yes, therapy helps!
Maternés: the communication style we use with babies

Maternés: the communication style we use with babies

June 21, 2024

It is possible that the concept of maternés is unknown to more than one person, although it is more likely that at some time it has been used or will be used at some time. For example, when a friend or relative introduces us to your baby, or directly when we have children. And is that the maternés is the affectionate and at the same peculiar language that we usually use when interacting with babies and very young children. In this article we are going to talk briefly about this way of communicating.

  • Related article: "What is affection and why does it mark us throughout life?"

What is the maternés?

The maternés or parentés, also known as the caregiver's language or speech, is the style of speech and non-verbal expression that we typically use to address a baby . It is a dialect of the language we use to communicate that has its own characteristics in terms of intonation, grammar or even lexicon.


This way of communicating uses a very careful pronunciation and vocalization in which the exaggerated intonation emphasizes it, sharpening the voice and separating markedly words and phrases. These tend to be short and repetitive, and focus on the present.

Another striking characteristic of this type of speech is that in it the lexicon is often simplified: words are reduced (changing a pacifier by pete is an example) or even transformed to make them onomatopoeias (for example, to speak of the wow-wow instead of use the word dog). It is also usual repeated structures, words and phrases in short periods . Also, it is common to abuse diminutives.


But the maternés is not only oral , but also we usually accompany this dialect of abundant gestures, physical contact and expression through body language. For example, we smile, we touch them, we point out things in the environment or we become surprised when we see, for example, a dog.

Also, the person speaking is not making a monologue, but is interacting with the baby and in fact usually comes to elaborate some kind of dialogue, responding the baby with movements, looking or looking for our eyes, kicking, chirping or emitting some sound . To these answers we usually respond orally or rewarding the little one with our attention or pampering .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 stages of language development"

The importance of this way of speaking

We usually use the maternés without thinking exactly why, and some people find it ridiculous and ineffective. However, its use with a baby makes a lot of sense and is very useful for the development of this.


And it is that in the first place, the intonation that we use with the maternés is highly emotional and tends to reflect emotions and positive feelings towards the infant , which facilitates the existence of positive communication and the establishment of affective relationships between baby and speaker. Also, as we have said, we do not just talk and that's it, but we hold an interaction that the baby captures and responds to, establishing links with the adult or person who communicates with him.

Further, variations in intonation and exaggerated accentuation They involve stimuli that attract the attention of the baby, which will tend to focus more on the sounds and their source than in comparison with an adult speech.

Generally, this exaggerated accentuation takes place in fragments of the discourse that contain relevant properties to be learned, making it easier for the baby to record them in the future. The boy or girl He listens to phrases that are not very complex and that little by little are going to be made understandable , being able after it to deepen. It is therefore a very important language that, although it does not create language learning by itself, contributes and facilitates its acquisition.

Not only with babies: who else do we use it with?

Although the maternés is a style of speech that we can or can not use, generally is done with subjects that awaken in us certain physiological reactions , triggering the synthesis of different hormones. These include dopamine, oxytocin (associated with emotional bonding) and also associated with the phenylethylamine affective bonding.

Of course, that does not mean that the use or non-use of maternés depends on these hormones (in fact, although it is common in our society, in other contexts it is not used despite the fact that the emotional reactions generated by the children are the same).

Usually when talking about maternés we imagine someone talking and communicating with a newborn or a small child. But the truth is that this type of speech does not apply only to motherhood or fatherhood but it has spread to other areas.

Pets

One of them is pets. It is not uncommon to hear someone speak with dogs, cats, rabbits or other animals, usually when they are being given affection. Although many of the animals that keep us company are not able to really understand what we say (despite being able to understand a specific request with training), they are able to capture the intonation and emotion printed on it.

Couple relationships

Another area in which the same language is sometimes applied as that which we would apply to a child is that of the couple. Although in this case the understanding of the language is usually complete by both, some couples use the maternés as a way of interacting in an affective way , as a way to express the appreciation, devotion or sweetness that the other person wakes up, or as a small joke to sting your partner.

Bibliographic references:

  • Karmiloff, K. and Karmiloff-Smith, A. (2005). Towards language. From the fetus to the adolescent. Ediciones Morata, S.L. Madrid.
  • Martí, M. (2015). Neurological bases of language. Language processing in the child; In M. del C. Fernández López (coord.): The teaching of Spanish as a foreign language to children: basic contents for teacher training. Alcalá de Henares: Publications Service of the University of Alcalá, pp. 93-161.
  • Puente, A. (2006). The origins of language (with G. Russell). Madrid: Editorial Alliance.
  • Seltzer, L.F. (2013) The real reason why couples use baby talk. Psychology Today. Online. Available at: //www.psychologytoday.com/blog/evolution-the-self/201312/the-real-reason-why-couples-use-baby-talk?utm_source=FacebookPost&utm_medium=FBPost&utm_campaign=FBPost
  • Serra, M .; Serrat, E; To usually do.; Bel, A. and Aparici, M. (2008). The acquisition of language. Barcelona: Editorial Ariel.

Language Acquisition and Universal Grammar (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maternés: le style de communication que nous utilisons avec les bébés

Maternés: le style de communication que nous utilisons avec les bébés

Janvier 30, 2023

C'est possible que le concept de maternés est inconnu de plus d'une personne, bien qu'il soit plus probable qu'il ait été utilisé ou le soit à un moment donné. Par exemple, lorsqu'un ami ou un parent nous présente votre bébé ou directement lorsque nous avons des enfants. Et est-ce que la maternés est le même langage affectueux et particulier que nous utilisons habituellement pour interagir avec les bébés et les très jeunes enfants. Dans cet article, nous allons parler brièvement de cette façon de communiquer.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'affection et pourquoi nous marque-t-elle tout au long de la vie?"

C'est quoi les maternés?

Les maternés ou parentés, également appelés langue ou langage du soignant, sont le style de parole et d'expression non verbale que nous utilisons généralement pour adresser un bébé . C'est un dialecte de la langue que nous utilisons pour communiquer qui a ses propres caractéristiques en termes d'intonation, de grammaire ou même de lexique.


Cette façon de communiquer utilise une prononciation et une vocalisation très soigneuses dans lesquelles l'intonation exagérée le souligne, en affinant la voix et en séparant nettement les mots et les phrases. Celles-ci ont tendance à être courtes et répétitives, et se concentrent sur le présent.

Une autre caractéristique frappante de ce type de discours est que le lexique y est souvent simplifié: les mots sont réduits (changer une sucette par exemple), voire transformés pour en faire des onomatopées (par exemple, parler du wow-wow au lieu de utilisez le mot chien). C'est aussi habituel structures répétées, mots et expressions sur de courtes périodes . En outre, il est fréquent d'abuser des diminutifs.


Mais la maternés n'est pas seulement orale , mais nous accompagnons généralement ce dialecte de gestes abondants, de contact physique et d’expression à travers le langage corporel. Par exemple, nous sourions, nous les touchons, nous soulignons des choses dans l'environnement ou nous sommes surpris lorsque nous voyons, par exemple, un chien.

De plus, la personne qui parle ne fait pas de monologue, mais interagit avec le bébé et finit généralement par élaborer un dialogue, en répondant au bébé par des mouvements, en regardant ou en cherchant nos yeux, en donnant des coups de pied, en pépiant ou en émettant du son . A ces réponses, nous répondons généralement oralement ou oralement. récompenser le petit avec notre attention ou choyer .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 4 étapes du développement du langage"

L'importance de cette façon de parler

Nous utilisons généralement les maternés sans nous demander pourquoi, et certaines personnes trouvent cela ridicule et inefficace. Cependant, son utilisation avec un bébé a beaucoup de sens et est très utile pour le développement de cette maladie.


Et c’est d’abord que l’intonation que nous utilisons avec les maternés est très émotionnelle et tend à refléter les émotions et les sentiments positifs envers le nourrisson , ce qui facilite la communication positive et l’établissement de relations affectives entre le bébé et son interlocuteur. De plus, comme nous l’avons dit, nous ne parlons pas et c’est tout, mais nous entretenons une interaction que le bébé capture et à laquelle il réagit, établissant des liens avec l’adulte ou la personne qui communique avec lui.

En outre, variations d'intonation et accentuation exagérée Ils impliquent des stimuli qui attirent l'attention du bébé, qui aura tendance à se focaliser davantage sur les sons et leur source que sur le discours d'un adulte.

En général, cette accentuation exagérée se produit dans des fragments du discours qui contiennent des propriétés pertinentes à apprendre, ce qui permet au bébé de les enregistrer plus facilement à l'avenir. Le garçon ou la fille Il écoute des phrases qui ne sont pas très complexes et qui vont peu à peu se faire comprendre , pouvant ensuite s’approfondir. C’est donc une langue très importante qui, bien qu’elle ne crée pas l’apprentissage d’une langue en soi, contribue et facilite son acquisition.

Pas seulement avec les bébés: avec qui d'autre l'utilisons-nous?

Bien que le maternés soit un style de langage que nous pouvons ou ne pouvons pas utiliser, généralement est fait avec des sujets qui réveillent en nous certaines réactions physiologiques , déclenchant la synthèse de différentes hormones. Ceux-ci incluent la dopamine, l'ocytocine (associée à la liaison émotionnelle) et également la liaison affective à la phényléthylamine.

Bien entendu, cela ne signifie pas que l'utilisation ou la non-utilisation de maternés dépend de ces hormones (en fait, bien que cela soit courant dans notre société, dans d'autres contextes, il n'est pas utilisé bien que les réactions émotionnelles générées par les enfants soient les mêmes).

Habituellement, lorsque nous parlons de maternés, nous imaginons que quelqu'un parle et communique avec un nouveau-né ou un petit enfant. Mais la vérité est que ce type de discours ne s'applique pas seulement à la maternité ou à la paternité mais il s'est étendu à d'autres domaines.

Animaux domestiques

L'un d'eux est les animaux domestiques. Il n'est pas rare d'entendre quelqu'un parler avec des chiens, des chats, des lapins ou d'autres animaux, généralement lorsqu'ils reçoivent de l'affection. Bien que de nombreux animaux qui nous tiennent compagnie ne soient pas en mesure de comprendre vraiment ce que nous disons (même s'ils sont capables de comprendre une demande spécifique avec un entraînement), ils sont capables de capturer l'intonation et l'émotion imprimées dessus.

Relations de couple

Un autre domaine dans lequel le même langage est parfois appliqué que celui que nous appliquerions à un enfant est celui du couple. Bien que dans ce cas la compréhension de la langue soit généralement complète par les deux, certains couples utilisent la langue maternelle. comme un moyen d'interagir de manière affective , comme moyen d’exprimer l’appréciation, le dévouement ou la douceur avec laquelle l’autre personne se réveille, ou comme une petite blague pour piquer votre partenaire.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Karmiloff, K. et Karmiloff-Smith, A. (2005). Vers la langue. Du fœtus à l'adolescent. Ediciones Morata, S.L. Madrid
  • Martí, M. (2015). Bases neurologiques du langage. Traitement du langage chez l'enfant; Dans M. del C. Fernández López (coord.): L'enseignement de l'espagnol comme langue étrangère aux enfants: contenus de base pour la formation des enseignants. Alcalá de Henares: Service des publications de l'Université d'Alcalá, pp. 93-161.
  • Puente, A. (2006). Les origines du langage (avec G. Russell). Madrid: Alliance Éditoriale.
  • Seltzer, L.F. (2013) La vraie raison pour laquelle les couples utilisent Baby Talk. Psychologie aujourd'hui. En ligne. Disponible à: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/evolution-the-self/201312/the-real-reason-why-couples-use-baby-talk?utm_source=FacebookPost&utm_medium=FBPost&utm_campaign=FBPost
  • Serra, M .; Serrat, E; Solé, R .; Bel, A. et Aparici, M. (2008). L'acquisition du langage. Barcelone: ​​Éditorial Ariel.

Understanding Biomarkers in Autism - Tanja Mijatovic, PhD (R.E.D. Laboratories) (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes