yes, therapy helps!
Memory loss due to stress: causes and symptoms

Memory loss due to stress: causes and symptoms

May 2, 2024

Whether it occurs transiently or sustained, the physiological stress response alters memory, causing difficulties in retaining new information and recovering memories that have already been consolidated.

However, the effects of stress on memory can be somewhat contradictory and they differ according to whether we talk about acute or chronic stress.

Relationship between stress and memory loss

When the demands of the situation in which we find ourselves exceed our physical and / or cognitive capacities, our body activates the stress response. This consists of the release of glucocorticoids, the stress hormones, in the bloodstream.


Glucocorticoids cause different effects in the organism, among which are the increase in heart rate and respiratory rate, the reduction of gastrointestinal activity and the release of stored glucose reserves to use them as an energy source.

If its concentration is excessive glucocorticoids, among which cortisol stands out, can have a negative effect on the functions of the hippocampus, brain structure that is associated with the formation and recovery of memories. This is partly because glucocorticoids redirect glucose from the hippocampus to nearby muscles.

Two types of stress have been described according to their origin: the extrinsic and the intrinsic . Extrinsic stress is caused by non-cognitive factors, such as those that come from a given situation, while the intrinsic stress is related to the level of intellectual challenge that a task requires. Some people have chronic intrinsic stress.


Stress interferes both with our ability to retain new information and to recover memories and knowledge, causing memory loss. In addition, extrinsic stress seems to affect spatial learning. In the following sections we will describe these effects in more detail.

Law of Yerkes-Dodson: the inverted U

The law of Yerkes-Dodson affirms that stress does not always interfere negatively in cognition , but a moderate degree of brain activation improves memory and performance in intellectual tasks. In contrast, the excessive increase in stress levels worsens cognitive functions.

This results in the so-called "inverted U effect": if our organism responds to environmental demands with mild or moderate stress responses, the efficiency of our productivity increases until it reaches a threshold (the ideal point of activation) from from which the performance decreases progressively and memory losses occur.


Stress responses too intense interfere with the performance of intellectual tasks because they are associated with physical and cognitive symptoms such as concentration difficulties, tachycardia, sweating, dizziness or hyperventilation.

Effects of acute or transient stress

When we are in a stress situation, our attention is focused on the most salient stimuli, while we focus less on the rest; This phenomenon is known as "tunnel vision" and facilitates the consolidation of some memories while interfering with others, causing memory loss.

Acute stress can have beneficial effects on some types of memory but only under certain conditions. In this sense it is worth mentioning the law of Yerkes-Dodson; on the other hand, some studies have shown that glucocorticoids improve the formation of new memories but worsen the recovery of others already existing.

In addition, emotionally relevant stimuli are better remembered if the stress response has occurred previously, if information retrieval takes place shortly after coding and if the recall situation is similar to that of learning.

Other research suggests that under stress conditions, we learn and remember more information and situations that cause emotional distress. This fact is associated with the mood congruence effect described by Gordon H. Bower, which describes similar results in relation to depression.

Consequences of chronic stress

The stress response not only involves changes in memory at the time it occurs, but if it is maintained chronically it can cause long-term damage to the brain. Since the organism consumes many resources and reserves in the activation of these physiological processes, Chronic stress is noticeably more harmful than acute stress .

After situations of acute or transitory stress our body recovers homeostasis, that is, the physiological balance; On the other hand, chronic stress prevents the organism from reaching homeostasis again. Therefore, if stress remains unbalanced the body's responses.

From a physiological point of view, this facilitates the appearance of symptoms such as abdominal, back and head pains, chronic difficulties to concentrate and to conciliate or maintain sleep, crisis of anguish, etc. In addition, continued stress is associated with social isolation, depression and the development of cardiovascular diseases.

Regarding memory loss, chronic stress increases the risk of suffering from dementia in elderly people. These effects are probably related to the activity of glucocorticoids in the hippocampus and in other regions of the brain on which memory and cognition in general depend.


Can Anxiety Cause Memory Loss & Concentration Issues? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Perte de mémoire due au stress: causes et symptômes

Perte de mémoire due au stress: causes et symptômes

Septembre 10, 2022

Qu'elle se produise de manière transitoire ou prolongée, la réponse au stress physiologique modifie la mémoire, ce qui rend difficile la rétention de nouvelles informations et la récupération de mémoires déjà consolidées.

Cependant, les effets du stress sur la mémoire peuvent être quelque peu contradictoires et ils diffèrent selon que l'on parle de stress aigu ou chronique.

Relation entre stress et perte de mémoire

Lorsque les exigences de la situation dans laquelle nous nous trouvons dépassent nos capacités physiques et / ou cognitives, notre corps active la réponse au stress. Cela consiste en la libération de glucocorticoïdes, les hormones du stress, dans le sang.


Les glucocorticoïdes ont différents effets sur l'organisme, notamment l'augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque et respiratoire, la réduction de l'activité gastro-intestinale et la libération des réserves de glucose stockées pour les utiliser comme source d'énergie.

Si sa concentration est excessive, les glucocorticoïdes, parmi lesquels le cortisol se démarque, peuvent avoir un effet négatif sur les fonctions de l'hippocampe, structure du cerveau associée à la formation et à la récupération de souvenirs. Ceci est en partie dû au fait que les glucocorticoïdes redirigent le glucose de l'hippocampe vers les muscles voisins.

Deux types de stress ont été décrits en fonction de leur origine: le facteur extrinsèque et le facteur intrinsèque. . Le stress extrinsèque est provoqué par des facteurs non cognitifs, tels que ceux qui proviennent d'une situation donnée, alors que le stress intrinsèque est lié au niveau de défi intellectuel requis par une tâche. Certaines personnes ont un stress intrinsèque chronique.


Le stress nuit à notre capacité à conserver de nouvelles informations et à récupérer des souvenirs et des connaissances, entraînant une perte de mémoire. De plus, le stress extrinsèque semble affecter l'apprentissage spatial. Dans les sections suivantes, nous allons décrire ces effets plus en détail.

Loi de Yerkes-Dodson: le U inversé

La loi de Yerkes-Dodson affirme que le stress n’interfère pas toujours négativement avec la cognition , mais un degré modéré d’activation cérébrale améliore la mémoire et les performances des tâches intellectuelles. En revanche, l'augmentation excessive du niveau de stress aggrave les fonctions cognitives.

Il en résulte ce que l'on appelle "l'effet U inversé": si notre organisme répond aux demandes environnementales avec des réponses de stress faibles ou modérées, l'efficacité de notre productivité augmente jusqu'à atteindre un seuil (le point d'activation idéal) de à partir de laquelle la performance diminue progressivement et des pertes de mémoire se produisent.


Les réponses au stress trop intenses interfèrent avec l'exécution de tâches intellectuelles car elles sont associées à des symptômes physiques et cognitifs tels que difficultés de concentration, tachycardie, transpiration, vertiges ou hyperventilation.

Effets du stress aigu ou transitoire

Lorsque nous sommes dans une situation de stress, notre attention est concentrée sur les stimuli les plus importants, alors que nous nous concentrons moins sur les autres. Ce phénomène est connu sous le nom de "vision tunnel" et facilite la consolidation de certaines mémoires tout en interférant avec d'autres, provoquant une perte de mémoire.

Un stress aigu peut avoir des effets bénéfiques sur certains types de mémoire, mais uniquement dans certaines conditions. Dans ce sens, il convient de mentionner la loi de Yerkes-Dodson; d'autre part, certaines études ont montré que les glucocorticoïdes améliorent la formation de nouveaux souvenirs mais aggraver la récupération d'autres déjà existants.

En outre, les stimuli pertinents sur le plan émotionnel sont mieux mémorisés si la réponse au stress est survenue précédemment, si la recherche d'informations a lieu peu de temps après le codage et si la situation de rappel est similaire à celle de l'apprentissage.

D'autres recherches suggèrent que dans des conditions de stress, nous apprenons et nous souvenons de plus d'informations et de situations qui provoquent une détresse émotionnelle. Ce fait est associé à l'effet de congruence de l'humeur décrit par Gordon H. Bower, qui décrit des résultats similaires en ce qui concerne la dépression.

Conséquences du stress chronique

La réponse au stress implique non seulement des modifications de la mémoire au moment où elle se produit, mais, si elle est maintenue de manière chronique, elle peut causer des lésions cérébrales à long terme. Comme l'organisme consomme de nombreuses ressources et réserves lors de l'activation de ces processus physiologiques, Le stress chronique est visiblement plus nocif que le stress aigu .

Après des situations de stress aigu ou transitoire, notre corps recouvre l'homéostasie, c'est-à-dire l'équilibre physiologique; D'autre part, le stress chronique empêche l'organisme d'atteindre l'homéostasie à nouveau. Par conséquent, si le stress reste déséquilibré, les réponses du corps.

D'un point de vue physiologique, cela facilite l'apparition de symptômes tels que douleurs abdominales, dorsales et dorsales, difficultés chroniques à se concentrer et à se concilier ou à garder le sommeil, crise d'angoisse, etc. En outre, le stress continu est associé à l'isolement social, à la dépression et au développement de maladies cardiovasculaires.

En ce qui concerne la perte de mémoire, le stress chronique augmente le risque de démence chez les personnes âgées. Ces effets sont probablement liés à l'activité des glucocorticoïdes dans l'hippocampe et dans d'autres régions du cerveau dont dépendent la mémoire et la cognition en général.


Troubles de la mémoire : quand faut-il s'inquiéter ? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes