yes, therapy helps!
Matthew Effect: what it is and how it describes injustices

Matthew Effect: what it is and how it describes injustices

May 17, 2024

Something that many social scientists have asked themselves is why those people to whom certain material or immaterial benefits are attributed end up receiving these benefits effectively. And the same thing, but the other way around: how is it that people who have less benefits are also less likely to access them.

There have been many concepts and theories developed to offer answers to the above. These concepts and theories have been thought and applied from different areas. For example, social psychology, organizational psychology, economics or social policy, among others. One of those that have been used since the mid-twentieth century in psychology and that of sociology is the Matthew Effect . Next we will explain what this effect consists of and how it has been applied to explain different phenomena.


  • Related article: "Scientific racism: what it is and how it transforms science to legitimize itself"

Why is it called Matthew Effect?

The Matthew Effect is also known as the Saint Matthew Effect. It is called like that since a biblical passage of the Gospel of Matthew has been taken and reread. Specifically, it is verse 13, chapter 19, which says that "he who has will be given and will have in abundance; but those who do not even have what they have will be taken away. "

In his rereading many interpretations have been given. There are those who have used it to justify the attribution and inequitable distribution of material and immaterial benefits; and there are those who have used it in the opposite direction, to denounce this distribution. In the specific case of the scientific field , the passage has been reread to explain the phenomenon in the sociology of science; issue that we will explain in detail towards the end of this text.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Sexist prejudice: explanatory theories"

Dimensions of this social phenomenon

As we have said, there have been different disciplines, both from psychology and related areas, which have tried to explain the process of social distribution of tangible and intangible benefits . Some of the most popular are, for example, the pigmalion effect, the snowball effect or the cumulative effect, among others.

In its case, the Matthew Effect has allowed to pay attention not only to the decision making in the selection and distribution of benefits based on categorization criteria (social stratification), but also allows to think how this connects with the structuring of an individual psychological perception, from which we attribute to certain people a series of values ​​that justify the selection and distribution of benefits.


In this sense, the Matthew Effect occurs through two interrelated dimensions: the process of selection and distribution; and the process of individual perception, related to the activation of our memory and attribution strategies .

1. Selection and distribution processes

There are people or groups of people whose qualities are what we consider necessary to access different benefits. Depending on the context, we can ask ourselves: what are the values ​​that are considered relevant for the distribution of material and immaterial benefits? Based on what criteria are different benefits distributed?

In pyramidal structures and meritocratic models this is quite visible, since it is attributed to a person or entity the faculty to be creditor of the benefits. That person or entity is the one that is recognized in the first, and sometimes unique, place actions and values. This also reduces the chances that the benefits and their conditions of possibility are distributed equally.

2. Processes of individual perception

Broadly speaking, these are values ​​based a priori to associate a person or group of people with a material or immaterial benefit. The overvaluation of the parameters is frequent, where even individually we tend to perceive the top of the pyramid as the most valuable , and from there we also justify that the distribution is decided for the benefit of some and not of others.

Individual perception is influenced by the decision process, and ends up justifying the distribution of benefits among "the best".

Among other things, the Matthew Effect links decisions about the distribution of benefits with a social prestige that is attributed a priori to certain people or groups of people. Likewise The concept has allowed us to think about the gaps in social stratifications , that is to say, how it is that the previous one has an impact on reducing the benefits of those who do not correspond with certain values ​​(for example, prestige).

Inequality in the sociology of science

The Matthew Effect was used by the American sociologist Robert Merton in the 1960s to explain how we attribute the merit of scientific research to just one person, even when other people have participated in a larger proportion .

In other words, it has served to explain how scientific genius is attributed to some people and not others. And how, from this, certain possibilities of action and knowledge production are determined for some and not for others.

Mario Bunge (2002) tells us that in fact different experiments have been carried out on the Matthew Effect in this context. For example, in the 90s, a group of researchers selected fifty scientific articles , they changed the title and the name (for that of some unknown researcher) and sent them to publication to the same magazines where they had originally been published. Almost all were rejected.

