yes, therapy helps!
Meet Kim Peek: the incredible case of the man who could memorize everything

Meet Kim Peek: the incredible case of the man who could memorize everything

November 27, 2021

Kim Peek: the case of the savant with a superhuman memory

The day of his death, Kim Peek spent all morning opening Christmas cards with Francis , his father, who was his great friend. Kim did not suffer from any illness, nothing seemed to presage that on that day her life would be extinguished forever. He had been with his family preparing the gifts for such marked dates. That same December 19, a heart attack collapsed Kim on the ground.

A man died whose mind had amazed the world, whose story motivated a great movie. Their capabilities were so absolutely implausible that even NASA, as well as multiple universities in the US They studied in depth where such great abilities came from. He had just turned 58 years old.


Birth

He was born in 1951. On the same day of his birth, the doctors who gave birth informed his parents that Kim I suffered from a marked mental retardation , that with much security would not allow him to walk, and recommended that Kim be admitted to a center where they could assist him. However, Kim's parents were not satisfied with that idea.

He was diagnosed with macrocephaly , that is, a skull of abnormally large proportions, and its brain had no corpus callosum, the tissue that connects the two hemispheres of the brain and that allows the exchange of information between cells. It is speculated that in the absence of corpus callosum, his neurons were creating their unbridled tissues, joining together and forming a compact mass of connections capable of retaining up to 98% of everything he saw or heard .


Francis Peek, his father, used to say that, at the young age of a year and a half, Kim was able to memorize every book they told him. They moved Kim's finger over each phrase, while they were pronouncing the sounds for Kim to learn. In this way, they came to realize how Kim could remember a book after having read it once. When he finished reading a book, Kim would turn it upside down, as if that book was no longer necessary at all. That habit remained in him throughout his life.

A difficult childhood

At the age of three, Kim asked her mother what the meaning of the word "confidential" was. His mother, in order to stimulate Kim, replied that he could look for it in the dictionary. From there he learned to locate the words in alphabetical order to later read each of the meanings. During his life he came to read and memorize a total of nine thousand books . It was calculated that he could read two pages in a span of 8 to 10 seconds, since he used the left eye to read the left page, while with the right eye he read the right page.


He was unable to walk until he was 4 years old. Already then he lived captivated by numbers and arithmetic, he used to read phone books and amused himself by adding whole columns of telephone numbers, and he did the same with the digits of car license plates.

Adulthood, working life and fame

Beginning in 1969, Kim worked in a special workshop for adults with disabilities. Simply with his mind, without calculators or computers, he was able to solve all the accounting of the company. However, his motor and coordination difficulties were dragging on his life. His father had to help him in daily tasks such as buttoning his shirt buttons, tying shoelaces ... And although he had the ability to memorize with almost absolute precision any text he read, he could not interpret or draw conclusions from his readings. .

In his book "The Real Rain Man", Francis Peek described his son in these terms: "Kim is not an autistic, in fact, his personality is warm and affectionate, Kim genuinely cares about people and likes to share with them. his unique skills, his encyclopedic knowledge include disciplines such as history, biographies, geography, sports, engineering, cinema ... He also knows in depth the Bible, the history of the Mormon Church, the calendar (can guess dates), literature .. He can identify almost any composition of classical music, as well as the dates and place of birth and death of the composer, and he keeps informed about the news in the world and in the USA ".

Kim Peek, Dustin Hoffman and the unforgettable "Rain Man"

Many people will have seen the movie "Rain Man", which came out in 1988 with Dustin Hoffman Y Tom Cruise as protagonists. It was awarded with four statuettes at the Oscars. However, few people know that the character of Raymond Babbit (Dustin Hoffman) was actually inspired by Kim Peek.

It is a curious story: the writer Barry Morrow had finished, a few years ago, a script for the movie "Bill", about a man with mental retardation who had played the well-known actor Mickey Rooney. This film showed the human side of people with mental retardation, distancing themselves from certain clichés.

For his good work, Morrow was invited in 1984 to a conference of the Communications Committee of the ACR, in the state of Texas. Francis Peek, Kim's father, was chairman of the Committee. Kim Peek and Morrow met, and spent several hours chatting. Kim stunned Morrow with his in-depth knowledge of all the authors and books imaginable, citing numerous sports statistics, and "guessing the day of the week in which I was born, my birthday, and the day of my 65th birthday," Morrow said. .

They also argued about the Civil War, the North American Revolution, the great world wars ... Morrow ended up writing a script inspired by Kim Peek, "Rain Man", which turned out to be a great movie.

Kim Peek and Dustin Hoffman

In preparing for the interpretation of Raymond Babbit , the famous actor Dustin Hoffman met Kim and Francis Peek. They changed impressions about the British monarchy, the Bible, sports, dates, geographical points, movies, literature ...

Hoffman spoke some unforgettable words when referring to Kim's talent, when he said "Maybe I am the star, but you Kim is the sky". Picking up the statuette as best actor for his performance in "Rain Man", Hoffman mentioned during his speech: "I want to especially thank Kim Peek for making Rain Man a reality."

From the great repercussion of the film, the life of Kim Peek changed. His figure attracted the attention of journalists and television networks . He began to conduct live conferences in which he interacted with the public. It is estimated that he got to meet with two million people, whom he astonished with his abilities.

His person was the object of several documentaries and reports for Discovery Chanell, CNN, TLC and National Geographic, among others. His father, Francis, said that thanks to all the attention that Kim received, he grew as a person, managing to gain confidence in himself. Before public recognition, on a few occasions he looked in the eyes of his interlocutors. But fame helped him learn to interact and enjoy sharing with other people.


The Boy With The Incredible Brain (Superhuman Documentary) - Real Stories (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rencontre avec Kim Peek: l'incroyable cas de l'homme qui pouvait tout mémoriser

Rencontre avec Kim Peek: l'incroyable cas de l'homme qui pouvait tout mémoriser

Mai 11, 2021

Kim Peek: le cas du savant à la mémoire surhumaine

Le jour de sa mort, Kim Peek a passé toute la matinée à ouvrir des cartes de Noël avec Francis , son père, qui était son grand ami. Kim ne souffrait d'aucune maladie, rien ne semblait présager que ce jour-là, sa vie serait éteinte à jamais. Il préparait les cadeaux avec sa famille pour des dates aussi marquées. Ce même 19 décembre, une crise cardiaque s'est effondrée sur le sol de Kim.

Un homme est mort dont l'esprit avait étonné le monde, dont l'histoire avait motivé un grand film. Leurs capacités étaient si invraisemblables que même la NASA, ainsi que plusieurs universités américaines. Ils ont étudié en profondeur d'où venaient de si grandes capacités. Il venait d'avoir 58 ans.


La naissance

Il est né en 1951. Le même jour de sa naissance, les médecins qui ont donné naissance ont informé ses parents que Kim J'ai souffert d'un retard mental marqué , qui avec beaucoup de sécurité ne lui permettrait pas de marcher, et a recommandé que Kim soit admise dans un centre où ils pourraient l’aider. Cependant, les parents de Kim n'étaient pas satisfaits de cette idée.

Il a été diagnostiqué avec macrocéphalie , c’est-à-dire un crâne de proportions anormalement élevées, et son cerveau n’avait pas de corps calleux, le tissu qui relie les deux hémisphères du cerveau et qui permet l’échange d’informations entre cellules. On suppose que, en l’absence de corps calleux, ses neurones créaient leurs tissus débridés, se rejoignaient et formaient une masse compacte de connexions capables de retenir jusqu'à 98% de tout ce qu'il voyait ou entendait .


Francis Peek, son père, avait l'habitude de dire que, à l'âge de un an et demi, Kim était capable de mémoriser tous les livres qu'ils lui avaient racontés. Ils déplacèrent le doigt de Kim sur chaque phrase pendant qu'ils prononçaient les sons pour que Kim puisse les apprendre. De cette manière, ils ont compris comment Kim pouvait se souvenir d'un livre après l'avoir lu une fois. Quand il aurait fini de lire un livre, Kim le retournerait comme si ce livre n'était plus du tout nécessaire. Cette habitude est restée en lui toute sa vie.

Une enfance difficile

À l'âge de trois ans, Kim a demandé à sa mère quelle était la signification du mot "confidentiel". Sa mère, afin de stimuler Kim, a répondu qu'il pourrait le rechercher dans le dictionnaire. À partir de là, il a appris à localiser les mots dans l’ordre alphabétique pour lire plus tard chacune des significations. Au cours de sa vie, il vint lire et mémoriser neuf mille livres au total. . Il a été calculé qu'il pouvait lire deux pages en 8 à 10 secondes, puisqu'il utilisait l'œil gauche pour lire la page gauche, tandis qu'avec l'œil droit, il lisait la page droite.


Il était incapable de marcher jusqu'à l'âge de 4 ans. Déjà alors, il vivait captivé par les chiffres et l’arithmétique, lisait les annuaires téléphoniques et s’amusait à ajouter des colonnes entières de numéros de téléphone. Il a fait de même avec les chiffres des plaques d’immatriculation.

Âge adulte, vie professionnelle et célébrité

À partir de 1969, Kim a travaillé dans un atelier spécial pour adultes handicapés. Simplement avec son esprit, sans calculatrice ni ordinateur, il était capable de résoudre tous les problèmes de comptabilité de l'entreprise. Cependant, ses difficultés motrices et de coordination traînaient dans sa vie. Son père devait l'aider dans ses tâches quotidiennes, comme boutonner sa chemise, nouer des lacets ... Et même s'il était capable de mémoriser avec une précision quasi absolue tout texte lu, il ne pouvait pas interpréter ni tirer de conclusions de ses lectures. .

Dans son livre "The Real Rain Man", Francis Peek a décrit son fils en ces termes: "Kim n'est pas autiste. En fait, sa personnalité est chaleureuse et affectueuse, Kim se soucie réellement des gens et aime partager avec eux. Ses compétences uniques, ses connaissances encyclopédiques comprennent des disciplines telles que l'histoire, les biographies, la géographie, les sports, l'ingénierie, le cinéma ... Il connaît également en profondeur la Bible, l'histoire de l'église mormone, le calendrier (on peut deviner les dates), la littérature .. Il peut identifier presque toutes les compositions de musique classique, ainsi que les dates, lieux de naissance et de décès du compositeur, et il se tient au courant de l'actualité dans le monde et aux États-Unis ".

Kim Peek, Dustin Hoffman et l'inoubliable "Rain Man"

Beaucoup de gens auront vu le film "Rain Man", sorti en 1988 avec Dustin Hoffman et Tom Cruise en tant que protagonistes. Il a été récompensé par quatre statuettes aux Oscars. Cependant, peu de gens savent que le personnage de Raymond Babbit (Dustin Hoffman) a été inspiré par Kim Peek.

C'est une histoire curieuse: l'écrivain Barry Morrow avait achevé, il y a quelques années, le scénario du film "Bill", sur un homme souffrant de retard mental qui avait joué le célèbre acteur Mickey Rooney. Ce film a montré le côté humain des personnes souffrant de retard mental, en prenant leurs distances par rapport à certains clichés.

Pour son bon travail, Morrow fut invité en 1984 à une conférence du comité des communications de l'ACR, dans l'État du Texas. Francis Peek, le père de Kim, était président du comité. Kim Peek et Morrow se sont rencontrés et ont passé plusieurs heures à bavarder. Kim a étonné Morrow avec sa connaissance approfondie de tous les auteurs et des livres imaginables, citant de nombreuses statistiques sportives et "devinant le jour de la semaine de ma naissance, mon anniversaire et le jour de mon 65e anniversaire", a déclaré Morrow. .

Ils ont également discuté de la guerre civile, de la Révolution nord-américaine, des grandes guerres mondiales ... Morrow a fini par écrire un scénario inspiré de Kim Peek, "Rain Man", qui s'est avéré être un film fantastique.

Kim Peek et Dustin Hoffman

En préparant l'interprétation de Raymond Babbit , le célèbre acteur Dustin Hoffman a rencontré Kim et Francis Peek. Ils ont changé les impressions sur la monarchie britannique, la Bible, les sports, les dates, les points géographiques, les films, la littérature ...

Hoffman a parlé de mots inoubliables en parlant du talent de Kim, en disant: "Peut-être que je suis la star, mais toi, Kim, c'est le ciel". Reprenant la statuette en tant que meilleur acteur pour sa performance dans "Rain Man", Hoffman a déclaré lors de son discours: "Je tiens tout particulièrement à remercier Kim Peek pour avoir fait de Rain Man une réalité."

De la grande répercussion du film, la vie de Kim Peek a changé. Sa figure a attiré l'attention des journalistes et des chaînes de télévision . Il a commencé à diriger des conférences en direct dans lesquelles il interagissait avec le public. On estime qu'il a rencontré deux millions de personnes, qu'il a étonnées par ses capacités.

Sa personne a fait l'objet de plusieurs documentaires et reportages pour Discovery Chanell, CNN, TLC et National Geographic, entre autres. Son père, Francis, a déclaré que grâce à toute l’attention dont Kim avait bénéficié, il avait grandi en tant que personne, réussissant à prendre confiance en lui-même. Avant d'être reconnu par le public, il a eu l'occasion de regarder ses interlocuteurs à quelques reprises. Mais la gloire l'a aidé à apprendre à interagir et à partager avec d'autres.


The Boy With The Incredible Brain (Superhuman Documentary) - Real Stories (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes