yes, therapy helps!
Marijuana: 4 reasons to understand why it is not safe

Marijuana: 4 reasons to understand why it is not safe

June 21, 2024

Marijuana is a psychoactive substance that when entering the body alters it generating stimulating, depressant and hallucinogenic effects. It can produce in the first instance euphoria, then relaxation and in some cases, hallucinations and delusions.

Next we will mention 4 facts by which Compulsive use of marijuana in the short or long term is not innocuous (In all cases we refer to smoked marijuana, not the medicinal use of cannabis).

  • Related article: "The 4 types of marijuana: cannabis and its characteristics"

Adverse effects of marijuana

These are some of the effects that make marijuana a substance capable of eroding the well-being of people.


1. It alters the central nervous system

The consumption of marijuana alters the perception, can produce space-time disorientation, increases the probability of suffering accidents (car accidents, at work) because psychomotor coordination is affected ; the concentration decreases, the reflections are altered, the reaction times are slower.

In the long term, the higher the frequency of consumption and the earlier the link with the substance begins, generates neurocognitive impairment . It affects cognitive functions, diminishing abilities such as the resolution of mathematical problems, the comprehension of texts, memory, hindering the learning process.


It also produces a decrease in interest and willingness to study because the psychoactive component THC can also generate amotivational syndrome , characterized by a decrease in the ability to maintain the normal course of different activities such as keeping a job or finishing school.

2. It can produce acute psychotic episodes

The consumption of marijuana, by altering the state of consciousness and perception, generates changes in mental activity to the point of producing auditory or visual hallucinations, paranoid ideas, depersonalization, a sense of loss of control, of panic, of terror.

This is because THC has an impact on parts of the brain responsible for perception, attention, the senses. These episodes can occur as a result of compulsive use, as withdrawal symptoms, or by a predisposition of dual base pathology triggered by consumption.


On the other hand, smoking marijuana may produce higher risk of suffering from schizophrenia , which can be triggered by three factors: frequent consumption + early onset of consumption + genetic predisposition to have said mental illness.

  • Related article: "Research reveals why marijuana can cause schizophrenia"

3. Is capable of producing psychological dependence

Not every use of marijuana will escalate to problematic use, however if the consumer has predisposing factors in his organism, psychological dependence can be generated, a need relationship with the substance .

We can talk about psychological dependence when consumption is compulsive, when there are manifestations of irritability, anxiety, desire to consume, mood and mood changes in times of abstinence and need to use marijuana to carry out certain activities. The dependent person feels that he needs the substance to function better.

4. Increased risk of developing respiratory problems, such as lung cancer

The high temperature of the smoke and toxic substances produced by combustion, such as tar , are aggressive and invasive factors for the respiratory system; It causes irritation of the lungs and can produce some types of cancers. It can also cause respiratory crisis, bronchitis, pneumonia, breathing difficulties, cough.

And the rest of the drugs?

It is worth clarifying that the reasons mentioned to understand why marijuana is not innocuous are not exclusive to it, since they are also applicable to other psychoactive substances , such as alcohol.

The ignorance of the harmful effects caused by the consumption of marijuana cigarettes favors that it is one of the main psychoactive drugs most consumed in the world, either addictively or in recreational use. Marijuana is very easy and fast access and consumption in adolescence is increasing, from ever younger ages.

It is often thought that tobacco cigarettes pose more danger to health than marijuana cigarettes. While it is correct that tobacco generates great damage throughout the body, smoked marijuana is never beneficial to health nor is its consumption without harmful consequences.


10 LIES You Were Told About Marijuana (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Marijuana: 4 raisons de comprendre pourquoi ce n'est pas sûr

Marijuana: 4 raisons de comprendre pourquoi ce n'est pas sûr

Septembre 3, 2022

La marijuana est une substance psychoactive qui, lorsqu’elle pénètre dans le corps, l’altère en générant des effets stimulants, dépressifs et hallucinogènes. Il peut produire en premier lieu une euphorie, puis une relaxation et, dans certains cas, des hallucinations et des délires.

Ensuite, nous mentionnerons 4 faits par lesquels L'usage compulsif de la marijuana à court ou à long terme n'est pas anodin (Dans tous les cas, nous nous référons à la marijuana fumée, pas à l'usage médical du cannabis).

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types de marijuana: le cannabis et ses caractéristiques"

Effets indésirables de la marijuana

Ce sont certains des effets qui font de la marijuana une substance capable de nuire au bien-être des personnes.


1. Il modifie le système nerveux central

La consommation de marijuana modifie la perception, peut provoquer une désorientation espace-temps, augmente le risque d'accidents de la route (accidents de la route, au travail) parce que la coordination psychomotrice est affectée ; la concentration diminue, les réflexions sont modifiées, les temps de réaction sont plus lents.

À long terme, plus la fréquence de consommation est élevée et plus le lien avec la substance commence tôt, génère une atteinte neurocognitive . Elle affecte les fonctions cognitives, diminue les capacités telles que la résolution de problèmes mathématiques, la compréhension de textes, la mémoire, entravant le processus d'apprentissage.


Il en résulte également une diminution de l'intérêt et de la volonté d'étudier, car la composante psychoactive THC peut également générer un syndrome amotivationnel , caractérisé par une diminution de la capacité de maintenir le cours normal de différentes activités telles que le maintien d'un emploi ou la fin de ses études.

2. Il peut produire des épisodes psychotiques aigus

La consommation de marijuana, en modifiant l'état de conscience et de perception, génère des modifications de l'activité mentale au point de produire des hallucinations auditives ou auditives, des idées paranoïaques, une dépersonnalisation, un sentiment de perte de contrôle, de panique, de terreur.

En effet, le THC a un impact sur les parties du cerveau responsables de la perception, de l’attention, des sens. Ces épisodes peuvent survenir à la suite d'une utilisation compulsive, de symptômes de sevrage ou d'une prédisposition à une pathologie à double base déclenchée par la consommation.


D'un autre côté, fumer de la marijuana peut augmenter le risque de schizophrénie , qui peuvent être déclenchés par trois facteurs: consommation fréquente + début précoce de consommation + prédisposition génétique à avoir ladite maladie mentale.

  • Article connexe: "La recherche révèle pourquoi la marijuana peut causer la schizophrénie"

3. Est capable de produire une dépendance psychologique

La consommation de marijuana n'entraîne pas toujours une consommation problématique, mais si le consommateur a des facteurs prédisposants dans son organisme, une dépendance psychologique peut être générée. une relation de besoin avec la substance .

On peut parler de dépendance psychologique lorsque la consommation est compulsive, lorsqu'il y a des manifestations d'irritabilité, d'anxiété, de désir de consommer, d'humeur et de changements d'humeur en période d'abstinence et de nécessité de consommer de la marijuana pour certaines activités. La personne dépendante estime avoir besoin de la substance pour mieux fonctionner.

4. Risque accru de développer des problèmes respiratoires, tels que le cancer du poumon

La température élevée de la fumée et substances toxiques produites par combustion, telles que le goudron , sont des facteurs agressifs et invasifs pour le système respiratoire; Il provoque une irritation des poumons et peut entraîner certains types de cancers. Il peut également causer une crise respiratoire, une bronchite, une pneumonie, des difficultés respiratoires, une toux.

Et le reste des médicaments?

Il convient de préciser que les raisons mentionnées pour comprendre pourquoi la marijuana n'est pas inoffensive ne lui sont pas exclusives ils sont également applicables à d'autres substances psychoactives , comme l'alcool.

L'ignorance des effets nocifs causés par la consommation de cigarettes de marijuana est l'une des principales drogues psychoactives les plus consommées dans le monde, que ce soit par la dépendance ou par un usage récréatif. La marijuana est un accès très facile et rapide et la consommation augmente à l’adolescence, et ce, de plus en plus jeunes.

On pense souvent que les cigarettes de tabac posent plus de danger pour la santé que les cigarettes de marijuana. S'il est exact que le tabac génère de gros dommages dans tout le corps, la marijuana fumée n'est jamais bénéfique pour la santé et sa consommation ne provoque pas de conséquences néfastes.


LES EFFETS DU CANNABIS SUR LE CORPS (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes