yes, therapy helps!
MELAS syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

MELAS syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

August 11, 2022

Within the diseases categorized as rare, we find MELAS Syndrome, a strange condition which, in Spain, only affects less than 5 per 100,000 people over 14 years of age. This alteration of mitochondrial origin seriously affects the neurological functioning of the person and its symptoms are manifested until the moment of death.

Throughout this article we will describe in detail what this hereditary disease consists of, as well as what its symptoms are, where the origin of the condition is and how the possible treatments are carried out.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 most common nervous system diseases

What is MELAS syndrome?

MELAS syndrome is a rare hereditary mitochondrial disease whose main characteristic is the generation of a series of neurological alterations . The conditions of mitochondrial category provoke in the person certain neurological disorders caused by a mitochondrial genomic mutation.


Mitochondria are cytoplasmic organelles formed by eukaryotic cells, whose main mission is to generate energy through the consumption of oxygen. This organelle is essential for the metabolism of our cells, so any alteration in it can cause serious complications in the health and quality of life of the person.

This syndrome was first described in 1975, but it was not until 1984 that it received its current name. The term MELAS consists of an acronym of its most distinctive clinical properties:

  • ME: Mitochondrial encephalomyopathy (mitochondrial encephalomyopathy).
  • LA: Lactic acidosis (lactic acidosis).
  • S: Episodes Stroke-like (Stroke-like episodes).

In its first description, the MELAS syndrome was described as a set of convulsive incidents, gradual degeneration of language, lactic acidosis and tearing of muscle fibers .


The first symptoms of this condition usually appear during childhood or adolescence, especially between 2 and 5 years. Although the development of the disease can vary considerably among those who suffer from it, the prognosis tends to be quite reserved in the vast majority of cases; since the patients develop serious health complications until they die.

Regarding the incidence of MELAS syndrome, this is a very unusual condition among the population. Although specific data on its prevalence have not been established, it is known that is one of the most common mitochondrial diseases . On the other hand, a higher prevalence has not been demonstrated in men or in women, nor in any specific ethnic or racial group.

What is the clinical picture?

As we have pointed out previously, MELAS Syndrome is distinguished by having the main characteristics that make up its clinical picture and differentiates it from other mitochondrial diseases.


1. Mitochondrial encephalomyopathy (ME)

The encephalomiopatías are those diseases whose origin is in alterations in the structure and functioning of the central nervous system, which have to cause quite frequent convulsive episodes.

These episodes consist of temporally delimited events during which the person undergoes exaggerated motor agitation, spasmodic and involuntary muscular activity and changes in the state of consciousness and perception. A distinction can be made between focal crises or generalized crises . In focal seizures, abnormal brain electrical activity is usually restricted to a specific area of ​​the brain, while in generalized areas discharge patterns extend to various brain areas.

The danger of these epileptic crises lies in the risk that the different brain structures affected are permanently damaged, generating serious consequences at the cognitive and motor level.

2. Lactic acidosis (LA)

The lactic acidosis present in MELAS Syndrome consists of a abnormal accumulation of lactic acid . When this substance, generated mainly in red blood cells and muscle cells, agglomerates pathologically can lead to a series of very serious health problems that can end up causing the death of the patient.

The main signs indicating an accumulation of lactic acid include vomiting, diarrhea, nausea, gastric pain, prolonged drowsiness over time , alterations in the state of consciousness, respiratory problems, hypotension, dehydration and deficits in the blood and oxygen supply to muscles, tissues and organs.

3. Stroke-like (S)

The stroke-like concept refers to Stroke-like events or brain strokes .

A cerebrovascular accident is a focal and spontaneous event in which the flow of blood in a specific area of ​​the brain is interrupted. When this happens for more than a few seconds, the brain cells begin to deteriorate and die due to lack of oxygen and nutrients.

The main consequences of these cerebrovascular accidents are alterations in the visual system, in the language and in the motor aspect, as well as a gradual cognitive deterioration that can get to cause a dementia .

What symptoms does it present?

In MELAS Syndrome, the clinical picture described above is accompanied by symptoms that, although they occur very differently among patients, usually appear in the vast majority of cases.

These symptoms include:

  • Migraines and headaches recurrent
  • Nausea and vomiting.
  • Anorexy.
  • Cognitive impairment gradual.
  • Generalized delay in development.
  • Problems in learning and attention deficits.
  • Alterations in the state of consciousness.
  • Muscular and motor pathologies as chronic fatigue, muscle weakness or hypotonia.
  • Pathologies in the visual system such as optic atrophy, retinitis or diminished visual acuity.
  • Sensorineural deafness .
  • Extreme sensitivity to temperature changes.

Other less common symptoms, but which may also appear during the course of the disease, are those related to the person's mental and psychological state. These symptoms can be:

  • Aggressive behavior
  • Alterations of the personality.
  • Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder
  • Anxious disorders.
  • Psychosis.
  • Affective alterations.

What causes does it have?

As mentioned at the beginning of the article, MELAS Syndrome is a disease caused by a mutation in mitochondrial DNA . Therefore, it is a hereditary condition that is transmitted from the maternal genes.

These alterations occur in a series of specific genes located in the genetic material of the mitochondria. Most of these specific genes are responsible for transforming oxygen, sugars and fats into energy; while some others are involved in the production of tRNA molecules responsible for the construction of amino acid structures.

What is the treatment and prognosis?

At the moment, no specific treatment has been developed for MELAS Syndrome, otherwise specific treatments are made for each of the symptoms that presents in patient, as well as a series of palliative care to improve their quality of life.

Within the usual protocol, a group of specialists, including neurologists, cardiologists, ophthalmologists, or endocrinologists, among many others, is responsible for developing a specialized treatment that adapts to the patient's symptoms and needs.

Unfortunately, these treatments are not able to completely alleviate the effects of this condition, so the person usually presents progressively a cognitive impairment, followed by psychomotor problems, decreased hearing and visual abilities, and a whole series of medical complications until the death of the patient.


MELAS Syndrome : Causes, Diagnosis, Symptoms, Treatment, Prognosis (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome MELAS: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome MELAS: symptômes, causes et traitement

Avril 14, 2021

Parmi les maladies classées comme rares, on trouve Syndrome MELAS, une maladie étrange qui, en Espagne, ne touche que moins de 5 personnes sur 100 000 âgées de plus de 14 ans. Cette altération d'origine mitochondriale affecte sérieusement le fonctionnement neurologique de la personne et ses symptômes se manifestent jusqu'au moment du décès.

Tout au long de cet article, nous allons décrire en détail en quoi consiste cette maladie héréditaire, ainsi que ses symptômes, son origine, et comment les traitements possibles sont effectués.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 maladies du système nerveux les plus courantes

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome MELAS?

Le syndrome MELAS est une maladie mitochondriale héréditaire rare dont la caractéristique principale est la génération d'une série d'altérations neurologiques . Les conditions de la catégorie mitochondriale provoquent chez la personne certains troubles neurologiques provoqués par une mutation génomique mitochondriale.


Les mitochondries sont des organelles cytoplasmiques formées par des cellules eucaryotes, dont la mission principale est de générer de l'énergie par la consommation d'oxygène. Cet organite est essentiel au métabolisme de nos cellules. Toute altération de celui-ci peut entraîner de graves complications pour la santé et la qualité de vie de la personne.

Ce syndrome a été décrit pour la première fois en 1975, mais ce n'est qu'en 1984 qu'il a reçu son nom actuel. Le terme MELAS est un acronyme de ses propriétés cliniques les plus distinctives:

  • ME: encéphalomyopathie mitochondriale (encéphalomyopathie mitochondriale).
  • LA: acidose lactique (acidose lactique).
  • S: Épisodes ressemblant à un accident vasculaire cérébral (épisodes ressemblant à un accident vasculaire cérébral).

Dans sa première description, le syndrome MELAS était décrit comme un ensemble de incidents convulsifs, dégénérescence progressive du langage, acidose lactique et déchirure des fibres musculaires .


Les premiers symptômes de cette affection apparaissent généralement pendant l'enfance ou l'adolescence, en particulier entre 2 et 5 ans. Bien que le développement de la maladie puisse varier considérablement parmi ceux qui en souffrent, le pronostic tend à être assez réservé dans la grande majorité des cas; puisque les patients développent des complications graves jusqu’à leur décès.

En ce qui concerne l'incidence du syndrome MELAS, il s'agit d'une affection très inhabituelle dans la population. Bien que des données spécifiques sur sa prévalence n’aient pas été établies, on sait que est l'une des maladies mitochondriales les plus courantes . D'autre part, une prévalence plus élevée n'a été démontrée ni chez les hommes ni chez les femmes, ni dans aucun groupe ethnique ou racial spécifique.

Quel est le tableau clinique?

Comme nous l'avons souligné précédemment, le syndrome MELAS se distingue par ses caractéristiques principales qui constituent son tableau clinique et le différencie des autres maladies mitochondriales.


1. Encéphalomyopathie mitochondriale (ME)

Les encéphalomiopatias sont des maladies dont l'origine est des altérations de la structure et du fonctionnement du système nerveux central, qui doivent causer des épisodes convulsifs assez fréquents.

Ces épisodes consistent en des événements délimités dans le temps au cours desquels la personne subit une agitation motrice exagérée, une activité musculaire spasmodique et involontaire et des changements de l'état de conscience et de perception. Une distinction peut être faite entre crises focales et crises généralisées . Dans les crises focales, l'activité électrique anormale du cerveau est généralement limitée à une zone spécifique du cerveau, tandis que dans les zones généralisées, les schémas de décharge s'étendent à diverses zones du cerveau.

Le danger de ces crises d'épilepsie réside dans le risque que les différentes structures cérébrales touchées soient endommagées de façon permanente, générant de graves conséquences au niveau cognitif et moteur.

2. Acidose lactique (LA)

L’acidose lactique présente dans le syndrome MELAS consiste en une accumulation anormale d'acide lactique . Lorsque cette substance, générée principalement dans les globules rouges et les cellules musculaires, des agglomérats peut entraîner pathologiquement une série de problèmes de santé très graves pouvant éventuellement entraîner la mort du patient.

Les principaux signes indiquant une accumulation d'acide lactique sont: vomissements, diarrhée, nausée, douleurs gastriques, somnolence prolongée dans le temps , altérations de l'état de conscience, problèmes respiratoires, hypotension, déshydratation et déficit en sang et en oxygène des muscles, des tissus et des organes.

3. ressemblant à un AVC (S)

Le concept de course ressemble à Événements similaires à des accidents vasculaires cérébraux .

Un accident vasculaire cérébral est un événement focal et spontané dans lequel la circulation du sang dans une zone spécifique du cerveau est interrompue. Lorsque cela se produit pendant plus de quelques secondes, les cellules du cerveau commencent à se détériorer et à mourir par manque d'oxygène et de nutriments.

Les principales conséquences de ces accidents cérébro-vasculaires sont des altérations du système visuel, du langage et de l'aspect moteur, ainsi qu'une détérioration cognitive progressive pouvant provoquer une démence .

Quels symptômes présente-t-il?

Dans le syndrome MELAS, le tableau clinique décrit ci-dessus est accompagné de symptômes qui, bien qu'ils se manifestent de manière très différente selon les patients, apparaissent généralement dans la grande majorité des cas.

Ces symptômes incluent:

  • Migraines et maux de tête récurrent
  • Nausées et vomissements.
  • L'anorexie
  • Déficience cognitive graduel
  • Retard généralisé dans le développement.
  • Problèmes d'apprentissage et déficits d'attention.
  • Altérations de l'état de conscience.
  • Pathologies musculaires et motrices fatigue chronique, faiblesse musculaire ou hypotonie.
  • Pathologies du système visuel telles que atrophie optique, rétinite ou diminution de l'acuité visuelle.
  • Surdité neurosensorielle .
  • Extrême sensibilité aux changements de température.

D'autres symptômes moins fréquents, mais pouvant également apparaître au cours de l'évolution de la maladie, sont ceux liés à l'état mental et psychologique de la personne. Ces symptômes peuvent être:

  • Comportement agressif
  • Altérations de la personnalité.
  • Trouble obsessif compulsif.
  • Troubles anxieux.
  • Psychose
  • Altérations affectives.

Quelles sont les causes?

Comme mentionné au début de l'article, le syndrome MELAS est une maladie causée par une mutation de l'ADN mitochondrial . Il s’agit donc d’une maladie héréditaire transmise par les gènes de la mère.

Ces altérations se produisent dans une série de gènes spécifiques situés dans le matériel génétique des mitochondries. La plupart de ces gènes spécifiques sont responsables de la transformation de l'oxygène, des sucres et des graisses en énergie. tandis que d'autres sont impliqués dans la production de molécules d'ARNt responsables de la construction de structures d'acides aminés.

Quel est le traitement et le pronostic?

Pour le moment, aucun traitement spécifique n'a été mis au point pour le syndrome MELAS, autrement des traitements spécifiques sont faits pour chacun des symptômes qui présente chez le patient, ainsi qu'une série de soins palliatifs pour améliorer leur qualité de vie.

Selon le protocole habituel, un groupe de spécialistes, parmi lesquels des neurologues, des cardiologues, des ophtalmologues ou des endocrinologues, entre autres, est chargé de mettre au point un traitement spécialisé qui s'adapte aux symptômes et aux besoins du patient.

Malheureusement, ces traitements ne sont pas en mesure d’atténuer complètement les effets de cette maladie, de sorte que la personne présente progressivement une déficience cognitive, suivie de problèmes psychomoteurs, d’une diminution des capacités auditives et visuelles et de toute une série de complications médicales. jusqu'à la mort du patient.


PSY A LA MAISON 50 LA MELACOLIE (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes