yes, therapy helps!
Margaret Mead: biography of this anthropologist and researcher of the genre

Margaret Mead: biography of this anthropologist and researcher of the genre

July 14, 2024

Margaret Mead was one of the pioneers of cultural anthropology and American feminism in the second half of the 20th century. Among other things, he studied how social norms about sexuality, childhood and adolescence differ among different cultures; which served to question the biologicist perspectives that dominated the understanding of human development.

In this article we will see the biography of Margaret Mead , some of her contributions to American anthropological thought, as well as the works with which she was recognized as one of the most representative exponents of contemporary social sciences.

  • Related article: "Differences between Psychology and Anthropology"

Margaret Mead: biography of a pioneer in anthropology and gender

Margaret Mead (1901-1978) was a cultural anthropologist who maintained an important gender perspective in her studies, which is why she is also considered as one of the forerunners of the American feminist movement .


She was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and was the oldest of 4 brothers. Although his parents were also social scientists, which had inspired his professional career, Mead he defined his paternal grandmother as his most decisive influence , whom I recognized as a very empowered woman.

In the year 1923, Margaret Mead graduated from Barnard College, which was a school for women affiliated with Columbia University. He had studied most of his subjects in Psychology, a career that interested him a lot and that motivated him to study children's development.

Later he trained with Franz Boas, a professor of anthropology at Columbia, and finally he was convinced to study and practice this discipline. He obtained his doctorate degree in anthropology in the year 1929, from Columbia University.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

The academic world and the private life of Margaret Mead

One of Margaret Mead's convictions was that cultural conditions are more determinant than genetic characteristics in human behavior; which quickly moved to the analysis of gender roles and human development.

From this he compared several cultures that were considered "primitive" with the North American culture. Given the current cultural conditions in the American West, his thinking was very innovative, but at the same time he obtained negative responses.

In general terms, Mead had a very liberal perspective on sexuality, which was visible not only in his academic work, but in his relational experiences. That is, his academic and private perspective was very close to cultural relativism and moral relativism about sexuality, which also placed him at the center of many moralistic criticisms and controversies in the academic world.


Despite this, her academic rigor soon became a prestigious woman. She joined the American Museum of Natural History in New York as a curator, as well as teaching at Columbia University, New York University, Emory University, Yale University, and the University of Cincinnati. Finally he founded the department of anthropology at Fordham University .

She also became president of the American Anthropological Association, among other well-known institutes of applied anthropology. Among other things, he promoted the creation of a national archive of ethnographic films that would serve to preserve the important work and anthropological legacy.

  • Related article: "Margaret Mead's gender theory"

Human development and gender roles in New Guinea

During his work, Mead refuted the idea of ​​"primitive" societies, where the inhabitants were considered as children, or as if they were genetically determined to develop "less advanced" psychological states. She argued that human development depends on the social environment.

From there, Mead observed that gender roles were very different between different societies, which led to the conclusion that these roles depend much more on culture than on biology.

It made visible, for example, that women were dominant in some tribes of Papua New Guinea , without causing any social problem. There were tribes where women and men were more pacifists and lived in more cooperative societies than the United States, for example in Arapesh.

In other tribes, as in Tchambuli, men and women had differentiated roles, but very different from Western ones. Men were closer to the plane of the sensible, and women directed public activities.

The opposite was found in societies such as Mundugumor , where he saw that men and women had developed more explosive and conflicting temperaments, with which children were also educated harder.

By purchasing studies among these societies, Mead came to the conclusion that culture molds human behavior. Hence one of his most famous phrases: "human nature is malleable".

Gender Perspective

For Mead, masculinity and femininity reflect cultural conditions , and gender differences are not entirely determined by biology. His perspective on gender roles was very radical for his time and helped to break down many taboos surrounding the sexuality of the mid-twentieth century in American society.

Although she did not call herself a "feminist", her theoretical developments not only impacted the academy, but she was quickly recognized as an activist and pioneer of the feminist movement.

He defended the freedom of sexual practices, criticized traditional family structures , the upbringing based on dysmetric gender models, and finally, promoted the transformation of moral values ​​related to sexuality.

Main works

Some of his main works are Coming of Age in Samoa (Adolescence in Samoa), book of 1928 that resulted from his PhD thesis where studied mainly adolescent girls from the Polynesian islands in relation to the rules on sexuality that circulated there. In addition, he established some comparisons on the transition to adulthood with American culture and the emotional effects on young people.

With this work, Mead was positioned as one of the great influences of the anthropology of his time. Later he continued to study the relationship between childhood, adolescence and American families, emphasizing the value of comparative and interdisciplinary work.

Other of his important works are Growing Up in New Guinea: A Comparative Study of Primitive Education (Growing up in New Guinea: A Comparative Study on Early Education); and the film Trance and Dance in Bali, Learning to Dance in Bali, and Karba's First Years. Likewise, Margaret Mead participated in other film productions that addressed the issue of different practices on care and nurturing in different cultures.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bowman-Kruhm, M. (2003). Margaret Mead, a biography. Greenwood Press: London.
  • New World Encyclopedia. (2014). Margaret Mead. New World Encyclopedia. Retrieved May 16, 2018. Available at //www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Margaret_Mead.
  • Streeter, L. (2016). Margaret Mead. Cultural Equality. Retrieved May 16, 2018. Available at //www.culturalequity.org/alanlomax/ce_alanlomax_profile_margaret_mead.php.

CHELLAY: What is Anthropology? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Margaret Mead: biographie de cet anthropologue et chercheur du genre

Margaret Mead: biographie de cet anthropologue et chercheur du genre

Septembre 4, 2022

Margaret Mead fut l'un des pionniers de l'anthropologie culturelle et du féminisme américain dans la seconde moitié du 20e siècle. Entre autres choses, il a étudié en quoi les normes sociales relatives à la sexualité, à l'enfance et à l'adolescence diffèrent d'une culture à l'autre. qui a servi à remettre en question les perspectives biologistes qui ont dominé la compréhension du développement humain.

Dans cet article nous verrons la biographie de Margaret Mead , certaines de ses contributions à la pensée anthropologique américaine, ainsi que les travaux avec lesquels elle a été reconnue comme l’un des représentants les plus représentatifs des sciences sociales contemporaines.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre psychologie et anthropologie"

Margaret Mead: biographie d'une pionnière en anthropologie et genre

Margaret Mead (1901-1978) était une anthropologue culturelle qui a maintenu une importante perspective de genre dans ses études, raison pour laquelle elle est également considérée l'un des précurseurs du mouvement féministe américain .


Elle est née à Philadelphie, en Pennsylvanie et était l'aînée de 4 frères. Même si ses parents étaient aussi des spécialistes des sciences sociales, ce qui avait inspiré sa carrière professionnelle, Mead il a défini sa grand-mère paternelle comme son influence la plus décisive , que j’ai reconnu comme une femme très autonome.

En 1923, Margaret Mead est diplômée du Barnard College, une école pour femmes affiliée à l'Université Columbia. Il avait étudié la plupart de ses matières en psychologie, une carrière qui l’intéressait beaucoup et qui le motivait à étudier le développement des enfants.

Plus tard, il s'est formé avec Franz Boas, professeur d'anthropologie à Columbia, et a finalement été convaincu d'étudier et de pratiquer cette discipline. Il obtint son doctorat en anthropologie en 1929 à l'Université de Columbia.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

Le monde universitaire et la vie privée de Margaret Mead

Une des condamnations de Margaret Mead était que les conditions culturelles sont plus déterminantes que les caractéristiques génétiques dans le comportement humain; qui est rapidement passé à l'analyse des rôles de genre et du développement humain.

À partir de cela, il a comparé plusieurs cultures considérées comme "primitives" à la culture nord-américaine. Compte tenu des conditions culturelles actuelles dans l'Ouest américain, sa pensée était très novatrice, mais en même temps, il obtenait des réponses négatives.

De manière générale, Mead avait une perspective très libérale sur la sexualité, ce qui était visible non seulement dans son travail universitaire, mais également dans ses expériences relationnelles. En effet, ses perspectives académiques et privées étaient très proches du relativisme culturel et du relativisme moral concernant la sexualité, ce qui le plaçait également au centre de nombreuses critiques et controverses moralistes dans le monde universitaire.


Malgré cela, sa rigueur universitaire est vite devenue une femme prestigieuse. Elle a été conservatrice au Musée américain d'histoire naturelle de New York et a enseigné à l'Université Columbia, à l'Université de New York, à l'Université Emory, à l'Université Yale et à l'Université de Cincinnati. Enfin, il a fondé le département d’anthropologie de l’Université Fordham. .

Elle est également devenue présidente de l'American Anthropological Association, parmi d'autres instituts d'anthropologie appliquée bien connus. Entre autres choses, il a encouragé la création d'archives nationales de films ethnographiques qui serviraient à préserver l'important travail et l'héritage anthropologique.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de genre de Margaret Mead"

Développement humain et rôles de genre en Nouvelle Guinée

Au cours de son travail, Mead a réfuté l’idée de sociétés «primitives», où les habitants étaient considérés comme des enfants ou comme s’ils étaient génétiquement déterminés à développer des états psychologiques «moins avancés». Elle a soutenu que le développement humain dépend de l'environnement social.

À partir de là, Mead a observé que les rôles de genre étaient très différents selon les sociétés, ce qui a permis de conclure que ces rôles dépendaient beaucoup plus de la culture que de la biologie.

Il a rendu visible, par exemple, que les femmes étaient dominantes dans certaines tribus de Papouasie Nouvelle Guinée , sans causer de problème social. Il y avait des tribus où les femmes et les hommes étaient plus pacifistes et vivaient dans plus de sociétés coopératives que les États-Unis, par exemple à Arapesh.

Dans d'autres tribus, comme à Tchambuli, les hommes et les femmes avaient des rôles différenciés, mais très différents de ceux occidentaux. Les hommes étaient plus proches du plan du sensible et les femmes dirigeaient les activités publiques.

L’inverse a été constaté dans des sociétés telles que Mundugumor , où il a constaté que les hommes et les femmes avaient développé des tempéraments plus explosifs et plus conflictuels, avec lesquels les enfants étaient également éduqués plus durement.

En achetant des études parmi ces sociétés, Mead est parvenu à la conclusion que la culture façonnait le comportement humain. D'où l'une de ses phrases les plus célèbres: "la nature humaine est malléable".

Perspective de genre

Pour Mead, la masculinité et la féminité reflètent les conditions culturelles et les différences entre les sexes ne sont pas entièrement déterminées par la biologie. Son point de vue sur les rôles de genre était très radical pour son époque et a permis de briser de nombreux tabous entourant la sexualité du milieu du vingtième siècle dans la société américaine.

Bien qu'elle ne se soit pas qualifiée de "féministe", ses développements théoriques ont non seulement impacté l'académie, mais elle a rapidement été reconnue comme une activiste et une pionnière du mouvement féministe.

Il a défendu la liberté des pratiques sexuelles, critiqué les structures familiales traditionnelles , l’éducation basée sur des modèles de genre dysmétriques, et enfin, a favorisé la transformation des valeurs morales liées à la sexualité.

Travaux principaux

Parmi ses principales œuvres, il y a Coming of Age in Samoa (Adolescence in Samoa), livre de 1928 issu de sa thèse de doctorat où étudié principalement les adolescentes des îles polynésiennes en ce qui concerne les règles de la sexualité qui a circulé là-bas. En outre, il a établi des comparaisons entre le passage à l'âge adulte et la culture américaine et les effets émotionnels sur les jeunes.

Avec ce travail, Mead se positionne comme l’une des grandes influences de l’anthropologie de son temps. Plus tard, il a continué à étudier la relation entre l'enfance, l'adolescence et les familles américaines, en soulignant la valeur du travail comparatif et interdisciplinaire.

Autres de ses œuvres importantes sont Grandir en Nouvelle-Guinée: étude comparative de l'éducation primitive (Grandir en Nouvelle-Guinée: Une étude comparative sur l'éducation précoce); et le film Transe et danse à Bali, apprendre à danser à Bali et les premières années de Karba. De même, Margaret Mead a participé à d'autres productions cinématographiques traitant de la question des différentes pratiques en matière de soins et d'éducation dans différentes cultures.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bowman-Kruhm, M. (2003). Margaret Mead, une biographie. Greenwood Press: Londres.
  • Encyclopédie du Nouveau Monde. (2014). Margaret Mead. Encyclopédie du Nouveau Monde. Récupéré le 16 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Margaret_Mead.
  • Streeter, L. (2016). Margaret Mead. Égalité culturelle. Récupéré le 16 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.culturalequity.org/alanlomax/ce_alanlomax_profile_margaret_mead.php.

MOOC @ddict? - Webinaire de la semaine 3 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes