Contributions

Les travaux de Margaret Mahler ont principalement porté sur le traitement de l’enfance, apportant des contributions théoriques dans le domaine psychanalytique du développement humain .

L'une de ses théories les plus reconnues concerne l'individuation. Pour Mahler la personnalité d'un enfant commence à se forger grâce à l'interaction avec d'autres personnes, initialement fusionnée avec la figure de la mère car le bébé n'est pas en mesure de différencier et de distinguer entre ce que je suis et ce que je ne suis pas.Tout au long du développement, l'enfant tentera de se séparer et deviendra une entité indépendante au cours de différentes phases.

Premièrement, au cours du premier mois de sa vie, l’enfant serait dans la phase qu’il appelle l’autisme normal, au cours duquel il ne répond pas aux stimulations extérieures et passe plus de temps à dormir qu’à l’éveil.

À partir du deuxième mois entre la phase de symbiose, au cours de laquelle le bébé n'est pas capable de faire la distinction entre moi et pas moi et est dans une phase de fusion avec la mère.

Au cours du quatrième mois de la vie, on observe généralement les premiers essais de différenciation, en entrant dans la phase finale de séparation et d'individuation , commençant le sujet à explorer par lui-même, bien qu'il ait besoin que la figure maternelle soit proche. Au bout d'un an, il commence à pratiquer la locomotion et la séparation avec la mère, temporairement. Après cela, une sous-période conflictuelle entre dépendance et indépendance commence, qui culminera approximativement après deux ans quand il aura un Soi permanent et commencera à se rendre compte que les autres ont leur propre psyché qui leur est étrangère.

  • Article connexe: "Karen Horney et sa théorie sur la personnalité névrotique"

ARTHUR SCHOPENHAUER (1788-1860) : Franc-tireur de la philosophie – Une vie, une œuvre [1988] (Décembre 2019).


Articles Connexes