It is common for our memory to work from the names of those who already have some scientific or academic recognition, and not from the names of those we do not associate with values ​​such as prestige. In the words of the Argentine epistemologist: "If a Nobel laureate says a rant, it seems in every newspaper, but a dark investigator has a stroke of genius, the public does not know" (Bunge, 2002, pp.1).

So, the Matthew Effect is one of those that contributes to the social stratification of scientific communities , which likewise may be visible in other environments. For example, in the same context the term Matilda Effect has been used to analyze the social and gender stratification of science.

Bibliographic references:

  • Jiménez Rodríguez, J. (2009). The Matthew Effect: a psychological concept. 30 (2): 145-154.
  • Bunge, M. (2002). The San Mateo effect. Polis, Latin American magazine [Online]. Published November 26, 2012, accessed July 2, 2018. Available at //journals.openedition.org/polis/8033.

Jim Carrey - What It All Means | One Of The Most Eye Opening Speeches (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Matthew Effect: de quoi s'agit-il et comment décrit-il les injustices?

Matthew Effect: de quoi s'agit-il et comment décrit-il les injustices?

Mai 20, 2022

De nombreux spécialistes des sciences sociales se sont demandé pourquoi les personnes à qui certains avantages matériels ou immatériels sont attribués finissent par en bénéficier efficacement. Et la même chose, mais l'inverse: comment se fait-il que les personnes qui ont moins d'avantages ont également moins de chances d'y avoir accès?

De nombreux concepts et théories ont été développés pour apporter des réponses à ce qui précède. Ces concepts et théories ont été pensés et appliqués à partir de différents domaines. Par exemple, la psychologie sociale, la psychologie organisationnelle, l'économie ou la politique sociale, entre autres. L’effet Matthew est l’un de ceux utilisés depuis le milieu du XXe siècle en psychologie et en sociologie. . Nous expliquerons ensuite en quoi consiste cet effet et comment il a été appliqué pour expliquer différents phénomènes.


  • Article connexe: "Le racisme scientifique: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment il transforme la science pour se légitimer"

Pourquoi s'appelle-t-il Matthew Effect?

L'effet Matthew est également connu sous le nom d'effet Saint Matthew. On l’appelle comme ça puisqu’un passage biblique de l’Évangile de Matthieu a été repris et relu. Plus précisément, c’est le verset 13, chapitre 19, qui dit que "celui qui aura sera donné et aura en abondance; mais ceux qui n'ont même pas ce qu'ils ont seront enlevés. "

Dans sa relecture, de nombreuses interprétations ont été données. Certains l'ont utilisé pour justifier l'attribution et la répartition inéquitable d'avantages matériels et immatériels; et il y a ceux qui l'ont utilisé dans le sens opposé pour dénoncer cette distribution. Dans le cas particulier du domaine scientifique , le passage a été relu pour expliquer le phénomène en sociologie des sciences; question que nous expliquerons en détail vers la fin de ce texte.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Préjugés sexistes: théories explicatives"

Dimensions de ce phénomène social

Comme nous l’avons dit, différentes disciplines, tant en psychologie que dans des domaines connexes, ont tenté d’expliquer le processus de répartition sociale des avantages tangibles et intangibles . Parmi les plus populaires, on peut citer, par exemple, l’effet pigmalion, l’effet boule de neige ou l’effet cumulatif, entre autres.

Dans son cas, l’effet Matthew a permis de porter une attention non seulement à la prise de décision dans la sélection et la répartition des avantages en fonction de critères de catégorisation (stratification sociale), mais aussi d’une perception psychologique individuelle, à partir de laquelle nous attribuons à certaines personnes une série de valeurs qui justifient le choix et la répartition des avantages.


En ce sens, l’effet Matthew se manifeste à travers deux dimensions interdépendantes: le processus de sélection et de distribution; et le processus de perception individuelle, lié à l'activation de nos stratégies de mémoire et d'attribution .

1. Processus de sélection et de distribution

Il existe des personnes ou des groupes de personnes dont les qualités sont ce que nous considérons nécessaire pour accéder à différents avantages. Selon le contexte, nous pouvons nous demander: quelles sont les valeurs considérées comme pertinentes pour la répartition des avantages matériels et immatériels? Sur quels critères différents avantages sont-ils distribués?

Dans les structures pyramidales et les modèles méritocratiques cela est assez visible, car on attribue à une personne ou à une entité la faculté d'être le créancier des avantages. Cette personne ou entité est celle qui est reconnue dans les actions et les valeurs du premier lieu, parfois unique. Cela réduit également les chances que les avantages et leurs conditions de possibilité soient répartis également.

2. Processus de perception individuelle

De manière générale, il s’agit de valeurs reposant a priori sur l’association d’une personne ou d’un groupe de personnes à un avantage matériel ou immatériel. La surévaluation des paramètres est fréquente, où même individuellement nous avons tendance à percevoir le sommet de la pyramide comme le plus précieux , et à partir de là, nous justifions également le fait que la distribution est décidée au profit de certains et non des autres.

La perception individuelle est influencée par le processus de décision et finit par justifier la répartition des bénéfices entre "les meilleurs".

Entre autres choses, l’effet Matthew lie les décisions relatives à la répartition des prestations à un prestige social attribué a priori à certaines personnes ou à certains groupes de personnes. De même Le concept nous a permis de réfléchir aux lacunes dans les stratifications sociales , c’est-à-dire comment l’ancien a un impact sur la réduction des avantages pour ceux qui ne correspondent pas à certaines valeurs (par exemple, le prestige).

L'inégalité en sociologie des sciences

Le sociologue américain Robert Merton a utilisé l'effet Matthew dans les années 1960 pour expliquer comment nous attribuons le mérite de la recherche scientifique à une seule personne, même lorsque d'autres personnes ont participé à une plus grande proportion .

En d'autres termes, cela a servi à expliquer comment le génie scientifique est attribué à certaines personnes et pas à d'autres. Et comment, à partir de cela, certaines possibilités d’action et de production de connaissances sont déterminées pour certains et pas pour d’autres.

Mario Bunge (2002) nous dit que différentes expériences ont été menées sur l'effet Matthew dans ce contexte. Par exemple, dans les années 90, un groupe de chercheurs a sélectionné cinquante articles scientifiques , ils ont changé le titre et le nom (du nom d’un chercheur inconnu) et les ont envoyés pour publication aux mêmes magazines où ils avaient été publiés. Presque tous ont été rejetés.

Il est fréquent que notre mémoire travaille à partir des noms de ceux qui jouissent déjà d’une certaine reconnaissance scientifique ou académique, et non des noms de ceux que nous n’associons pas à des valeurs telles que le prestige. Selon l'épistémologue argentin: "Si un lauréat du prix Nobel récite un coup de gueule, il semble dans tous les journaux, mais un enquêteur sombre a un coup de génie, le public ne le sait pas" (Bunge, 2002, p.1).

Donc, l'effet Matthew est un de ceux qui contribuent à la stratification sociale des communautés scientifiques , qui peuvent également être visibles dans d’autres environnements. Par exemple, dans le même contexte, le terme Effet Matilda a été utilisé pour analyser la stratification sociale et sexospécifique de la science.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Jiménez Rodríguez, J. (2009). L'effet Matthew: un concept psychologique. 30 (2): 145-154.
  • Bunge, M. (2002). L'effet San Mateo. Polis, magazine latino-américain [en ligne]. Publié le 26 novembre 2012, consulté le 2 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //journals.openedition.org/polis/8033.

Why do people get so anxious about math? - Orly Rubinsten (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes