yes, therapy helps!
Mentalism in Psychology, belief in the soul, and why it is a problem

Mentalism in Psychology, belief in the soul, and why it is a problem

May 26, 2024

Allan Paivio in the 1970s coined the concept of mentalism to refer to the use of the introspective method as a basic technique of scientific psychology. Subsequently, the term would be applied to any current of this discipline that focuses on the analysis of mental processes unobservable in an objective manner, such as traditional cognitivism.

In this article we will talk about the origins and historical development of mentalist psychology , including its most recent manifestations. As we will see, in this sense it is fundamental to understand the central role played by the behavioral paradigm throughout the 20th century.

  • Related article: "Dualism in Psychology"

Defining the concept of mentalism

The term "mentalism" is used in psychology to refer to the branches of this science that focus their efforts on the analysis of mental processes like thought, feeling, perception or emotion. In this sense, mentalism is opposed to the currents that primarily study the relationships between observable behaviors.


In this way we could include very different theoretical orientations within mentalism. The ones that are most commonly associated with the term are the structuralism of Wilhelm Wundt and Edward Titchener, the functionalism of William James and contemporary cognitivism, but psychoanalysis or humanism could also be seen as mentalism.

The word was popularized by the cognitivist psychologist Allan Paivio, known above all for his contributions in the field of information coding. This author used the concept "Classic mentalism" to refer to structuralist and functionalist psychology , who studied consciousness through the introspective method and subjectivity.


One of the most characteristic aspects of the proposals that are qualified as mentalists is that they oppose the understanding of psychological phenomena as a pure by-product of physiological processes , considering that this vision has a reductionist nature and obvious relevant aspects of reality.

For most mentalists, thought, emotions, sensations and other mental contents are in some way tangible. In this sense, we could understand the mentalist perspectives as successors of the Cartesian philosophical dualism , which is related in turn to the concept of the soul and which has influenced Western thought in a key way.

  • Related article: "The valuable contributions of René Descartes to Psychology"

From the introspective method to cognitivism

In its beginnings as a scientific discipline (late nineteenth and early twentieth century) psychology oscillated between the mentalist pole and the behaviorist. Most of the proposals of the time were located in one or other of the extremes, their authors were identified or not with the mentioned perspectives; in this sense the hegemony of the introspective method was key .


The birth of behaviorism as we understand it today is attributed to the publication of the book "Psychology as seen by the behaviorist" by John B. Watson, which took place in 1913. The father of behavioral orientation defended the the need to study exclusively the observable and objective aspects of the behavior of human beings.

In this way Watson and other classical authors such as Ivan Pavlov, Burrhus F. Skinner and Jacob R. Kantor they opposed those who conceptualized psychology as the study of consciousness . Within this category we find both the structuralists and the functionalists as well as the followers of psychoanalysis, who dominated psychology for decades.

The rise of behaviorism led to a reduction in interest in psychological processes, and in particular in consciousness. However, from the decade of the 1960s onwards, what we nowadays call "Cognitive Revolution" began to take shape, and that consisted simply in a return to the study of the mind through more objective techniques.

In the second half of the 20th century, cognitivism coexisted with radical Skinnerian behaviorism, the most successful variant of this perspective; however, it is clear that the "new mentalism" was much more concerned than the classic one because of objectivity . This trend towards integration with the scientific evidence as a basis has been maintained to this day.

Mentalism today

Despite the apparent opposition between the mentalist and behavioral perspectives, today we find combinations of both types of approach very commonly. As they have developed and have obtained solid empirical bases, the two theoretical currents have approached more or less spontaneously .

The most characteristic manifestation of modern mentalism is probably cognitive neuroscience. The object of study of this discipline are mental processes (including, of course, one's conscience); however, it is based on much more advanced and reliable techniques than introspection, such as brain mapping and computational modeling.

In any case, it is a debate that will not be resolved in the near future because it responds to a nuclear dichotomy : the one that occurs among psychologists who believe that this science should be dedicated above all to the study of observable behaviors and those that highlight the role of mental processes as entities susceptible of analysis in themselves.


Where Does Your Mind Reside?: Crash Course Philosophy #22 (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le mentalisme en psychologie, la croyance en l'âme et pourquoi c'est un problème

Le mentalisme en psychologie, la croyance en l'âme et pourquoi c'est un problème

Septembre 11, 2022

Allan Paivio, dans les années 1970, a inventé le concept de mentalisme pour faire référence à l'utilisation de la méthode introspective comme technique de base de la psychologie scientifique. Par la suite, le terme serait appliqué à tout courant de cette discipline qui se concentre sur l’analyse objective de processus mentaux non observables, comme le cognitivisme traditionnel.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler de les origines et le développement historique de la psychologie mentaliste , y compris ses manifestations les plus récentes. Comme nous le verrons, il est fondamental de comprendre le rôle central joué par le paradigme comportemental tout au long du XXe siècle.

  • Article connexe: "Dualisme en psychologie"

Définir le concept de mentalisme

Le terme "mentalisme" est utilisé en psychologie pour désigner les branches de cette science qui concentrer leurs efforts sur l'analyse des processus mentaux comme la pensée, le sentiment, la perception ou l'émotion. En ce sens, le mentalisme s'oppose aux courants qui étudient principalement les relations entre les comportements observables.


De cette façon, nous pourrions inclure des orientations théoriques très différentes dans le mentalisme. Ceux qui sont le plus souvent associés à ce terme sont le structuralisme de Wilhelm Wundt et Edward Titchener, le fonctionnalisme de William James et le cognitivisme contemporain, mais la psychanalyse ou l'humanisme pourraient également être considérés comme du mentalisme.

Le mot a été popularisé par le psychologue cognitiviste Allan Paivio, connu avant tout pour ses contributions dans le domaine du codage de l'information. Cet auteur a utilisé le concept Le "mentalisme classique" se réfère à la psychologie structuraliste et fonctionnaliste , qui a étudié la conscience par la méthode introspective et la subjectivité.


L’un des aspects les plus caractéristiques des propositions qualifiées de mentalistes est qu’elles s’opposent à la compréhension des phénomènes psychologiques en tant que sous-produit pur des processus physiologiques , considérant que cette vision a un caractère réductionniste et des aspects évidents de la réalité.

Pour la plupart des mentalistes, la pensée, les émotions, les sensations et autres contenus mentaux sont en quelque sorte tangibles. Dans ce sens, nous pourrions comprendre les perspectives mentalistes en tant que successeurs du dualisme philosophique cartésien , qui est à son tour liée au concept de l'âme et qui a influencé la pensée occidentale de manière déterminante.

  • Article connexe: "Les précieuses contributions de René Descartes à la psychologie"

De la méthode introspective au cognitivisme

À ses débuts en tant que discipline scientifique (fin du XIXe et début du XXe siècle), la psychologie oscillait entre le pôle mentaliste et le behavioriste. La plupart des propositions de l'époque se situaient dans l'un ou l'autre des extrêmes, leurs auteurs étaient identifiés ou non avec les perspectives mentionnées; dans ce sens l'hégémonie de la méthode introspective était la clé .


La naissance du behaviorisme telle que nous la concevons aujourd’hui est attribuée à la publication du livre "La psychologie vue par le behavioriste" de John B. Watson, paru en 1913. Le père de l’orientation comportementale défendit le la nécessité d'étudier exclusivement les aspects observables et objectifs du comportement des êtres humains.

Ainsi, Watson et d'autres auteurs classiques tels qu'Ivan Pavlov, Burrhus F. Skinner et Jacob R. Kantor ils se sont opposés à ceux qui ont conceptualisé la psychologie comme étude de la conscience . Dans cette catégorie, on trouve à la fois les structuralistes et les fonctionnalistes, ainsi que les adeptes de la psychanalyse, qui ont dominé la psychologie pendant des décennies.

La montée du behaviorisme a conduit à une réduction de l'intérêt pour les processus psychologiques, et en particulier pour la conscience. Cependant, à partir des années 1960, ce que nous appelons aujourd'hui la "révolution cognitive" a commencé à prendre forme et consistait simplement en un retour à l'étude de l'esprit par des techniques plus objectives.

Dans la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, le cognitivisme a coexisté avec le behaviorisme radical skinnerien, la variante la plus réussie de cette perspective; cependant, il est clair que le "nouveau mentalisme" était beaucoup plus concerné que le classique par objectivité . Cette tendance à l'intégration avec les preuves scientifiques comme base s'est maintenue à ce jour.

Le mentalisme aujourd'hui

Malgré l'opposition apparente entre les perspectives mentaliste et comportementale, nous trouvons aujourd'hui très souvent des combinaisons des deux types d'approche. Comme ils ont développé et ont obtenu des bases empiriques solides, les deux courants théoriques se sont approchés plus ou moins spontanément .

La manifestation la plus caractéristique du mentalisme moderne est probablement la neuroscience cognitive. Les objets d'étude de cette discipline sont les processus mentaux (y compris, bien sûr, la conscience). Cependant, il est basé sur des techniques beaucoup plus avancées et fiables que l'introspection, telles que la cartographie du cerveau et la modélisation informatique.

En tout cas, c'est un débat qui ne sera pas résolu dans un proche avenir car il répond à une dichotomie nucléaire : celle qui se produit chez les psychologues qui pensent que cette science devrait avant tout être consacrée à l’étude des comportements observables et à ceux qui mettent en évidence le rôle des processus mentaux en tant qu’entités susceptibles d’être analysées.


REVIVRE ! - Guy Corneau - Un homme passionnant (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes