yes, therapy helps!
Metamorphopsia: types, symptoms and treatment

Metamorphopsia: types, symptoms and treatment

June 14, 2024

The perception is the ability of the human being to capture information from the surrounding environment, which after being processed allows us to react and adapt to the environment. The capture of this information is vital for survival, and depends to a large extent on our sensory organs.

However, sometimes our senses deceive us and perceive something that does not exist, or perceive something with characteristics that are far from the real. To this last assumption remains the phenomenon known as metamorphopsia .

  • You may be interested: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

The concept of metamorphopsia

It is understood as metamorphopsia to a type of perceptual alteration in which the subject that suffers it captures the size or shape of the objects differently from how they really are. This type of perceptual alteration occurs at the visual level and is linked to the perception of distances.


It is a real perception of a stimulus that actually exists, although the object is perceived with characteristics that differ from the real ones. Metamorphopsia is therefore a type of perceptive distortion , in which a specific stimulus or stimuli is perceived in an anomalous way. In this way we are not dealing with a content that can be classified as a perceptual deception: it is not a hallucination.

As a general rule, the subject who suffers from some type of metamorphopsia is able to detect that their perception is distorted, not being oblivious to the fact that the shapes or sizes detected are not the correct ones . This can cause a high level of tension and anxiety to appear.


Metamorphopsia is not a disorder by itself, but is considered a symptom from which the existence of a medical or psychological problem can be inferred. It is not a dangerous condition by itself, although it can be annoying and can lead to erroneous judgments about reality . However, depending on the case, the problem that causes it may be of some severity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

Appearance of this alteration

Metamorphopsia it is a perceptive distortion that can appear in very diverse conditions , both for biological causes and for psychic causes.

Frequently it appears before alterations of the cerebral nuclei in charge of the vision, as well as before epilepsy of parietal lobe or cerebral tumors. Of the same, traumatisms, cerebral infarcts, intracranial hemorrhages and other types of brain injury they can also cause it.


Also the eye and the retina are usually key points in the development of disorders that generate the appearance of metamorphopsias. It is common to appear in cases of macular degeneration , fractionation of the retina, vein infarcts of the retina, edema associated with age or even in some cases as an effect of diabetes, extreme myopia or inflammation resulting from surgeries.

Another factor linked to the appearance of metamorphopsia is the consumption of substances with psychoactive properties, being frequent the appearance of this symptom before the consumption of hallucinogens such as LSD or mescaline, narcotics or even some psychotropic drugs.

Sometimes can occur due to states of intense emotional activation like terror, anguish or anger. While it may appear in some mental disorders, it is not common. In the latter case, the disorder called Alice's syndrome in Wonderland stands out.

Different types of metamorphopsia

Metamorphopsia is a perceptive distortion that can be found in which different types of sensory alterations can appear. Broadly speaking we can find three great types of metamorphopsia .

1. Dismegalopsias

It is a type of metamorphopsia in which the alteration occurs in the uptake or perception of the size of the stimulus. If our perception of the stimulus is greater than its real size we are talking about a macropsy , whereas if we perceive something as smaller than it is we are talking about a micropsy.

2. Dismorfopsias

Dismorfopsia is understood as a type of metamorphopsia in which the aspect that is perceived distortively is the form of the stimulus in question. The most common is to see the objects or people deformed , as for example with undulations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Depersonalization and derealization: when everything seems like a dream"

3. Autometamorfopsia

Another type of metamorphopsia is found in autometamorphopsia, in which we perceive our own body in an anomalous way.

4. Inverted metamorphopsia

This type of metamorphopsia is not very common. In this case, it's not the way neither the size what appears distorted, but the spatial location . In this way, we can see the inverted things, as if we were hanging upside down or from different orientations.

Treatment

Because it is a symptom and not a disorder itself, the choice of treatment or therapy to use will depend largely on the disease what generates it In general, the visual system should be reviewed to check if the problem of perception is due to visual or neurological alterations, as well as whether the subject has consumed psychoactive substances or is in some type of pharmacological treatment.

Likewise provide information to the subject about what is happening to him it is fundamental, since the perceptive alterations and especially the visual ones usually awaken a certain level of panic and anguish besides the uncertainty of why they see it that way.

Bibliographic references:

  • Belloch, A., Baños, R. and Perpiñá, C. (2008) Psychopathology of perception and imagination. In A. Belloch, B. Sandín and F. Ramos (Eds.) Manual of Psychopathology (2nd edition). Vol I. Madrid: McGraw Hill Interamericana.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid.

What Is Metamorphopsia? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Métamorphopsie: types, symptômes et traitement

Métamorphopsie: types, symptômes et traitement

Janvier 1, 2023

La perception est la capacité de l'être humain à capturer des informations de l'environnement qui, après traitement, nous permet de réagir et de nous adapter à l'environnement. La capture de ces informations est vitale pour la survie et dépend dans une large mesure de nos organes sensoriels.

Cependant, parfois nos sens nous trompent et perçoivent quelque chose qui n'existe pas, ou perçoivent quelque chose avec des caractéristiques qui sont loin du réel. À cette dernière hypothèse reste le phénomène appelé métamorphopsie .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les différences entre le syndrome, le désordre et la maladie"

Le concept de métamorphopsie

Il est entendu que métamorphopsie à un type d'altération de la perception dans lequel le sujet qui le subit capture la taille ou la forme des objets différemment de la façon dont ils sont vraiment. Ce type d'altération perceptuelle se produit au niveau visuel et est lié à la perception des distances.


C'est une perception réelle d'un stimulus qui existe réellement, même si l'objet est perçu avec des caractéristiques différentes de celles réelles. La métamorphopsie est donc un type de distorsion perceptive , dans lequel un ou plusieurs stimuli sont perçus de manière anormale. De cette façon, nous ne traitons pas d'un contenu qui peut être qualifié de déception perceptuelle: ce n'est pas une hallucination.

En règle générale, le sujet qui souffre d'une forme de métamorphopsie est capable de détecter que sa perception est déformée, sans oublier le fait que les formes ou les tailles détectées ne sont pas les bonnes . Cela peut provoquer un niveau élevé de tension et d'anxiété.


La métamorphopsie n'est pas un trouble en soi, mais est considérée comme un symptôme à partir duquel l'existence d'un problème médical ou psychologique peut être déduite. Ce n’est pas une condition dangereuse en soi, bien qu’elle puisse être ennuyeuse et peut conduire à des jugements erronés sur la réalité . Cependant, selon les cas, le problème qui le cause peut être assez grave.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

Apparence de cette altération

Métamorphopsie c'est une distorsion perceptive qui peut apparaître dans des conditions très diverses , à la fois pour des causes biologiques et pour des causes psychiques.

Il apparaît fréquemment avant les altérations des noyaux cérébraux responsables de la vision, ainsi qu'avant l'épilepsie des lobes pariétaux ou des tumeurs cérébrales. Du même, traumatismes, infarctus cérébraux, hémorragies intracrâniennes et autres types de lésions cérébrales ils peuvent aussi le causer.


De plus, l'œil et la rétine sont généralement des points clés dans le développement de troubles générant l'apparition de métamorphopsies. Il est fréquent d'apparaître en cas de dégénérescence maculaire , fractionnement de la rétine, infarctus veineux de la rétine, œdème associé à l’âge ou même dans certains cas comme effet du diabète, d’une myopie extrême ou d’une inflammation résultant de chirurgies.

Un autre facteur lié à l’apparition de la métamorphopsie est la consommation de substances aux propriétés psychoactives, l’apparition fréquente de ce symptôme avant la consommation d’hallucinogènes tels que le LSD ou la mescaline, des narcotiques ou même certains psychotropes.

Par certaines occasions peut survenir en raison d'états d'activation émotionnelle intense comme la terreur, l'angoisse ou la colère. Bien qu'il puisse apparaître dans certains troubles mentaux, ce n'est pas courant. Dans ce dernier cas, le trouble appelé syndrome d'Alice au pays des merveilles se démarque.

Différents types de métamorphopsie

La métamorphopsie est une distorsion perceptive dans laquelle différents types d'altérations sensorielles peuvent apparaître. De manière générale, nous pouvons trouver trois grands types de métamorphopsie .

1. Dismegalopsias

C'est un type de métamorphopsie dans lequel l'altération se produit dans l'absorption ou la perception de la taille du stimulus. Si notre perception du stimulus est supérieure à sa taille réelle, nous parlons d’une macropsie , alors que si nous percevons quelque chose d'aussi petit que ce que nous parlons, nous parlons d'une micropsie.

2. Dismorfopsias

La dismorfopsie est comprise comme un type de métamorphopsie dans laquelle l’aspect perçu de manière distordue est la forme du stimulus en question. Le plus commun est de voir les objets ou les personnes déformées , comme par exemple avec des ondulations.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Dépersonnalisation et déréalisation: quand tout semble être un rêve"

3. Autometamorfopsia

L'autométamorphopsie est un autre type de métamorphopsie, dans lequel nous percevons notre propre corps de manière anormale.

4. Métamorphopsie inversée

Ce type de métamorphopsie n'est pas très courant. Dans ce cas, ce n'est pas comme ça ni la taille qui semble déformée, mais la localisation spatiale . De cette façon, nous pouvons voir les choses inversées, comme si nous étions suspendus à l'envers ou d'orientations différentes.

Traitement

Parce que c'est un symptôme et non un désordre en soi, le choix du traitement ou de la thérapie à utiliser dépendra largement de la maladie ce qui le génère En général, le système visuel devrait être revu pour vérifier si le problème de perception est dû à des altérations visuelles ou neurologiques, ainsi que si le sujet a consommé des substances psychoactives ou suit un traitement pharmacologique.

De même fournir des informations au sujet sur ce qui lui arrive c'est fondamental, car les altérations perceptives, et surtout visuelles, suscitent généralement un certain niveau de panique et d'angoisse en plus de l'incertitude quant à la raison pour laquelle elles le voient de cette façon.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Belloch, A., Baños, R. et Perpiñá, C. (2008) Psychopathologie de la perception et de l'imagination. Dans A. Belloch, B. Sandín et F. Ramos (Eds.) Manuel de psychopathologie (2e édition). Vol I. Madrid: McGraw Hill Interamericana.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid

Savanny Métamorphopsie (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes