yes, therapy helps!
Marital therapy: assertiveness to live happily in a couple

Marital therapy: assertiveness to live happily in a couple

August 17, 2022

On certain occasions, some couples that initially seemed to understand and understand each other in most situations, they can come with the passage of time to constitute a nucleus full of conflicts and constant discussions .

In some cases, these expressed differences are insurmountable, but in a considerable percentage the origin of the issue can be derived from a lack of interpersonal or social skills.

One of the components that make up the psychological interventions based on Social Skills Training and one of the most used to Marital Therapies of cognitive-behavioral current is the Learning of Assertive Behavior.


The role of assertiveness

Within the scope of psychological intervention, the terms assertive behavior and behavior based on social skills can be understood as analogous.

A) Yes, Assertive behavior is defined as that ability that allows the person to manifest and communicate freely , have an active orientation and attitude in life and act to value actions in a respectable way (Fensterheim and Baer, ​​2008). Méndez, Olivares and Ros (2008), propose the following classification of social skills from the lists of previous behaviors: opinions, feelings, requests, conversations and rights. It is also important to train in non-verbal aspects such as adequacy in the tone of voice, eye contact, body and facial expression.


Assertiveness and self-esteem

Assertiveness maintains a close relationship with the concept of self-esteem, since everything that an individual does, has its reflection in the idea that it develops on itself (self-concept).

Therefore, a positive correlation can be established between these two phenomena: as the expression of assertiveness increases, the level of self-esteem also increases, and vice versa. There are numerous investigations that affirm that an adequate level of esteem towards oneself is fundamental to favor the establishment of relationships satisfactory interpersonal

Assertive, non-assertive and aggressive behaviors

A relevant aspect that must previously be addressed about the concept of assertiveness is to determine the difference between assertive, non-assertive behaviors and aggressive behaviors. Unlike the first ones:


  • Non-assertive behavior is defined as unsafe behavior where the person does not defend firmly their own ideas, which usually causes emotional discomfort and a negative self-perception when facing certain situations.
  • Aggressive behavior refers to the expression of hostility and excessive harshness general as a form of psychological organization of the individual in such a way that intentionally causes pain to others in order to achieve their own objectives.

What components include interventions in conjugal problems with greater empirical support?

At the level of conyugale psychological intervention, among the techniques that have proven most effective (from studies conducted with population samples with deficits in interpersonal relationships) are Cognitive Therapy (TC) and Social Skills Training, whose central element falls in the Training in Assertiveness (Holpe, Hoyt and Heimberg, 1995). In fact, Chambless's 1998 studies show how The cognitive-behavioral intervention is one of the empirically validated treatments for couples therapy .

On the other hand, Cognitive Therapy tries to modify the negative cognitive schemas on which the subject bases the concept he has of himself. Because this phenomenon has a positive and bidirectional correlation with the negativity expressed, the more one increases, the more the other increases. Thus, the final objective of the CT will be the modification of these pessimistic beliefs that guide the cognitive-behavioral dynamics that condition the habitual functioning of the person.

In reference to Behavioral Therapy, the most effective and most widespread intervention within the clinical context is the Social Skills Training, where the subject learns from the imitation of models appropriate behaviors and socially more adaptive .

Elements of this type of therapy

Fensterheim and Baer (2008) state that an Assertiveness Training program must include the following elements:

1. Plan to establish objectives and goals to achieve.

2. Training in emotional communication.

3. Assertive behavior test in a safe context.

4. Behavioral practice exercises in the real context.

Once the initial analysis on the dynamics of the specific relationship, the problematic behaviors and the antecedents and consequent of said behaviors, the first point that must be worked is the establishment of objectives and goals to be reached in the intervention.From that moment on, the part most related to the learning of assertive behavior begins properly (elements 2, 3 and 4 previously exposed).

Conjugal interventions: what are they?

A considerable number of problems in couples' relationships are caused by learning deficits in individual development throughout the subject's life. The lack of the acquisition of Social Skills during personal development means that these individuals can not express in adult life what they have not integrated in the first years of life. The approach of Behavioral Therapy defends the idea that people get intimacy because they have learned to achieve it.

The achievement of privacy is one of the ultimate goals in the treatment of marital problems , where Assertive Learning plays one of the main roles as an effective therapeutic strategy, as pointed out by Fensterheim and Baer (2008).

1. Enhance intimacy

In order to achieve intimacy between the members of the couple, the therapeutic indications and main basic milestones are oriented towards:

1. Help each spouse identify the specific behaviors necessary to improve the marriage relationship in general.

2. Help modify these behaviors by replacing them with more adaptive ones.

3. Demonstrate to each member that the change in each of them is a necessary condition to generate change in the other member.

4. Assist in the development of verbal and non-verbal communication between the members of the couple.

5. Help in the process of establishing feasible short-term objectives in the field of emotional communication.

On the other hand, we must also take into account the following observations:

  • The spouse should not be blamed for all the problems , but the failure in relationships are shared responsibility.
  • It is recommended not to abandon one's identity . Although both members form a matrimonial nucleus there are individual plots that are not fully shared
  • Related to the previous point , it is important not to invade the space of the other and to respect their privacy in certain aspects.
  • An excess of independence can lead to a distancing between both members of the couple. The marital relationship is by nature reciprocal and mutually interdependent, therefore, the conduct of one of the spouses irremediably affects the other and also the relationship itself.

2. The Assertiveness Training

More concretely and according to Fensterheim and Baer (2008), the components most commonly addressed in the Assertiveness Training within couple relationships correspond to the following:

  • General plan for the modification of problematic behaviors : whose purpose is the identification of conflict generating behaviors between the spouses. It is essential to know which behaviors are displeasing to each member of the couple in order to modify them and replace them with more adaptive ones.
  • Marriage contract : agreement based on a document from which both spouses are committed to compliance and to exercise the consequences that may arise.
  • Assertive emotional communication : adopt a new form of open and honest communication where feelings and thoughts of one's own are expressed and shared. This point is fundamental to prevent the emergence of misunderstandings and erroneous subjective interpretations about situations that end up becoming conflicting. Likewise, some indications are also worked on to learn a more adequate way to maintain a discussion with the other, in which points of view can be approached and the conflict resolved instead of aggravating it further.
  • Assertive decision making This component aims to influence the perception of one of the partners about the belief that it is the other spouse who makes the most decisions, so that he or she may feel excluded and despised. With these indications it is intended to re-negotiate and distribute in a more equitable and satisfactory manner the percentage of decisions that involve the marital core.

3. The Behavior Test Technique

This is the central technique of Assertiveness Training, and its purpose is for the person to learn new behavioral skills , being very useful in the practice of social situations. In particular, it consists of reproducing a safe environment, such as the therapist's consultation (where it is possible to manipulate these scenes), in which one works on the person's daily natural situations in order that the person can evaluate their problematic behaviors without suffer the negative consequences that could occur in their real context.

In addition, it is possible for the person to reduce the level of anxiety when carrying out a certain behavior. At first the representations that are proposed are very patterned, later they are semi-directed and, finally, they are totally spontaneous and improvised.

4. The Modification of Conduct

The techniques based on operant conditioning were the first used in the field of Behavior Modification . It is called operant or instrumental learning because behavior is used as a means to obtain a desired consequence. The fundamental premise is the so-called Law of Effect proposed by Thorndike (one of the most important theorists on learning), who argues that if a behavior is followed by a positive effect, the probability of performing the behavior in the future will be increased.

One of the main focuses of acting of the Assertive Behavior Training within the couple consists of the ability to request a change of behavior in the other member of the couple. Thus, it is essential to pay attention to the behaviors that we want to strengthen / weaken in the other. For this purpose it is highly relevant to understand and take into account the procedures of Instrumental Conditioning.

More concretely, in the intervention in pairs, a new dynamic will be established in which the desirable and adaptive behaviors will be rewarded consistently through pleasant consequences in order that they tend to repeat themselves in the future, while those considered unpleasant to be penalized will be penalized. get its gradual elimination.

In conclusion

In the text it has been observed that the proposed interventions in the treatment of couple problems include both cognitive and behavioral components. A) Yes, the modification of underlying motivating beliefs of externally observable problem behaviors It is a necessary prerequisite to be addressed by both parties.

In the most behavioral part, the Theory of Instrumental Learning and the Behavior Test allow to acquire and strengthen those adaptive behaviors most beneficial for the interrelation between both members of the couple.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baron, R. A. Byrne, D. (2004) Social Psychology. Pearson: Madrid.
  • Fertensheim, H. I Baer, ​​J. (2008) Do not say yes when you want to say no. Debolsillo: Barcelona.
  • Labrador, F. J. (2008). Behavior modification techniques. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Olivares, J. and Méndez, F. X. (2008). Behavior modification techniques. Madrid: New library.

Skills for Healthy Romantic Relationships | Joanne Davila | TEDxSBU (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie conjugale: affirmation de soi pour vivre heureux en couple

Thérapie conjugale: affirmation de soi pour vivre heureux en couple

Octobre 25, 2021

À certaines occasions, certains couples qui semblaient au départ se comprendre et se comprendre dans la plupart des situations, ils peuvent venir avec le temps pour constituer un noyau plein de conflits et de discussions constantes .

Dans certains cas, ces différences exprimées sont insurmontables, mais dans un pourcentage considérable, le problème peut provenir d’un manque de compétences interpersonnelles ou sociales.

L'apprentissage du comportement assertif est l'un des éléments constitutifs des interventions psychologiques fondées sur la formation en habiletés sociales et l'un des plus utilisés dans les thérapies conjugales du courant cognitivo-comportemental.


Le rôle de l'affirmation de soi

Dans le cadre de l'intervention psychologique, les expressions comportement assertif et comportement basé sur les compétences sociales peuvent être comprises comme analogues.

Ainsi, Le comportement assertif est défini comme cette capacité qui permet à la personne de se manifester et de communiquer librement , ont une orientation et une attitude actives dans la vie et valorisent les actions de manière respectable (Fensterheim et Baer, ​​2008). Méndez, Olivares et Ros (2008) proposent la classification suivante des compétences sociales à partir des listes de comportements précédents: opinions, sentiments, demandes, conversations et droits. Il est également important de s'entraîner aux aspects non verbaux tels que l'adéquation du ton de la voix, du contact visuel, de l'expression du corps et du visage.


Affirmation de soi et estime de soi

L’affirmation de soi entretient une relation étroite avec le concept d’estime de soi, car tout ce que fait un individu trouve son reflet dans l’idée qu’il se développe sur lui-même (concept de soi).

Par conséquent, une corrélation positive peut être établie entre ces deux phénomènes: à mesure que l'expression de l'affirmation de soi augmente, le niveau d'estime de soi augmente également, et inversement. Il existe de nombreuses enquêtes qui affirment que un niveau d'estime adéquat envers soi-même est fondamental pour favoriser l'établissement de relations interpersonnel satisfaisant

Comportement assertif, non assertif et agressif

Un aspect pertinent du concept d’affirmation de soi qui doit être abordé précédemment consiste à déterminer la différence entre les comportements assertifs et non assertifs et les comportements agressifs. Contrairement aux premiers:


  • Un comportement non assertif est défini comme un comportement dangereux où la personne ne défend pas fermement ses propres idées, ce qui provoque généralement un malaise émotionnel et une perception de soi négative face à certaines situations.
  • Un comportement agressif se réfère à l'expression d'hostilité et de dureté excessive général en tant que forme d'organisation psychologique de l'individu de manière à causer intentionnellement des souffrances à autrui afin d'atteindre ses propres objectifs.

Quels composants comprennent les interventions dans les problèmes conjugaux avec un plus grand soutien empirique?

Au niveau de l'intervention psychologique conyugale, parmi les techniques qui se sont avérées les plus efficaces (à partir d'études menées avec des échantillons de population présentant des déficits de relations interpersonnelles) sont la thérapie cognitive (TC) et la formation en compétences sociales, dont l'élément central est la chute dans la formation à l'assertivité (Holpe, Hoyt et Heimberg, 1995). En fait, les études de 1998 de Chambless montrent comment L’intervention cognitivo-comportementale est l’un des traitements validés empiriquement pour la thérapie de couple. .

D'autre part, la thérapie cognitive tente de modifier les schémas cognitifs négatifs sur lesquels le sujet fonde le concept qu'il a de lui-même. Comme ce phénomène a une corrélation positive et bidirectionnelle avec la négativité exprimée, plus l’un augmente, plus l’autre augmente. Ainsi, l’objectif final du scanner sera la modification de ces croyances pessimistes qui guident la dynamique cognitivo-comportementale qui conditionne le fonctionnement habituel de la personne.

En référence à la thérapie comportementale, l’intervention la plus efficace et la plus répandue dans le contexte clinique est la formation en aptitudes sociales. le sujet apprend de l'imitation de modèles des comportements appropriés et socialement plus adaptatifs .

Éléments de ce type de thérapie

Fensterheim et Baer (2008) affirment qu'un programme de formation à l'assertivité doit inclure les éléments suivants:

1. Planifiez pour établir les objectifs et les buts à atteindre.

2. Formation à la communication émotionnelle.

3. Test de comportement assertif dans un contexte sécurisé.

4. Exercices de comportement dans le contexte réel.

Une fois que l'analyse initiale sur la dynamique de la relation spécifique, les comportements problématiques et les antécédents et conséquents de ces comportements, le premier point à travailler est l'établissement d'objectifs et de buts à atteindre dans l'intervention.A partir de ce moment, la partie la plus liée à l'apprentissage du comportement assertif commence correctement (éléments 2, 3 et 4 exposés précédemment).

Les interventions conjugales: que sont-elles?

Un nombre considérable de problèmes dans les relations de couple sont causés par des déficits d'apprentissage dans le développement individuel tout au long de la vie du sujet. L'absence d'acquisition de compétences sociales au cours du développement personnel signifie que ces personnes ne peuvent pas exprimer à l'âge adulte ce qu'elles n'ont pas intégré dans les premières années de leur vie. L’approche de la thérapie comportementale défend l’idée que les personnes obtiennent de l’intimité parce qu’elles ont appris à la réaliser.

La protection de la vie privée est l’un des objectifs ultimes du traitement des problèmes conjugaux , où Assertive Learning joue l'un des principaux rôles en tant que stratégie thérapeutique efficace, comme le soulignent Fensterheim et Baer (2008).

1. Améliorer l'intimité

Afin de créer une intimité entre les membres du couple, les indications thérapeutiques et les principaux jalons fondamentaux sont orientés vers:

1. Aidez chaque conjoint à identifier les comportements spécifiques nécessaires pour améliorer la relation conjugale en général.

2. Aidez à modifier ces comportements en les remplaçant par des comportements plus adaptatifs.

3. Démontrez à chaque membre que le changement dans chacun d'eux est une condition nécessaire pour générer un changement chez l'autre membre.

4. Participer au développement de la communication verbale et non verbale entre les membres du couple.

5. Aider au processus d’établissement d’objectifs réalisables à court terme dans le domaine de la communication émotionnelle.

D'autre part, nous devons également prendre en compte les observations suivantes:

  • Le conjoint ne doit pas être blâmé pour tous les problèmes , mais l’échec dans les relations est une responsabilité partagée.
  • Il est recommandé de ne pas abandonner son identité . Bien que les deux membres forment un noyau matrimonial, certaines parcelles individuelles ne sont pas entièrement partagées.
  • Relatif au point précédent , il est important de ne pas envahir l’espace de l’autre et de respecter leur vie privée à certains égards.
  • Un excès d’indépendance peut conduire à une distanciation entre les deux membres du couple. La relation conjugale étant par nature réciproque et interdépendante, le comportement de l'un des époux affecte irrémédiablement l'autre et la relation elle-même.

2. La formation à l'affirmation de soi

Plus concrètement et selon Fensterheim et Baer (2008), les composantes les plus couramment abordées dans la formation à l'affirmation de soi au sein des relations de couple correspondent aux éléments suivants:

  • Plan général pour la modification des comportements problématiques : dont le but est d'identifier les comportements générateurs de conflits entre les époux. Il est essentiel de savoir quels comportements déplaisent à chaque membre du couple afin de les modifier et de les remplacer par des comportements plus adaptatifs.
  • Contrat de mariage : accord basé sur un document par lequel les deux époux s'engagent à respecter les obligations et à en exercer les conséquences.
  • Communication émotionnelle assertive : adopter une nouvelle forme de communication ouverte et honnête dans laquelle les sentiments et les pensées de chacun sont exprimés et partagés. Ce point est fondamental pour empêcher l’émergence de malentendus et d’interprétations subjectives erronées de situations qui finissent par devenir conflictuelles. De même, certaines indications sont également travaillées pour apprendre un moyen plus adéquat de maintenir une discussion avec l'autre, dans lequel des points de vue peuvent être abordés et le conflit résolu, au lieu de l'aggraver davantage.
  • Prise de décision assertive Cette composante vise à influencer la perception de l’un des partenaires sur la conviction que c’est l’autre conjoint qui prend le plus de décisions, afin qu’il se sente exclu et méprisé. Avec ces indications, il est prévu de renégocier et de répartir de manière plus équitable et satisfaisante le pourcentage de décisions impliquant le noyau conjugal.

3. La technique de test de comportement

C’est la technique centrale de la formation à l’affirmation de soi, et son but est que la personne acquière de nouvelles compétences comportementales , très utile dans la pratique des situations sociales. Il s'agit notamment de reproduire un environnement sécurisé, tel que la consultation du thérapeute (où il est possible de manipuler ces scènes), dans lequel on travaille sur les situations naturelles quotidiennes de la personne afin subir les conséquences négatives qui pourraient survenir dans leur contexte réel.

En outre, il est possible pour la personne de réduire le niveau d'anxiété lors de la réalisation d'un certain comportement. Au début, les représentations proposées sont très structurées, ensuite semi-dirigées et, finalement, totalement spontanées et improvisées.

4. La modification du comportement

Les techniques basées sur le conditionnement opérant ont été les premières utilisées dans le domaine de la modification du comportement . C'est ce qu'on appelle l'apprentissage opérant ou instrumental, car le comportement est utilisé comme moyen d'obtenir une conséquence souhaitée. La prémisse fondamentale est la loi dite d’effet proposée par Thorndike (l’un des théoriciens les plus importants en matière d’apprentissage), qui soutient que si un comportement est suivi d’un effet positif, la probabilité qu’il se produise à l’avenir sera accrue.

L'un des principaux objectifs de la formation au comportement assertif au sein du couple consiste en la possibilité de demander un changement de comportement chez l'autre membre du couple. Il est donc essentiel de faire attention aux comportements que nous voulons renforcer / affaiblir chez l’autre. À cette fin, il est très important de comprendre et de prendre en compte les procédures de conditionnement instrumental.

Plus concrètement, dans l’intervention à deux, une nouvelle dynamique sera instaurée dans laquelle les comportements souhaitables et adaptatifs seront systématiquement récompensés par des conséquences agréables afin qu’ils aient tendance à se répéter à l’avenir, tandis que ceux jugés désagréables à pénaliser seront pénalisés. obtenir son élimination progressive.

En guise de conclusion

Dans le texte, il a été observé que les interventions proposées dans le traitement des problèmes de couple incluent des composantes à la fois cognitives et comportementales. Ainsi, la modification des croyances motrices sous-jacentes des comportements problématiques observables de l'extérieur Il est indispensable que les deux parties s’expriment.

Dans la partie la plus comportementale, la théorie de l’apprentissage instrumental et le test de comportement permettent d’acquérir et de renforcer les comportements d’adaptation les plus bénéfiques pour l’interrelation entre les deux membres du couple.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baron, R. A. Byrne, D. (2004) Psychologie sociale. Pearson: Madrid.
  • Fertensheim, H. I. Baer, ​​J. (2008) Ne dites pas oui si vous voulez dire non. Debolsillo: Barcelone.
  • Labrador, F. J. (2008). Techniques de modification du comportement. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Olivares, J. et Méndez, F. X. (2008). Techniques de modification du comportement. Madrid: Nouvelle bibliothèque.

couple les 3 pièges! (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes