yes, therapy helps!
Mental disorders associated with superheroes

Mental disorders associated with superheroes

September 19, 2022

Something that greatly enriches fictional characters is their psychological definition, because it facilitates the construction of their development and evolution. We have film classics in which mental disorders are the main protagonists, such as Best impossible, A wonderful mind or Rain Man. However, in the world of superheroes, the extreme of their powers is also often accompanied by psychological characteristics very to the limit. It is because of that it is possible to associate some of these superheroes with mental disorders .

Superheroes and mental disorders

If there is an archetype of character whose narrative benefits greatly from mental fragility, it is that of the so-called superheroes, since this resource allows humanizing them and facilitating the identification by the spectator.


In that sense, we can illustrate elements of psychology with these colorful characters, and some of the most popular heroes whose interest lies in some mental disorder They can be the following.

1. Spiderman

Spider-man got the ability to climb the walls thanks to the bite of a radioactive spider, but it was not until he was the victim of the tragedy that this property got. At first he used his powers in the entertainment world, with selfish ends, and it was not until he let a thief escape, that he would kill his beloved Uncle Ben, who would learn his famous mantra: all great power carries a great responsibility.

From then on, the character acquires inflexible moral values, sacrificing his personal life whenever he could use his power to help someone. So, repeatedly his excessive dedication to duty It has led him to abandon personal relationships, job opportunities or to confront the police or other superheroes, illustrating symptoms that can be found in Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder.


2. Hulk

After exposure to radiation, Bruce Banner acquires the curse of becoming a destructive monster called Hulk. In clear inspiration from the work of Lewis Stevenson, The amazing case of Doctor Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (which had some influence in the first psychodynamic studies), the personalities of Banner and Hulk were completely opposite, being a brilliant and introverted scientist and this an irrational brute with the intelligence of a child, in an evident case of dissociative disorder of identity, in which none of the personalities has memories of what the other did when he was out of control.

In addition, the transformation in Hulk it occurs when there are high levels of stress , so that Banner has learned in several technical versions of breathing, meditation, etc.

3. Iron Man

Iron Man was conceived as an antithesis of himself: he was an iron man with a severe heart disease. This concept was extended over the years to the psychological field and, although it has been sometimes oriented to the narcissistic personality disorder because of its high ego, the truth is that, above all, we find symptoms associated with the consumption of substances, specifically with alcoholism .


And it is that Tony Stark closed the commitment of his editorial against this social problem, being a millionaire businessman who could not control his consumption of alcohol, leading him to lose his social relationships, his company, his house and his armor, although finally he was able to overcome and become stronger, like so many other victims of this condition. Of course, since then the character only drinks water, avoiding the discriminative stimulus that could trigger the whole process again.

4. Wolverine

Better known in Spain as Wolverine, Wolverine is a mutant who suffered the intervention of a government experiment in which they reinforced their adamantium bones, the hardest metal in the fictional universe of Marvel comics. As a result of the trauma, the X man suffered a retrograde amnesia that prevented him from remembering part of his past. However, over time it was also discovered that the memories he kept were only "memory implants" inserted in the same experiment, that is, false induced memories in the same way as in the studies of Elisabeth Loftus.

5. Batman

Bruce Wayne witnessed the murder of his parents by an armed robber while still a child, a situation that led him to use his inheritance to become the crime fighter named Batman. Bruce relives the experience of the murder of his parents on specific dates (the anniversary of death, mother's day ...) or whenever he goes to the scene of the crime, as it happens in post-traumatic stress disorders .

In addition, he has problems falling asleep and, sometimes, high irritability and, although exposing himself to situations similar to the stressful event would contradict the diagnosis, this symptom is usually reflected in comics and movies because of Batman's constant avoidance of firearms.


Top 10 Superheroes With Mental Illnesses (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Troubles mentaux associés aux superhéros

Troubles mentaux associés aux superhéros

Août 4, 2022

Un élément qui enrichit considérablement les personnages de fiction est leur définition psychologique, car elle facilite la construction de leur développement et de leur évolution. Nous avons des classiques du film dans lesquels les troubles mentaux sont les protagonistes principaux, tels que Meilleur impossible, Un esprit merveilleux ou L'homme de la pluie. Cependant, dans le monde des super-héros, l'extrême de leurs pouvoirs est aussi souvent accompagné de caractéristiques psychologiques très à la limite. C'est pourquoi il est possible d'associer certains de ces super-héros à des troubles mentaux .

Super-héros et troubles mentaux

S'il existe un archétype de personnage dont le récit profite grandement de la fragilité mentale, c'est bien celui des super-héros, car cette ressource permet de les humaniser et de faciliter leur identification par le spectateur.


En ce sens, nous pouvons illustrer des éléments de la psychologie avec ces personnages colorés, et certains de les héros les plus populaires dont l'intérêt réside dans un trouble mental Ils peuvent être les suivants.

1. Spiderman

Spider-man a eu la capacité de grimper aux murs grâce à la morsure d'une araignée radioactive, mais ce n'est que lorsqu'il a été victime de la tragédie que cette propriété a été détruite. Au début, il a utilisé ses pouvoirs dans le monde du divertissement, à des fins égoïstes, et ce n'est pas avant d'avoir laissé échapper un voleur qu'il tuerait son oncle bien-aimé Ben, qui apprendrait son célèbre mantra: tout grand pouvoir porte une grande responsabilité.

À partir de ce moment, le personnage acquiert des valeurs morales inflexibles, sacrifiant sa vie personnelle chaque fois qu'il peut utiliser son pouvoir pour aider quelqu'un. Donc, à plusieurs reprises son dévouement excessif au devoir Cela l'a conduit à abandonner ses relations personnelles, ses opportunités d'emploi ou à se confronter à la police ou à d'autres super-héros, illustrant les symptômes que l'on retrouve dans le trouble de la personnalité obsessionnel-compulsif.


2. Hulk

Après avoir été exposé aux radiations, Bruce Banner acquiert la malédiction de devenir un monstre destructeur appelé Hulk. En clair inspiration du travail de Lewis Stevenson, Le cas étonnant du docteur Jekyll et de M. Hyde (qui ont eu une certaine influence dans les premières études psychodynamiques), les personnalités de Banner et de Hulk étaient complètement opposées, étant un scientifique brillant et introverti et une brute irrationnelle avec l'intelligence d'un enfant, dans un cas évident de trouble dissociatif du identité, dans laquelle aucune des personnalités n'a de souvenirs de ce que l'autre a fait quand il était hors de contrôle.

En outre, la transformation à Hulk il se produit quand il y a de hauts niveaux de stress , de sorte que Banner a appris plusieurs versions techniques de la respiration, de la méditation, etc.

3. Iron Man

Iron Man a été conçu comme une antithèse de lui-même: il était un homme de fer atteint d'une grave maladie cardiaque. Ce concept s’est étendu au fil des années au domaine psychologique et, bien qu’il ait parfois été orienté vers le trouble de la personnalité narcissique en raison de son ego élevé, la vérité est que, surtout, on trouve des symptômes associés à la consommation de substances, spécifiquement avec l'alcoolisme .


Et c'est que Tony Stark a fermé l'engagement de son éditorial contre ce problème social, étant un homme d'affaires millionnaire qui ne pouvait pas contrôler sa consommation d'alcool, le faisant perdre ses relations sociales, sa société, sa maison et son armure, bien qu'il ait finalement pu vaincre et devenir plus fort, comme tant d'autres victimes de cette maladie. Bien sûr, depuis lors, le personnage ne boit que de l'eau, évitant ainsi le stimulus discriminant qui pourrait déclencher à nouveau l'ensemble du processus.

4. Wolverine

Mieux connu en Espagne sous le nom de Wolverine, Wolverine est un mutant qui a subi l'intervention d'un gouvernement qui a renforcé ses os d'adamantium, le métal le plus dur de l'univers fictif de la bande dessinée Marvel. En raison de ce traumatisme, l'homme X a subi une amnésie rétrograde qui l'a empêché de se souvenir d'une partie de son passé. Cependant, au fil du temps, il a également été découvert que les souvenirs qu'il gardait n'étaient que des "implants de mémoire" insérés dans la même expérience, c'est-à-dire faux souvenirs induits de la même manière que dans les études d'Elisabeth Loftus.

5. Batman

Bruce Wayne a été témoin du meurtre de ses parents par un voleur à main armée alors qu'il n'était encore qu'un enfant, ce qui l'a amené à utiliser son héritage pour devenir le combattant du crime nommé Batman. Bruce revit l'expérience du meurtre de ses parents à des dates précises (anniversaire de la mort, fête des mères, etc.) ou chaque fois qu'il se rend sur les lieux du crime, comme il arrive dans les troubles de stress post-traumatique .

En outre, il a des problèmes d'endormissement et, parfois, une forte irritabilité. Bien que s'exposer à des situations similaires à l'événement stressant contredise le diagnostic, ce symptôme est généralement reflété dans les bandes dessinées et les films en raison du fait que Batman évite constamment les armes à feu.


129.A QUOI SERT L ADRENALINE DU STRESS: SURVIE OU HYPERTENSION et AVC! Allez vite courrir (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes