yes, therapy helps!
Michael Tomasello's theory: what makes us human?

Michael Tomasello's theory: what makes us human?

September 11, 2022

In comparison with other animals, humans have built highly developed societies in terms of culture and technology. Historically, this has been attributed to a hierarchical superiority of humans on a supposedly evolutionary scale. For example, theories that state that the human brain is greater or simply superior are still in vogue today.

The investigations and the theory of Michael Tomasello they have been the most relevant recent contributions of comparative psychology to a classic question: what makes us human? That is, what differentiates us from other animals?

The theory of Michael Tomasello

Michael Tomasello, co-director of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, is a psychologist who investigates social cognition, that is, the way people process social information, social learning and communication.


Tomasello, whose perspective is placed in constructivism, states that humans differ from other species by our ability to collaborate in activities when we share goals . Tomasello calls this "shared intentionality."

  • Related article: What is constructivism in Psychology?

Comparative studies with children and chimpanzees

In recent years Tomasello has studied mainly communication and shared intentionality. For it has compared the cognitive processes of children and chimpanzees , since they are the closest animal to humans.

In his experiments, Tomasello analyzed, among other aspects, the way in which children and chimpanzees share the rewards after carrying out a collaborative effort. For this, he compared the results obtained in collaborative tasks carried out by pairs of children or chimpanzees.


Although the studied chimpanzees were able to work as a team, after achieving the reward, food in this case, the most dominant of the two remained the prize in full. This tendency toward individualism causes non-human primates to have difficulties maintaining cooperative relationships in a sustained manner over time.

Instead the children distributed the reward in a more or less fair way after collaborating to obtain it. Although before discussing or trying to stay all the food, there was a kind of negotiation that ended, normally, with each child remaining half the prize.

In another of the experiments one of the members of the couple obtained the prize before the other. In the case of children, the first to obtain the reward continued to collaborate with the other until he also got his. On the contrary, the chimpanzee who obtained the food in the first place was unconcerned about his partner.


  • Related article: "Comparative psychology: the animal part of psychology"

Differences between human and chimpanzee societies

Tomasello affirms from his experiments and observations that the societies formed by the great apes are much more individualistic than those of humans. It attributes this to the greater capacity of people, even when they are very young, for collaboration and to attribute intentions to others.

This ability to "Read the mind", or imagine the emotions and thoughts of others and understand that they may be different from their own, is known as "theory of mind." It is considered that great apes and other animals, such as crows or parrots, also possess this ability, but it is much less developed than in humans.

Tomasello says that great apes usually use the theory of mind to compete, for example to get sexual partners. They can also carry out altruistic or prosocial behaviors to help other individuals, but they usually do so only if there is no competition for the resources and the effort is minimal.

According to Tomasello, the groups of Chimpanzees rely heavily on dominance and individual activity ; For example, the collection of food or the care of the young are carried out by a single individual.

In contrast, among humans, relationships and social hierarchies are not determined only by selfishness and domination, but collaboration is more important. Tomasello states that non-cooperative people (parasites or "free riders") tend to be left out in cooperative activities.

The development of culture and morality

Another fundamental difference between us and the rest of primates is that we humans create social norms and institutions . According to Tomasello, these are a consequence of our ability to exchange information with other members of our group and to transmit the culture from generation to generation, which allows us to progressively make our societies more complex.

The degree of collaboration and interdependence also increases as societies develop. Human groups tend to get bigger and bigger: in a few thousand years, a very short period of time in the context of evolution, we have gone from being part of small tribes of hunters and gatherers to the current globalized world. This progress would have been unthinkable without the development of language and the cumulative progress of culture and technology.

According to Tomasello, children are instinctively cooperative but as they grow and are influenced by the culture that surrounds them, they learn to discriminate with whom they collaborate, mainly so as not to be exploited by the "free riders".

Human children internalize the norms constructed by their society to such an extent that they self-organize the responsibility of making others comply with them, even if otherwise it does not harm anyone. Tomasello states that human culture promotes that we do things "in the right way", that is, as most of the group of which we are a part do, and that those who do not meet social standards get a bad reputation and they are seen with suspicion.

  • Related article: "What is morality? Discovering the development of ethics in childhood"

Human intelligence and animal intelligences

Historically it has been considered that human intelligence is quantitatively superior to the animal because our brain is more developed. However, according to the studies of Tomasello children outnumber chimpanzees in social intelligence but they have a level of physical intelligence, for example spatial or corporal, equivalent to these.

Tomasello and other authors have proven that great apes have cognitive abilities that until recently we would have attributed exclusively to humans. Among other things, they know that objects still exist even if they disappear from their sight (the permanence of a Piagetian object) and they can differentiate quantities mentally.

The chimpanzee pups are also capable of communicative gestures, but their variety and complexity are scarce. Another ape, the gorilla Koko has been trained in the use of sign language by Francine Patterson. Koko has even managed to create complex concepts by combining several words. There are also examples that non-human animals can transmit the culture from generation to generation: for example, in a group of chimpanzees in Ivory Coast young people are taught to use stones as hammers to open nuts.

Cooperation makes us human

According to the constructivist Tomasello, people learn language through cumulative cultural transmission, which has allowed our verbal communication to be very complex. further our body is perfectly adapted to the language , from the phonatory organs to specific areas of the brain. Just as marine animals have adapted to an aquatic context, we have done so in a social context.

Humans need culture to develop. Without social interaction or language not only would we not reach our full potential as a species, but our cognitive and social abilities would be very similar to those of other primates. Wild children, like Victor de Aveyron, serve as an example of this: without contact with other people, humans lose what makes us special .

  • Related article: "What makes the human brain so special?"

Bibliographic references:

  • Herrmann, E .; Call, J .; Hernández-Lloreda, M. V .; Hare, B. & Tomasello, M. (2007). "Humans Have Evolved Specialized Skills of Social Cognition: The Cultural Intelligence Hypothesis". Science, 317(5843): 1360–1366.
  • Tomasello, M .; Carpenter, M .; Call, J .; Behne, T. & Moll, H. (2005). "Understanding and sharing intentions: The origins of cultural cognition". Behavioral and Brain Sciences, 28: 675-735.
  • Warneken, F .; Hare, B .; Melis, A. P .; Hanus, D. & Tomasello, M. (2007). "Spontaneous Altruism by Chimpanzees and Young Children". PLoS Biology, 5: 1414–1420.

What makes us human? | Dan Sperber & Michael Tomasello (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de Michael Tomasello: qu'est-ce qui nous rend humain?

La théorie de Michael Tomasello: qu'est-ce qui nous rend humain?

Février 11, 2024

En comparaison avec d'autres animaux, les humains ont construit des sociétés hautement développées en termes de culture et de technologie. Historiquement, cela a été attribué à une supériorité hiérarchique des humains sur une échelle supposée évolutive. Par exemple, les théories affirmant que le cerveau humain est supérieur ou simplement supérieur sont encore en vogue aujourd'hui.

Les investigations et la théorie de Michael Tomasello ils ont été les contributions récentes les plus pertinentes de la psychologie comparée à une question classique: qu'est-ce qui nous rend humains? En d'autres termes, qu'est-ce qui nous différencie des autres animaux?

La théorie de Michael Tomasello

Michael Tomasello, codirecteur de l'Institut Max Planck d'anthropologie évolutionnaire, est un psychologue qui étudie la cognition sociale, c'est-à-dire la façon dont les gens traitent l'information sociale, l'apprentissage social et la communication.


Tomasello, dont la perspective est placée dans le constructivisme, affirme que les humains se distinguent des autres espèces par notre capacité à collaborer à des activités lorsque nous partageons des objectifs . Tomasello appelle cela "une intentionnalité partagée".

  • Article connexe: Qu'est-ce que le constructivisme en psychologie?

Etudes comparatives avec des enfants et des chimpanzés

Tomasello a étudié ces dernières années principalement la communication et l'intentionnalité partagée. Pour cela a comparé les processus cognitifs des enfants et des chimpanzés , car ils sont l'animal le plus proche de l'homme.

Dans ses expériences, Tomasello a analysé, entre autres aspects, la manière dont les enfants et les chimpanzés partagent les bénéfices après avoir mené à bien un effort de collaboration. Pour cela, il a comparé les résultats obtenus lors de tâches collaboratives effectuées par paires d'enfants ou de chimpanzés.


Bien que les chimpanzés aient pu travailler en équipe, après avoir obtenu la récompense, la nourriture dans ce cas, le plus important des deux est resté le prix au complet. Cette tendance à l'individualisme fait que les primates non humains ont du mal à maintenir des relations de coopération durables.

En échange les enfants ont distribué la récompense de manière plus ou moins juste après avoir collaboré pour l'obtenir. Bien qu'avant de discuter ou d'essayer de rester toute la nourriture, il y avait une sorte de négociation qui se terminait, normalement, avec chaque enfant restant la moitié du prix.

Dans une autre des expériences, l'un des membres du couple a obtenu le prix avant l'autre. Dans le cas des enfants, le premier à obtenir la récompense a continué à collaborer avec l’autre jusqu’à ce qu’il reçoive également la sienne. Au contraire, le chimpanzé qui a obtenu la nourriture au départ était indifférent à son partenaire.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie comparée: la partie animale de la psychologie"

Différences entre les sociétés humaines et chimpanzées

Tomasello affirme de ses expériences et observations que les sociétés formées par les grands singes sont beaucoup plus individualistes que ceux des humains. Cela est attribué à la plus grande capacité des personnes, même très jeunes, à collaborer et à attribuer des intentions à d’autres.

Cette capacité à "Lis l'esprit", ou imagine les émotions et les pensées des autres et comprendre qu'ils peuvent être différents des leurs, est connue sous le nom de "théorie de l'esprit". On considère que les grands singes et d’autres animaux, tels que les corbeaux et les perroquets, possèdent également cette capacité, mais elle est beaucoup moins développée que chez l’homme.

Tomasello dit que les grands singes utilisent généralement la théorie de l'esprit pour rivaliser, par exemple pour avoir des partenaires sexuels. Ils peuvent également adopter des comportements altruistes ou prosociaux pour aider d'autres personnes, mais ils ne le font généralement que s'il n'y a pas de concurrence pour les ressources et que l'effort est minimal.

Selon Tomasello, les groupes de Les chimpanzés s'appuient fortement sur la domination et l'activité individuelle ; Par exemple, la collecte de nourriture ou la prise en charge des jeunes sont effectuées par un seul individu.

En revanche, chez les humains, les relations et les hiérarchies sociales ne sont pas déterminées uniquement par l’égoïsme et la domination, mais la collaboration est plus importante. Tomasello déclare que les personnes non coopératives (parasites ou "cavaliers") ont tendance à être laissées de côté dans les activités coopératives.

Le développement de la culture et de la moralité

Une autre différence fondamentale entre nous et le reste des primates est que nous, humains, créons des normes sociales et des institutions . Selon Tomasello, cela est une conséquence de notre capacité à échanger des informations avec les autres membres de notre groupe et à transmettre la culture de génération en génération, ce qui nous permet de rendre progressivement plus complexes nos sociétés.

Le degré de collaboration et d'interdépendance augmente également à mesure que les sociétés se développent. Les groupes humains ont tendance à devenir de plus en plus grands: en quelques milliers d'années, très peu de temps dans le contexte de l'évolution, nous sommes passés de petites tribus de chasseurs et de cueilleurs au monde globalisé actuel. Ce progrès aurait été impensable sans le développement du langage et les progrès cumulés de la culture et de la technologie.

Selon Tomasello, les enfants sont instinctivement coopératifs mais à mesure qu'ils grandissent et sont influencés par la culture qui les entoure, ils apprennent à discriminer avec qui ils collaborent, principalement pour ne pas être exploités par les "cavaliers".

Les enfants humains intériorisent les normes établies par leur société à un point tel qu'ils s'organisent eux-mêmes pour faire en sorte que les autres les respectent, même si cela ne nuit pas à personne. Tomasello affirme que la culture humaine préconise de faire les choses "de la bonne façon", c'est-à-dire, comme le font la plupart des membres du groupe dont nous faisons partie, et que ceux qui ne répondent pas aux normes sociales ont mauvaise réputation et ils sont vus avec suspicion.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la moralité? Découvrir le développement de l'éthique dans l'enfance"

Intelligence humaine et intelligences animales

Historiquement, on a considéré que l'intelligence humaine est quantitativement supérieure à l'animal parce que notre cerveau est plus développé. Cependant, selon les études de Tomasello les enfants sont plus nombreux que les chimpanzés dans l'intelligence sociale mais ils ont un niveau d'intelligence physique, par exemple spatial ou corporel, équivalent à ceux-ci.

Tomasello et d'autres auteurs ont prouvé que les grands singes avaient des capacités cognitives que nous aurions jusqu'à récemment attribuées exclusivement à l'homme. Entre autres choses, ils savent que les objets existent encore même s'ils disparaissent de leur vue (la permanence d'un objet pagétien) et qu'ils peuvent différencier mentalement les quantités.

Les chiots chimpanzés sont également capables de gestes communicatifs, mais leur variété et leur complexité sont rares. Un autre singe, le gorille Koko a été formé à l'utilisation de la langue des signes par Francine Patterson. Koko a même réussi à créer des concepts complexes en combinant plusieurs mots. Il existe également des exemples montrant que des animaux non humains peuvent transmettre la culture de génération en génération: par exemple, chez un groupe de chimpanzés en Côte d'Ivoire, on enseigne aux jeunes à utiliser les pierres pour ouvrir les noix.

La coopération nous rend humain

Selon le constructiviste Tomasello, les gens apprennent la langue par la transmission culturelle cumulative, ce qui a permis à notre communication verbale d'être très complexe. En outre notre corps est parfaitement adapté à la langue , des organes phonatoires à des zones spécifiques du cerveau. Tout comme les animaux marins se sont adaptés à un contexte aquatique, nous l’avons fait dans un contexte social.

Les humains ont besoin de culture pour se développer. Sans interaction sociale ni langage, non seulement nous n'atteindrions pas notre potentiel d'espèce, mais nos capacités cognitives et sociales seraient très similaires à celles des autres primates. Les enfants sauvages, comme Victor de Aveyron, en sont un exemple: sans contact avec d'autres personnes, les humains perdent ce qui nous rend spéciaux .

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce qui rend le cerveau humain si spécial?"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Herrmann, E.; Appel, j .; Hernández-Lloreda, M. V; Hare, B. & Tomasello, M. (2007). "Les humains ont développé des compétences spécialisées en cognition sociale: l'hypothèse de l'intelligence culturelle". Science, 317(5843): 1360–1366.
  • Tomasello, M .; Charpentier, M.; Appel, j .; Behne, T. & Moll, H. (2005). "Compréhension et partage des intentions: les origines de la cognition culturelle". Sciences du comportement et du cerveau, 28: 675-735.
  • Warneken, F .; Lièvre, B .; Melis, A. P.; Hanus, D. & Tomasello, M. (2007). "Altruisme spontané des chimpanzés et des jeunes enfants". PLoS Biology, 5: 1414–1420.

Michael Tomasello - Understanding and Sharing Intention at the Certosa 2004 (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes